Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker

Waring's foolproof popper is a great gift for any popcorn lover. It makes 20 cups of irresistible popcorn. A motorized stirrer keeps the corn in motion, so every kernel pops to fluffy, crisp-tender perfection. The vented plastic lid doubles as a serving bowl. A motorized stirring mechanism keeps the corn in constant motion, a time-honored technique that uniformly distributes heat so that every kernel pops perfectly. Halogen heating system for quick heat up time. The durable plastic lid is vented to prevent condensation - and soggy popcorn. When popping is complete, the durable plastic top doubles as a serving bowl. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.763 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
55 of 76(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
Review 1 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Orlando
,Fl
February 1, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Sad to tell you this
February 1, 2016
I was so excited to make fresh popcorn! I have had this model for 2.5 yrs and use it 2x a month. This is the first product from here that has been defective that I have ever owned. The finish is flaking off, all over the countertop& my hands , every time I use it. The oil is also seeping through the middle piece, I'm worried a fire will start. It makes great popcorn, disappointed with quality of the product.
Pros: Speed, Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Quality, finish flakes off
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
January 24, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Poor Quality
January 24, 2016
Recieved this as a gift, sat in the box for a year before I finally opened it. Product seemed cheap but it worked great the first 2 times and then the 3rd it stopped heating entirely. I can't believe the price tag now that I'm looking it up. Very disappointed, calling WS over this one.
Cons: Quality
Review 3 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Corona
,CA
January 15, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect Popper
January 15, 2016
It's easy to use. It's fast. It's fun. The popcorn is perfect. I will be giving this popper as a gift. It's a perfect popper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Speed, Size
Review 4 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Arlington
,VA
January 6, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love this Popcorn Maker
January 6, 2016
Highly recommend this popcorn maker. Note that you must follow the instructions EXACTLY and in 4 minutes, you will have perfectly popped corn! No shaking the pot on top of the stove or worrying about burning your expensive All Clad pots!
If anyone has suggestions regarding melted butter for popcorn with this machine, please pass along.
Bought the popper along with the Breville Milk Frother to make hot cocoa for our family movie nights!
All finished in less than five minutes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Speed, Quality, Time-saver, Assembly
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ImmaFoodie
Orange, CA
Posted January 31, 2016
Melting Butter
We melt the butter in a sauce pan on the stove. When the popcorn is finished popping, we put the popcorn in a large paper bag (grocery store bags work perfectly), add salt, pour in the butter, close the paper bag up and shake to mix. It is so yummy!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Acton
,MA
January 2, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fast & Easy Popcorn with 1-2 Kernels
January 2, 2016
Let me start by saying I've always made popcorn on the stove and I LOVE this machine! It's faster than the stove top, tastes the same, and results in fewer corn kernels at the end. I agree that you must pay close attention to the last pop and immediately remove the bowl to prevent burning but given the speed at which the machine operates (which is much less than the stove and takes as long as melting butter in the microwave), it's not been an issue for me. The cleanup is super simple! Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, Size, Power
Review 6 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,lewistown
,mt
September 15, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
delicious popcorn
September 15, 2015
The Waring Popcorn popper is a handy item to own if you like perfect popcorn. It is quick and easy to use. The biggest problem is how quickly the popcorn burned. It has to be removed from the heat source immediately after the popping rush. Don't wait for the last few kernels to pop!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: popcorn burns quickly
Review 7 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,CA
September 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Disappointed!
September 13, 2015
Very difficult the first two times I used it. Third time, it didn't work! Low quality for what I expected. Returned!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Store, broken, poor quality
Review 8 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Portland
,OR
June 3, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Makes great popcorn, long term issues.
June 3, 2015
Issue is it's a cheap product. Have had issues with "cover/serving bowl". One handle broke off with pretty nominal family use. Plastic is too low temperature. If cover left on heating element after popper turned off, the plastic melts and deforms. Oil seal between popper and heater has broken down after a little over 1 yr use, is a concern. When it was new it works soo good! This is a great example of a great short term product, don't plan to make it a part of the inheritance. Probably something to buy and throw away after a year or two.
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed
Cons: Fragile, Quality, Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Avidcookgardener
Terre Haute, IN
Posted November 16, 2015
Totally agree!
Reviewer has definitely listed the several problems with this item. It has always made great popcorn, however. My plastic lid handle broke as well. A call to WS referred me to manufacturer. A very nice rep sent a replacement ASAP without a charge. However, the second plastic cover also lost one of its handles! We figure this is a problem they are well aware of, but haven't fixed, I.e., weak plastic. I, too, worry about the build up of oil. We're now considering a second call for a third lid or purchasing a whole new unit when it goes on sale! Hint hint WS! Family loves the popcorn!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
March 23, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Great popper cheap base.
March 23, 2015
Bought in December and have loved the ease of making popcorn. But already the red paint is chipping on the outside of this product and makes it look like a cheap machine. Waring should test the paint because I wonder what cheap paint they use. Hopefully it is ok.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: cheap paint/base
Review 10 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Sherman Oaks
,Ca
March 10, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Another popcorn maker!
March 10, 2015
I decided to try this popcorn maker after going through two of the Cuisinart popcorn makers. It does the job, but I don't love it. If you don't stop the machine and turn it over as soon as it's done popping, you will have burnt popcorn. The Cuisinart breaks in various places after time, and I see this doing the same. Seems to be the nature of these electric popcorn makers. I will, however, continue to buy them as I love popcorn, and this is a great way to make popcorn!
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Size
Review 11 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,In the country
,TX
February 27, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
A Gift for my Valentine
February 27, 2015
This was a gift to my husband for Valentine's Day. He was very surprised and made popcorn almost immediately, right after washing it off. He was very happy and bought more popcorn for the next time.
By the way, my husband is NOT easy to please!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 12 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lowell
,MA
February 23, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Popcorn Heaven
February 23, 2015
I bought this for my husband who is a popcorn fanatic. He loves this and the fact that it is so easy to clean. I hate the smell of popcorn and I don't eat it, but there is NO odor with this popcorn maker!! He uses it 2 or 3 times a week and we have yet to find any burnt pieces. Great product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 13 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
February 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Broke within a month
February 14, 2015
Very cheaply made product, and several issues with use... 1. Popcorn burns nearly every time, no matter how quickly you remove it from the heat. 2. When its done, everything is ridiculously greasy - even the outside of the handles and the entire rim of the bowl (good luck holding on to it while you add seasoning). 3. Cleaning is a huge pain because of the greasy oil and the bits of popcorn stuck to the inside of the cooker. This task became dreaded. 4. One of the handles snapped completely off after only a month of sporadic use. You cannot use it without the handles. Very disappointing all around.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, Fragile
Review 14 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Sunny Florida
,FL
January 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Greasy lid after popping
January 28, 2015
I used the specified amount of oil and corn but still found the lid to be VERY greasy after popping. I also had a good number of un-popped kernels and had some escapees out the gap as other have noted. I stopped using this and am still looking for a great popper. I really wanted this to be THE ONE but it just wasn't. It's also very awkward to store and too cumbersome to be left out on the counter.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance, Size
Review 15 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Darien
,CT
January 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Super popper
January 28, 2015
This is a great popcorn maker. Very few kernels unpopped at the end. Fun to watch it pop the corn. Easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 16 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Napa
,CA
January 15, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Woohoo - Popcorn!
January 15, 2015
From the first batch we've enjoyed our popcorn maker. Seemingly every kernel pops and we simply dive into a big bowl of freshly popped hot popcorn. Family says it's better than the theater popcorn and it's in the comfort of our home. Cheers to Waring for this excellent popcorn maker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 17 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Loudon
,TN
January 12, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Purchase
January 12, 2015
Old school popcorn with a modern twist. Love this!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, fun
Review 18 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Battle Lake
,MN
January 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
popcorn quick
January 11, 2015
This popper really pops fast.
Need to listen closely for end of popping to prevent burning. It is a little clumbersome to turn over quickly when you know it is hot stuff. Easy cleanup.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Store
Review 19 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,MN
January 10, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Messy and leaks oil and kernels
January 10, 2015
Received this popper as it was hailed by Oprah. Popcorn pops great popcorn with the exception of a few burned kernels which can be eliminated if the unit is turned off before all the kernels are popped. The problem is the loose fitting lid has a small gap between the lid and the pan which allows oils to spatter to the outside. Also the center spindle seal lets oil to seep through to the heating element. Kernels of corn also at times work their way under the lid edge where the gap is and pushes the lid up higher allowing more oil and mess to the outside. We are returning the unit and going back to the hand whirlybird stove top type which makes not as fluffy popcorn but faster and no mess.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Assembly, splatters oil
Review 20 for Waring Deluxe Popcorn Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Baltimore
,MD
December 18, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Popcorn maker!
December 18, 2014
This popcorn maker works wonderfully. it really pops most of the kernels and it's convenient to be able to eat the popcorn right out of lid/bowl.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
page1 2 3 4 next