This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House

The ultimate edible haunted house that the kids will love to assemble and decorate. A building tray provides a sturdy foundation for the house, which is easily constructed from precut gingerbread pieces and ready-to-mix royal icing "glue." Each all-natural gingerbread piece has guides that show exactly where to pipe decorative icings. Once the house is built, kids (and adults, too!) will have a blast customizing it with the included colorful candies, from bewitching black licorice to candy corn. Step-by-step instructions are included. 10" x 6" x 10" high. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
1.682 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
4 of 22(18%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chris00
,Lawndale
,CA
October 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Product!!!!
October 30, 2012
This is a great product. I bought it for my 6 year old niece and my 7 month old nephew and they both had a very fun time putting it all together. We found it easy to understand, and the pieces I was able to taste were good. The house held up well, and I know it will taste good when we finally get to eat it!!!!
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MCMC
,Seal Beach
,CA
October 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Complete disappointment
October 30, 2012
It took 6 hours to put this together and then it was still a hot mess. This was not easy and I could not believe that the cookies had to be adhered to the box. I would not recommend buying this, since it was too difficult for teenagers and adults to put together. It really was not fun at all.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bakingmami
,NYC
October 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Halloween fun
October 28, 2012
ThIs was a great rainy day craft for my children...we all worked together to build the house and it looks great. Little ones can help mommy make the icing and assemble the house. The best part is adding the candies for a unique creation. The gingerbread itself is high quality...much better than ones we found at craft stores. I would have enjoyed more candies and icing bags, but still was very happy with our house Looking forward to a Christmas kit
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
shopgirl1521
,Plains
,PA
October 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
TERRIBLE!!!
October 28, 2012
We made the Halloween house last year, it was so easy. This year's is terrible. My daughters' were so excited to decorate it, even they said to "throw it away"! I gave up after three hours and at that point we were still trying to get the walls to hold together. Complete waste of time and money!!!
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stephz
October 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Too bad I can't give zero stars.
October 24, 2012
This was a waste of time/money and a disappointment to me and my kids. We bought and LOVED last year's no-bake halloween house! WS must have changed vendors. This time, I needed to supply 2lbs of confectioners sugar. Then it took 15 mins to make the icing. Then I realized they were too cheap to include enough piping bags so there was just 1 bag for 3 different colors of icing. They didn't include a rubber band though they called for one. We finally got our icing ready, but the icing glue didn't hold the walls up on the house! Finally, I told my kids I'd made an executive decision, we'll use the walls as cookies to decorate with the icing and candies. I will not be buying this again. Please, WS, say you didn't get rid of your old no-bake holiday gingerbread house in favor of this new FAR inferior brand. If so, I will not be buying it again. I'm so sad at the thought...we've loved the holiday one for several years now.
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lizsbsltimore
,baltimore
,md
October 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
quality has gone down on this one
October 24, 2012
dont buy unless you just dont want to bake. you have to mix the sugar yourself and make sure you have extra on hand. hardly any candy unlike last year! i'd rather buy a bag of ginger bread cookies
Pros: good quality
Cons: too much work and not enough ingredients
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gagrown
October 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Do not waste your money
October 23, 2012
Don't even know where to begin.
- You need to buy 2 lbs of confectioners sugar
- you have to spend 20 mins to mix the frosting
- it only comes with one bag for the frosting. you need 3 to 4 which means you will not get this finished in a reasonable time.
- the frosting doesn't stick as glue so the house doesn't even stand up.
- we ended throwing it away
- this was 5 hours later when we called it a defeat...
Cons: worthless
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CupKat
,Summerville
,SC
October 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Disappointing
October 22, 2012
I'm sorry to say that I found this kit very disappointing. You have to supply your own powdered sugar (2lbs worth) and make the royal icing yourself, which is annoying, but do-able. I was more irritated at having to provide my own candy decorations, because although the box says they're included, you are only given about a handful each of candy corn and black licorice. As other reviewers have said, the dye for the icing is also inadequate.
My biggest complaint, however, is that you have to use the box as a base for the house. The box is made of flimsy paper and bows out every time you push on it, which leads to the precariously-attached pieces popping off.
This kit was frustrating, messy, and time-consuming. It was not up to WS' usual standards.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tertiarydog
San Francisco
Posted October 28, 2012
terrible product from Williams-Sonoma
There's no candy in the box. I could buy this in a cake form for $3.00 from any supermarket.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rosem
October 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
A nightmare
October 22, 2012
Purchased this for my mother and six-year old son to do as a fun halloween project. The frosting is not premade, you have to mix the meringue powder with water and 2 boxes of powdered sugar, and without an eletric mixer they had to mix it by hand for 20 minutes. After my father assisted with the mixing of the icing, they all attempted to glue the gingerbread pieces together. It looked ok, except all the pieces slid off the box (which is the frame for the house) the next morning. Williams - Sonoma is great and issued a full refund, and said there might be have been something wrong with that batch of meringue, but I won't be purchasing it again next Halloween to find out.
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DesertMom
,Tucson
,AZ
October 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Not the same Haunted House
October 22, 2012
DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME & do not attempt to do this house as an activity with children.
In years past the WS house was put together within 5 minutes and the kids could decorate it right away. The old set came with the icing already made and lots of different Halloween themed candies (tiny bats, bones, ghosts, etc.). The old house would hold up to the not so gentle hands of kids, and it was a lot of fun to do.
New set:
- you make the icing
- the candies were not special
- the "construction" of gluing the gingerbread to the box did not work
- the too small gingerbread windows did not evenly match up with the printed windows and door on the box so the images underneath were cut off
The kids were not able to help and I threw this set away.
Pros: made in usa
Cons: junk
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vsnyc
,NYC
,NY
October 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
DO NOT GET THIS PRODUCT unless...
October 21, 2012
DO NOT GET THIS PRODUCT unless...
a) you are a professional chef and like to experiment.
b) it costs $1 and you have nothing better to do with your money....
That's my honest opinion and how I feel after opening the box
I preorder this item and I received it a few weeks ago....I have being doing WS gingerbread houses for years in my NYC apartment. I was looking forward to built this GB house this weekend. This time WS made a terrible product. I had to supply the 2lbs sugar and do the mixing for 12 minutes with my handheld mixer (I am an occasional cook like most people in the city) and then I had to use the box ( how unhealthy is that) for building the ginger bread house! I wish I had the receipt to return this item. Beware... if you had trouble putting together the older versions of gingerbread house then you are for a big surprise.... DO NOT BUY!!!!
Pros: none
Cons: everything
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
barbjean
,Baltimore
,MD
October 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
An Exercise in Frustration and Disappointment
October 20, 2012
I am a loyal and long-time WS customer and was so excited to make this house. Instead I wasted precious time and money on a Saturday. First, I opened the kit to discover there was no meringue packet so I went to the grocery store and bought a huge bag of confectioners sugar cream of tarter, and eggs. The assembly was challenging, and the "glue" did not stick. I am left with an incomplete project, a messy kitchen, and extra expense. Do not buy!
Cons: difficult to make, challenging, product kit is incomplete
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SunnyD
,Plano
,TX
Plano, TX
October 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Turned out adorable and super fun to make!
October 20, 2012
We didn't have any trouble with the icing setting up or the candy staying on. It was super fun to make and it looks so festive on our kitchen table! I will buy this again next year! :)
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
binky2011
,NJ
Northern NJ
October 17, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Total disappointment
October 17, 2012
Agree with the other reviewers. Total waste of money. Especially since typically WS products are excellent. Wish I had read the reviews before I purchased this year. I bought this product last year and it was totally different. Will never purchase again.
Cons: no decorations, poor assembly
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mimi221
,Piedmont
,Ca
October 16, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Big disappointment!
October 16, 2012
I love Williams Sonoma and always feel their quality is 10+! Not this time!
I bought the Xmas one and loved it! I hope WS has not changed suppliers. As I want to order them for the holidays. This haunted house was next to impossible. Frosting never really set up. The amount of candy given to decorate was minimal. Very hard to attach gingerbread pieces to " house box", as recommended. I really wanted it to work!
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Henrysnana
,Dover
,NH
October 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Complete waste of time and money
October 14, 2012
Horrible product. We have made these for three years in the past and been very pleased. This didn't come with frosting or candy and when we followed the instructions and made frosting it was impossible to put together. Not up to Williams-Sonoma standards at all! Don't buy this item.
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FoodieInColorado
,Denver
,CO
October 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
I am so disappointed and annoyed!
October 14, 2012
I am writing this review as my husband is off to the store to buy a 2 lb bag of powdered sugar -- I am too annoyed to go! Last year Grandma sent the WS Haunted House for our daughter and it was AMAZING! So, this year Grandma sent it again. This year's WS Haunted House is a hassle. You have to make the icing and your own ghost figures (supposedly with the icing!). Where last year's kit came with pre-made icing, and fun, neat ghost and bat candies to decorate with. Please bring back last year's kit!
Cons: too much of a hassle
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MMinBoulder
,Boulder
,CO
October 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Terrible - disappointed
October 13, 2012
I don't normally write reviews but I wanted to save others from my extreme disappointment. I've bought this is the past and loved it. But this kit is not like past years. You have to make everything yourself but the gingerbread siding. You need to make the icing. You need to make the ghosts and all decorations! They threw in a small handful of candy corn and black licorice and that.'s it! You even need to scrounge around to find a serving platter for it. What a huge mistake.
Pros: none!
Cons: difficult, messy, time consuming
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TravellerDoctor
,Charleston
,SC
October 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Impossible!
October 11, 2012
We have never been displeased with a Williams-Sonoma product until this one. We thought this would be a great activity to share with our granddaugher who is a second-grader. We have decorated ginerbread houses with her on previous occastions. Imagine our surprise when it turns out that, after purchasing 2 lbs. of confectioner's sugar and following all the instructions, the heavy pieces of pre-baked cookies will not adhere to the cardboard haunted house. It's not even close. To assemble this product you would have to glue the cookies to the house!!
We were so disappointed that this product was not adequately developed to be put on the market. We expected much more from Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: right price
Cons: Disappointing, unworkable
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma No-Bake Halloween Haunted House
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JSHERMAN
,Columbia
,MO
October 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Don't waste your money!!
October 8, 2012
I had high hopes for this product even after reading the first review. I should have followed her advice! The product was not at all what was expected - it should be titled Not Able to Eat Haunted House. You need to "glue" the pieces to box to assemble. The "black" food coloring is really gray purple with an odd smell - not black. The gingerbread was beginning to crumble at the edges of some of the pieces particularly after applying the icing.
What a disappointment to our children!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Unhealthy, Time to Prepare, smell, Difficult to Prepare, Flavor
page1 2 next