This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Gingerbread House Kit

Celebrate the magic of the season with the ultimate enchanted cookie cottage. Great for holiday parties and family projects, our complete kit makes it fun and easy to build a festive gingerbread house decorated with colorful sweets. Each gingerbread piece is embossed with lines that highlight details and show builders exactly where to pipe decorative icings. Once the house is built, customize it with delectable decorations-from jeweltone mini jellies to red and white peppermints.
Average Customer Rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
4 of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Gingerbread House Kit
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Gingerbread House Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chocoholic999
,Greensboro
,NC
March 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Superb taste
March 1, 2014
My 9 year old daughter and I bought the kit on sale and we enjoyed making it. The gingerbread was tasty and fresh right of the package and I must warn you, you will have to eat it on the first day, otherwise it starts to go stale on the second day. The candies and white frosting that came with it were so good. I will buy it again and now know we must eat it on the first day unless we use it just for display.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Gingerbread House Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
etp523
,AL
January 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
frustrating
January 1, 2014
fell apart; went straight into the trash; total waste of time and money
Cons: Disappointing, Difficult to Prepare
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Gingerbread House Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NorthernMichiganGal
,Northern
,MI
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Second choice but turned out better
December 29, 2013
I was pokey this year about sending a GB
house to my grand kids, ages 12 & 5., so this one was my second choice as the one I usually order annually was out of stock. My 12 year old is an old pro w/ these by now, & she was thrilled w/ the larger tube if icing, as well as candy decor choices. She said icing was easier to use when the tube of it was warmed & smooshed ;-) around in her hands before squeezing out. Best of all, the entire family said this house was completely edible. Please bring this one back next year!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Great Gift
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Gingerbread House Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TexasMimi5
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Icing does not pipe out well
December 27, 2013
I agree that something is wrong with the icing. Every time you would try to apply the icing....it would lift back off, smear, etc. Way too messy! I kneaded the bag for several minutes. I followed ALL instructions. I agree with the lady that said it kept falling apart.....same here. The other issue is.....when you applied the roof, there was quite a GAP and I noticed that one of the sides of our house had a curve to it and did not want to do right. I feel that this was way too expensive....matter of fact, it went on sale within a day or two of my purchase. My daughter and I have decided we will do everything our self next Christmas
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Difficult to Prepare
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Gingerbread House Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YouEatWithYourEyesFirst
December 27, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
WONDERFUL--will order every year!
December 27, 2013
Bought 2, one for a friend's young daughter and one for our family, and we had a blast! Instructions are simple, and once constructed, the houses are rock solid, with an aroma of gingerbread that fills the room. There's plenty of icing, but I'd suggest adding decorative icing tips and some favorite candy of your own for variety and to munch along the way. Definitely would've lured in Hansel & Gretel -- creative and fun!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Gingerbread House Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheGallifreyGourmet
,Manhattan
,NY
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Well-made and fun
December 26, 2013
After reading the negative review I almost didn't get this, but am glad I did. My experience was the exact opposite. The icing held the pieces together quite well, both the walls/roof + candy decorations. Generous supplies, great-tasting gingerbread, easy to build, tho 2D images in in directions can be misleading without additional reflection on the construction - coat the thin outside edges, hold 'til set & wait 30 mins. before decorating et voila. Looking forward to more next year!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: 2d images in directions can be misread
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Gingerbread House Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NeverWillBuyAgain
December 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
15of 19found this review helpful.
WASTE OF MONEY - DO NOT BUY
December 17, 2013
My mother and I have done gingerbread houses every year growing up. This year we thought we would try Williams-Sonoma. We were incredibly disappointed. The icing clearly did not work. The house continually fell apart and we could never get it to the point where it would all stay together, including the roof. We followed the instructions directly so we are unsure as to why the icing did not work. We will not be buying a gingerbread house from them again next year.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Difficult to Prepare
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
4children
Posted December 26, 2013
completely disagree
This was the first gingerbread house that my girls actually built themselves and with minimal help from their father they were able to create adorable houses. In fact they each made their own and I plan to display them thru New Year's Day. The walls have stayed together as well as the candy decorations. I would buy these houses again and again.
0points
Customer avatar
47teacher
Columbia, Md
Posted December 21, 2013
Waste of Money
The house would not stay together. This was a big waste of time, money, not to mention the disappointment of 3 children. It ended in the trash. I would have expected more from Williams Sonoma.
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)