VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter

The Vegtrug Wall Hugger is flat on one side so it fits snugly against walls, fences, and other vertical surfaces. Like the original, it provides a range of soil depths to suit the preferences of both deep- and shallow-rooted edibles. Because it's portable, you're free to move the planter to take advantage of microclimates as seasons change as well as to accommodate changing outdoor spaces. Elevated design minimizes discomfort of bending over and helps keep pets and pests out. Sloping bed provides ideal growing conditions for a range of plants. Flat on one side to fit flush against walls and fences. Small enough to fit small outdoor spaces with enough capacity to yield an abundant harvest. Crafted of FSC-certified sustainable fir. Treated with a food-safe water-based wood preservative. Includes a fitted, breathable fabric liner for drainage. Assembly required.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
6 of 12(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
Review 1 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HAVaHAV
,Palm Desert
,CA
July 14, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poorly constructed with warped pieces
July 14, 2015
Do not purchase the Wall Hugger Veg Trug. The pieces are warped and do not fit together properly. The instructions are minimal and confusing. This is the worst product that I have ever ordered from WS. To tell the truth, I'm shocked that WS would carry and promote this product.
Review 2 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patron175
,Oldsmar
,FL
June 14, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love This Waist High Garden
June 14, 2015
Love to have fresh ergs. This waist high friendly VegTrug helps me once again enjoy growing my own large selection. The directions were a bit hard to follow but found a Utube Video and that helped. Would highly recommend it now that it is up and running. Why not raise the price a few dollars and include a DVD,
Pros: Appearance, Design, Easy to Use, Size, Time-saver
Cons: Assembly, instructions
Review 3 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Consumerist
,Whitehouse
,NJ
May 30, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I bought more parts...
May 30, 2015
My first review was already taken down so adding this when I saw the review of the cover. Wow had to buy greenhouse first to get the frame to buy and use the insect cover. Other reviewer correct regarding lots of extra work to make it fasten but had to glue mine first because pieces do not hold themselves together. Then it doesn't fit at all and had to go buy extra C clamps to fasten it down. When you read the instructions the manufacturer tries to talk you out of using it and tells you it won't last anyway!
Pros: Design, Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, Assembly, instructions
Review 4 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ladyburd
,Bonita Springs
,FL
May 26, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Construction Issues
May 26, 2015
The concept to this design is great. I'm happy to have gardening options for my lanai with the added bonus of not bending over. However the execution is not as precise as it should be. Many of the pieces I received were warped making the construction difficult. For the money spent, I expected seamless assembly.
Pros: Appearance, Design, Size
Cons: Quality, Assembly, materials
Review 5 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dreamdecorator
,ny
,ny
May 14, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed in craftmanship
May 14, 2015
Purchased this as a gift for my mother. Delivery was very prompt (5 stars for that). Difficult to put together as the pieces did not fit well together, Fortunately my brother was home visiting and improvised. If it was just me and my mother it would have gone back. Not worth the money. I'm sure I could have found something similar for less money.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Assembly
Review 6 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DOGZNCATZ
,MONUMENT
,Co
May 13, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cover - VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter Medium
May 13, 2015
The instructions for the planter are not very clear, but we got through them and the planter itself is sturdy. However, the frame cover for the planter is not properly sized for the medium planter - it appears that it's for a larger planter. It was very wobbly, and I needed to secure it to each end with 2 additional 3/4" cable clamps. . Also, the tubes are about 1/4 to 1/2" too short so they do not fit tightly into the connecting sleves. I'll try taping the ends with electrical tape to tighten them up. The frame overhangs each side by about 5"- contrary to the picture! LOTS OF ADDITIONAL WORK TO GET THIS FRAME TO BE STURDY.
Pros: Size, Appearance
Cons: materials, Design, instructions, Assembly
Review 7 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SClocal
,Santa Cruz
,CA
May 7, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Veg Trug Wall Planter
May 7, 2015
I was so excited to order this and couldn't wait to assemble it. I opened the box and the first piece broke where the screw was partially drilled in. Totally disintegrated. I took all the pieces out to double check and another end piece cover was missing, but I found it in the bottom of the box. By then I'm thinking this will cost an arm and a leg to ship back and I'll have to see if we are able to fix it. I'm so discouraged I walked away and it has been sitting on my patio for the last week. Not happy.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Not Durable, instructions, Assembly
Review 8 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LOVEWS2014
September 22, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bad Construction
September 22, 2014
This planter went together fairly easily with the right tools. Unfortunately, the final pieces simply did not fit. They were about 1/4" off all the way around. Very disappointing.
Cons: Quality, Assembly
Review 9 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bill238
,Lakeland
,Fl
June 6, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The perfect raised bed.
June 6, 2014
I purchased for a patio Herb garden. It's absolutely perfect ! Hugs the wall of the house and It looks great! I had a cook out the week after planting my herbs and got great reviews from all my guest about the planter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Assembly
Review 10 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zamanzoom
June 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My awesome garden!
June 5, 2014
I ordered the VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter this year to use as a patio garden. It was easy to assemble, is very nice looking, and well built. I planted cherry tomatoes, peppers, lettuce and herbs in it, as well as a few colorful trailing flowers(have been eating the lettuce since mid-May!). I like the variation in depth of soil for planting, and the height for ease while planting and weeding. Also, my pesky rabbits can't munch on my plants. Everyone who sees it wants one! Great product! Would buy another one next year to expand my garden.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, material, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 11 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsRaci
,Chicago
,IL
May 28, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Love My VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
May 28, 2014
My husband built this for me over the holiday weekend. Easy to put together. I bought the medium size one and it fits all the herbs and vegetables that I like to grow. I love the fact I do not have to bend down to take care of my plants anymore. It is a space saver which is great because I have small backyard patio and this not only fits great but looks great too!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 12 for VegTrug Wall Hugger Planter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Italiancook
,Lafayette
,CO
May 28, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Product
May 28, 2014
I just planted my Veg Trug and I am so excited. We have a large garden where I plant all our tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and squashes. I wanted someplace to plant my herbs and lettuces that would not require me to consistently go up and down stairs to get to the garden ( we have a large backyard ). This Trug fits the bill. I can keep it on my patio with instant access to my kitchen. I love using fresh ingredients when cooking, but the Wall Hugger makes my patio area look and smell amazing. Having coffee in the morning on my patio has take on a whole new pleasure. Thank you WS for such a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, material, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly