25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar

A quarter of a century of traditional aging gives this ultra-versatile condiment an intense, complex flavor. Balsamic vinegars like this one are among the most prized of Italian elixirs, crafted from the pure wine must (unfermented grape juice) of white Trebbiano grapes, which is aged in wooden barrels according to time-honored techniques. From Modena, Italy, ours is made by slowly simmering the grapes in copper cauldrons, then combining the reduction with older balsamic vinegar to help speed acidification. The blend is transferred to oak barrels, which imbue the aged vinegar with rich aroma, flavor and color. 15.5 oz. Made in Italy. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.697 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
31 of 33(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
Review 1 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diamondchef
,Three Rivers
,Mi
July 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great balsamic
July 29, 2014
Love this for everyday use! reduced it down further and drizzled on my homemade vanilla ice cream!!!!! Way to go W&S
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CairB
,West Suffield
July 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Balsamic Vinegar
July 5, 2014
This is by far the best balsamic vinegar I have ever tasted. I will never buy another brand again but this. It is worth every penny!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JRoyan
,SEATTLE
,WA
July 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Balsamic Hands-Down
July 2, 2014
This is the vinegar that makes me love vinegar. The smell, the taste, the ease of cooking with it and using it in dressings... It's perfection and well worth every penny. This is the one reason I go to Williams-Sonoma on a regular basis.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NSB53
June 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sorry not what you say
June 22, 2014
I'm not getting this. I think this balsamic leaves a metal aftertaste in your mouth.
I know it's popular but try tasting Calivirgin, mush better by far.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 5 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chaos
,Cedarhurst
,NY
June 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Stuff
June 18, 2014
This is a fantastic aged balsamic vinegar and at the price it really can't be beat! You will not be sorry!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 6 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KayLeo
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
June 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not much you can really about this product...
June 5, 2014
The 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar is just delicious!
Seems expensive, but good quality foods usually are. Give it a try and you'll fall in love, too!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Versatile
Review 7 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amyd1031
,Pittsburgh
,PA
May 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Balsamic Vinegar
May 1, 2014
The woman at the WS store gave us a sample of this to try and it was really good so we bought a bottle - it was on special for the day so we saved a little $$ on it. This stuff is SO good!! I've only had it a few weeks and we've already gone through (almost) half a bottle!! We've been using on salads and tomatoes/mozzarella so far. This taste is so smooth that I actually will eat the tomatoes (which I normally do not like). Very smooth, not bitter, a little sweet. This balsamic is the real deal - no fillers/added colors, etc. Pricey but worth it!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
April 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best by Far
April 8, 2014
This is the best by far Balsamic Vinegar I have ever used or tasted! It's not bitter like supermarket brands. I use on fresh tomatoes with fresh mozzarella and for salads. I have also used for glazes. It's a great gift item. It's worth every penny. A taste of Italy in a bottle right here at home. Bon Appetit!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rnbiker
,Milford
,Mi
Milford MI
March 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-7points
1of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
"25- Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar"
March 7, 2014
"25- Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar" It IS the best ever. We had used it for several years and were sorely disappointed when it was discontinued. We found nothing to replace it. Became overjoyed when W-S returned it, and we immediately ordered 4 bottles.
What we received was a poor substitute for the real stuff Which we returned - four times and have yet to receive the 25 year barrel aged balsamic vinegar we desire.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
February 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An almost perfect vinegar.
February 5, 2014
I really enjoy this balsamic and have bought it several times. It's thick, sweet, and tasty. I agree with a past reviewer who said this vinegar was missing a tangy punch. I'll often add a splash of the Fini Balsamic (because I have it on hand) along with the Olivier on certain dishes to make the perfect balsamic vinegar blend.
I do recommend this strongly for sweet things like fresh tomatoes, ice cream or a panna cotta. For me, on certain savory dishes I think it needs just a little bit more zing.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 11 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
January 19, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
January 19, 2014
THE BEST EVER!
Worth Every Penny!
This is not your ordinary balsamic vinegar.
Superb flavor and no bitterness.
Try a little over mixed berries.
Heaven Sent!
Enjoy!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, delicious
Review 12 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WyoWindblown
Casper, Wyoming
January 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oh, how I'd missed you!
January 18, 2014
Other vinegars do not compare (even if the bottle looks very, very similar). I'm so pleased to see this one back again! The first time I was told to try this vinegar "straight up" I thought the idea was nuts, but it's that good! This, plus some good olive oil and a little coarse ground pepper is my miracle concoction for salads, fresh tomatoes, sandwiches and dipping fresh bread. Oh yes, and fresh summer strawberries!
Review 13 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tiwunon
,Bayview
,ID
January 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Ever 20 year old Balsamic !!!
January 2, 2014
I am so happy that Williams-Sonoma returned my most favorite Balsamic Vinegar to their store !!! This is the best 25 year old Barrel-Aged Balsamic I have ever had. It is set at a great price, and I love it so much I always make sure I have a spare bottle in my cupboard and when I reach for it, I am busy ordering another one for back up ! Great for salads or BBQ or grilled veggies ! You will not be disappointed !!!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift, tasty
Review 14 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RenoFoodie
,NV
December 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best Balsamic by far!
December 20, 2013
This is excellent! Guests rave over a simple dressing made with this. I use it in marinades and braised short ribs. Yummy! My store runs out ALL the time, but they will call you when a new order comes in. WS employees are wonderful!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 15 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmyinTexas
,Anahuac
,TX
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is the good stuff
November 26, 2013
Well-worth the price. We keep this in stock around my kitchen.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 16 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clyczko
,Lake Bluff
,IL
October 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent quality
October 29, 2013
What was once a treat to use is now a necessity because our taste buds are spoiled. Please never run out!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 17 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whitelilacs
October 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Olivier balsamic
October 13, 2013
Thank you for bringing this back. We are addicted to it and it makes a great hostess present.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 18 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shelphild
,Sacramento
,CA
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The absolute Best!
September 24, 2013
I have been using this Balsamic Vinegar for many years. I was fortunate to run out just as they brought it back. I hadn't even known it was not available for a while. Can't imagine why they would not stock this at all times, it is the absolute best!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 19 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GZCOOK
,Corvallis
,OR
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ONLY BALSAMIC I BUY
September 22, 2013
I was introduced to this Balsamic during a W-S tasting class on vinegars several years back. This has been the only Balsamic I buy since then. I also introduced my finicky adult son to it. When he ran out, he bought several other brands and was seriously disappointed with them. Luckily, I had stocked up and missed the phase when they switched brands. After reading those reviews, I was afraid to try the new one. But I lucked out and they brought back the original one week before I had to buy something else. I bought one bottle which my son begged me for, so I had to buy another bottle for myself. It was great as always. (P.S. DON'T MAKE THE MISTAKE I DID ON A BOTTLE. I PUT A METAL SPOUT IN THE BOTTLE. THE ACID CORRODED THE METAL INTO THE BOTTLE THUS MY NEED TO BUY A NEW BOTTLE.)
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
FridayChef
Orange County, CA
Posted July 29, 2014
Stopper for bottle
Thanks for including that note about the metal spout. I'm just curious how to stopper the bottle after opening it for the first time. Does the bottle have a cork and, if so, does it work well as a stopper after uncorking?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for 25-Year Barrel-Aged Balsamic Vinegar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BudsGurl
,Orange County
,Ca
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hands-Down the BEST
September 22, 2013
The absolute BEST balsamic vinegar - hands-down! I was sooooo disappointed when WS decided to stop selling the Olivier & thought I'd have to start having it shipped directly from Napa (& I would do that any day rather than settle for any other brand). Was very pleased when WS offered it again. The perfect balance of sweetness & acidity, perfect thickness - neither watery or syrupy - simply THE BEST!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: pricey
page1 2 next