Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena

Our balsamic vinegar is crafted exclusively for us in Modena, Italy, by the Leonardi family-makers of fine vinegars for three generations. It's blended from the must of Trebbiano and Lambrusco grapes, combined with wine vinegar, then aged in wooden casks. This traditional vinegar-making process is carefully monitored by the balsamic consortium, which strictly regulates every detail-from grape varietals, growing regions and how the grapes are grown, to aging methods and more. The impressive result is a rich, aromatic vinegar with complex flavor, aroma and color and perfect sweetness. Use it as a finishing condiment, drizzled over everything from salads and grilled meats to artisan cheeses and fresh berries. 16.9 oz. Made in Italy. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
6 of 32(19%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NYCPickyMom
,NYC
,NY
March 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Vinegar
March 4, 2014
I don't understand all the bad reviews comparing it to the Olivier. It is not the Olivier. It is comparable, but less sweet. While I do love the Olivier, I also love this vinegar, as well. I prefer this on green salads. The Olivier is better suited to any salad using basil, fennel or strawberries. I use this on my spinach salad and also my mixed Italian salad. This also makes a great marinade for steaks. I prefer the Olivier on chicken. All in all a full bodied vinegar, with a subtle undertone that I can only describe as warm,
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
textrish
,South Padre Island
,TX
South Padre Island, TX
December 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BV par excellence
December 13, 2013
Just sent a bottle of "Olivier" BV to my friend who had been so disappointed that she couldn't get it from Williams-Sonoma last summer. I've been hoarding my last bottle like pirate's gold until I took a chance and found WS was back on track with the best and most reasonable brand I've ever used.
Try this one once and all other balsamics will just seem like vinegar.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Forbes1
,Ft Worth
,TX
Ft Worth, Texas
December 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Poor Replacement
December 8, 2013
Very poor replacement for the 25 year Oliver
product! Not even close in quality or flavor.
The only match is the bottle and size of the label. You will be disappointed if you purchase this!!!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AmyinTexas
,Anahuac
,TX
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is NOT the good stuff
November 26, 2013
Just a heads up that this is NOT the Olivier brand. It is much too thin and lacks the quality, even though the packaging is almost identical. Don't be fooled. Not worth the money.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Georgia98
,Green Bay
,WI
October 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is one of the best
October 4, 2013
I am quite fond of this Balsamic vinegar. I have been using it for years and very sad that this looks to be going "out the door". So grab them while you can.
Of ALL the BV's that I have tried, this one is the best.....the best, by far the best!
Wonderful to cook with, wonderful to use on steaks, in bean salads, and even reg salads. I even add it to my cole slaw and potato salad. Everyone asks my "secret ingredient", but never tell!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Howler
,Torrance
,CA
August 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Worth The Price
August 9, 2013
I used to buy the Olivier vinegar, which was fantastic and well worth the price. I could use it as salad dressing on its own, that's how good it was. This replacement is just... another vinegar. Not worth it anymore. I was told in the store that it had something to do with the label and Italian requirements... Me thinks Williams Sonoma just wants to promote itself with a house brand, but unfortunately it didn't work out. Should have at least designed a new label instead of tricking customers into believing this is the Olivier vinegar.
Cons: Disappointing
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Forbes1
Ft Worth, Texas
Posted December 8, 2013
totally agree
I totally agree with Howler. This product is a poor imitation of the Oliver Balsamic Vinegar that was previously offered by WS. Don't waste your money (or your dressing) with this stuff.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
August 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Miss the 25 year balsamic
August 4, 2013
We used to buy the 25 year balsamic and it was smooth and balanced. This one is just fair.
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
susanking
,Suffolk
,Va
Virginia Beach, VA
July 6, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bring back your Olivier balsamic
July 6, 2013
I was so very disappointed when I purchased a bottle of what I thought was your original Williams Sonoma brand balsamic vinegar. The label looks exactly the same as on the Olivier brand which is a far superior product. Please reconsider. I would rather pay more for a Procter that I can rely on than one that I was unable to serve to my guests. I would expect this from a second class store but not from WS
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shomar
,Washington, DC
June 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not even close
June 29, 2013
What a huge disappointment this balsamic was. I've been buying the Olivier brand by the case for years and this replacement doesn't even come close. Like the other reviewers have said, its weaker, thinner, more acidic. Not happy at all. Hope WS brings back the previous brand.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, over priced
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheLisaMarie
,Madison, Alabama
June 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
June 28, 2013
I use this savory & sweet balsamic vinegar for our salads and to drizzle over asparagus. We enjoy the depth of flavor & love that a little goes a long way. Will definitely order again after our two bottles are gone. A++
Pros: Flavor
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
floridaincook
,Tampa
,FL
June 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Where is Oliver?
June 26, 2013
Not the same, thin not aged 25 years. Bought on-line thinking what I always bought.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mmnyc
June 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please bring back the 25 year aged balsamic!
June 20, 2013
I would make special trips to WS to pick up that amazing stuff!!!! Please bring it back!!!
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HummerGirl
,Metairie
,LA
June 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Major Disappointment
June 18, 2013
Reading other reviews, I am glad to see that it isn't just me who is lost without the Olivier brand 25 year old barrel-aged Balsamic of which I have just 1 bottle remaining in my stock - hidden from family and reserved for special occasions. The 'new' product, packaged to look like our treasured Balsamic, lacks the depth of flavor and the elegantly smooth texture of our beloved vinegar. It is better than a supermarket brand, but it just doesn't measure up to the real thing. Let us know when the 'real thing' comes back!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Smdi
,Dallas
,Tx
June 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too thin too pricey
June 13, 2013
Do not like the change. I made regular trip to WS to buy a vinegar in a similar bottle but the change does not warrant the price.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cook4Life
June 6, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bring back your 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic
June 6, 2013
Please bring back the Olivier 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar.
I have been using that balsamic vinegar for about 10 years and it's the best balsamic vinegar on the market. at any price point.
I have given it to family and friends for house warming gifts, for bridal showers, birthday parties, host/hostess gifts, dinner parties, even wine tasting / wine parties.
Over the years I have purchased at least 40 bottles of that excellent balsamic vinegar and I was very disapointed when I tried to replenish my stock last week.
I purchased the "replacement" product but it pales in comparison with the previous product.
I hope that WS as able to once again carry the Olivier 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
greco29
,Garfield
,NJ
May 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
25 Year old vinegar
May 29, 2013
This is not even close to the consistancy or flavor of the Olivier 25 year balsamic.
Why touch if not broken,bring it back please!!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rachelway
,teton village
,wy
May 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
this is not the right stuff
May 27, 2013
Please bring back the 25yr old Olivier vinegar which I have enjoyed for years, given as gifts and bought for my daughters. This bottle looks very similar, but the vinegar is Not.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lisaodc
May 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please bring back the good stuff!
May 25, 2013
Please bring back the Olivier!!!!!!! I have bought this product for years and want it back!
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
goosecross
,clarks summit
,pa
May 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not same as before
May 22, 2013
this is not the vinegar that I have bought for years, bottle looks the same, but the inside definitely is not. Please bring back the Olivier that was sooo good.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic Vinegar of Modena
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ginger1
,New Vernon
,nj
May 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DON'T BUY!!!
May 20, 2013
I have purchased Olivier's vinegar from WS for myself and my four daughters for years. This new vinegar would be a poor substitute for even the cheapest store bought vinegar which is a fraction of the price.. The labeling looks almost identical to the Olivier's and in my haste I thought I was purchasing the original. The consistency of this new vinegar is like water and the taste is equally disappointing. The Olivier's vinegar was thick and syrupy and had a fabulous taste--you could drink it from a glass. This is a very sad substitute and not at all consistent with the quality of most of your products. BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL!!!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
page1 2 next