Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer

Great for whipping up everything from homemade confections to fried chicken, this precision thermometer is calibrated to gauge the wide range of heat required for working with sugar and cooking oils. Its oversized dial displays temperatures from 100 deg.F to 400 deg.F along with easy- to-read indicators for seven temperature stages (chocolate melt, soft ball, firm ball, hard ball, soft crack, hard crack and deep fry). Measures temperatures from 100 deg.F to 400 deg.F (40 deg.C to 200 deg.C) Displays easy-to-read indicators for 7 temperature stages Oversized face with large numerals in 20deg. increments Stay-cool, easy-grip handle Use the adjustable clip to attach thermometer to side of pot.
Average Customer Rating:
2.615 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
5 of 13(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tagnak
,Vancouver
,BC
December 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Caramel-Maker's Opinion
December 18, 2013
I have been making caramels for 20 years and have ripped through enough candy thermometers in my time. Why is it so hard to find a good candy thermometer?
This thermometer is fussy.
It's a glass tube thermometer that is strapped to a sturdy metal stem. The metal stem has nooks and corners that aren't clean-up friendly.
The pot clamp slides around too loosely.
When I dropped it into my boiling caramel pot, the glass fogged up completely and remained foggy.
It's hard to read accurately without getting level with the stem.
The actual red thermometer indication is far from the degree markers.
Clean up: I set this to soak for a few minutes, rinsed and washed it gently and there is still caramel stuck behind the glass tube on the stem.
Overall, I'm still on the search for the perfect candy thermometer.
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsTiffG
,Plainfield
,IL
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Candy/Oil Thermometer
July 7, 2013
It worked great on a number of different foods---milk, oil, caramel. The results were very accurate and easy to read.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RouxMaker
,Livingston
,LA
December 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Numbers wear off!
December 19, 2012
The clip works well and the thermometer is accurate, but it doesn't matter when the numbers are worn off. After a few months of use the numbers started wearing off. I tried to be more careful thinking that it was somehow my fault. I rinsed it after each use, but the numbers would slide off just after running it under hot water. Poorly made product not worth a dime.
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Scout716
,Norfolk
,VA
October 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very inaccurate temperature readings!
October 20, 2012
First use: I could tell the toffee was getting close to hard crack stage, yet the thermometer read 220 degrees. By the time I decided to trust my instincts, about 30 seconds later, too late--toffee was burned. Second use: I decided to try to be more careful as surely I must have done something wrong the first time. Nope. Waiting for the caramel to get to firm ball stage, the thermometer hung out at 200 degrees while the caramel overcooked.
First big disappointment in a W-S gadget; I plan on returning it tomorrow. Don't buy it!
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Inaccurate
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dicker56
Alpena MIchigan
Posted December 18, 2012
I had the same thing happen to me. 220) then scorched the toffee. don"t buy get a digital
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buckeye2311
,Columbus
,OH
December 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peanut Brittle
December 21, 2011
I have made over 50 lbs. of peanut brittle and this thermometer worked awesome. I kept throwing away the cheaper thermometer, because they would break when cleaning. The only change I would make is it to be easier to read.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: hard to read
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
COShellie
Morrison, CO
May 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Taylor Elite Candy/Oil Thermometer
May 18, 2011
This item never worked. I felt bad because it was a gift from my husband so I kept trying. After ruining my fare share of caramels I went back to my $6.00 grocery store thermometer. Most everything at WS is awesome, but this one absolutely misses out.
Mine also fell apart while using it. Not a good product.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate, Fragile
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LDMT830
Boston, MA
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-21points
0of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
January 27, 2011
I bought this when I wanted to try to make homemade marshmallows - I have been scared to use it amd stalked the reviews here. I'm a newbie with this and wasn't comfortable with this when i bought it but wanted to give it the benefit of doubt.It being my first time - I surely do not need to mess up a batch of anything bcz of the thermometer. I'm returning it and will try again with a different kind.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
donna0322
Wisconsin
Posted December 3, 2012
Inappropriate review
How can you rate this termometer based on other reviews? You haven't even tried it yourself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
janny1
Fayetteville, Arkansas
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very poor quality.
December 31, 2010
I wanted a good candy thermometer, and was willing to pay a high price for it. This is not a good thermometer. I overcooked a batch of fudge and a batch of caramels. Then after using it two times, it broke while I was washing it. Not in the dishwasher, I was washing it carefully by hand. The tip just snapped off.
Also, the clip would not stay on. It fell off all the time (even in the caramel.)
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nourish
Batavia, IL
September 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Cheesmaking!
September 18, 2010
I really love this thermometer for cheese making. It's easy to read and attaches tightly to the side of my pans.
For candy making try the digital candy/oil thermometer - I've found it to be no fail.
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
methehylm
Baltimore, MD
July 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too slow for candy.
July 21, 2010
Having spent an fair amount on this thermometer (typical of Williams Sonoma prices), I expected this to function very well, like their other products. Instead, this thermometer performed very poorly.
It reacted much too slowly when I used it -- twice -- to make caramels. The first time, I managed to burn the whole batch waiting for "firm ball" stage, and instead made a very brittle block of toffee (that happens to taste like burned caramel). The second time, and my last with this thermometer, I made some adjustments to make sure I wouldn't burn the mix, but when it came time to wait for firm ball stage, I ended up removing the batch at a temperature the thermometer said was 15 degrees below firm ball stage, but the mix was already sticking to the bottom of the pot.
I do not recommend this product. I will go back to my insta-read meat thermometer that I bought for half as much as this at the grocery store.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
alsmith
Cincinnati OH
Posted December 31, 2010
making candy
I have a similar thermometer I've had for years, and I love it. However, you must test your non-digital thermometers in boiling water 212 deg each time you use it and adjust your temperature accordingly. Ex. if your temp reads 215 on thermometer at the boiling stage then you need to adjust your final temp by 3 deg. etc.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RayDarMom
New Jersey
April 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great thermomter
April 19, 2010
This thermomter clips easliy to the pan, is easy to clean and facilitates the reliable production of a good consistent product. It is a good value at $20.
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
porcupineu
Shakopee, MN
January 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
January 3, 2010
This thermometer is vastly overpriced. It's too large, and the clip is not tight enough. Because of it's $20 price tag, I expected the temperature to be right on. Luckily I checked it first with boiling water, and it was off by 6 degrees. I'm going back to my old, smaller, inexpensive one that I bought years ago at a grocery store!
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lindab8945
MORGANTON, NC
December 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I CAN SEE!
December 9, 2009
I CAN SEE THE DIGITS VERY CLEAR NOT LIKE THE OTHERS I HAVE TRIED! I AM ORDERING MY 90 YEAR OLD FRIEND ONE TODAY.