This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Frosting

Our nostalgic frostings put a rich, creamy spin on the ready-made versions we all loved as kids. Delicately sweetened with pure cane sugar, they finish off home-baked treats with the pure flavors of all-natural ingredients like Madagascar Bourbon vanilla, Dutch-process cocoa from Belgium and tangy Meyer lemon. The soft, spreadable frostings-made without hydrogenated oils-are the ultimate topping for your home-baked treats. 1 lb. 6 oz. (each frosts a 9" round, two-layer cake, a 9" x 13" sheet cake or 18-24 cupcakes). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
2 of 8(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Frosting
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mintt1
,lexington
,oh
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Worst product ever brought from WS
September 23, 2013
My husband brought a jar of this chocolate frosting. It was dried out like lard when I opened it. Very disappointed. And a big disappointment for my daughter who was hoping to frost cupcakes with. What a waste of money and I notice that there is no quality guaranteed on it. We were looking forward to using it as it has no hydrogenated oils in it.
Pros: ingredients
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Difficult to Prepare, Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LNGLA
,Venice
,CA
August 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Whip it in a mixer!
August 9, 2013
I had great success with the frosting by putting it in my mixer and whipping it. It really opened it up, it was the perfect frosting, spread beautifully and tasted great.
I am shocked to read multiple people microwaved and heated it up, etc.
I really hope they don't discontinue this delicious frosting because of the bad reviews. I do hope they update the instructions to "Whip in a mixer until desired consistency".
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: bad instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GayleAnn
,Mount Arlington
,NJ
May 5, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
HORRIBLE. DO NOT PURCHASE
May 5, 2013
We purchased the vanilla bean. It has the consistency of cold hard butter. It needed to be microwaved to get it out of the jar. I whipped it with the Kitchen Aid. I do not think a hand mixer would have worked.
I could not spread it it was so hard and stiff. I was making a large cake to look like a whoopie pie. I put it between layers, and then tried to spread it out, but, it stuck to the cake. It would not have worked for a cake as an outer frosting, and was so hard, i don't think anyone but the Incredible Hulk or Superman could squeeze it out of a bag. Once it lost the warmth of the microwave, it was back to the super hard cold butter state, even at room temperature.
The taste was very disappointing. We purchased vanilla bean. No vanilla taste whatsoever. It was sweet to the point of cotton candy melt your teeth sweet. The only taste was sugar.
VERY disappointing product.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Difficult to Prepare, Flavor, very difficult to use
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CAGrandmom
,CLOVIS
,CA
April 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Horrible product
April 19, 2013
Agree with reviewers who said it was a dried out, unable to spread, nasty paste. I thought of microwaving it too then I said ugh who knows what went wrong with this to make it into the garbage I PAID FULL PRICE FOR? And I can't find the receipt so I know the store will refuse to give me a credit. EXTREMELY disappointed in W-S. I was baking cupcakes for my daughter's birthday so this could have been a disaster had I not found a tin of Betty Crocker's...
Cons: Texture, is not frosting
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Dunedin
,FL
March 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
I can't believe they put the WS name on this stuff
March 22, 2013
I bought a jar of this frosting on sale for $3.99 (regular price was $19.99--are you kidding me?!) thinking that I could use it on a cake for drop-in guests. There's no way you could ever use this right from the jar. At room temperature it's harder and denser than refrigerated vegetable shortening--it would rip a cake apart. The jar is tall, with a narrow opening (exactly like a jar of pasta sauce) which makes it ridiculously difficult to get the frosting out.
Yes, you can nuke it for a minute, but then it turns hard again at room temp. I bought the peppermint flavor and peppermint is all you can taste; the mouth-feel is grainy and greasy instead of smooth and creamy.
Palm oil is good for frying, so if I could think of something to fry in sweet, peppermint-flavored palm oil I'd try that. Since I can't think of anything, it's going in the garbage.
Save your money--don't buy this product.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Difficult to Prepare, Flavor, poor package design, good ingredients used poorly
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Annie1234
,Seattle
,Wa
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Terrible product
January 16, 2013
This is the worst frosting. I'm a baker but thought this would be a nice yummy easy way to cook up the cupcakes. It taste like crisco. And it it is very hard to get out of the jar. You have to warm it up a little over a bowl of warm water Stick to making your own And it's expensive for such a bad product
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ingridb
,Bakersfield
,CA
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Great Chocolate Flavor
December 31, 2012
I always make home made frosting, but I decided to try the WS version over the holidays. It has a great chocolate flavor. Straight from the jar, it is too firm to spread. I refrigerated it after opening, and it was more firm. Since I can't let a good chocolate thing go, I removed the lid and microwaved for 30 seconds, then stirred it. The frosting became creamy and unctuous, perfect for spreading on cookies, cupcakes, graham crackers, and cakes, too, I'm sure. It's now on sale on line, and I'm going to add it to my pantry for use throughout the year.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Trixiebelle1997
,MI
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Disappointing
December 30, 2012
I received this as a gift for Christmas 2012. The frosting inside the jar is dry, hard and flakey when I try to scoop it out. Tastes ok, though. This is not going to work for frosting the cupcakes I made this afternoon.
Pros: Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Difficult to Prepare, dry, flakey