Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce

A favorite in Provencal bistros, this rustic dish gets its great flavor from lots of fresh garlic, slowly cooked to a rich, mellow sweetness. Making the French classic is easy with our slow-simmered starter. We start with hand-roasted California garlic, simmering the cloves with chicken and Chardonnay wine. Rosemary, thyme and nutmeg finish the sauce with authentic Gallic flair. 1 lb. 8 oz. (serves 6-8). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.286 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
2 of 7(29%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
snoopymom
,Phoenix
,AZ
July 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too overpowering
July 26, 2014
This sauce was too overpowering and gave my family a stomach ache after use. Unfortunately, I agree with the other reviews stating a bitter taste and will not purchase this sauce again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
love2cook7
February 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
February 19, 2013
I was excited to try this sauce since I love 40-clove garlic chicken. This sauce had an unpleasant bitter after taste. I will not buy it again.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LauraPL
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the real thing
February 11, 2013
Although not bad, it wasn't great. Lots of garlic flavor yes, but a bit bitter. A from scratch version would have a sweetness that this lacked. It didn't go to waste, but I wouldn't buy it again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sparty416
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple to make and tastes good
December 30, 2012
I thought this made a good meal. It did have a strong garlic taste but not the vinegar taste other reviewers have noted. I made mine with thick cut boneless skinless chicken. I threw them in the Dutch oven and covered with the sauce. When they were done, I shredded the chicken and then served over egg noodles. I would make it again but maybe wait to see if it goes on sale. It was a gift.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovincooking
March 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
sour & bitter
March 12, 2012
The sauce tastes like the sour and bitter taste of canned garlic- too much citric acid and vinegar. Nothing I tried made it better so we tossed the lefovers. Too bad.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, smell, Flavor
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NB1972
,Mashpee
,Ma
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not garlicky at all, very sweet and sour
January 10, 2012
I wish I read these reviews before making this. The name is misleading, there is no garlic flavor. There is a strong sweet/sour flavor that I'm guessing is wine and/or vinegar. On its own this isn't very good. I tried to save it and made a pseudo-sweet and sour chicken by adding a generous amount of black pepper, sprinkle of chili flakes and served over rice noodles. It turned out pretty good if you like spicy. I won't get this again
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma 40-Clove Garlic Chicken Braising Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boston25
,Boston
,MA
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, not great
January 5, 2012
Okay so im a total garlic lover so when i saw the 40 clove braising sauce i had to try it. It was super easy to use and made the house smell awesome but it was only so-so. I feel like it might have been the wine in it that made it too overbearing, i couldnt eat a lot of it. We didnt use a whole chicken, instead we used about 2 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I think next time i would opt for the whole chicken and let it cook longer. I will definietly be trying it again but if it comes out tasting the same way as the first time it will be the last time. All in all, if your a garlic fan definitely give this a go but make sure your cooking it for a long duration.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo