White Chili Starter

A savory spin on a southwestern classic, white chili is a family-friendly dish made with hearty white beans and tender chicken or turkey. Our handcrafted starter makes it simple to prepare a satisfying pot of white chili with a gently spicy flavor.Combines sauteed onions and garlic with vine-ripened tomatoes and Anaheim, poblano and jalapeno peppers; Great Northern beans and chicken stock deepen and mellow the flavors.Easy to use: simply combine the sauce with browned chicken or turkey, then simmer.2 lb. (makes 6 servings).Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.302 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
36 of 43(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for White Chili Starter
Review 1 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth4
,Leawood
,ks
January 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING*****
January 6, 2014
This is the easiest way to get a FANTASTIC white chicken chili! The depth of flavor is AMAZING! EVERYONE that I have made it for has LOVED it! If you want something that makes you look like you've spent all day in the kitchen preparing this....this is it!
The only thing is...says it serves 6....it's so good, I would say maybe 4.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 2 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CAROLC
,New York
,NY
May 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
White Chili
May 1, 2012
My family loves the White Chili. I use ground turkey and it's a great hit every time.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for White Chili Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Sturgis
,MI
March 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Horrible
March 7, 2012
This is probably the worst meal starter I have ever had!! The flavor has an overpowering tomato taste. Not one member in my family liked it and I would never buy this product again. Extremely disappointing!!!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 4 for White Chili Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jaseljr
,Franklin
,Pa
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What Happened to a Great Product???
February 27, 2012
I purchased a bottle of white chili starter a few months back at one of the stores and it was a family hit. Coupled with my homemade skillet cornbread it was a premier duo. I ordered 3 bottles along with some other starters via the website. The chili starter I received tasted nothing like the bottle I purchased earlier. It had a very strong vinegar taste that was impossible to tone down. I prepared it the same way as before but this time it was a bust. Needless to say I was very, very disappointed that I wasted time and money (shipping costs) on an inferior product. What changed???
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 5 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AspiringConnoisseur
December 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Taste
December 17, 2011
This is one of our favorite easy to prepare meals.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Somy100
,Rochester
,NY
Rochester, NY
November 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A New Way to a Better Chili
November 7, 2011
Most of us grew up with beef chili but having been transplanted to the Southwest, I learned about white chili and I've not looked back. I love making it from scratch with all my W-S spices but when I'm in a hurry, I turn to the White Chili Starter. It is fast and easy - I use fresh ground turkey instead of chicken. Topped with a dollop of sour cream, cilantro and tortilla strips, it makes a complete meal. Enjoy!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 7 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laww
,Sanborn
,Ny
October 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent chili
October 25, 2011
This product is so easy to use and taste wonderful! My family loved it!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 8 for White Chili Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Coloradojo
Fort Collins, CO
May 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Chili Base
May 16, 2011
I love using chili bases and then adding the "kitchen sink". Made a wonderful chili by adding cooked ground turkey, tomatoes, 3 kinds of beans - and simmering in crockpot for 6 hours. Forgot the corn--will add that next time as that sounded good.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 9 for White Chili Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cmeh
Michigan
March 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what I expected
March 3, 2011
I thought that this was going to have a good old white chili taste, but instead it was a VERY STRONG taste that I could not pinpoint (and I cook a lot!). I could not even "doctor it" with other spices to make it taste good. We did not eat it, so I will not purchase this again.
Review 10 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doglvr
Tucson, AZ
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best chili ever
February 7, 2011
I bought the chili starter after reading great reviews on it. It definitely lived up to its reputation. I browned the whole chicken breast, then shredded the chicken instead of cubing it and cooking it like the recipe on the jar suggested. I took the suggestion from other reviewers and added a can of black beans and a small can of white corn. I also simmered it longer than the recommended time. It has a great flavor - not too spicy. I will definitely buy more of the starter to keep on hand.
Review 11 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SCSGourmet
Glen Arm, MD
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Chicken Chili Starter
February 7, 2011
Definite SuperBowl Party hit! Doubled the recipe for use in crockpot. Used cubed chicken breast tenderloins. Rave reviews from everyone!
Review 12 for White Chili Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LJRus
Calgary, AB
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salt Chili Starter
February 2, 2011
I tried the chili started in a WS store when they were sampling it one day - it was great so I bought a jar. What I didn't realize until I made it today is that it is great in a small sample size and a giant bowl of salt when trying to serve it for dinner. Very disappointing as the flavors are wonderful, if you can get past the salt.
Review 13 for White Chili Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Notacook2
Columbus, OH
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
White Chili
February 2, 2011
This was very good! I only added chicken tenders, but next time would add while beans and chopped tomatoes as well. It has a wonderful flavor.
Review 14 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mfrilot
Houston, TX
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An easy start to a great dinner
January 31, 2011
This was a really great thing to have on a chilly weeknight. It made things so easy and it was so good! I added the meat from a Rotisserie chicken from the grocery store, white beans, chicken broth, onions, fresh jalepenos, and fresh cilantro. I agree with some of the other comments that when you add some ingredients, you can feed a lot more than 6.
I am going back to get more!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Sterlcat
California
Posted September 30, 2011
Great ideas - thanks!
As a chili novice, your input and suggestions are very helpful. Looking forward to trying this. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
delray
Delray Beach
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious on a cold nite
January 27, 2011
I love this but added more ground chicken & a can of northern beans yum!
Review 16 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TravelLover
Georgia
January 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy!
January 22, 2011
We really enjoyed this chili starter on a cold winter night. The flavor was just perfect - not too spicy at all. We added white beans and chicken to the mix and served it over brown rice. We did find that it really served four, not six as it states. Despite that, I plan to buy more! It's worth the price!!
Review 17 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Grasonville, Maryland
December 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy! Yummy!
December 6, 2010
After reading reviews from others I decided to give this a try. I'm glad I did! It has wonderful flavor and really is a "chili starter." I added a can of white beans, left-over cooked rice and grilled chicken. Letting it simmer for 15-20 minutes allowed the flavors of the sauce permeate the items I added. Add a salad and you've got dinner. Very tasty and filling on a cold evening in front of the fire. Next time I'm going to add more white beans and put it over the rice. Out of the jar this will not feed 6 people, but with added ingredients like beans and rice, it can definitely feed 6 without sacrificing flavor. I'm buying another couple of bottles right now.... ;-)
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 18 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
premiershopper
Hillsborough, NJ
October 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME! Best white chili ever!
October 16, 2010
This was the first time I had ever attempted white chile, and it will not be the last. The flavors in the sauce are excellent, not at all spicy. I will never be able to recreate the chile starter on my own, so thank God for William Sonoma! I added 1 1/2 rotisserie chicken, cut up, from the grocery store. Easy as that. The only problem was that I spent the entire meal trying to figure out when I could get to William Sonoma next to buy more bottles of white chili sauce! Use your imagination, you could create your own variation. I might try andouille sausage next.
Review 19 for White Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissLisa
Sanat Monica, CA
October 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT FLAVORS
October 11, 2010
I bought two jars of this white chili started in the store and after reading the reviews, i thought it was not going to have a great flavor. let me tell you.. it was absolutley wonderful.
I cooked some cut up chicken peices and added to it, sauteed onions and garlic. Let simmer and then add the two jars of white chili sauce, added a can of kidney beans and you got dinner ready. Also cooked another pot of rice so you could pour the chili over it to make a very hearty meal.
Very flavorful and you can customize it for your own needs, you can add sausage, peppers or celery.
Will buy more and have recommended to all my friends, now trying to make it from scratch..lol
Review 20 for White Chili Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sarah1
Del Mar, CA
October 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surprisingly bad chili starter
October 9, 2010
I was really looking forward to preparing this for me and my husband only to be disappointed with the result. We both thought maybe I bought a bad jar because it tasted so awful. We had to discard all of it and ended up only eating my cornbread which I'd made to originally accompany the chili. I love Wms. Sonoma products which made it even more surprising that this wasn't any good.
page1 2 3 next