Williams-Sonoma Finishing Salts Collection

Salt is the world's most effective flavor enhancer, and these four artisanal salts are among the best in the world. Each of the salts in our hand-selected sampler is famous for its distinctive flavor, color and texture. Use any of them as a finishing salt, sprinkled over foods just before serving. Haleakala Red Sea Salt: Has a dramatic color that comes from alae, a mineral-rich red clay. Its flavor is mellow and nutty, with a subtle briny sweetness. Kilauea Black Sea Salt: Has a subtly smoky, sweet-salty flavor and an obsidian color that comes from activated charcoal, a prized digestive. Australian Pink Salt: From the Murray River, this salt has a rich yet delicate flavor, the perfect finishing touch for seafood, meats, vegetables and salads. Cyprus Flake Sea Salt: Harvested by hand from the Mediterranean, where it naturally forms into intricate geometric-shaped flakes with a clean, mild flavor. Includes xx oz. Haleakala Red Sea Salt, xx oz. Kilauea Black Sea Salt, xx oz. Australian Pink Salt and xx oz. Cyprus Flake Sea Salt. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
1 of 3(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Salts Collection
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Salts Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
calikiki
March 18, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent salt set
March 18, 2014
Great salts. Got a set for a friend and had to get one for myself too. Wonderful to have on hand.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Salts Collection
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
3 not 4 dyed finishing salts
November 1, 2013
I ordered the finishing salts collection and received the 3 salts pictured; but not the Haleakala Red Sea Salt as described on the website summary. Out of curiosity, I poured a little water over the Kilauea Black Sea Salt and the color did come off leaving white/clear salt crystals and colored water. Although, all 3 salts are different and have a nice taste; I do question the authenticity. Also the word "artisanal" in their description implies handcrafted not natural. Therefore, I don't feel they are worth the expense and "Ozomlo" may be correct about the ingredients being unhealthy.
Pros: Texture, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, probably not authentic
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Finishing Salts Collection
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ozomlo
,Boise
,ID
August 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
17of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fake dyed salt...
August 2, 2013
Let's stop this nonsense. Pour water over these salts and watch the black, red and pink dyes run. Tossed out the whole lot and went back to good old Malden sea salt. Good salt doesn't need additives.
Cons: Unhealthy, Ingredients
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Ozomlo
Boise
Posted September 24, 2013
let me explain...
In reply to the comment... when water was poured over the salt, the colored salt didn't immediately dissolve, the dye ran leaving regular white/clear salt crystals AND colored water.
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
MacG
St Louis, MO
Posted September 23, 2013
How does your test show any sort of fake dye?
Given that the minerals present in the sea salts that would give it the inherent color and flavor are probably water soluable I don't understand how adding water and having the colored salts dissolve and color the water shows that the product is dyed. I see absolutely no evidence of fake dye in this product. I find your review incredibly unhelpful.
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)