Vitamix Professional 500 Blender

One of the most trusted brands in premium blending appliances, Vitamix has been delivering unmatched performance to professionals and home cooks since 1937. The Professional 500 features a pulse function and preprogrammed blend settings that put hundreds of recipes at your fingertips, whether you're blending, pureeing, chopping or mixing. Thanks to the machine's 2-peak-horsepower motor, the laser-cut stainless-steel blades rotate at 240 MPH for commercial-grade power and speed. A fingerprint-resistant stainless-steel finish offers sleek style that complements the look of modern kitchens. Three pre-programmed settings for smoothies, frozen desserts and soups and an auto-shutoff feature allow you to start the unit and walk away while blending. 2-peak-horsepower motor provides the power and speed to mix ingredients completely and evenly. Extremely versatile machine can friction-cook hot soup and sauces from cold ingredients and whip up ice cream, sorbet and frozen drinks in seconds. Also great for making fresh, wholesome juices and nut butters, grinding grains into flour, emulsifying dressings and creating salsas, dips and spreads. Pulse function can be used at any speed and offers total control over texture and thickness. Variable speed operation is controlled with the turn of a dial. One-piece precision-crafted stainless-steel blade stays sharp through rugged daily use. Brushed stainless-steel finish resists smudging and fingerprints. Metal-to-metal connection between container and base prevents stripping or wear. Lightweight 64-oz.-cap. copolyester container is BPA-free and shatterproof for safety. Two-piece lid has removable plug for adding ingredients while in use and lid vents for releasing steam when processing hot ingredients. Includes patented tamper tool, cookbook and instructional DVD. Hand built and rigorously tested by the family-owned company at its headquarters in Cleveland, Ohio.
Average Customer Rating:
4.863 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
72 of 73(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
Review 1 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tinysmom
,Provo
,UT
April 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How did I live without this??!!
April 12, 2014
I had two friends drop by for a visit while I was getting dinner together. I informed them I was making cream of asparagus soup. So they sat in the kitchen while I put everything in the blender . Then Imagine their awe when I used even the thick woody parts of the vegetable and no cream. When I turned the dial to soup and invited them into the next room they couldn't believe I left it unattended to visit with them, then 5 minutes later they had a taste of the best soup they had eaten in recent memory. I used the recipe from The Silver Palate Cookbook, by Sheila Lukins and Julie Russo. No grinding, or pressing through a food mill necessary, oh... and NO COOKING. 5 minutes, really 5 minutes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Loud
Review 2 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vitamix is the very best
July 28, 2013
This is a workhorse. Don't try to compare it to 'regular' blenders. This is professional equipment and so worth the investment.
Review 3 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jnitolo
,NJ
July 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the Money
July 9, 2013
The cost makes you think twice about purchasing it but with the use we get out of it each day, it was well worth the purchase price and then some.
I used my old blender for everything these last 10 years but it does not provide the power or verstility of the VitaMix or ease of cleaning too.
If you are worried about the cost and don't need the presets, go for the 300 then.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 4 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Armo
,Sacramento
,Ca
sacramento
April 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
it's wonderful
April 15, 2013
i am disabled and i had to make dietary changes. it was that or death. i am in 3rd stage congestive heart failure and was told to make a few changes. well, i purchased the vitamix pro 500 and have lost 85 pounds just by diet (and not exercise sihce i can't do that). healthy smoothies for morning and lunch packed with iron, protien, vitamins and no preservatives, no fillers, or extenders.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VandaWall
,Toronto, ON Canada
February 10, 2013
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best blender on the market bar none
February 10, 2013
I've had a Vitamix for about 5 years. They're expensive but worth every penny. I use it every day to make a fruit smoothie for breakfast. It's powerful enough to liquify half an apple, a whole carrot along with a variety of other fruit (including frozen berries) all at once without any liquid. To clean you just fill it about 1/4 full with water add a drop of dish soap, turn it on for a few seconds, rinse and let it drip dry.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile
Review 6 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mismax
,Houston
,MS
Houston, MS
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The very best blender EVER!
December 18, 2012
I cannot believe I waited so long to purchase this blender. It is fabulous - from the smoothies, to salsa, to enchilada sauce, to iced coffees... Probably the best purchase I've made in a while, and believe me, I buy a lot from Williams Sonoma. The cookbook that comes with it is an added bonus. If you could buy one thing this year, buy this blender.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 7 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookingdo0f
,San Jose
,Ca
San Jose, CA
December 15, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best kitchen purchase ever!!! Money saver!
December 15, 2012
I use mine every single day. If I had to pick 1 thing in my kitchen to keep forever this would be it. I've saved so much $ just in making healthy breakfasts alone. Even on a busy hectic week, as long as I have 3 apples, a bag of spinach, a bag of carrots and celery; I've got breakfast for 6+ days ; if I buy organic it comes out to less that $1 a morning. I wish I would have gotten this sooner. I like it so much I got one for my parents (they love it), as a wedding gift (the couple loves theirs), and I recommend this blender to anyone who asks me about it. You won't be disappointed. Especially if you want a quick way to get nutritious fruits and veggies in daily. It's paid for itself already.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 8 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pugs4me
,Wentzville
,MO
Wentzville, MO
July 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oh So Smooth
July 7, 2012
I use my Vitamix to make smoothies, frozen desserts, soup, and carrot juice. It has never failed to make everything smooth. I didn't think I wanted the model with the 3 pre-programmed modes, but I actually use them nearly every time. I never thought I would like green smoothies that I had been hearing about, but now I throw a handful of spinach or whatever produce I have in each smoothie. My kids didn't even know there was a cup of spinach in the smoothie. The Vitamix works exactly how described. Take a minute to read the book and watch the video, so you are certain to get all the benefits from it. The 500 came with a huge spiral bound recipe book! Oh yeah, washing is easy, too. Top quality! Worth the money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: Weight, i don't really consider weight a con but it is he
Review 9 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inmanjd
,Ashland
,VA
April 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vitamix Professional 500 is 'The' Best!
April 23, 2012
Yes it's expensive, but totally worth it. I've been using it daily now for almost a month and every smoothie I've made has been absolutely silky smooth and delicious. I made a hot soup (no, there isn't a heater inside the unit) made on the soup setting that generates such heat due to the speed of the blender blade that the ingredients come out steaming hot. Delicious soup made with fresh out of the garden ingredients. So, if you're shopping for a blender that does what it says and more the Vitamix Professional Series 500 is the best available.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile
Cons: Loud
Review 10 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dafjdf
,Orange County
,CA
Orange County, CA
April 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most used appliance in my kitchen!!
April 12, 2012
So worth the money!! I got sick of all those whimpy blenders that won't crush ice or take FOREVER to make a smoothie. This machine is amazing. It does everything it says it does and more. We use ours for smoothies, shakes, soups, sauces, making salsa, etc. It is also super easy to clean. It's not the most beautiful appliance, but we use it so much I leave it on the counter. But be prepared...it's loud! ;-)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 11 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IsabelR
,fernandina beach
,fl
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite "everything" pot
April 9, 2012
this machine is amazing and sooo powereful...my grandkids are learning how to use it also and love, love, love being able to make smoothies and other things with all natural fresh ingredients, making p-nut butter is amazing...moving on to making my own whole wheat flour and almond milk; can't wait... Isabel
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: none
Review 12 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kayakbluedot
,Omaha
,NE
March 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing for Soups
March 28, 2012
I was hesitant in buying this blender because of the price, but I am so glad I did! I absolutley love it. I have made wonderful soups and sauces and a fabulous salsa the other day! It is so easy to use and I especially love the pre-programmed settings! It's wonderful, and I look forward to exploring more with it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 13 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ELR2
,NE
March 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish I bought this sooner!!!
March 21, 2012
I've used this blender at least three times a day. It is the best most used kitchen appliance I own!! Makes the most smooth smoothies ever! I have never ate more dark green veggies in my life either. My kids (age 1 & 2) are eating raw veggies too! The cookbook that comes with it is great! I've made about 30 or more recipes and have loved them all. I would say if you're considering this blender just do it! You won't be disappointed.
By the way strawberry seeds in the strawberry banana smoothie were completely gone. Don't know if that helps any of you but I was amazed it did that.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Review 14 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
swimmergirl
,new york
,ny
March 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I finally got the Bentley I never knew I wanted!
March 16, 2012
I purchased another mixer less than a year and a half ago on some ones recommendation. That mixer was to be similar to the Vitamix. MISTAKE! Broke in the middle of doing my shake at 5:50 am. Purchased the Vitamix 500 less than 24 hours ago. OMG! This machine is the Bentley of all blenders. My morning shake was smoother, made faster and my clean up was in seconds! Went through the DVD, can't wait to have friends over to show off my culinary skills - the vitamix magic! I know I could buy 1 pair of really nice shoes for the price of this machine but the cost was well worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, queit compared to other brands with this power
Review 15 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OneShot
,Clear Lake City (Houston)
,TX
February 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a Monster, when it comes to blenders.
February 2, 2012
We've owned several blenders over the past 30+ years, but never could I even begain to dream that a blender would do what the "Vitamix 500 Blender" can do. It's the most powerful appliance in any home kitchen, I've ever seen. I never thought ice could be turned into snow in seconds, never thought that a blender could even heat up soup, and the amount of smoothies that you can make in such a short amount of time. When in use, a sign should be posted " Hearing Protection Required" (LOL).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: hearing protection not included.
Review 16 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ProudTexan
,League City
,TX
League City, TX
January 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT!!!!
January 21, 2012
My husband surprised me with this for Christmas -- he would NEVER have spent this much on what he calls "just a blender", but I think he was justifying spending 3-times that much on a scope for his rifle (LOL!!!). It is fantastic. We have only scratched the surface on it's capabilities -- and have only really made smoothies, soups, and ice creams with it -- but are experimenting more and more. The power of this beast is AMAZING -- even my husband was impressed which is pretty hard to do. We're still in the honeymoon stage with it -- will provide more reviews as we use it more and more.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 17 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LynnSW
,Buffalo
,NY
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Ultimate Kitchen Addition
January 12, 2012
Just acquired my Vitamix 500, and within the first half hour my 12 year old twins were having me make a fresh fruit smoothie. Velvety smooth, this alone is worth the money! Instead of soda, they want fresh fruit! and so quick, easy a no brainer in my book. I just wish I had known about this earlier in life!! So much power, so much versatility, endless options!!
Thanks to the makers of this A+ Life changer!!!
The best investment you can make!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 18 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vegetarian1
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It has done every job ..
January 9, 2012
Frozen fruit, ice, lentil paste, chick peas, grain grinding.. I have done everything..and the blender has lived upto its reputation.
The only thing I haven't been able to do nicely is grind grains coarsely..I can make the flour fine.. but I don't know how to do coarse grains.. If some one knows it please let me know.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Speed, Assembly
Cons: Loud, Size
Review 19 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LBTZ
,Atlanta
,Ga
Atlanta, Georgia
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
unsurpassed kitchen equipment
January 8, 2012
Just updated and purchased...have eaten more fruits and vegetables in 2 months than in last 5 years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, healthy food quick
Review 20 for Vitamix Professional 500 Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Docjj1
,Williamsville
,NY
December 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ultimate Blender
December 21, 2011
This is the ultimate in blending technology. It is extremely well-built and will not disappoint even the harshest critic. It effortlessly does its job with nuts, ice and anything else you throw at it. The lid has a newer design that locks into place to prevent a messy catastrophe if it were to fly off. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Versatile, Design
page1 2 3 4 next