Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer

Great for whipping up everything from homemade confections to fried chicken, this precision thermometer is calibrated to gauge the wide range of heat required for working with sugar and cooking oils. Its oversized dial displays temperatures from 100 deg.F to 400 deg.F along with easy- to-read indicators for seven temperature stages (chocolate melt, soft ball, firm ball, hard ball, soft crack, hard crack and deep fry). Measures temperatures from 100 deg.F to 400 deg.F (40 deg.C to 200 deg.C) Displays easy-to-read indicators for 7 temperature stages Oversized face with large numerals in 20deg. increments Stay-cool, easy-grip handle Use the adjustable clip to attach thermometer to side of pot.
Average Customer Rating:
2.25 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
1 of 4(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tagnak
,Vancouver
,BC
December 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Caramel-Maker's Opinion
December 18, 2013
I have been making caramels for 20 years and have ripped through enough candy thermometers in my time. Why is it so hard to find a good candy thermometer?
This thermometer is fussy.
It's a glass tube thermometer that is strapped to a sturdy metal stem. The metal stem has nooks and corners that aren't clean-up friendly.
The pot clamp slides around too loosely.
When I dropped it into my boiling caramel pot, the glass fogged up completely and remained foggy.
It's hard to read accurately without getting level with the stem.
The actual red thermometer indication is far from the degree markers.
Clean up: I set this to soak for a few minutes, rinsed and washed it gently and there is still caramel stuck behind the glass tube on the stem.
Overall, I'm still on the search for the perfect candy thermometer.
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsTiffG
,Plainfield
,IL
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Candy/Oil Thermometer
July 7, 2013
It worked great on a number of different foods---milk, oil, caramel. The results were very accurate and easy to read.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RouxMaker
,Livingston
,LA
December 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Numbers wear off!
December 19, 2012
The clip works well and the thermometer is accurate, but it doesn't matter when the numbers are worn off. After a few months of use the numbers started wearing off. I tried to be more careful thinking that it was somehow my fault. I rinsed it after each use, but the numbers would slide off just after running it under hot water. Poorly made product not worth a dime.
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Scout716
,Norfolk
,VA
October 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very inaccurate temperature readings!
October 20, 2012
First use: I could tell the toffee was getting close to hard crack stage, yet the thermometer read 220 degrees. By the time I decided to trust my instincts, about 30 seconds later, too late--toffee was burned. Second use: I decided to try to be more careful as surely I must have done something wrong the first time. Nope. Waiting for the caramel to get to firm ball stage, the thermometer hung out at 200 degrees while the caramel overcooked.
First big disappointment in a W-S gadget; I plan on returning it tomorrow. Don't buy it!
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Inaccurate
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dicker56
Alpena MIchigan
Posted December 18, 2012
I had the same thing happen to me. 220) then scorched the toffee. don"t buy get a digital
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)