Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce

A favorite in Provencal bistros, this rustic dish gets its great flavor from lots of fresh garlic, slowly cooked to a rich, mellow sweetness. Making the French classic is easy with our slow-simmered starter. We start with hand-roasted California garlic, simmering the cloves with chicken and Chardonnay wine. Rosemary, thyme and nutmeg finish the sauce with authentic Gallic flair. 1 lb. 8 oz. (serves 6-8). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.48 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
31 of 50(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
love2cook7
February 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
February 19, 2013
I was excited to try this sauce since I love 40-clove garlic chicken. This sauce had an unpleasant bitter after taste. I will not buy it again.
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LauraPL
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the real thing
February 11, 2013
Although not bad, it wasn't great. Lots of garlic flavor yes, but a bit bitter. A from scratch version would have a sweetness that this lacked. It didn't go to waste, but I wouldn't buy it again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sparty416
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple to make and tastes good
December 30, 2012
I thought this made a good meal. It did have a strong garlic taste but not the vinegar taste other reviewers have noted. I made mine with thick cut boneless skinless chicken. I threw them in the Dutch oven and covered with the sauce. When they were done, I shredded the chicken and then served over egg noodles. I would make it again but maybe wait to see if it goes on sale. It was a gift.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovincooking
March 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
sour & bitter
March 12, 2012
The sauce tastes like the sour and bitter taste of canned garlic- too much citric acid and vinegar. Nothing I tried made it better so we tossed the lefovers. Too bad.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, smell, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NB1972
,Mashpee
,Ma
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not garlicky at all, very sweet and sour
January 10, 2012
I wish I read these reviews before making this. The name is misleading, there is no garlic flavor. There is a strong sweet/sour flavor that I'm guessing is wine and/or vinegar. On its own this isn't very good. I tried to save it and made a pseudo-sweet and sour chicken by adding a generous amount of black pepper, sprinkle of chili flakes and served over rice noodles. It turned out pretty good if you like spicy. I won't get this again
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boston25
,Boston
,MA
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, not great
January 5, 2012
Okay so im a total garlic lover so when i saw the 40 clove braising sauce i had to try it. It was super easy to use and made the house smell awesome but it was only so-so. I feel like it might have been the wine in it that made it too overbearing, i couldnt eat a lot of it. We didnt use a whole chicken, instead we used about 2 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I think next time i would opt for the whole chicken and let it cook longer. I will definietly be trying it again but if it comes out tasting the same way as the first time it will be the last time. All in all, if your a garlic fan definitely give this a go but make sure your cooking it for a long duration.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carebear2
November 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
rave review
November 28, 2011
served this at my husband's birthday- and young and old loved it.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Cons: Amount
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WendyJ
,Danville
,CA
Danville, CA
October 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Easy Meal
October 31, 2011
Browned chicken pieces and covered it with this sauce, put in the refrigerator over night. About 4 hours before dinner I turned the slow cooker on and viola - dinner is ready. I served it over noodles which soaked up the sauce, my family loved it. Next time I will chop up some veggie's and saute to mix with the noodles for a more balanced meal.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FINT
,Manasquan
,NJ
October 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointing!
October 22, 2011
I have always been a fan of WS sauces. I love the Tuscan Slow Cooking Sauce so much, I decided to try the 40 Clove Garlic Sauce. I put it in the slow cooker per the directions and went to work. As I had expected, my house smelt "delicious" upon arriving home. I served the chicken over wide egg noodles. First bite was a little disappointing, I couldn't define the strong taste. Second bite I figured it out. It had a very strong taste of vinegar. Unfortunately, the vinegar was too strong, it was the predominant taste. So strong, the whole meal was wasted. At $ 18.00 a jar, I would not recommend this WS sauce.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookcook
,Chicago
,IL
October 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My family loved it!
October 11, 2011
Delicious roasted garlic flavor - this was a big hit with my whole family. They are already asking when we are going to have it again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
norman817
San Diego, California
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Quick Favorie meal!
August 29, 2011
I LOVE sauce!!!! This is Really GREAT!!! Hope to find this in more stores soon!!
Keep this on the shelf for all of us to enjoy!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
djr0913
Baltimore, MD
August 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good time saver but a little too sweet
August 22, 2011
I love to use W-S sauces to save time using my crock pot but I was a little disappointed with the 40 clove sauce because I thought it was way too sweet. A good savory sauce does not need sugar or at least so much sugar. I got used to the sweetness but would probably not buy again.
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
janyc
ny, ny
August 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
friggin delish!~~!
August 5, 2011
I highly recommend trying this at least once, it is amazingly delicious, so easy to make, and nothing is better than cooking things that you pop in the oven, come back in an hour and voila! Instructions say salt & pepper the chix prior to browning the chicken. I really don't think it needs the extra salt. But, to each his/her own. Enjoy!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: kinda expensive.
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
indymom7
Lawrenceburg, IN
July 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kids loved it, but....
July 14, 2011
This was the first W-S base that I have tried and I really wanted to love it...but it was just okay. Honestly for the $$ I was expecting a lot more. However, 2 of the pickiest eaters on the planet reside at my home and both cleaned the plate, so go figure. Doubt I will be buying this again since I simply cannot justify the cost. Also the house simply reeks of garlic after cooking.
Pros: Time-saver, pleased picky children
Cons: Disappointing, smell, price
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FamilyDinner
Tacoma WA
July 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy - Reordered
July 11, 2011
My family enjoyed this meal. Definitely will order again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianDiva
Colorado
June 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Different and Delicious
June 5, 2011
Made this for son & family. They lapped it up. Said it was absolutely delicious and ate to the last drop, ( wanting more). I will definitely be purchasing this again!! Excellent product!!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Healthy, extremely tasty
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SophieVictoire
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Couldn't eat it........
May 3, 2011
I usually like WS sauces, and this particular sauce sounded good. We are big garlic lovers here. The aroma was strange--I wouldn't say that I could identify garlic. It tasted bitter and metallic and left a strong after taste. No one in my family finished their meal.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TLES
Katy, TX
April 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Chicken Dish!!!!!
April 29, 2011
This was fabulous!!!!
I followed the directions then 30 minutes before the dish was done I added asparagus and mushrooms to the top to cook then stirred them into the sauce before serving.
I will make this my next dinner for guests!!!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lovequickrecipes
Washington, D.C.
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not great flavor
January 25, 2011
I have tried many W-S products and am usually "wowed." I was not impressed with the garlic braising base. I found it very bitter and harsh. Not smooth as I had hoped.
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BJGO
WI
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great slow cooker dish
January 25, 2011
Loved the ease of using this sauce for the 40 clove chicken. Next time I will add a few whole cloves to the top so I can present it as a homemade dish!
page1 2 3 next