Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix

The ultimate gluten-free pastry crusts start with our premium mix, custom-blended using Chef Thomas Keller's signature Cup4Cup flour. This gluten-free flour was carefully developed as an exact replacement for all-purpose flour, so you enjoy a perfectly tender, golden crust. Our all-natural mix is easy to prepare; just blend with butter and water. To help you roll out the dough, we've also included two packets of gluten-free flour for dusting your work surface. Your homemade pastry is perfect for both sweet and savory pies and tarts - or try it for quiche. Any way you bake it, you'll have a rich, buttery crust that's so light and flaky, you won't believe it's gluten-free. 1lb. 3.5 oz. (makes enough dough for one double-crust or two single-crust pies). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eicglutenfree
,Orange Park
,FL
December 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pie Crust Mix Ever
December 31, 2013
This mix is easy to use, has a great taste and no one could tell the difference. Normally, I make pie crusts from scratch, cutting in the butter by hand, etc., to get the right texture and taste. This mix is great-saved me a lot of time!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: price as usual in all gluten free products.
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shesellsseashells
,san clemente
,ca
December 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
simply the best !!
December 15, 2013
i think this box sat in my pantry for a year before i used it this thanksgiving for a pecan pie.. the dough was so good you wanted to eat it raw.. it rolled out beautifully.. it rolled out thinly!! it was far superior to any crust i ever made before gluten free. i DO recommend following the instructions to the letter. i did, and my results surpassed all expect ions. christmas is coming and another pecan pie looms.. but it would be excellent for a quiche as well. i'm keeping a box on hand.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jamj
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pie crust ever!
November 26, 2013
This pie crust is wonderful! Doesn't taste like it's gluten free. No one will know except everyone can eat it! Wish it wasn't so expensive though. That's the only reason why it gets 4 instead of 5 stars!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: expensive
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garnet10
November 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wish it were milk-free
November 16, 2013
This is a very good GF pie crust mix. I usually make my own GF pie crust, but using a mix is so much easier than buying each individual flour and having to store all of them.
I thought my homemade one was better but just got word that DH likes this one better! Woo hoo! I no longer have to buy all those flours! I make a crumb topping so I actually get 2 pie crusts out of this mix.
It would be perfect if it didn't use milk as an ingredient for those of us who need to avoid dairy.
All in all I'd say this one's a winner.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hamski
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flaky, gluten free pastry!
July 17, 2013
I splurged and bought this while in a WS store. I love making pies from summer berries, so didn't want to miss out on these now that we are gluten free. I did find the dough to be somewhat sticky, though that may be attributed to the hot weather/humidity. It stuck to the parchment I rolled it out onto, so I made sure to flour the parchment prior to rolling out the top crust, and this worked well. It has a great texture, and I plan to do an experiment subbing 1/2 vodka for the quantity of the water, as has been done in Cook's Illustrated trials for pastry dough to see if it might be even flakier (alcohol evaporates leaving air). I was hesitant to do this the first time through. The marionberry pie turned out perfect and had such good flavor that no one even knew it was gluten free.
Follow the directions exactly and bake in the lower third of the oven in a metal pan (not glass) for best results.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GFbaker575
,Las Cruces
,NM
March 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gluten-Free Pie Crust That Works
March 6, 2013
As we all know, GF baking is a challenge. I've tried many recipes and various mixes to come up with an adequate, even good pie crust. This one is easier to work with, has a good texture and wonderful flavor. Easy enough prep, meaning you can actually work the dough without much difficulty like so many GF products/recipes. You should try this one. I bought more, so I must really like it.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Madhu
,London
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally gluten-free baking!
March 4, 2013
It is difficult to find baking goods for gluten-free individuals, especially very high quality ones like those from Williams Sonoma. I was quite excited to see this and give it to my wife's sister for her birthday. She has tried it and found it filled that pastry gap in her life since going gluten-free. Thanks so much.
Madhu
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sammygirl
,Poseyville
,In
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pie Crust
February 21, 2013
I have tried to make a Gluten pie crust for my Husband cause he can not eat Wheat flour. and this Pie Crust Was Great... it was good to work with and the taste was great too. little pricey but still good... Williams Sonoma Gluten Free Pie Crust was GREAT!!! even my grandson liked it....
Thank you
sammygirl
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnneTea
Madison, WI
February 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty and Easy to Use
February 18, 2013
This is a great mix. I don't have a stand mixer so I used the food processor like I do for my wheat pie crust. The mix came together perfectly and was a dream to roll out. The taste and texture were very good (it was the base for Cook's Illustrated lemon tart). You don't get quite the same flakiness that you do with wheat, but I think the mix came as close as possible given the limitations of GF flours.
I do want to become a great GF scratch baker but these things take time (I've had... 20+ years of gluten baking experience). And in the meantime I still want to entertain and not poison my mom. I will absolutely buy this mix again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GFFamily
,Irving
,TX
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A sure hit
January 7, 2013
This actually tastes pretty awesome. I have used it to make parmesan cheese crackers for my family (my daughter loved them) and a pecan pie for Christmas. The pie was for a non-gluten free person and he still ate several pieces. Pies are not something I am going to make enough to experiment on different crusts. Instead, I need something I know will work, because the pies are always for sharing!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Baton Rouge
,La
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More than a great pie crust
December 30, 2012
This is a great crust, but we plan to do more with it. I plan to make toaster strudels. add spices and make graham crackers, etc. It is amazing and is absolutely the BEST GF crust we have tasted or made. We have tried numerous crusts and this one stands far above the rest. I've been baking GF for about 3.5 years for my daughter who has a rare auto immune disease. I made cinnamon crisps with the left-over dough and she gobbled them up! :-)
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, tastes amazing!
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SassyMom123
,Phoenix
,AZ
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Crust Ever!
November 26, 2012
I am not a great baker in fact, I’ve even burned boiling water; and yet even I was able to make this piecrust without messing it up. Within this little box of awesome is the best piecrust I have EVER eaten/inhaled/gorged myself on. For Thanksgivings past (this is my first GF) I have used Pillsbury pie crusts and this so much better, by far. Better than my sister-in-laws piecrust made from scratch, which is saying something (although hers is not GF). It was so good that when I had room for seconds, I scooped out the pie filling and ate just the crust like a glutinous cow. I told my wonderful husband with his iron gut that this was almost worth the $20 I had paid, he told me I was wrong; it was worth every penny :)
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Cost
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ZIAS
BLOOMSBURG, PA
November 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EXCELLENT FOR PIES..CROSTATA..MEAT FILLED
November 3, 2012
I have been looking for a long time for a gluten-free pie crust and they were ALL horrible. Then I discovered the Wm-Sonoma brand....ABOVE EXCELLENT. My husband who does not have to eat gluten-free loves it.
Thank you, please a little decrease in the price would be appreciated.
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RCYT
,East bay area
,CA
September 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very tasty pie crust
September 4, 2012
Not good in explaining how tasty this pie crust. I know how to make pie crust from stratch, but this pie crust sure taste very good and easy to make. Just one comment: Expensive! But if you want to try something different, I would recomment to try this pie crust.
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GEMAC
,Chicago
,IL
July 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best GF Pie Crust I've Ever Had
July 15, 2012
I have been trying to make gluten-free pie crust for 12 years. This is the best tasting crust I've ever had. It actually is comparable to a good wheat crust.
Most GF pie crusts are very difficult to work with. Even with chilling or freezing the dough you end up with a sticky mess. This rolled out beautifully and easily transferred to the pie dish. I was amazed!
Thank you Thomas Keller!
My only complaint is that this is very expensive. I don't mind a mark up for GF because the ingredients are more expensive, but $20 for one pie is ridiculous. I will save this for special occasions. If it was cheaper I would be buying it all the time.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Cons: Cost