This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag

Perfect for the farmers' market, our bag is so sturdy and well designed you'll want to use it for everyday errands too. Made of eco-friendly natural jute with a reinforced bottom, the tote can take heavy loads, and the rolled-cotton straps fit comfortably over the shoulder. Inside is a zippered pocket and a clear protective lining that is easy to wipe clean. Embroidered with "Williams-Sonoma" in our signature style, the bag can be monogrammed with up to three characters. 17 1/4" x 5" x 14 1/4" high. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
December 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
I hope they bring these back!
December 9, 2013
I've had my tote for over a year and came online to buy one for my mom to carry both groceries and other odds and ends and am disappointed to see it's no longer available!
These bags are strong and sturdy. The handles can be comfortably held in your hand or over your shoulder, which is nice because jute can often be rough on the hands. The length of the handles are also great for someone like me who's a bit on the short side. I can carry groceries with my arm fully extended without dragging the bag along the ground. The internal pocket is also great for quick trips to the grocery store as I can just put my keys, wallet and phone in it and don't have to take my handbag. It also has an amazing capacity and shape that make it very easy to pack and I can fit a surprising amount of items in it.
For all these reason I would prefer to use it even if I wasn't trying to be more conscious about reducing my consumption of paper and plastic. Please bring it back!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Corinna15
,Huntington Beach
,CA
December 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Jute Fluke
December 9, 2012
I bought this bag and was really happy with it at first. The size is nice and I used it all the time for farmers markets. I got a stain on it and because its JUTE STAINS DO NOT COME OUT! I tried and tried to spot clean it and nothing works, the fabric will break down where the stain is, and I don't really want to put my food in a bag I can't clean :-(
Im really bummed...
Pros: Easy to Use, Strength
Cons: Difficult to Clean, durability
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maryc5
,Scarborough
,ME
November 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Shopping bag
November 9, 2012
A great bag. Big with sturdy handles, it works well at the supermarket. Have used mine every time I shop. It makes shopping and transporting groceries so much easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phyl3
,Steamboat
,CO
July 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very attractive, yet well designed and sturdy
July 16, 2012
Finally, I do not have my groceries rolling around in the trunk of my car. My grapefruit and other purchases are contained in these sturdy, attractive market tote bags. Even the grocery baggers seem pleased when they organize my purchases in the bags.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength, Design, Weight, attractive
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
daisy01
Iowa
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great tote
July 12, 2011
Great tote for groceries. I did not experience shedding as mentioned in one of the previous reviews.
Pros: Durable
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbuffum
Ridgecrest, CA
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Great Bag!
January 31, 2011
This bag is very stylish, large capacity, and durable. Has reduced my trips from the car to the house immensly.
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NonniR
Norwich, CT
October 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
my "go to/everything" bag
October 9, 2010
Bag is smart, classic, well-made and a perfect size for groceries, trips to the beach, picnic, etc.. Gets lots of compliments! I love it!
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
foodandwinenerd
Denver, CO
September 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Beware; beautiful to look at, dangerous to hold...
September 17, 2010
These bags are gorgeous and well-made. The name on the side is embroidered, not stamped. That's not apparent from the pictures. However, the rough, raw jute of the bag ruined my clothes. On my first trip to the market with it, I casually slid the folded bag under my arm for the walk into the store. To my horror, in that short amount of time the rough exterior of the bag completely snagged and tore up the material of my favorite (and expensive) yoga top. Major bummer. I'm also still trying to pick off all the jute fibers the offending bag shed onto it. That being said, I'm keeping the bags as they are sturdy and lovely. I'll just be more mindful of how I carry them. Also of note, these bags are huge. I bought four of them to have enough for weekly groceries, which proved totally unnecessary. Two did the job just fine.
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ginsor
Bel Air, MD
February 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Adorable
February 1, 2010
I ordered the tote with a couple monogram and it really is very cute and it always gets compliments. The quality is great and holds a heavy load without fear of falling apart.
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
largemarge
Charlottesville, VA
January 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Great grocery bags
January 3, 2010
I bought these bags back in July. I wondered if they would stand the test of time, and they have been fantastic! I use them every time I go to the store. They hold so much, are very sturdy and the bag clerks love them. Highly recommend them!
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Claudia9
Cincinnati, OH
December 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Disappointed
December 30, 2009
I bought this item for a gift, I was disappointed both in the quality and the monogramming.
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kisslove
New York, NY
July 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Mirical Worker!
July 17, 2009
When I went to the farmer market I brought these bags and the worked likekd a charm! They held so much. I buy them for all of my friends.
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbara123
Boston, MA
July 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
I love this bag!
July 4, 2009
It's super cute and super roomy! I wish I could give it 10 stars! I ordered three bags: one for my mom for Mother's Day with MOM inscription, one bag with my husband's name, and one with my name. These bags are also lined with a plastic liner for easy cleaning and the handles are really strong and stitched a few times. It's super sturdy!
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RuthF
Syracuse, NY
June 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love My Jute Market Tote
June 22, 2009
I love this tote. Just got back from camp & was able to carry so much in it. Was definitely worth the wait.
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Jute Market Tote Bag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ncarolinafran
Roaring Gap, NC
June 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
great gift for the 'greenie' in your life
June 14, 2009
I purchased this for my brother-in-law and had his initials put on the tote bag. Too cute!
The bag was sturdy and roomie enough for a good load of organics! The personalization was a good touch and, of course, the name Williams-Sonoma speaks volumes. A good gift for anyone in your life who considers themselves a 'greenie'.