White Mountain Ice Cream Maker

Made in classic American style, this ice cream bucket is handcrafted of sturdy New England white pine by the 150-year-old White Mountain Co. Both hand-crank and electric ice cream maker models turn out one gallon of ultrasmooth old-fashioned ice cream or frozen yogurt in 20-40 minutes.Produces 4 quarts of ice cream or frozen yogurt in 20-40 minutes.Corrosion-resistant cast-iron dasher.Three-gear drive.Steel inner bucket.Choose manual hand-crank or electric version.Electric model features a powerful 12,000-rpm motor.Recipes included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
Review 1 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CharliePa
,Princeton
,NJ
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hand crank mechanism has bad engineering
January 5, 2014
Having made ice cream many times when I was a child I was enthused about buying a new ice cream maker.
However the engineering on this product is extremely disappointing in that the hand crank mechanics at times do not turn the cylinder and at other times freeze up.
I am surprised that Williams-Sonoma did not test this product.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 2 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Haas
Indiana
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Electric Motor Problems
September 7, 2011
Be careful of the electric motor version. My new freezer is now 13 months old and I have gone through 2 yellow motors. Many others also are having trouble with these. After some serious "arm twisting", they are sending me a new "green" motor that is supposed to be improved. The only thing that failed on my old hand crank unit was my arm! Makes great ice cream when it works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver
Cons: Quality, Power, Loud, High-Maintenance, 1 yr warranty
Review 3 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jo1948
oviedo,fl
September 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
30 years ago
September 5, 2011
My husband bought our white mountain when I was pregnant with our daughter for my Christmas present. We chose the hand crank so we could take it on picnics etc. Still love it after all these years, parts are easy to order when needed.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 4 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrishTheDish
Humboldt, Tennessee
August 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing better, anywhere, any place!
August 8, 2011
White Mountain is the Rolls Royce of Ice Cream makers, nothing better anywhere. There is no downside to the product. The end result is a lifetime of memories and joy in the process of making, sharing and devouring. They have a long life span but don't last forever. I suppose three in forty-five years of marriage is not bad. We are still cranking and still making memories!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandpaBuzz
Upton, MA
July 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun For All & Rewarding
July 9, 2011
The finished product is simply delicious. And, everyone had a hand in it's making. These two points the reason for getting one of these. Learning that patience and work have there rewards. You can buy the half gallon of ice-cream for less than the ingredients but it wouldn't be as fresh nor to your own taste. Everyone takes a turn at the crank and laughs and communicates while producing a treat. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, perfected
Review 6 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LoveLo
New York, NY
February 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great but a lot of work!
February 17, 2011
i love it for what it is, but it is one of those items that you get excited about right away and after a few tries kind of give up on and would rather take the trip to the closest ice cream store! you do burn calories just making your ice cream though!
Review 7 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Redondo Beach, CA
August 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ton's of fun, Great ice cream!
August 7, 2010
We've always wanted a hand crank ice cream maker! There's something special about doing the work yourself, it makes the end result so much more enjoyable! This product is pretty well made and we've had no trouble whatsoever using it. You'll have to experiment with cranking speeds, times, and how you handle the ice/salt but thats part of the fun. Best of all you're supporting good American workers with your purchase. We've had several incomparably good batches of vanilla and have just made our first strawberry ice cream. Buy one of these, and start getting your family back by setting a date with the family for movies, or a ball game and home made ice cream! The moving parts on here are either stainless or cast iron. Just be careful to follow the cleaning instructions to avoid rust. Enjoy!
Review 8 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dhaas
Goshen, IN
July 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Motor gear failure during second use
July 19, 2010
I gave this product a "fair" rating because it failed during the second time I used it. White Mountain has been around for many years with a great product.
The first time I used my new 6 qt electric freezer it made great ice cream. The second time I used it the gears in the motor housing broke. Luckily it was nearly frozen so I packed the freezer with ice and salt and the ice cream was very good after 30 minutes. I've had the hand crank freezer for many years without any problems. Hopefully this is a one-time problem that warranty will take care of.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
judd001
eugene oregon
Posted July 22, 2011
gear failure.....
we orders ours and waited for the day of arrival, unpacked it followed the instructions ...plugged it in and the gearset lasted about two seconds.. I wish you luck with The warranty. I was able to return mine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ophiesay
San Francisco, CA
July 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quality construction but takes elbow grease/ice
July 13, 2010
We purchased the handcrank ice cream maker for the kids to make ice cream at home.
It's fairly straightforward - the crank is a little tricky for smaller kids to get on.
But the key to making ice cream is:
1) pre-chill your mixture well. The colder the better
2) have A LOT OF ICE on hand.
The first time we made it, we didn't follow these instructions well and found ourselves cranking for HOURS and going out and buying bags and bags of crushed ice.
So make sure you follow those two golden rules - otherwise, it's a lot of fun and the ice cream is yummy. perfect for a summer dinner.
Review 10 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BenB
Houston, Texas
July 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but too expensive
July 7, 2010
It is a very sturdy ice cream maker and worked very well but it is over-priced for what you get.
Review 11 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dragon5
Gilbert, Arizona
June 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Ice Cream
June 22, 2010
The ice cream came out perfectly on the first use - very creamy. When we chilled it down, the taste was even better. My family compared it to gourmet ice cream. Loved it. Highly recommended.
Review 12 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kellykbw
Edmond, OK
March 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Customer Service
March 29, 2010
I purchased a White Mountain after trying 3 other ice cream makers after 15 years. My mom has had one for 2 decades and swears that her incredible ice cream is because of her White Mountain. Unfortunately, I had a problem with mine (apparently rare). The bucket leaked. After two years of use I had no proof of purchase. I contacted the manufacturer and they mailed me a brand new one without charge. The new one is great. Incredible ice cream incredible customer service.
Review 13 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trillium
Massachusetts
July 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classic old-time ice cream maker
July 9, 2009
Having the elctric motor makes it so much easier. Great fun for the grandkids, and it makes wonderful ice cream! Totally satisfied.
Review 14 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loolie
Annapolis, MD
June 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Picnic and Cookout Enertainment
June 1, 2009
We made ice cream at my son's high school graduation cook out. It was great enertainment where the crowd just gathered around, everyone had to crank the ice cream. The rewards were even better!
Review 15 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pennmac
Michigan
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a wonderful gift
September 3, 2008
the recipients continue to marvel at the incredible quality of ice cream they and their friends are enjoying
Review 16 for White Mountain Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tlcberman
Simi valley, Ca
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Ice Cream ever!
September 3, 2008
If you like to make your own ice cream it is the best maker on the market. I own two. Recipes are excellant fast and easy. Easy to make in 20 minutes,