Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix

Satisfy spur-of-the-moment cupcake cravings with our quick and easy mixes. We prepare them with the highest-quality ingredients for a tender bite and intense flavor, including custom-milled organic flour sourced from small family farms, then custom-milled by a company founded in 1856. Our mixes are perfectly balanced with just the right amount of sugar. Simply add eggs, butter and milk. Each mix includes a recipe for frosting that complements the flavor of the cupcakes. Vanilla Bean: Whips up rich, moist cupcakes with creamy flecks of Madagascar Bourbon vanilla beans. 11 oz. Chocolate: Guittard cocoa powder gives cupcakes their sweet, chocolaty flavor. 1 lb. Red Velvet: Bakes into classic scarlet cupcakes with rich, chocolaty flavor derived from pure cocoa. 14 oz. Meyer Lemon: Produces rich, golden cupcakes bursting with the sunny citrus flavor of natural Meyer lemons. 12 oz. Coconut: Produces snowy white cupcakes with sweet shredded coconut, which adds tempting tropical flavor and texture. 11.4 oz. Pumpkin: Mix derives its classic fall flavor from real pumpkin puree, pure Madagascar Bourbon vanilla and a fragrant blend of cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. 1 lb. Each makes 12 cupcakes. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
21 of 33(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CroatanGirl
,Manteo
,NC
October 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Lemon Cupcake Mix !!
October 4, 2014
I tried the Meyer Lemon cupcake mix and Lemon icing. I usually do not like mixes and was hesitant to buy it.
What a pleasant surprise.
The texture and flavor were exceptional !! I did not have any unsalted butter so I used my usual Irish butter without any compromise in flavor.
I made 12 cupcakes as per directions..but will divide the mix into 14 portions the next time. The cupcakes overflowed the cups.. I trimmed the cupcakes of the extras and toasted the crumbs and used it to garnish the iced cupcakes. I used the Lemon icing without any additions it has a nice tart natural flavor.I can hardly wait to try the other flavors!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lms1022
,Flagstaff
,Az
September 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst cupcake I ever tasted
September 28, 2014
I bake a lot and I love coconut anything. Tasted like soap. We had company and ended up without dessert. Nobody liked them. It was not just me.
Pros: pretty
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yummers
,CA
August 6, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
chocolate is better than vanilla
August 6, 2014
I went to the store looking for the sprinkles cupcake mix but you can only buy those online now. So decided to try the williams sonoma brand and bought the chocolate and the vanilla mixes. The container says makes 12 cupcakes, note that the instructions are slightly different depending on the flavor you get. I ended up getting 10 cupcakes out of the vanilla and 13 out of the chocolate. My vanilla cupcakes ended up sunken in the middle but the chocolate ones turned out fine. I also liked the chocolate flavor more. I would buy them again but yes they are pricey.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SouthernGal820
February 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pricey but Good
February 25, 2014
I bought three different flavors in this mix and the one I've made so far was the coconut. It requires a stick of butter, 1/2 cup of milk and 2 eggs. I only got 10 cupcakes out of the batter, had I done 12 they would have been very small and not risen to the top of the cupcake paper. If you take the cost of the can of mix, plus the required ingredients, factor in there is no frosting (there is a recipe for buttercream on the mix can) and the end result is you have 10 unfrosted cupcakes this is very pricey in my opinion. They are very easy to make, I don't have the required mixer with a bowl so I just used my small food processor and it worked great. The flavor of the coconut cupcakes is really good, to me they are a little dense but I think maybe this is due to the coconut in the mix - I think dense is good with these - and they come out of the paper easily without sticking. All in all they are good.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Cons: Amount, Cost
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beenie
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Chocolate Cupcakes!
February 1, 2014
Like others, I was also skeptical to try this mix based on some negative reviews. I received this mix as a gift. They turned out wonderful! Definitely pricey, but at least they turned out great. Easy to put together - stick of melted butter (good, I'm lazy to get butter at room temp), 2 eggs, and milk. Mix together and bake. I think I will consider trying other varieties. Also - turned out in high altitude.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: depends - makes 12 some may want 24.
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrillMasterJ
,Marietta
,Ga
August 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Something Different
August 26, 2013
The mix has a consistency similar to corn bread. It makes the cupcake both interesting and delicious.
Pros: Texture, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cathoff
,Woodside
,NY
July 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite "Home made" cupcakes!!
July 16, 2013
Love these cupcake mixes. Whenever the grandchildren come over they look forward to the great taste of "Grandma's cupcakes." I recommend all the flavors. Very easy,very delicious!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JanetWS
,Princeton
,NJ
Princeton, NJ
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Natural Lemon Flavor, Hooray!
March 4, 2013
My family loves cupcakes and so we gave these a try...very pleased with the results! They have a soft texture and an amazing natural lemon taste. In fact, we loved the taste so much we decided not to frost them!
We were also really happy to find that each cupcake had 0g of fat, less than 200 calories, and less than 14g of sugar!
You won't be disappointed with the lemon! We loved making just a dozen - it made them more of a treat and less of a temptation! Looking forward to trying the other flavors! Thanks WS! :)
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
February 16, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Cupcake Mixes!
February 16, 2013
I bought all three flavors online again today after purchasing them at the William Sonoma Store on El Paseo, Palm Desert.
I was somewhat worried about even trying the mixes because of all the negative reviews.
I am thrilled to report you can forget all those negative reviews and give these mixes a try!
My family loves them and they are so easy to prepare. Just follow the directions exactly and you will not be disappointed.
These are not your average cupcakes like the kind you will find in a box at your super market. These are gourmet bakery style quality cupcakes.
For those complaining about the cost of $14.95 per canister for 12 cupcakes. Just remember $14.95 divided by 12 equals $1.24 per cupcake. Try buying a delicious cupcake at your local bakery at this price.
I highly recommend them to everyone!
Happy Baking!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LauraPL
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
February 8, 2013
Caught these on sale at my local store and picked up multiple flavors. All were easy to make, had good texture and were really easy. Flavor is an issue. The vanilla tasted more like a muffin mix and coconut had a very artificial coconut flavor. Chocolate had a really nice chocolate flavor. Lemon is still in the pantry cuz I'm feeling a bit gun shy. I'll bypass these products in the future.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Patzy
,Hartford
,Wi
January 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yum, Red Velvet Cupcakes
January 24, 2013
I made these cupcakes twice, once for granddaughters birthday.
They turned out great. Light, good texture and flavor. First time I made them I divided the batter among 12 liners per directions, they were way too full, baked up and over the liners. Second time I used less batter per liner and got 18 cupcakes, they looked much nicer.
I also used the recipe on side of the can for the cream cheese frosting. Very good.
Only thing, the mixes are quite pricey. Would probably only use for special occasions.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Cost
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeslieMac
,Cherry Hill
,NJ
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great consistency - have on hand for last minute
November 25, 2012
I love all of the cupcake mixes (I have tried them all). They are easy, consistent and allow you to have an impressive last minute dessert on hand at the last minute.
I give special kudos for the suggested frosting recipe included with each cupcake flavor, all turned out delicious and also matched the flavor of the cake perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1492
,Scottsdale
,Az
August 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Flavor!
August 18, 2012
My 17 year old granddaughter and I made these and we were amazed at how light the texture and complex the flavor was.
We were happy that there are only 12
cupcakes to a batch. Enough to share, and a few to bring home. The taste is definately
quality over quantity
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PalmSpringsBaker
Palm Springs, CA
Posted February 16, 2013
Top 25 Contributor
Excellent Flavor!
I couldn't agree more with reviewer 1492.
Simply delicious cupcakes!
Thank you for the excellent review!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobynB211
,Annapolis
,MD
July 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Vanilla cupcakes!
July 22, 2012
I bought several mixes a few weeks ago and just made the Vanilla Bean today. They are as good as the vanilla cupcakes at Sprinkles or Georgetown cupcake. I'm not as excited about the Red Velvet. The Lemon Meyer was pretty good. Vanilla mix is definitely the best of the ones I tried. I'll buy it again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14yroldbaker
,croydon
,pa
July 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent cupcakes
July 21, 2012
my mom had brought me red velet cupcakes becuase i love to bake so i made them following everything. I was upset they only made 12 but they were excellent cupcakes my family agreed too they were a bit too much money but i still will by more cupcake mix from there so much more better than betty crooker very good!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kawaiidelight
July 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Cupcake Mix!
July 20, 2012
I used a whisk attachment on the mixer instead of the recommended paddle and it still turned out yummy. Keep in mind that the mix instructs to combine the batter for 2 minutes or UNTIL COMBINED, so don't keep mixing once no streaks remain. This may help if the cupcakes are turning out too dense. Overall, these are great cupcakes best served with a tall glass of milk!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChargerGirl
,Carlsbad
,CA
July 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
2of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointed
July 19, 2012
My mother gave me this mix as a gift, as I love to bake. I very rarely use box mixes, as I like to make cakes from scratch, but it was a gift so I decided to make these while my daughter napped today. There was enough batter for exactly 12 cupcakes, which was the first disappointment. The second disappointment was that the cupcakes were just plain gross. The flavor tasted artificial and they were extremely dense. I followed the directions exactly as they were on the box, and I am a very experienced baker, but these just were not good at all. I threw them all away :( What a waste of nap time!
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Goodeatin
,Dallas
,tx
July 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible Disappointment!
July 17, 2012
These VERY EXPENSIVE canisters contain a very small amount of cupcake mix. You will be lucky to fill a pan. But it does not matter-- they are so horrible that you won't want to eat them anyway. We spent $60 on these cupcakes: 2 packages and 2 jars of frosting. All of it is the WORST product I have ever encountered. And I took it to my office-- they eat anything up there-- but sadly, no one would eat these. They are horrible and I would like my time and money back. Do not waste yours!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Unhealthy, Ingredients, Time to Prepare, smell, Difficult to Prepare, Flavor, tastes like nothing
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gtaste
,Philadelphia
,PA
July 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best mix for making cupcakes
July 2, 2012
I must say this is by far the best cupcake mix I have ever used.
I made cupcakes for my boss birthday and he loved it so much he took some home to his family.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Great Gift
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Cupcake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
coolgirl2
,Houston
,Tx
Houston,Tx.
June 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love to bake
June 22, 2012
I thought these would be good and they turned out horrible. They had no taste and too heavy!!! I wasted my money!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
page1 2 next