Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla

Everything is more fun with ice cream, and the easiest way to whip up a batch of velvety vanilla is with our all-natural ice cream starter. Simply mix with heavy cream and half-and-half, pour into your ice cream maker and freeze. Customize with favorite mix-ins like chocolate chips, chopped nuts, crushed cookies or candy sprinkles. In about 30 minutes, you'll enjoy rich, creamy ice cream showcases the sweet, creamy flavor of Madagascar Bourbon vanilla. 12.4 oz. (contains two individually sealed packets; each makes 1 quart premium ice cream). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.936 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
30 of 31(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Livonia
,Mi
September 25, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best homemade icecream
September 25, 2016
I am a chocolate lover, but it have to say the vanilla starter makes the BEST ice cream! The Macassar vanilla just pops. My family looks forward to dessert at my house, as there is always vanilla ice cream to add to any dish...or my husband just wants the ice cream!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Quality
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dallas
,Tx
August 27, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Very Best
August 27, 2016
Have used these ice cream starters for several years, and they really can't be beat! My favorite recipe is the Vanilla flavor with 3 chopped Butterfinger candy bars and 2 TBS of Kahlua added during the last five minutes of freezing. Pretty much to die for!
Pros: Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Quality, Texture
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
August 13, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is really good
August 13, 2016
A bit pricey and makes a small amount however two packets per container and it is delicious - so much better than store bought and so much easier than doing it from scratch. I usually buy it online when they are offering a 20% discount and free shipping then get the 2 canister option. Love it when mixing in mini chocolate chips!
Pros: Decadent, Flavor, Quality, Time-saver
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Carmel
,NY
July 10, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vanilla Starter
July 10, 2016
This is delicious all by itself but even better if you add things to it. I love chocolate chip mint so I add mint extract (1/2 -1 tsp) and then add mini chips when it's time for add-ins. It is so easy - no cooking egg yolks, etc.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Quality
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Livingston
,NJ
July 9, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and creamy
July 9, 2016
I was a bit hesitant to try this icecream starter but decided to after I read the reviews and boy was I happy! It is better than store bought icecream and is so creamy and delicious and so much fun to make. I am definitely going to stock up on these babies.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Great Gift, Quality, Texture, Time-saver
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fresno
,CA
July 7, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Vanilla Ice Cream
July 7, 2016
This was easy to make and very delicious. Recommend this highly..
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Quality, Time-saver
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Blue Grass Region
,KY
June 28, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good vanilla flavor
June 28, 2016
This was the first time we used this product and to our surprise it was very
tasty.
We made it with all 1/2 & 1/2 because we like a lighter ice cream. We were really happy with the taste & consistency.
We now have to try the chocolate & strawberry flavors.
We did try the orange sherbet and wow that was amazing. Just purchased 8 more cans to have on hand of assorted flavors. Try this you won't be disappointed!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Easy to Prepare
Cons: price
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cypress
,TX
June 25, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is the good stuff
June 25, 2016
Great vanilla flavor. The bourbon is a great addition to the flavor. We added frozen peaches to ours and it was so good. Easy to find additional ingredients and easy to follow directions make this the perfect ice cream starter.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Montgomery
,AL
June 3, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST ICE CREAM STARTER
June 3, 2016
Have been using this starter for 2 years now. The chocolate is my favorite.
Just purchased the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker and absolutely love it!!!
It's so fun and easy to make!!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Easy to Prepare
Cons: none!
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orange County
June 3, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Green Tea Ice Cream
June 3, 2016
Sharing an amazing recipe. I used the Vanilla starter and added 4 tablespoons of Matcha. It was the best Green Tea Ice Cream I have ever had. If you love Green Tea Ice Cream you know how hard it is to find a good one! Now you can make it yourself! Perfect.
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,pleasant hill
,ca
May 21, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love ice cream
May 21, 2016
OMG this mix is so close to and maybe better than a lot of ice-creams in stores.
I'm planning on trying the chocolate ice-cream starter and definitely going to reorder the vanilla.
Honestly there is nothing I can say bad about this product.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Easy to Prepare
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Independence
,MO
January 18, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product!
January 18, 2016
This Ice Cream Starter is amazing. I never thought you could make ice cream in under 30 minutes, from begining to finish. The vanilla is heavenly.
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Easy to Prepare
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Valley Falls
,NY
October 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Starter
October 2, 2015
First batch of Vanilla ice cream turned out great, added some chocolate chips towards the end, I also substituted whole milk for the cream and it tasted great.
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Easy to Prepare
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sherman Oaks
,CA
September 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ice cream starter
September 22, 2015
OMG, this is the best! So easy to use and makes the tastiest ice cream. I mix in chocolate chip cookies, or chocolate chips, or fruit. You don't have to mix in anything and just enjoy vanilla. Be creative, whatever you mix in you will absolutely love!!!
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Cons: nothing
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Boston
,MA
Boston, MA
August 21, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really great for a mix
August 21, 2015
I make my own ice cream with eggs and making a custard; but in a pinch I'll sometimes use this mix. It's easy to prepare and you can start making ice cream in minutes. I like a lighter texture and will use heavy cream and replace the half n half with whole milk. I'll also add a a tablespoon of Nielsen Massey Vanilla bean paste for extra vanilla flavor and the look of just scraped vanilla seeds mixed in. For the adult in me...I'll mix in a 1/4 cup of plain vodka - although I guess you could use vanilla flavored vodka - and I get this ready to scoop texture anytime I want. It never turns rock hard with the addition of vodka.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Easy to Prepare
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Langley
,Wa
August 3, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best ice cream ever
August 3, 2015
made ice dream in Cuisinart ice cream maker, followed directions on can and best ice cream ever.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Authentic
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Buckeye
,AZ
August 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
August 1, 2015
This product is very smooth and creamy. Rich vanilla flavor, and great with strawberries. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Easy to Prepare
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
May 25, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy custom ice cream
May 25, 2015
This is a great mix for making quick easy ice cream. I added peach favoring and cut up frozen peaches. Yum! I made two batches the first I followed direction on package. The ice cream was good but a little soft. The second batch I added 1/2 package more than the recipe called for and perfect commercial grade homemade ice cream. No cooking custard! Definitely worth the money.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Easy to Prepare
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
January 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Flavor
January 16, 2015
Was a great introduction to ice cream making. Flavor was great and was even better when I added vanilla from a bean. Recommend very highly.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter, Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dallas
,TX
January 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Mix For Ice Cream
January 16, 2015
We use the vanilla for the base to many flavors of ice cream. I suggest if you want to make a flavor that requires a rum or kahlua then sub it for the vanilla where directed in the recipe. We love this product and wish it came in a canister of more packets!!!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
page1 2 next