Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6

Weck glass jars have been a mainstay in European kitchens since 1900, when German merchant Johann Weck pioneered the science of water-bath canning. Weck jars are still a reliable favorite of European home cooks for preserving and storing foods. These cylindrical jars are ideal for preserving asparagus, carrots, long green beans, cucumbers and other tall vegetables. For preserving foods using boiling-water canning; also useful for storing dry food staples in the pantry. Each clear glass jar features a glass lid with rubber ring and two rustproof stainless-steel clamps for creating an airtight seal you can check at a glance. Wide-mouth shape is easy to fill. Seal is easy to check at a glance: the pull-tab on the rubber ring should face downward. Replacement rubber rings and clamps are available. Embossed with the Weck strawberry logo. BPA free. Dishwasher safe. 20.2-oz. cap.; 8 1/4" high, 2 1/2" opening. Set includes 6 jars, 6 lids, 6 rubber rings and 12 clamps. Made in Germany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
Review 1 for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CityLiving
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL
April 23, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful & Functional
April 23, 2014
Weck jars are the mercedes of storage jars, and there's a very good reason for that.
I bought a few jars and just fell in love with the entire line. To be honest, I have more wecks that I know what to do with.
A while back, I bought bulk vanilla beans and this jar is perfect for storing them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Design
Review 2 for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wvmountaineer
,Martinsburg
,WV
July 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just the Best Canning Jars
July 19, 2013
These are going to be the most useful canning jars for this gardening season!
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Review 3 for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gramcracker
,Eagle Point, Oregon
,Or
July 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
unique canning jars
July 14, 2013
A special treat to use these canning jars that have a unique shape that enhances the food being processed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Appearance, Versatile
Review 4 for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Idahosherry
,Meridian
,ID
March 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exactly What I was looking for
March 18, 2013
I want to make my own vanilla extract using vanilla beans and good quality vodka. These jars are just the size I need to give this a try.
Review 5 for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
drgrandma
,Portland
,OR
February 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice jars, limited uses
February 17, 2013
bought these jars, not realizing quite how tall and skinny they are! I don't plan on pickling asparagus, but they are fun to show off colorful things, including crafts items. I love the Weck rubber ring closures, and have bought two other sizes as well.
Pros: seal nicely
Cons: a little teetery
Review 6 for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Floro
,Jacksonville
,FL
August 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful jars
August 13, 2012
I was a little leary - using a jar without the "Ball" or "Mason" screw top but I worried needlessly. I just canned 3 jars of peach-sauce and the lids performed in a stellar fashion. I will never use any other type of jar. However, I have now purchased an electric canning pot - and I am buying my new jars and accessories directly from Wecks - so I can get them before snow flies!
Pros: Easy to Use, beautiful to look at, Easy to Store
Cons: shipping time
Review 7 for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
raven455
,GA
August 9, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Jars Jars Jars
August 9, 2012
Jars worked out great, They are better then expected. I will get more when I use all of these up.
Review 8 for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvGOP
,Lubbock
,TX
Lubbock, TX
July 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection!
July 23, 2012
I can't believe how beautiful my Aspargus looks in these jars. I love everything about Weck. They're easy to use, easy to clean, no BPH in the lids as with canning jars with metal lids and they look beautiful on display.
The USDA recommends using a new rubber ring each time the jars are used. However, in Europe, the rubber rings are re-used for ten years or more . . .until the rubber shows wear. I've been re-using my rubber rings without any adverse affects.
Would love to see WS add to the Weck they carry . . .there are so many other shapes and sizes. I use the larger ones to store dried pastas, etc.
Review 9 for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Newmexicogal
,Las Cruces
,NM
July 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great buy from my favorite on-line store!
July 19, 2012
Perfect for long items or juices. Green & beans would look great.
Pros: free shipping, durable glass, attractive enough for gift giving
Cons: price
Review 10 for Weck Cylindrical Jars, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LosAngelesCanner
June 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sensational!
June 30, 2012
I love, *love*, LOVE Weck canning jars.
I got my first set from W-S more than 10 years ago when they first stocked them. They're still in use and as pretty as they were then. I am *thrilled* that W-S is carrying them again.
With Weck jars you can actually *see* the air evacuating and the vacuum being created in the water bath. Once the jars are in storage you can, again, *see* that the vacuum has been preserved by the way the tongue on the rubber seal faces down. Great for your confidence!
The jars are heavy and gorgeous and they make your preserved food look like colorful gems. Same goes for dry foods stored in your pantry.
Expensive but *well* worth the $$$.
There are convenient snap-on plastic lids available from the Weck website for when you've opened the seal and are in and out of your jam or pickles in the fridge. I recommend them too.