Viante Pasta Extruder

Making your own fresh, flavorful pasta has never been easier or faster. Simply add ingredients to this sleek machine and it quickly mixes and kneads the dough, then extrudes it through discs to create 14 different shapes. Enjoy everything from spaghetti and fettuccine to rigatoni with your favorite homemade or prepared sauces. You'll also find the machine useful for making homemade biscotti. Produces over 1 pound of fresh, homemade pasta in just 30 minutes. Includes discs for creating 14 unique shapes: linguine, fettuccine, tagliatelle, pappardelle, vermicelli, spaghettini, spaghetti, ziti, rigatoni, lasagnette, pasta del contadino, bucatini, conchigliette rigate and biscotti. Mixes and kneads dough to the perfect consistency. Easily transitions from kneading dough to extruding pasta. Transparent top viewing window allows you to see when the dough reaches your desired texture. Safe to operate; will not operate unless lid is closed. Disassembles for easy cleaning; removable parts are dishwasher safe. Heavy-duty die-cast aluminum body. 12 3/4" x 13" x 15" high; 25 lb., 8 oz. 80W. Made in China. This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. Pasta Extruder Includes: 14 extruding discs. Removable measuring spoon. Pasta cutter. Cleaning tool. Instruction manual and recipes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.567 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
21 of 30(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Viante Pasta Extruder
Review 1 for Viante Pasta Extruder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AddingComment
,Longmeadow
,MA
Longmeadow, MASS
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too slow and tedious to be practical
January 5, 2014
Having read reviews from others, perhaps we didn't have the correct dough consistency but all the same, the time it takes to make pasta with this machine compared to other methods is just too time consuming. Clean up is also slow, tedious, and time consuming. For us, buying a nice pasta at the local market is just as good and much easier. Even if we decided to make our own pasta, its still much quicker and easier with a more manual machine. In other words, its hard for us to see the value of this product. In the end, we returned it and purchased something else.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for Viante Pasta Extruder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Debishere
,Maynard
,Ma
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than expected
December 2, 2013
When I finally decided to make this investment the sales associate was actually trying to discourage me from purchasing this machine and wanted me to buy a kitchen aide mixer with attachment, I'm glad I didn't listen to him, I came home from the store & tried it immediately, within an hour I had homemade spaghetti!!! I had no problem with the dough or the extraction, though it was beginners luck so I tried again today & just produced ziti with no problem, the only adjustment I made this time around is I added an additional egg & less water. I timed myself & from the moment I got out the bag of "all purpose flour" out of the pantry until I put everything away including a cleaned machine - it was 1hr!! 1 recipe mix makes enough for 4 hearty servings... Think I found my best kitchen appliance I could of asked for..
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 3 for Viante Pasta Extruder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fpkovers
,San Diego
,CA
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Having So Much Fun!
November 29, 2013
I love this machine! It makes wonderful pasta. I have bought every kind of flour under the sun and I'm experimenting and having a blast! I've been freezing the pasta after letting it rest for 30 minutes. I measure it in one-cup portions, bag it in sandwich bags, then freeze it. To use, you simple get your pot of water boiling, pull out as many servings as you need and drop the frozen pasta into the boiling water (do not defrost first). It takes longer to cook frozen pasta, depending on how Al Dente you want it, but it is so worth it to have fresh pasta vs store bought! You can keep fresh pasta frozen for about 3 months. I'm going to be making batches of flavored and eclectic pasta, so that I can freeze them and enjoy them anytime I want.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Viante Pasta Extruder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AndyS
,Murrieta
,CA
November 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I am faster doing Pasta by Hand
November 14, 2013
This machine is well made and the extruder is working well. The machine's problem is that it will do two thing (mixing and extruding) but it fails at both jobs. The mixing does not work well because as soon as the dough starts to come together is mostly just turns with the paddle. But then when I want to extrude the paddle is not providing the extruder with enough sought and it takes forever to make pasta.
Also if the dough it too dry the extruder will clog and if it too wet the dough will turn with the paddle.
The machine would have been much better if the two modes of operation would have been separate steps. But now I cannot even use the machine to just extrude the pasta because the feeding mechanism is unreliable.
This machine is a dud and I am going back to making pasta by hand.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Temperamental, bad design
Review 5 for Viante Pasta Extruder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
radiomac
September 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great purchase - Great results
September 1, 2013
Bought this a few months ago and was worried about it based on some reviews. Did so for the first time today. Used suggestions others gave about weighing the contents - 500g/flour & 60g/eggs. 2 eggs weighed 96g. Recipe called for two large eggs/60g, so I removed egg liquid to take it down to 60g. I had all of the ingredients ready to go before I started and took my time adding the ingredients like it said.
Bottom line, we just had the best pasta ever - comparable to a high-end Italian restaurant we go to. All I can say is WOW! The clean up was not a problem for me, went smoothly.
construction seems good quality and is heavy The weight is a 'pro' for me but may be a 'con' for someone that has trouble with heavy items.
Like so many web reviews, they can be all over the map and confusing. I hesitated about buying this because of the negatives but did so anyway since there were positive reviews too. This is exactly what I wanted!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: need to have sufficient counter space
Review 6 for Viante Pasta Extruder
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adams24
,Katy
,TX
August 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mixed opinion
August 13, 2013
Love the idea of the machine, but not sure about the machine itself. I have made pasta with it twice, both times ending up with about half of the dough left over and a machine that got quite warm after 30-40 minutes. Going to try it 1-2 more times, but am looking at alternatives as the recipe is to make 4 servings, but I am only getting half and spending a lot of time and effort to get that. My time might be better served doing it another way. The best feature is that it makes 14 different types of pasta, the most that I have seen and the one reason why I will try it again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Versatile
Cons: Temperamental, time consuming to clean
Review 7 for Viante Pasta Extruder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mom1
,Smithtown
,Ny
Smithtown NY
May 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't waste your time or money
May 18, 2013
So excited to receive this for moms day. Took it out today and used it, or should I say it used me. Horrific machine to clean. I returned.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Size
Review 8 for Viante Pasta Extruder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Twerpie
,Tucson
,AZ
May 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gave it a good try
May 3, 2013
I have made my own pasta for many years and was so excited to try this pasta extruder as I have always liked the products at Williams Sonoma.
I tried the recipe that came with the machine 4 times varying the amts. of water. Disaster. Next I watched the video and followed that three times. Disaster. I then used my own recipe 3 times and it still was awful. Lots of flour, lots of eggs and lots of time. I returned the machine.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Weight, just isn't a good product
Review 9 for Viante Pasta Extruder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meab
,Hull
,MA
March 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great machine, great customer service.
March 30, 2013
I purchased a Viante Pasta machine so I could make my own pasta to go with my homemade tomatoe sauce. It was very easy to use and the cleaning of it was just as easy. I had a problem with one of the dies and call the 1-800 contact number on their web site. I left a messsage and with-in 2 hours I received a call back and my issue was resolved instantly with no fuss at all. Very pleased with product and service.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 10 for Viante Pasta Extruder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScoCro
,Rowlett
,Tx
March 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yes You Can
March 7, 2013
I have always wanted to make fresh pasta but wasn't sure where to start. I wanted to be able to make a variety of pasta types without having to purchase multiple machines or something that was time consuming to use. It appeared that this extruder fit my requirements, single machine and multiple pastas. I followed the instructions in the book for the basic pasta recipe and decided on fettuccine. After following the recipe and finding the correct moisture content the extrusion began. I extruded a full batch of fettuccine in about 30 min start to finish. I put the pasta in the boiling water for about 2 min drained and tossed with my sauce. The end result was amazing. There is nothing like fresh pasta. The moisture content is the key to a successful pasta. The clean up was not bad as you might expect with a machine like this. Approx. 6 pieces to un-assemble and clean. This all can be done easily in the sink or dishwasher.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 11 for Viante Pasta Extruder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Guineapig
March 3, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How did I live without this?!
March 3, 2013
I just used this machine for the first time yesterday and was amazed by it! I've never made pasta before so I was very nervous about getting everything right. I ended up just watching the tutorial on the Williams-Sonoma product page and not even reading the directions in the booklet and everything still turned out fantastic. I added my water slowly, 1 tablespoon at a time and thanks to the clear lid I could see exactly when the right amount of water had been added. I made rigatoni on my first try and fettucine on my second. Both turned out perfectly. The machine definitely starts to get pretty warm around the 30 minute mark (it takes about 30 minutes for rigatoni but the fettucine only took about 15). It's incredibly easy to take apart and put back together and I popped everything into the dishwasher for cleaning. Couldn't be easier. No more store bought pasta for me!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 12 for Viante Pasta Extruder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VtMudd
,Springfield
,VT
March 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pasta!!
March 1, 2013
This machine is fun and easy to use. It does take a bit of practice to get the right consistency of the dough, but, as with anything, practice makes perfect. My kids can't wait for pasta night and fight over who is going to cut the pasta! Very easy to clean and quick to re-assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 13 for Viante Pasta Extruder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Peppersock
,Charlottesville
,Va
February 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dreadful device
February 17, 2013
I tried making pasta three times. The parts are difficult to remove and the dough is hard to get right. What a mess. The manual is worthless. Because it is all plastic, something is sure to break down the road. Sent it back.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Temperamental, Inaccurate, Fragile
Review 14 for Viante Pasta Extruder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RetiredBeachBum
,New London
,PA
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nightmare to use and clean!
February 12, 2013
I don't even know where to begin! We tried making pasta with this unit three times.. All we got was an incredible mess and a jammed machine. THIS DOES NOT SIMPLIFY THE PASTA MAKING PROCESS AT ALL! It is a nightmare to clean.
We returned it and got the Kitchen Aide Mixer attachments. We are now happily making great quality pasta at home.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Review 15 for Viante Pasta Extruder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoAnn2013
,Saint Louis
,MO
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Product -- We Love It!
January 29, 2013
We were very glad to see Williams-Sonoma carry the Viante Pasta Extruder. It is well-built and does a wonderful job of kneeding the dough and extruding great pasta. It is easy to use and the different dies offer a variety of shapes. The machine is heavy and does not move when it is in use. If you have any questions or concerns, the customer service is exceptional. We definitely recommend it to our pasta loving friends!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 16 for Viante Pasta Extruder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snoopy216
,Cleveland, Ohi0
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Machine
January 4, 2013
Today I used Viante Pasta Extruder and found it was just as I thought it would be. I followed the directions and what a fun machine. I made the Rigatoni's. They turned out wonderful. It was easy to do and what fun. Cleanup was a breeze and I put the machine back together in about 5 minutes. The whole process from start to finish took about 1 hour. I'm 66 years old and this is the best machine, I would recommend this to any one thinking about buying it. Wonderfully built and easy to use just follow the direction and have fun!! You get what you pay for and I truly got my money's worth on this product
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 17 for Viante Pasta Extruder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lauriee
,Tuckahoe
,NJ
NJ
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice machine
December 30, 2012
We tried out the Viante Pasta machine tonite. It was pretty simple to use and we got the dough right on the first try. It is a nice alternative to a manual unit and also good to have the attachments for the different types of pasta. I think we will have a lot of fun with it.
Would have given it five stars if the manual had a few more pasta recipes and the attachments for pasta shapes would be better if they used a darker color for the purpose of cleaning.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Versatile
Review 18 for Viante Pasta Extruder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bishopje
,Groton
,MA
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pasta (when I get the water right)!
December 17, 2012
I found the basic design of the machine quite good. This includes assembly, disassembly, cleaning, and storage. When operating, it is essential to get the amount of water correct.; and that quantity varies by type of flour. If too much water is added (easy to do), gummy balls and long extrusion times result; and it's difficult to regain the correct consistency by adding flour. It's best to err on the side of too little water. I have had best results using the Williams-Sonoma "Egg Pasta Flour", however this product is not consistently available in stores and it would be nice to have it more readily available. A month or so after purchase, I cracked the rigatoni die (my fault) and Viante USA quickly provided a replacement (excellent customer service). The only "con" for me is that the machine is a bit noisy if operating over prolonged periods of time. However one can minimize that time by getting the right consistency, as described earlier.
Pros: Quality, Versatile, Design
Review 19 for Viante Pasta Extruder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MRPETERK
December 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cool little machine
December 6, 2012
This is a cool little machine to make pasta. It's easy and healthier to make your own pasta. Great customer service!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Design
Review 20 for Viante Pasta Extruder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RecreationalCook
,San Antonio
,TX
November 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun Machine
November 14, 2012
This is a great machine, very fun to play with and use. I love kitchen gadgets and this little machine encouraged my husband to get in the kitchen. In fact, he has taken over this machine and all pasta making "responsibilities" at our house. The recipes with the book are good and accurate.
When we got the machine, there was an inclusion with a sideline crack in the mixing chamber. I sent an email to the address on the owner's manual. A gentleman from the company contacted me (via phone and email) and resolved the problem by shipping me a new mixing chamber. The company was very easy to work with and their customer service is excellent.
In spite of my love for gadgets, I do have a small kitchen so I am unable to keep this out on my counter. The weight makes it a little cumbersome to pull out, but this solid machine works well. We make fresh pasta 1-2 times per week.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: Difficult to Clean
page1 2 next