This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake

Distinguished by its festive scarlet hue and melt-in-your-mouth texture, red velvet cake is a signature special-occasion dessert in the South. From renowned California baker Sam Godfrey, this version comes from an old family recipe and features three layers of fudgy devil's food cake alternating with fluffy white icing. It's ready whenever you are - just thaw, slice and serve. 6" diam., 3 1/2" high (serves 8-10). Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
Review 1 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
choschos
November 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
way too expensive
November 28, 2013
over priced and not the best red velvet cake as advertised. description says it serves 8 - 10 people. we were only 6 people and we barely made it using very small slices
Cons: Disappointing, Amount
Review 2 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shelly2h
,Danvers
,MA
June 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fabulous!!!
June 21, 2012
Can't say enough about this cake... so Good...would recommend highly
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
didi68
,Los Angeles
,CA
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Gratuitous Amount of Sugar
January 26, 2012
I felt the ingredients were good quality yet the cake itself really had no particular flavor,,, other than a LOT of sugar. I would say it has a gratuitous amount of sugar. The other over-riding flavor is a lot of butter. The most exciting things about the cake were the dry ice delivery and wondering what a $70 cake would take like.
There were only 2 of us to share the cake and do to it's richness it lasted a few days, as others have stated, it only takes a small slice.
I was pleased it did not have the typical unappetizing sour cream cheese frosting so many companies put on a red velvet cake and that is one of the main reasons I decided to try this one.
The cake was actually better when it was less fresh, so on the 3rd and 4th day the left overs were the best part.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Amount, price
Review 4 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ppdoc
,baltimore
,md
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Awesome, but small and over priced
January 10, 2012
We bought the cake for 45 dollars on what was apparently an Xmas special. For $45 it was worth every penny. We also bought the German Chocolate Cake which was good, but not at all in the same category. The Red Velvet Cake was light and fluffy despite being frozen. The icing was outstanding.
The only complaint I could give is the size and the price. It states that it serves 8 - 10 but it must be 8 0 10 hobbits or mice. There is no way it serves 8 - 10 people as a dessert.
At the price point of $45, I thought the cake was well worth it. However, I called back on week later and the price had risen to 75 dollars. This cake is very good, but honestly, I don't believe that it is worth $75 for that small a cake.
Everyone's tastes differ, but I doubt there would be many that don't like this unless they happen not to like red velvet case in the first place. But for 75 dollars my wife and I woud prefer to make it ourselves as cooking is our hobby anyway.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Amount, price
Review 5 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Benji1968
Provo, Utah
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Outstanding and worth every penny!
January 10, 2012
We served eight people with this cake and every one of them agreed that it was the best cake ever. Very rich but not too sweet, this cake is small in stature but big on substance. I would rather have a smaller slice of perfection, made from real incredients, than a huge hunk of mediocrity. I highly recommend this cake.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift