Vinegar Pot

Turn leftover wine into robust, flavorful vinegar in this traditional stoneware pot. Made in France by a company that has crafted pottery since 1847, it has thick sides for excellent temperature regulation and a wooden tap to make bottling your vinegar easy. A traditional vinegar pot, like those found in kitchens across France, crafted of thick stoneware with a pale gray glaze that's applied by hand and high-fired. Generous 1-gal. capacity. The dish-shaped lid allows developing vinegar to breathe. Cork-stoppered wooden tap makes it simple to decant vinegar into bottles and cruets. Start with a bit of high-quality vinegar, add your own white or red wine, then simply wait. Depending on the air temperature and the wine you choose, you may have vinegar as quickly as a few weeks. You can use it right away for bright, sharp flavor, or age it for a few months in the bottle to mellow it. If you begin a new batch using a bit of the previous one, the results will be faster- and you'll always have a good supply to use and share. Instructions included. 9" diam., 9 1/4" high; 1-gal. cap 6.12 lb. Made in France. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.7 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
4 of 10(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Vinegar Pot
Review 1 for Vinegar Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
homogenyc
,Huntington Beach
,Ca
October 15, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great home made vinegar
October 15, 2014
I was reading the other reviews and wanted to share my experience. I soaked the cork few days before putting it in the pot, then let it sit in the pot few days with water so it would take the shape of the pot. Only then I removed the water and added the vinegar/wine. It works perfectly, it made my first round of vinegar in 3 to 4 weeks, and I 'm making more now. Vinegar tastes great.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance
Review 2 for Vinegar Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoyNM
,Albuquerque
,NM
September 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vinegar pot
September 11, 2014
Please go ahead and buy this vinegar pot, it's beautiful and if done the way LoriMI states in her review, it will not leak. I received mine last evening and I soaked the cork in warm water with a small saucer over it to keep it under water and left it over night. This morning I carefully inserted the cork from the inside and then carefully inserted the spigot from the outside. The cork doesn't go all the way into the hole and I have about 1/2 inch of the spigot on the inside, past the edge of the cork. Not one drip of water when I filled the pot to check for leaks! Can't wait to get started!
Review 3 for Vinegar Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diavac
,Colorado Springs
,CO
USA
August 28, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Already making My Own Vinegar
August 28, 2014
I am in the process of making my first batch of vinegar and have had no problems with my pot....I almost didn't buy it because of the bad reviews but the price was just too good. So happy I did!!!! So much fun too, I am making vinegar out of flavored soda pop.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight
Cons: instructions
Review 4 for Vinegar Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoriMI
,Oakland County
,MI
August 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Price on A Great Pot!
August 5, 2014
This is a GREAT POT - folks must not have followed the directions and/or did not insert the cork from the inside of the pot and then place the spigot into the cork from the outside of the pot using gentle force on both pieces.
I soaked the cork for about 6-7 hours to swell the cork. I went longer than the recommended 4 hours. I also soaked the spigot. This beautiful pot has been used in France for many years and it would not have lasted if it leaked - simply take your time preparing the cork and insert the cork from the inside and gently force the spigot from the outside. One other thing I did was after prepping the cork and spigot is I filled the pot with warm water and left the crock in the sink over night to make sure it was sealed well. You must keep the cork wet or it will shrink. This is a GREAT BUY and a beautiful pot - I will be buying a second one for white wine vinegar making!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Vinegar Pot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
unhappy2013
,AUBURN
,CA
October 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SPIGOT LEAKS ON FIRST DAY
October 16, 2013
The spigot cracked and leaked the first day dripping wine vinegar all over the kitchen counter. I received the pot as a gift and the pot is trash unless I get a new spigot that actually works.
Cons: materials, Not Durable, defective spigot
Review 6 for Vinegar Pot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SpecFour
February 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not buy
February 1, 2013
The spout on mine broke quickly as well.
Please stop selling this product until this design flaw is corrected, and then provide replacements spouts to all of us who have spent $100+ on a leaky pot.
Review 7 for Vinegar Pot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hollieb
,Oshkosh
,WI
September 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Substandard
September 20, 2012
As with other reviews, the spout on mine also cracked in within several days. It also dripped from the spout continually from the get go. Don't waste your money!
Review 8 for Vinegar Pot
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sandlapper1
,Richmond
,VA
August 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spout defective
August 22, 2012
Within a month, the spout cracked from pressure and wine leaked out. I contacted Williams Sonoma concerning a replacement and they were very helpful even though the item is on backorder. I'm looking forward to the replacement and hoping it does not have the same issue.
Pros: nice look, ws seems to be backing the product
Cons: spout issues
Review 9 for Vinegar Pot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ettas
August 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
what a mess
August 20, 2012
I have always been satifiyed with Williams Sonoma products this one falls short, in two days the spout is cracked from pressure of the liquid and went all over my cabinets.
Review 10 for Vinegar Pot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lauriet
,Coventry
August 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
10of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spout cracked from pressure of liquid
August 1, 2012
Although I have always been 100% satifiyed with Williams Sonoma products this one falls short. Started using on Sunday & four days later spout is cracked from pressure of the liquid.