Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6

Weck glass jars have been a mainstay in European kitchens since 1900, when German merchant Johann Weck pioneered the science of water-bath canning. Weck jars are still a reliable favorite of European home cooks for preserving and storing foods. These jars feature a tapered shape that is easy to fill. Rubber-ringed glass lids create an airtight seal that you can check at a glance. For preserving foods using boiling-water canning; also useful for storing dry food staples in the pantry. Distinctive silhouettes make jars attractive enough to bring to the table for serving. Each clear glass jar features a glass lid with rubber ring and two rustproof stainless-steel clamps for creating an airtight seal. Wide-mouth tapered shape is easy to fill. Seal is easy to check at a glance: the pull tab on the rubber ring should face downward. Replacement rubber rings and clamps are available. Embossed with the Weck strawberry logo. Stackable for convenient storage. BPA free. Dishwasher safe. 12.5-oz. cap.: 2 1/2" high, 4" opening. 19.6-oz. cap.: 4 1/4" high, 4" opening. Set includes 6 jars, 6 lids, 6 rubber rings and 12 clamps. Made in Germany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
Review 1 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CaliTexan
,Orange County
,CA
Los Angeles, CA
July 30, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Functional and versatile
July 30, 2014
I like these jars. They are easy to use and easy to clean. I do not use my jars for canning or preserving. I simply use them for storing foods in the pantry and the fridge. They also work really well for taking my lunch to work be it granola, fruit salads or carrot sticks. I don't like to use plastic for storage so these glass jars do the trick. The clips can be a little difficult to work with when securing the lid. I have mild arthritis and it can sometimes cause me discomfort to fight with the clips. But overall, the jars work as intended for me.
Pros: material, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 2 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Elvira
July 15, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Weck mold jars
July 15, 2014
These jars are of exceptional quality. The wide mouth makes filling and serving very easy. However the rubber rings are extremely thin and flimsy and I would not trust them to seal, so I will not use them for canning.
Pros: Quality, Appearance, Weight
Cons: quality of seal
Review 3 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommychia
,Atlanta
,GA
Honolulu, Hawaii
July 15, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite glass jars
July 15, 2014
I use Weck mold jars and other Weck jars for storing dried herbs, teas, fruit flavored water, ice cream, ground meat in freezer bin. There are so many ways to use them. I haven"t tried for baking yet but am planning to use them for baking in future. I store all clips in a plastic yogurt container. So far I love to use them everyday.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 4 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CityLiving
,Chicago
,IL
April 10, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Jars - A Must Have
April 10, 2014
These jars are just perfect!
Not only are they beautiful, they are very versatile and are safe in the freezer, oven, and dishwasher.
They are simple jars, but so functional. I love that the simple design also means components are easily replaced.
Williams- Sonoma should definitely add more weck pieces.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 5 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Celt
,Aroostook County
,ME
Aroostook Couty
November 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a great product
November 26, 2013
Weck jars are like the Cadillac of canning jars. There are no hanging metal parts that get in the way when you are cleaning them. The clips and rubber rings can be rinsed off and stored when you open the jars to use. The white plastic storage lids fit tight and are simple to use in the fridge, the car, picnic or on the table. The sides are straight, no hard to clean shoulder. This mold jar is the perfect size for homemade yogurt, jams and so much more. I highly recommend them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 6 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
singlestar
October 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Practical Jars
October 2, 2013
I use Weck jars for canning and for putting candied nuts in for gift giving. The presentation is so important and Weck makes this so lovely and easy. I just love the way they look all by themselves.
Pros: Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 7 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
September 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these jars
September 19, 2013
Great for storing sauces and jams. Also, work great in the freezer - just leave enough headroom!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Appearance, Versatile
Review 8 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
August 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing jars
August 3, 2013
I don't actually make preserves or pickles (yet), but I have 4 Weck jars of different sizes. I normally use them for various sauces and dips I make as well as storing dry rubs and spices and even the occasion leftover.
They are airtight and most importantly, to me, they have a lovely wide opening making it easy to get food in and out. And the use of clips, while a bit fiddly compared to flip top jars, is far easier to deal with for cleaning. No more flopping lids, trapped water or awkward crevices to clean around compared to flip top jars. And when not in use I store the clips inside the jars to keep track of them.
All in all you couldn't ask for a better jars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Appearance
Review 9 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
olivia09
,Columbus
,OH
July 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for canning and making jams
July 29, 2013
This is the first time that used Weck Mold Jars and have had wonderful success in making strawberry and blackberry jam.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Appearance
Review 10 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SpiritWeavers
,Charlotte
,mi
July 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not easy to use
July 12, 2013
I have returned these jars. It was difficult to get the rings to stay in place and then to get the glass lid on. They were very cute and would have made a great gift with some beautiful homemade jam in them but the difficulty use made them prohibitive.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Difficult to Use
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CityLiving
Chicago, IL
Posted April 10, 2014
Simple Lid Trick
The rings are rather easy to use if done the right way.
1. Make sure the glass lid and rubber seal are clean.
2. Make sure the rim of the jar is clean after filling.
3. Place the rubber seal on the LID, not jar.
4. Lift the lid whilst holding the seal in place then cover the jar.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
April 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You Can't Find Better Jars Than Weck!
April 14, 2013
I own a lot of these, and am delighted to see them carried by WS. The glass is heavy, and they are very attractive--which is important to me because I like to make sure that what I use in my food prep is both functional and aesthetically pleasing. I like them for my pickling and for general fridge storage to minimize use of plastic. The mini mold jars are great for dessert presentations and for storing things like bacon fat. They are easy to keep spotlessly clean because they are dishwasher safe, another criterium that I require for my food prep stuff. Be sure to purchase extra clamps for mishaps.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beejay58
,Mn
April 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile jars
April 1, 2013
These jars are a great size for storing leftovers and eventually for canning. They are somewhat pricey but well made and unique. I also purchased the set of weck mini mold jars but they are really too small and I am returning them. These ones are a good size.
Pros: Versatile, well made
Cons: costly
Review 13 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PunkieSue
,New Freeport
,PA
February 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Clips break easily
February 6, 2013
The clips that hold the lids on are thin and break easily, the glass jars and tops are good
quality
Pros: glass jars
Cons: clips break easily
Review 14 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drgrandma
,Portland
,OR
January 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these for leftovers!
January 30, 2013
got these as a replacement for all the mismatched plastic containers...good bye plastic!
These are a great size, heavy glass is sturdy and the clip system easy to use. I gave two to my daughter in law, who has already used them for leftovers at work and she thinks they're great also. They wash up beautifully by hand or dishwasher too.
Review 15 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McSailor
,fort lauderdale
,fl
January 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
January 26, 2013
I love everything about the Weck jars. I've used the French working glasses (the ones W-S sells with the white plastic lids) for years and thought they were my all-time favorite. But I think the Weck are even better. For one thing, they are all glass so the lids don't lose shape and the containers, if the clamps are used properly, are truly airtight. I still love the French 'jars' but use them mostly for beverages as the plastic lids do not seal them at all. Speaking of beverages, our current favorite coffee mugs are the Weck jars since they are thick enough to retain the temperature of the beverage. And the lids help also. I just think they're handsome, well-made (not in China, yeah!) and serve a multitude of functions perfectly.
Pros: everything
Cons: none
Review 16 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Linja
,MT
January 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for freezing leftovers
January 10, 2013
I bought this size Weck Jars for freezing leftover chili and such.
The jars shape is great for freezing because the top is a little wider than the bottom, so as the food or liquid freezes and expands the jar won't break.
Even the wide mouth mason jars have that rounded "hip" at the top and if filled too full can break when the contents freeze and expand.
When I am in a hurry and don't have time to thaw in the fridge I can thaw just enough to turn it upside down (contents slide right out) and put the frozen contents in a pan on the stove.
If you are unsure as to the amount you can add to the jar and freeze with the lid on, freeze without the lid first and if the lid fits well after frozen, then clip the lid on.
Holds a man sized portion and stacks well!
No chemicals from plastic and infinitely reusable.
Pros: no chemicals from plastic
Cons: price is a little high
Review 17 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toothferrypam
,Inverness
,FL
December 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unique & classy
December 15, 2012
Awesome for filling with your favorite home made salsa and presenting in gift basket.
Pros: perfect size, pretty, awesome gift
Cons: too nice to give away!
Review 18 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KDBell
,Ooltewah
,TN
October 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our Canned Items Look Awesome
October 4, 2012
I had seen these jars online and wondered where to purchase them. One day while in Charleston, we came across a strore and they were in the front window! I was fate. I purchased a box of each size. We love them. The items we an have such an "authentic" look in these jars. They are different than the traditional jars we use most, but these jars are gorgeous; great quality, and get lots of attention.
Review 19 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mahq
,Prescott
,AZ
AZ
September 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Canning/Storage Jars
September 15, 2012
I have been using these jars for over 20 ears. They are also wonderful for storing dried spices from your garden. I strongly recommend buying Weck white plastic caps for use after jars have been opened. Not sure if they come with the jars.
Pros: easy to use and store.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 20 for Weck Mold Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
juju5
,Nashville
,tn
June 18, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
cutest canning jars ever
June 18, 2012
The jars are the nicest canning jars - easy to look at and easy to use. They make a great gift receptacle for homemade delicacies from my kitchen. Sometimes the jar is better than the product in it !!
Want to purchase the smaller ones at some future date plus the bottle one as well.