Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar

A quarter of a century of traditional aging gives this ultra-versatile condiment an intense, complex flavor. Balsamic vinegars like this one are among the most prized of Italian elixirs, crafted from the pure wine must (unfermented grape juice) of white Trebbiano grapes, which is aged in wooden barrels according to time-honored techniques. From Modena, Italy, ours is made by slowly simmering the grapes in copper cauldrons, then combining the reduction with older balsamic vinegar to help speed acidification. The blend is transferred to oak barrels, which imbue the aged vinegar with rich aroma, flavor and color. 15.5 oz. Made in Italy. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
50 of 52(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
Review 1 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Reno
,NV
August 25, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just WOW !!
August 25, 2016
I had thought a good balsamic was adequate at about 12 years...but this liquid is just spectacular. Opened it up as soon as it arrived, poured a shot glass and then wiped out the glass with my finger. It is just that good. Thick and warm. Thought of vanilla ice cream, heirloom tomatoes (well, not together) endless possibilities. I think I'll buy another bottle for safe keeping. Now I can never go back to the common stuff. Sigh! And the bottle itself is pretty special too.
Pros: Decadent, Flavor, Quality
Cons: none
Review 2 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Alamo
,CA
June 27, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hands down the best Balsamic
June 27, 2016
You won't find a better Balsamic Vinegar. I'm a lover of vinegar, and aside from Apple Cider Vinegar, which is a completely different animal, this is my staple. And ONLY from Oliver. WS private label Balsamic doesn't hold a candle. Use it for marinade, drizzle over caprese, as dip, or as a dressing over a salad or avocado and feta. Dynamite.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Danbury
,CT
May 26, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Enough said!
May 26, 2016
Olivier balsamic vinegar is the only balsamic vinegar we use at home.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Little Rock
,AR
May 2, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Good!
May 2, 2016
I love this Balsamic Vinegar! I won't be without it. I eat it on salads as a dressing-just the vinegar. You get a great, low calorie, low (no) fat punch of flavor for meat, vegetables, bread, etc. It is the best balsamic vinegar I've found for the price. I've tried others for the same price and they don't come close to the flavor you get from this one, in my opinion.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 5 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Minneapolis
,MN
April 2, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Balsamic Ever
April 2, 2016
This is in my opinion, the best Balsamic Vinegar on the market. It's great for dipping sauces and in dishes. I highly recommend this.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Great Gift
Review 6 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
March 11, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good enough to drink
March 11, 2016
This is the best vinegar that I've ever tasted. Glad that I splurged, though I may never be able to buy another type of balsamic again. Saved (did not open) for awhile but remained great! It is so good, that I did drink up what I poured to taste. Will buy for gifts, as a decadent pleasure, a treat!
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Decadent, Authentic, Great Gift
Review 7 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Crystal Lake
,IL
February 22, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
6of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
UP TO 25 years old ???
February 22, 2016
I like this Balsamic Vinegar. I have ordered it several times. What upsets me is the way Williams Sonoma advertises the product. What exactly is "up to" 25 years old mean?
Could be 2 years, 10 years, or even 25 years old??? Generally when I see a sale of "up to" 75% OFF... The item I want is 10% off.
So what is it I am buying Williams Sonoma?
Truth in advertising please! As for flavor and quality for the price...I would give 4 stars.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 8 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,panama city
,Fl
January 8, 2016
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost good enough to drink!
January 8, 2016
We are glad we ordered two bottles of this aged balsamic. It is one of the best we have tried. The flavor is rich and smooth and enhances everything we use it on. Excellent on a caprese salad, drizzled on roasted beets or rosemary flatbread. We were tempted to serve it as a cordial, but have not gone that far.....wonderful taste!
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Healthy, Authentic, Great Gift, delicious
Cons: none
Review 9 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ocala
,Fl
December 18, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Divine for salad dressings
December 18, 2015
This balsamic is absolutely as good or better than the Balsamics I paid twice the price for while in Italy. I know you can spend much more but you don't need to. This has amazing complexity and transforms the simplest salad or cheese. I simply can't be without it!
Pros: Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lake City
,FL
November 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Balsamic Vinegar
November 8, 2015
This is some of the finest, tastiest balsamic vinegar I have ever had! I use it all of the time and have often purchase bottles for friends at their request.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Authentic, Great Gift
Review 11 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Metairie
,LA
November 8, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Merry Christmas
November 8, 2015
Makes a great gift for nearly all family and friends!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Decadent, Authentic, Great Gift, can't say enough about this product!
Cons: absolutely none!
Review 12 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CA
Califoria
August 29, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best!!
August 29, 2015
This 25 year balsamic vinegar is the only one we use. I usually order 3 at a time to make sure we don't run out. SO SO tasty!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Decadent
Review 13 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 24, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth every penny!
August 24, 2015
This balsamic is amazing and definitely worth it. It may seem a little pricey, but will last for a while and is pretty spectacular! You definitely should not hesitate when thinking about purchasing this.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 14 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New Orleans
,LA
July 20, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Balsamic
July 20, 2015
This is the best balsamic! I have been buying it for years. It's rich and thick and makes the best salad dressing when paired with olive oil.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 15 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,TUCSON
,AZ
May 17, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best of the best
May 17, 2015
recommend by one of your sales people and at first I was scare by the price..had it in the pantry I ran out of vinegar so I said well lets cracked this open & was blown away by the smooth taste of it..so it turn out to be a great recommendation & now everyone in my household is hooked on it....we make salads almost every night & this what we use...good choice!.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: price
Review 16 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NEW ROCHELLE
,NY
May 1, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this product
May 1, 2015
If you love Balsamic Vinegar then this is the one for you. It is quite delicious and I've sent it as a gift to friends and family and they are all quite pleased with it. It is syrupy and not at all acidic. It is the only Balsamic I will use on my salads.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 17 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Aurora
,CO
February 24, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Balsamic Vinegar hands down
February 24, 2015
This is the best balsamic vinegar I have ever used. It is wonderful for finishing a sauce or just used for a salad dressing. A must have.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 18 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bartlett
,IL
January 21, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent quality and taste
January 21, 2015
This is without question the best balsamic vinegar I have tried. I had no idea it could be this rich and smooth. Absolute heaven.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy
Review 19 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sarasota
,FL
October 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Balsamic
October 25, 2014
Terrific flavor for the money... tastes loike a $50./pint Balsamic.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 20 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Three Rivers
,Mi
July 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great balsamic
July 29, 2014
Love this for everyday use! reduced it down further and drizzled on my homemade vanilla ice cream!!!!! Way to go W&S
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
page1 2 3 next