Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut

Roasted chestnuts are a familiar sight and scent at holiday time. A customer favorite, our comforting blend soothes with the warm, buttery fragrance of chestnut essence, spiced with aromatic cinnamon and clove. The fragrance is derived naturally, from premium-quality essential oils and essences sourced from around the world. Our biodegradable hand soap is specially formulated for hardworking hands. Natural moisturizers include soothing olive oil, aloe vera and glycerin. Contains no parabens, ammonia, chlorine or lauramide DEA and is not tested on animals. Includes durable plastic pump top. Hand soap: 16 fl. oz. Hand soap refill: 68 fl. oz. Developed exclusively for Williams-Sonoma in the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
November 12, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Label change again for the worse
November 12, 2015
Why does WS keep changing the labels? Now they look generic and boring. Will not be buying any longer
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
November 7, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing Change
November 7, 2015
A big part of the appeal of these soaps were the bottle designs. Those are now gone and replaced with plain and dull looking labels. They no longer stand out as "something special" nor convey a sense of quality like they used to. Instead they just look like they could have come from a discount store. What a shame.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Culver
,OR
October 26, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spiced Chestnut Hand Soap
October 26, 2015
This is the most wonderful smell, it works nice for the Holidays, I also love it year round. The soap and hand lotion are a wonderful addition to the bathrooms
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Dallas area
,TX
October 22, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bottle has changed for the worse!
October 22, 2015
I have used this hand soap and the lotion that goes with it for a couple of years and have liked it very much. But I just reordered new bottles of each to fit in the wire holder for them, and the bottles are different! They used to be in bottles with pretty brown chestnut design. Now they look like an off-brand or generic bottle of hand soap or lotion. I will use these, but will not buy them again, which makes me sad. They were a pretty addition to my kitchen counter, in addition to being nice hand soap and lotion, but are no longer pretty at all.
Cons: unattractive bottle
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fairfield
,NJ
February 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good soap, great scent!
February 19, 2015
Caught a sale on this, which made it even nicer! Good product and makes the whole room smell terrific! Nice to use and nice to have for company.
Pros: Easy to Use, Scent, Size
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Rochester
,NY
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Long-Time Favorite
December 31, 2014
Seven years ago we were given this hand soap as a gift. Ever since, we have made a point of purchasing several bottles when it is available during the Christmas season. It is an welcome gift in my wife's stocking every year, and I must have some for myself too.
Pros: Scent, Quality
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Rosa
,CA
October 14, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
smells great
October 14, 2014
I love this soap. Got our first one as a gift, and then reordered. The fragrance stays with you which is what I like, but you get used to it after a few days and unfortunately don't notice it after that. But the oils in the soap are what really make the difference.
Pros: Scent, Size, Strength, Assembly
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Marietta
,GA
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Hand and Dish Soap
January 3, 2013
I have been using this soap for four years, ever since it was given to me as a gift. I love the scent and the hand & dish soap work very well. I stock up when I buy as I use it year round.
I was very disappointed to see that the dish soap is no longer available and I hope that means they are out of stock and not discontinuing it!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Scent, Quality
Cons: difficult to find
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Plano
,TX
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this!
January 3, 2013
I absolutely love this soap and lotion. I bought them for myself 2 years ago and buy them again and again every year. Had company come in last year and everyone loved it so much, they all went out and bought some themselves. Love the smell and doesn't leave my skin dry. Highly recommend and will continue to buy every year! Hope it is never discontinued!
Pros: Easy to Use, Scent, Quality
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Hand Soap, Spiced Chestnut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Guntersville
,AL
Guntersville, AL
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not suds up
December 31, 2012
I really like the smell of this hand soap, but it does not suds up; in other words, you are not sure if you are getting your hands clean. I have to use multiple pumps to make my hands clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Scent
Cons: Quality, does not suds up
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
LMW1
Cleveland, Ohio
Posted January 4, 2013
hard water issue?
We have hard water at our house and I love this soap and even before we got a water softener, this soap sudsed up just fine. I love the scent and the fact that it is made to be non polluting, as much as it can be...
0points
Customer avatar
Goulagirl424
Moss Point, Ms.
Posted January 3, 2013
Love this soap!
I absolutely love this soap and the smell is wonderful. I have been buying the hand soap and hand lotion for years.
0points
Customer avatar
MissHavisham
Lincoln, Nebraska
Posted January 3, 2013
Of course the product "does not suds up."
The product description clearly states it does not contain lauramide DEA, which is used as an emulsifier and foaming agents in products such as shampoos, shaving creams, moisturizers, and baby washes.
DEA can be absorbed into the body through the skin. It can act as a carcinogen and can be converted to nitrosamine, which is also carcinogenic. DEA is a hormone disruptor and robs the body of choline needed for fetal brain development.
We should actually prefer any product such as this hand soap or a shampoo or a dish-washing product that DOES NOT suds up. We'd all be healthier for it.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
MaryManchester
Houston TX
Posted January 3, 2013
Soap vs. Suds
I love this soap & particularly this fragrance. I was sorry to see it get a one star rating because it doesn't produce a lot of suds. Soap works because it is an emulsifier & allows grease & dirt to mix with water and be rinsed away. "Suds" have nothing to so with getting your hands clean. Manufacturers make products "suds up" because it is what people expect - as Pammy52's review illustrates. The important part of getting your hands clean is to rub the soap & water on the hands for an adequate amount of time to loosen & combine the dirt with the water & to rinse thoroughly to wash it away. Dishwasher & laundry detergents clean without suds because the suds that are so appealing in a hand soap would wreak havoc in a dish or clothes washer. Think about it.
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)