Williams-Sonoma Balsamic & Carmelized Onion Braising Sauce

Need to get a great home-cooked dinner on the table in a hurry? Our timesaving sauce make it easy to enjoy a savory, succulent braise - even on the busiest weeknights. Slow simmered to develop complex flavor, the sauce balances the mellow sweetness of caramelized onions with aged balsamic vinegar and earthy shiitake mushrooms, all rounded out with hearty Cabernet wine and fresh herbs. Preparation is simple: just combine the sauce with sauteed chicken in a large pan, then transfer to the oven to finish cooking. Serve your braise with freshly cooked pasta or rice for a meal everyone will love. 1 lb. 8.5 oz. (makes 4-6 servings). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic & Carmelized Onion Braising Sauce
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic & Carmelized Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
capecodrita
,Cape Cod
,MA
November 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Complex balanced flavor
November 5, 2014
Saved this jar for a nice pork roast. Poured it over a boneless loin and cooked on low for about 6 hrs or so in the crock pot. It was like a restaurant meal! Made some spaetzle (from scratch) on the side & fresh green beans to spoon the gravy over. Fantastic!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic & Carmelized Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
willsmom0808
,Clemmons
,NC
January 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor
January 4, 2014
I used this sauce for the first time tonight. I'm usually a from-scratch cooker but love the idea of having a few back-up things in the pantry. Cut up whole chicken and browned it in my Cuisineart Multi-cooker. Poured in the sauce and cooked for about an hour. I did vary the cooking temp by starting at 350 then moving down to a simmer at 250 then back up at the end to 300. Fabulous flavor and the chicken was so tender. Made with Steamed haricot verts and roasted garlicky sea salt red potatoes. will make it again! next time will do more chicken breasts and thighs instead of a whole chicken cut-up. Had left-over sauce :-(
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic & Carmelized Onion Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChocolatePlease
,Rancho Cucamonga
,CA
Rancho Cucamonga
December 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
December 3, 2013
I bought boneless skinless chicken thighs and browned them really good. Added just those and the sauce to a slow cooker on high for 4 hours and it was delicious. The meat was so tender and the sauce was nice and rich. Served it over rice.
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Balsamic & Carmelized Onion Braising Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Laura5905
,Los Angeles
,CA
Los Angeles
November 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High hopes but not very good
November 25, 2013
I'm a big fan of balsamic and carmelized onions in general andhave made my own sauce many times. I was excted to see this since it so easy! but the flavor just isn't very good. it tastes much better the next day as leftovers but right of the stove I found it didn't do much for the chicken and the sauce itself was a bit too sour. I couldn't really taste the onions at all (really too bad). I might venture to say this would taste better on beef but I'm not willing to try it again.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor