Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter

Everything is more fun with ice cream, and the easiest way to whip up a batch of velvety chocolate is with our all-natural ice cream starter. It derives its dark, rich character from premium Guittard cocoa, highlighted by a splash of Madagascar Bourbon vanilla. Simply mix with heavy cream and half-and-half, pour into your ice cream maker and freeze. Customize with favorite mix-ins like chocolate chips, chopped nuts, crushed cookies or candy sprinkles. In about 30 minutes, you'll enjoy sweet, creamy ice cream. 15.4 oz. (contains two individually sealed packets; each makes 1 quart premium ice cream). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Buckeye
,AZ
August 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rich and Decadent
August 1, 2015
We prefer to eat this ice cream with strawberries. The flavor is definitely strong, but in a very good way! Definitely made for chocolate lovers. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Decadent
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Kankakee
,IL
July 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easiest Dessert
July 30, 2015
I made this for a dinner party. It was a huge success, everyone loved the ice cream how creamy and rich chocolate flavor it has. Will purchase other flavors.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Easy to Prepare
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CA
June 27, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite so far
June 27, 2015
Of all the starters, and I have tried them all, this one is tops in taste, texture, and so, so
easy. I love all the starters, but this is #1 with me.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Cons: none
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Daleville
,AL
June 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ENJOYABLE!
June 22, 2015
This chocolate ice cream starter is the best we have ever used. The flavor was delicious dark chocolate and the consistency was perfect. It froze very well. I can't wait to try the other flavors.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Easy to Prepare
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NC
June 16, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent dessert
June 16, 2015
This starter mix is terrific. All you add is milk and cream and after 30 minutes then you have your ice cream. The taste is remarkablly good and the qulaity is outstanding.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Healthy, Decadent
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Woodville
,Al
January 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Good Starter
January 27, 2015
I love Williams-Sonoma Ice Cream Starter.
We do not even look at store bought ice cream anymore. The chocolate is really good, has a dark chocolate taste.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: dark chocolate taste not milk.
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,PdS
,WI
January 20, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
choco ice cream mix
January 20, 2015
Not my cup of tea. Had decent reviews, so decided to try. Recipes included with the ice cream naker are much better.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sugar Land
,TX
Sugar Land, TX
October 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
October 2, 2014
This is SO good! I've had my ice cream maker for over a year, and I've always made ice cream from scratch. This mix tastes even better, and it's so easy. You just put the mix in a bowl, add 1 and 1/2 cups of Half-and-Half, and 1 and 1/2 cups heavy cream and pour it in the ice cream maker. In 20 to 30 minutes you have the most wonderful ice cream. It's very creamy and the flavor is so intense. Worth every penny!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,paoli
,pa
philadlephia pa
June 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
really surprised!
June 19, 2014
this ice cream starter was very good. Creamy, chocolaty , and we did have leftovers and freezing did not make it rock hard either. We were able to scoop it out with ease.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St. Louis
,MO
June 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
shockingly awesome
June 12, 2014
I have struggled for years to find a homemade choc ice cream recipe that actually tastes like chocolate. This starter mix not only has a rich chocolate flavor but has a very smooth and creamy texture. While not from "scratch" is is fun to make and tastes great.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Chocolate Ice Cream Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Virginia Beach
,Va
June 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My go to starter for delicious ice cream
June 12, 2014
This is the simplest ice cream starter yet it yields the most delicious, rich results. It saves a lot of steps over traditional ice cream prep when you don't want to mess around with it. I can't wait to try the other flavors!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift