This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake

Distinguished by its festive scarlet hue and melt-in-your-mouth texture, red velvet cake is a signature special-occasion dessert in the South. From renowned California baker Sam Godfrey, this version comes from an old family recipe and features three layers of fudgy devil's food cake alternating with fluffy white icing. It's ready whenever you are - just thaw, slice and serve. 6" diam., 3 1/2" high (serves 8-10). Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
18 of 25(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
Review 1 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
choschos
November 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
way too expensive
November 28, 2013
over priced and not the best red velvet cake as advertised. description says it serves 8 - 10 people. we were only 6 people and we barely made it using very small slices
Cons: Disappointing, Amount
Review 2 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shelly2h
,Danvers
,MA
June 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fabulous!!!
June 21, 2012
Can't say enough about this cake... so Good...would recommend highly
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
didi68
,Los Angeles
,CA
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Gratuitous Amount of Sugar
January 26, 2012
I felt the ingredients were good quality yet the cake itself really had no particular flavor,,, other than a LOT of sugar. I would say it has a gratuitous amount of sugar. The other over-riding flavor is a lot of butter. The most exciting things about the cake were the dry ice delivery and wondering what a $70 cake would take like.
There were only 2 of us to share the cake and do to it's richness it lasted a few days, as others have stated, it only takes a small slice.
I was pleased it did not have the typical unappetizing sour cream cheese frosting so many companies put on a red velvet cake and that is one of the main reasons I decided to try this one.
The cake was actually better when it was less fresh, so on the 3rd and 4th day the left overs were the best part.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Amount, price
Review 4 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ppdoc
,baltimore
,md
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Awesome, but small and over priced
January 10, 2012
We bought the cake for 45 dollars on what was apparently an Xmas special. For $45 it was worth every penny. We also bought the German Chocolate Cake which was good, but not at all in the same category. The Red Velvet Cake was light and fluffy despite being frozen. The icing was outstanding.
The only complaint I could give is the size and the price. It states that it serves 8 - 10 but it must be 8 0 10 hobbits or mice. There is no way it serves 8 - 10 people as a dessert.
At the price point of $45, I thought the cake was well worth it. However, I called back on week later and the price had risen to 75 dollars. This cake is very good, but honestly, I don't believe that it is worth $75 for that small a cake.
Everyone's tastes differ, but I doubt there would be many that don't like this unless they happen not to like red velvet case in the first place. But for 75 dollars my wife and I woud prefer to make it ourselves as cooking is our hobby anyway.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Amount, price
Review 5 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Benji1968
Provo, Utah
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Outstanding and worth every penny!
January 10, 2012
We served eight people with this cake and every one of them agreed that it was the best cake ever. Very rich but not too sweet, this cake is small in stature but big on substance. I would rather have a smaller slice of perfection, made from real incredients, than a huge hunk of mediocrity. I highly recommend this cake.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consuela
,Midland Park
,NJ
December 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Awesome but too small
December 29, 2011
Everyone loved this cake! Very moist, amazing authentic boiled vanilla icing, which may sound unappetizing but is so light, fluffy, delicious and meant to be on a red velvet cake although there are so few places that make it that way! Only down side is that it was too SMALL!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 7 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ranrey
,Tx
December 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Its a minature cake and I paid $70?
December 14, 2011
My wife and I were excited to see this cake offered. we planned on it being our featured dessert for our family of 8 on Christmas day lunch. I guess we did not realize that a 6 inch cake is not normal cake size. It says that it will serve 8-10 but we will be lucky to serve 6 normal slices out of it. I think anyone would be shocked at the small size considering the $70 price. I feel like I have been ripped off. If it was returnable I would do it. I am guessing it would work for 2-4 people with no left overs.
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, not good for entertaing
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Ranrey
Tx
Posted December 31, 2011
Update
I have to admit that I was wrong. We served this small cake on Christmas to 7 adults. We were not especially hungry but we found the cake to be very good. We even had some left over so even though it is small, it is so rich that you only need about half the slice of what we consider a regular size slice of cake. It is still too expensive for that size but it served our purpose of providing a "treat" on Christmas evening!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bellamom
,Bethlehem
,Nh
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
disappointed
December 6, 2011
I was very disappointed in this red velvet cake! Too small for the price and extremely wet! Shipped well but the cake was average also in taste. I've had much better! Sorry, but will never order or recommend this to anyone! Overpriced! Looked nice! However, even the icing was tasteless!
Pros: looked nice
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Flavor
Review 9 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Klauss1
,mexico city
November 26, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
NOT AT ALL WHAT EXPECTED
November 26, 2011
I live out of the country, and wanted to be present for Thanksgiving at my sister´s place somehow, so instead of flowers, I chose this cake. It was super small, not at all what depicted in the picture, never a mention of the size either. Tall, yes, 3 layers. But that´s about it. We are all very fond of red velvet, and this was definitely not worth the price. They all said the one at the supermarket (any supermarket) was much better, moister, better texture, and not very tasty. This was not my first purchase of a perfect endings product, and I was very disappointed with the outcome. Shipping was very fast though.
Pros: fast shipping
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Flavor, very expensive for what it really is
Review 10 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsGlo
Dumfries, VA
June 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Just Wonderful!
June 2, 2011
I ordered my 1st Red Velvet Cake for Mom on Mother's Day. She did not hesitate to tell me that the cake was "just wonderful"! She was extremely happy with this decadent gift and I would recommend it without reservation.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BayAreaFoodie2011
Danville, CA
April 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Prefect from the first time to the last time
April 26, 2011
We ordered this cake last year, and it was delicious--moist and rich. I took one piece and hid it in a sealed plastic container in the freezer. I "found" it and took it out yesterday morning to thaw it, and we ate it last night. I swear it was just as good as the first bite. Amazing.
Pros: Quality, Decadent
Review 12 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MNutter
Sutter Creek, California
May 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
wonderful cake
May 9, 2010
My daughter sent me this cake for Mother's Day and I shared it with my daughter-in-law and family. It is not too large in diameter, but is very high and rich so you only need a small slice to be satisfied. The frosting is out of this world and the cake is very moist. The only problem I had was with shipping as the dry ice was gone and the cake was not frozen when it came but still fresh and lasted a couple of days. I would definitely order this cake if I was having a special event.
Review 13 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ACK3
Philadelphia, PA
March 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best Red Velvet Cake!
March 30, 2010
If you are going back and forth on whether you should make this purchase, GO FOR IT! It is definitely a showstopper. I buy this for most parties I host and I've always been told it is the best red velvet cake they have ever had. I certainly agree!
Review 14 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
genz
February 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
BEST CAKE EVERRR
February 23, 2010
My boyfriend got me this cake for v-day.... I love red velvet cake and this was HANDS DOWN the best I have ever tasted!!!
Review 15 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
andy99
Kansas
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Small but tasty cake
January 7, 2010
We thought the flavor was excellent and the cake was moist, unlike the lemon cake. It was very small considering the price of the cake.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lakelandmaryland
lakeland,florida
Posted January 15, 2011
Perfect!
Most prepared foods do not impress me.I have wonderful cooks in my family, but I can always rely on Perfect Endings to make my event special.This was a delightful cake.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gillygirl
Traverse City, MI
January 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fantastic
January 4, 2010
This cake got rave reviews from my friends at my Christmas party and then again when served at Christmas dinner.
The cake was moist and the frosting very creamy. Everyone loved this dessert.
Review 17 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenniferC
Middletown, ct
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious!
January 2, 2010
This cake looked pretty and tasted delicious. We only ate half so we froze the other half of it. The cake was just as yummy when we finished it!
Review 18 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
craftydragon
Missouri
November 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A hit!
November 30, 2009
I sent two of these as gifts at Thanksgiving and they went over great. I had a slice of one and it was rich (but not too rich) and delicious. Might do it again next year.
Review 19 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Mt. Pleasant, TX
November 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect gift
November 16, 2009
The Vintage Red Velvet Cake is fabulous! The cake is moist and delicious and the presentation embodies the classic style of a traditional red velvet cake. Whether entertaining or sending as a gift, this cake is simply splendid.
Review 20 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Red Velvet Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
msgrits
Gulfport , MS.
November 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
just like homemade
November 8, 2009
This is the TRUE Southern original. Most people think cream cheese frosting is what goes on red velvet cake . The original was made with a cooked butter vanilla frosting. This is the cake I have loved since childhood. Everyone at last years Christmas's party thought I had made it. I could eat this every day!
page1 2 next