This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter

Spice up your meatloaf with the smoky-sweet flavors of America's best barbecue-our timesaving starter makes it easy. It's simmered in small batches for authentic down-home character, starting with ripe tomatoes, sweet onions and molasses. We've seasoned the sauce with smoked paprika, ancho chilies and roasted garlic for just the right amount of lively barbecue spice. 17 oz. (makes one meatloaf). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.1 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coloradojo
,Fort Collins
,CO
Fort Collins, CO
February 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very Good BUT Use Less
February 25, 2013
I had very good success but heeded the warning of using less than a whole jar and not using commerical breadcrumbs. I used half a jar with 2 lbs of ground turkey and 3 cups of crostini crushed into crumbs. It made a very tasty loaf.
Pros: Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mixie
,Concord
,MA
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Crowd Pleaser
January 29, 2013
I had read the earlier reviews about the bread crumb ratio. I had a big crowd - doubled it all with the exception of the bread crumbs. It came out great. Letting the meat rest is important here. I prefer a simpler meatloaf but it was doubled for 12 guests and there wasn't a crumb left. I'd say it's worth a try!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WestTexasGal
,Odessa
,Tx
January 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very Good For A Quick Dinner
January 22, 2013
This is very good if you follow directions. The key for me is the directive to use homemade bread crumbs. This doesn't mean to grab the commercial Progresso bread crumbs. It means to put slices of bread (I used whole wheat) in a food processor. There is a world of difference. I used ground pork and ground beef and added a little chopped green pepper. My whole family loved it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simba17
,San Jose
,CA
October 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious Meatloaf Additive
October 24, 2012
I tried this product in my family meatloaf recipe. I only used half of the jar for two large meatloves. It makes the meatloaf very moist. The aroma from the oven as they were baking was scrumptious.
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coconut
Langley, WA
October 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very good meatloaf starter
October 8, 2012
I've made way too much meatloaf in my time, but this starter makes an easy to assemble and good tasting meal.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lisamom
,columbus
,oh
August 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Do not buy this!
August 26, 2012
I bought this starter kit in anticipation of the new school year. My 12 year old son invited a friend to dinner tonight - both boys said they loved meatloaf, so I bought the 2 pounds of ground beef and made the meatloaf as instructed on the package. As the other reviewers note, the proportion of bread crumbs is too high - really wish I had read the other reviews before I spent the time and money to make this dinner. It turned out to be inedible, and I had to order in a pizza.
Big waste of money and time.
WS - please test your recipes before printing them on the label of your expensive products!!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
amelia123
,El Macero
,CA
July 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
NOT DELISH.
July 1, 2012
I love WS but i am disappointed in this product. The meatloaf ended up being SO heavy. It calls for way too much breadcrumbs. I could not taste the BBQ flavor at all. It makes it very mushy.
:(
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bark
,Uniontown
,PA
June 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
waste of money
June 28, 2012
The resulting meatloaf was very heavy, did not have much BBQ flovor and just didn't taste very good. We ended up throwing the whole loaf in the garbage. Certainly not up to W-S standards.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lorrie
,St. Louis
,MO
St. Louis, MO
June 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Sorry, not up to William-Sonomas standards
June 13, 2012
I loved the William-Sonoma meatloaf starter but the BBQ meatloaf starter tasted like a bottle of BBQ sauce had been added to the meatloaf. Not only not special but too strong of a taste.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma BBQ Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ROVI
May 2, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Meatloaf Mix
May 2, 2012
Looking for a great meatloaf mix? WS offers a delicious one here. Used 2 lbs 95% ground beef and mixed according to directions on bottle. I used bread crumbs made with almost stale rustic bread. and added 1/2 finely chopped onion for more zest. The mixture looked like a lot but it incorporated into the meat with just light mixing. I scored in half and formed two nice size loafs with hold together nicely. I put them on a rack in slow slow cooker on low for 4 & 1/2 hrs. Save an ounce or two of the prepared liquid mix for basting an hour before meat in done. This was the moistest meatloaf I ever made and had an eloquent BBQ flavor enjoyed by the family. Left overs were great on sandwichs the next day. Freeze second loaf for another day.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor