This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Open Kitchen Stainless-Steel Colander

Life in the kitchen is easier when you use the right tool for the task. Great for busy cooks, this sturdy basic is both a colander and strainer. Ideal for everything from rinsing produce to draining pasta and straining soups, it can be used as a handheld tool or positioned over a pot or work bowl. Part of our exclusive Open Kitchen collection, designed and developed by Williams-Sonoma. Loop handle provides a comfortable grip and easy hanging storage. Made of durable stainless steel. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Open Kitchen Stainless-Steel Colander
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Open Kitchen Stainless-Steel Colander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Willis
,MI
Willis, MI
August 27, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Just the right size for many things
August 27, 2015
This colander is just the right size for my kitchen. I use it to drain food. I use it to sift powder sugar over cakes. I have even used it over boiling water to steam a tomato to split the skin and peel. The deep well hold a lot and the hook across from the handle allows it to set cleanly on top of another pan.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design, Size, Quality
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Open Kitchen Stainless-Steel Colander
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Warren
,NJ
August 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good, but not Great
August 27, 2015
Well made item, but a tad small in capacity, It is good for one/two portions, but that is about all it will hold without spilling over. Its is nice to have the lip that will fit over a pot to strain into one, and the handle makes it easy to hang.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
Cons: Size
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Open Kitchen Stainless-Steel Colander
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Rochester
,NY
New York
August 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Nice size, needs more holes going up side.
August 27, 2015
I needed a small colander that would drain things like crushed pineapple. My other colander has holes that are too big and the pineapple gets through. This is the perfect size, with the perfect size holes, but they are only on the bottom. If it were in the corner and up the sides a little it would be more efficient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quality
Cons: not enough holes to drain
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Open Kitchen Stainless-Steel Colander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Upstate
,SC
August 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
SS Colander - perfect in receipe size
August 25, 2015
Your stainless steel colander is ideal for my cooking needs - would consider purchasing other sizes - DrCCJones
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Size, Quality, Weight, Easy to Store
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Open Kitchen Stainless-Steel Colander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Greenlawn
,NY
Greenlawn, NY
June 24, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great strainer for small pastas
June 24, 2015
This is a great strainer for pastina and other small pasta, vegetables, etc. You can either hold it in your hand or place it over a bowl or pot and use it to strain. It is made of a nice, heavy stainless steel and is very easy and convenient to use. I highly recommend this product in addition to your regular colander. I prefer to hand wash this but it is dishwasher safe.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Size, Quality, Weight, Easy to Store, Time-saver, Accuracy
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Open Kitchen Stainless-Steel Colander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,London
,UK
London
September 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Excellent for pasta and berries
September 28, 2014
I got this for pasta because I have colander with holes big enough for pasta (orzo, spaghetti) to fall through and a strainer that is great, but difficult to clean thoroughly when used with pasta. This colander seemed like it would resolve both issues because it has a smooth surface to easily clean and holes small enough that pasta wouldn't fall through. And I'm happy to say it ticks all those boxes. It's also great for berries and other small items.
The biggest pleasant surprise is that its capacity is larger than it looks - both on the site and in person.
Great tool for a great price
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store