Whoopie Pie Pan

A taste of sweet nostalgia, whoopie pies were introduced generations ago, when American country homemakers placed them inside lunch boxes as an afternoon surprise. Enriched with a luscious cream filling, the cakelike sandwich cookies are said to derive their name from the shouts of delight that spring from everyone who tastes them. Our pan is designed with shallow wells to bake a dozen round cakes that pair together to make the tops and bottoms for six 2 3/4" diameter whoopie pies. Constructed of heavy-gauge aluminized steel. Cakes bake evenly and the nonstick coating insures effortless release every time. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
28 of 31(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Whoopie Pie Pan
Review 1 for Whoopie Pie Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nancy2013
September 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not made in USA as stated in description
September 8, 2013
I needed a pan like this for one recipe. I searched for cookware made in USA and this comes up, so I ordered. It is actually made in China. I'm surprised at Williams Sonoma.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TiminLondon
Posted October 10, 2013
China Aside, does it perform?
Your comment focuses on potential mistakes regarding the country of origin. Other than this concern, did the pan meet your baking needs?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnieBeth
,NY
Rochester, NY
March 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pan!
March 19, 2013
I've used this pan a few times now and it's a very good quality. The recipe on the packaging is wonderful, but the only problem I had is that they become a little sticky. I've made the traditional whoopie pies and also pumpkin ones. I used it to bake eggs for breakfast sandwiches too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 3 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jovanna
,Shirley
,NY
Long Island, NY
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just the right size
March 5, 2012
I used this pan with a red velvet cake recipe from the Foodnetwork. I made a white buttercream frosting and put that in the middle. I found that the shape of the completed whoopie pie 'fit' and was shaped much better when the pies were turned topside in for the frosting side. The cake is not tacky this way either as the top of a cake is stickier than the inside. Since these must be eaten by hand, that's a consideration. B/c this takes a small amount of batter, it bakes within 10 mins. so you can keep a production line going by refilling. Nice portions size to this whoopie pan, not over the top, just enough.
Review 4 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
justwannabake
,bay city
,tx
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite toy!
October 27, 2011
This is my new favorite pan! I purchased it with the pumpkin mix and the "whoopies" turned out perfectly, moist and delicious... Then I made cornbread, muffins, scratch and boxed cake mixes...even jello desserts! I thought it would be a fun pan for baking with my grandkids, but adults chose the whoopie cakes over regular cupcakes, as well...commenting on the ease of eating the cakes with the frosting in the middle! The pan bakes evenly and the whoopies release easily...cleanup is a breeze. I'm impressed!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alaskimo
,Nikiski
,AK
October 21, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The right tool for the job!
October 21, 2011
My sister and I were going to make pumpkin whoopie pies and I told her we could just use any muffin pan. She said, let's do it "right." So, in our workout clothes we ran to WS. Wow, the product came out perfect in our baking affair! They were beautiful! There is something to say about "the right tool for the job!" She sent me back to Alaska with the pans as a gift and I plan to have a "Whoopie" party as the fun continues. Whoopie pies are the new life of the party! (EASY to clean too!)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
adnorwood
Huntington Beach, CA
Posted October 27, 2011
Recipe
What was the Recipe you used? I would love to make Pumpkin Whoopie Pies for my coworkers for Halloween or Thanksgiving. I just haven't found a recipe that would seem to work with this pan.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldrhody
,McDonough
,GA
October 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I can think of many uses!
October 11, 2011
I have used this pan to make corn muffins (as suggested by the salesperson at WS).
Works great! Next up will be gingerbread and brownies. And probably another pan!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 7 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PJinLA
LA, CA
June 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ideal Pan!
June 30, 2011
This is the perfect Whoopie Pie pan! Non stick surface is great and so easy to clean. Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Whoopie Pie Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Skowhegan, ME
June 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect size
June 20, 2011
I find that the Whoopie Pie Pan makes the perfect size pie. I don't like those bread & butter plate sized whoopie pies that have more that two days' allotment of calories to them. The recipe that came with the pan is nice and fudgy, but the outside becomes a bit tacky when they cool... so I used my old standby recipe, added a couple extra tablespoons of milk, and was very satisfied with the results. I did find it difficult to grab the pan with a pot holder to remove it from the oven and had to use tongs to bring it beyond the front edge of the rack so I could grasp it. If not for that I'd have given it 5 stars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Weight
Cons: difficult to grasp with pot holder
Review 9 for Whoopie Pie Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
s7unny
Salem, OR
June 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Why cant they pop right out of the pan?
June 20, 2011
The concept of the whoopie pie pan is great and the picture looks perfect, however, the pies do not pop right out of the pan and are so soft that some of them fall apart. Most of these new non stick pans work well but this one does not. You have to grease and flour the non-stick pan and in doing so, the batter does not spread well with the flour on the bottom. If you follow the recipe, the cookie dough is so soft that it does not adhere together when you flip the pan. Worth another try tho and if it works better next time I will update my review.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Cons: non-stick concept unacceptable
Review 10 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DoubleOSIx
Tampa, FL
June 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spot on pie pan
June 17, 2011
This pan makes a perfect sized whoopie, they slip right out after greased and floured as directed ( I greased with shortening )
The recipe for the cake was perfect though I used shortening instead of butter & would recommend researching a better filling. I used a powdered sugar-shortening-marshmellow fluff blend. They were awesome filled with vanilla ice cream as well. I cooled the cakes as directed and placed them in zipper bags to fill they next day. They are 10xs better after resting and softening overnight. Makes a very moist cake.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
albanyfan
Albany, NY
June 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I cheated, and still came out great!!!
June 7, 2011
I used the recipe that came with the pan, but made my own buttermilk with some white wine vinegar and milk (it's what I had in the pantry!) The first batch I followed exactly. For the second, I just sprayed the wells with some cooking spray, and used a heaping TBS of batter (not 1.5 TBS measured out), and they came out a little bigger and fell right out of the pan, saving me the greasing and flouring.
I agree the creme recipe was too thin, I had to add a lot of extra sugar, but it worked.
yum yum yum, If I am going to make a lot of these, I will buy a second pan to really be able to crank them out!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, fast bake time!
Review 12 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Willsos
Washington State
May 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cookie Pan Experiment
May 21, 2011
I was making Double Chocolate Chunk cookies the other day and decided to bake half the cookies using the Whoopie Pie Pan and the other half using my Airbake baking sheet. Each pan was baked one at a time; however, the oven temperature, baking time and cookie scoop were the exact same for both pans.
RESULTS: Each batch of cookies using the Whoopie Pie Pan came out perfectly cooked and shaped while each batch on the Airbake pan were unevenly baked, shaped and jus not as "pretty" as the Whoopie Pan cookies. Wow, what a great experiment this turned out to be. So...what's next...baked eggs, mini tarts, biscuits??? Can;t Wait!
Pros: very sturdy, washes well, doesn't darken, cookies didn't stick
Cons: wish it came in bigger size
Review 13 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pl1120
Mass
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
whoopie pie pan
January 31, 2011
Bought two of these at 40% off at the outlet yesterday. Used the cake recipe that came with it and a marshmallow and crisco filling recipe. They were gobbled up at work. I doubled the recipe and it came out perfect. Highly recommended. Very easy to clean in between batches.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
opusrph
USA
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not just for Whoopie Pies!
January 8, 2011
Used this pan for making Brownie Disks. Turned out great and you can also use the brownies as whoopie pie tops and bottoms!
Review 15 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
donnams
Midwest
October 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect toy...now we need a special cookbook!
October 31, 2010
Used this pan yesterday with Emeril Lagasse's whoopie pie recipe and Penzey's Dutch chocolate....the results were unbelievable!! I got such rave reviews on the whoopie pies, and they were all perfectly formed thanks to this great pan and the W-S cookie scooper.
Now, you guys need to come up with a cookbook with different variations... The video had some great suggestions, but I can think of more...sure you can, too! My new favorite tool and dessert!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LastG
Cal
Posted April 25, 2011
Recipe
Would like to know what recipe you used!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Whoopie Pie Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sarahps
Isle of Bute, Scotland
October 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the latest craze in cakes
October 29, 2010
the whoopie pie is the latest cake craze in the UK, following on from the cupcake phenomena! This pan is easy to use and clean, and makes perfectly round cakes. A pan to make smaller cakes, similar in size to macarons, would be great as smaller whoopie pies would be perfect for after dinner petit fours.
Review 17 for Whoopie Pie Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KSip
October 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Consistent Whoopie Pies
October 20, 2010
I make a lot of whoopie pies for a local farmer's market, so I was looking for a way to ensure a more consistent size and shape. As any WP aficionado knows, just plopping the cake batter on a cookie sheet can yield unpredictable shapes and sizes.
This mold takes away the guesswork. You get the same sized cakes every time.
I use an ice cream scoop to ensure I put the same amount of batter in each well. Be careful not to overbake, as the edges of the cakes will burn easily.
The only drawback is that the cakes don't have a completely flat bottom as they would if made on a cookie sheet - they're molded in the shape of the pan, like a muffin top.
Review 18 for Whoopie Pie Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CupcakeGurl
Los Angeles, CA
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Whoopie for whoopie pies!
October 12, 2010
I used to make whoopie pies using a small ice cream scoop prior to buying this pan. It was very time consuming and difficult to get uniform halves. Although greasing and flouring each well is sometimes a pain, this pan cuts the prep time in half! Loving this product so far. I recommend buying 2 for an even speedier assembly process.
Review 19 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MommaCappy
Brentwood, CA
September 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Whoopie about Woopie!
September 20, 2010
What's not to love about this pan. I purchased two of them for a fun dessert at a family gathering to accomodate a large number of relatives. These whoopie pies were a hit. I made a dark chocolate cake with a light cream cheese filling. It was hard to stop at just one. Easy to fill, easy cleanup and brought great fun at the end of the meal time. I highly recommend!
Review 20 for Whoopie Pie Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wogger
Huntersville
August 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan~!
August 24, 2010
Whoopie pies turned out perfectly in this pan. No stick, no mess. My only problem was they rose too high! Will use much less batter next time. I do plan to buy one more! Love it! Love it!
page1 2 next