Washugyu(TM) Beef Brisket

Professional BBQ chefs look for well-marbled brisket that emerges from a long, slow cooking tender, juicy and packed with meaty flavor that shines through tangy-spicy sauces. Oregon-based Yamaya, produces exactly that kind of brisket. The luxurious Kobe-style meat has more marbling than conventional beef, with a higher percentage of unsaturated fat, which melts at lower temperatures to baste the meat with flavor as it cooks. Whole brisket is 10 lb. (serves 6-8). Half brisket is approx. 6 lb., 8 oz. (serves 4-5). Shipped fresh. Product of USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Washugyu(TM) Beef Brisket
Review 1 for Washugyu(TM) Beef Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gregorio2001
March 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome meat for BBQ
March 12, 2012
I've ordered this brisket a few times now for smoking brisket. It's amazing. Tons of flavor, really tender, and a lot (but not too much) fat. Totally worth it.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for Washugyu(TM) Beef Brisket
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hobbycook
,Tarpon Springs
,FL
September 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too Fatty!
September 25, 2011
This meat was way too fatty! I weighed it in the package and it was 8.4 lbs. I trimmed off 2 full lbs of pure fat and then cut it in half. I cooked two different receipes with the meat: 1 in my dutch oven and one in my slow cooker. Both had a delicious sauce and smelled wonderful, but the meat was way too fatty, it was almost inedible. I've had such luck in the past with ordering meat from WS but this time I was very disappointed and won't be ordering this cut of meat again.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
SmokinTriggers
Austin Texas
Posted August 13, 2013
You did What?
You cut the fat off the brisket? I am with the poster above. I too am from Texas and I think you purchased the wrong cut of meat. If you are looking for healthy but tender you should've bought a lean filet mignon.
This is a brisket that should be smoked for long hours in a smoker. This renders the fat out and makes the meat juicy and flavorful.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
RRMatt
Bee Caves, Tx
Posted November 20, 2011
YOU TRIMMED THE FAT!
I had to write a comment of course being form TEXAS...(Humour) The fat is the best part, sorry hun if you're looking for a healthier meat this is not it. I agree it should be smoked and then trim the excess fat but not before you cook it.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
WeaverDesigns
Gadsden, Alabama
Posted November 4, 2011
TRIM TRIM
Best for this type meat is to smoke in a smoker, also TRIM the fat to your liking is how to treat this cut........
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Washugyu(TM) Beef Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WillTX
,Fort Worth
,TX
United States
September 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Killer Beef!
September 16, 2011
I lightly prepped this brisket and smoked it on my small wood smoker for 20 hours and it came out amazing. It just fell apart under a fork and was excellently juicy and sweet. Highly recommended.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor