VegTrug Raised Beds

Plant and harvest vegetables at a comfortable height in this sturdy raised planter. The deep V-shaped bed provides a range of soil depths to suit the preferences of deep-rooted vegetables like tomatoes, ground-hugging herbs like thyme and everything in between. Because it's portable, you're free to move the planter to take advantage of microclimates as seasons change as well as to accommodate changing outdoor spaces. Elevated design minimizes discomfort of bending over and helps keep pets and pests out. V-shaped bed provides ideal growing conditions for a range of plants. Small enough to fit small outdoor spaces with enough capacity to yield an abundant harvest. Crafted of FSC-certified sustainable fir. Treated with a food-safe water-based wood preservative. Includes a fitted, breathable fabric liner for drainage. Replacement drainage liners are available (sold separately). Simple assembly required.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for VegTrug Raised Beds
Review 1 for VegTrug Raised Beds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kad321
,Merritt Island
,Fl
June 10, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Raised gardening
June 10, 2015
Best idea ever. Can garden while I stand and keep a close eye on all of the veggies and herbs. Great for us elderly and those unable to bend to the ground any more.
Pros: Appearance, Design, Quality, Size, Assembly, material, Durable
Review 2 for VegTrug Raised Beds
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JCJC
,Seattle Area
,WA
May 12, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hard to assemble sqaure/level and few wood defects
May 12, 2015
Bought 2 small units for wife. Wood is sort of lightly treated pine more grayish than shown on website. Wonder how wood will weather in elements but I'll be optimistic. Nice design & included liner great idea(no need to buy extra). Assembly hard to do correct as structure difficult to square/level so finished unit isn’t warped/uneven & rock/wobble. Use a level & assemble on hard flat surface. Better to have helper holding parts plum/level as you add screws/hardware and tighten things up. Pay attention to directions leaving bolts loose until end allow you re-adjust joints before tightening. Back edge wouldn’t line up on one of mine & had few knots in wood blocked screws. Annoying plastic feet fit loose and fall off when unit is moved.
Small unit 7.25 cub/ft capacity spec’d on web is high. Bought organic mulch & topsoil mixed 40/60. Used 3x1.5cub/ft bags organic mix + 7x1.0cub/ft bags topsoil for two. Works out to only 5.75 cub/ft total per small planter filled to 2” of top as per spec.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: instructions, Assembly
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JCJC
Seattle Area
Posted May 23, 2015
Update to my review
Seeds are growing very quickly in robust little plants so the soil mix I described in my review works really well. Greenhouse cover available as accessory probably helps too, but traps a bunch of little gnats under the cover because they must like it in there and fly in whenever it is open. I bought Raised Bed Vegetable Garden Seed Collection, Set of 10
Item #: 6082804 available here and they all seem to be doing really well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for VegTrug Raised Beds
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Consumerist
,Whitehouse
,NJ
May 11, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as pictured
May 11, 2015
Well I must say when I buy something online it is most important that the picture be a good representation of what I am purchasing. What I received was not what is pictured here. There was a small and medium choice and assumed the picture with the three legs was what I received but simply is not. There must have been some design modification in construction and the appearance is different. Think WS should update their photos of what they are giving you when they sell it. As far as the rest it is extremely soft wood and mine did come with a split side piece that had cracked when put together in the factory but got through quality control. If it existed. Did manage to repair with a little silicone. Took about 45 minutes to put together and have loaded it up but cannot offer long term review yet but remain hopeful.
Pros: Size
Cons: instructions
Review 4 for VegTrug Raised Beds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fleur4
May 8, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect little garden for me.
May 8, 2015
I was interested in having a vege. garden, but did not want to bend down on the ground and dig up the yard since I was not sure if my interest last next year. So this raised bed garden is so suitable for me. The construction was straight forward. Very sturdy. Definitely you have to have the liner to go with.
I have lettuce, carrot, sweet pepper, pea, spinach so far. It is not much, but very pretty to look at, too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Appearance, Assembly, Weight
Review 5 for VegTrug Raised Beds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RodS
,DESTIN
,Fl
May 6, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Raised Bed
May 6, 2015
I bought this for my herb and hot pepper plants. I love it. Looks great and is perfect for keeping the weeds out.
It was a little hard to put together.
Pros: Durable, Size, Appearance, Design
Cons: Assembly
Review 6 for VegTrug Raised Beds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wawee
,Gardening area 7-8
,CA
April 28, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Try It-You'll love It!
April 28, 2015
Last year I bought two of these truly "raised" beds! Having used only compost- I didn't get much of a yield worth mentioning! This year I used Organic Compost, Vermiculite and Peat Moss in the same beds. Got all my plants in-they've taken off like lightening, already have small veges and herbs from garlic to eggplant and everything in between. I have 5 gardens in total, the easiest to tend are the VERY raised ones, the other "raised" gardens are in the ground, (hard to bend down and work on them), and one is a DIY pallet garden, also, easy to access. The Vermiculite holds water, and acts as water conservation measure. It's worth the price, and if I knew then what I know now- I would've invested in six of them! They are well constructed,and show no wear and tear despite the fact that they're on year two! I now want to raise red worms for their castings, and wish that W-S would carry products for that kind of farming!............................................♥
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Assembly
Review 7 for VegTrug Raised Beds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moving
,Apple Valley
,Ca
March 25, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A garden in small places
March 25, 2015
We re moving soon and with little to no garden space. This fits perfectly in our small space and still allows us to have a garden.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight
Cons: Assembly
Review 8 for VegTrug Raised Beds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Searchin
,Kulpsville
,PA
March 11, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All revved up and no place to hoe.
March 11, 2015
Received and assembled two Veg Trugs within 3 days of ordering them. Our assembly was done inside since there was snow and rain and sleet with frigid winds outside. They assembled easily with no surprises. They are well engineered, well finished and a dream to assemble. One person can do most of the work alone with help of one person to move the completed units. The completed units are now sitting on our covered front porch waiting to be moved out when the snow melts off our garden area. I'd like to send the weather back and keep the Trugs. Thank you!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight, great xtras available
Review 9 for VegTrug Raised Beds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AwaitingDelivery
,Outside Philadelphia
,Pa
July 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sensational...well worth the wait
July 19, 2014
Best ever garden innovation. The VegTrug is the highlight of my summer gardening experience. Easy to essemble, handsome on my patio, and an exceptionally convenient herb garden just outside the kitchen door. I plan to plant lettuce for a fall salad crop. It took a while to get the product, but well worth the wait. It is everything promised and more. I give it 10 stars out of 5.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Appearance, Design, Assembly
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for VegTrug Raised Beds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GardenBarbie
,OFallon
,MO
June 22, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy on your Back Raised Bed
June 22, 2014
I love my new Vegtrug Raised Bed. Gardening is easier on my back…no bending to weed and water my tomatoes. Assembly worked well with two people. I watch all the bunnies hop right by without worry of providing lunch for them from my garden!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Appearance, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 11 for VegTrug Raised Beds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WannabeFarms
,Santa Monica
April 20, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Highly Recommend
April 20, 2014
This was a snap to put together--no issues at all. It's very lightweight until filled, so be sure to position it before adding soil (the larger size took about 6 bags of potting soil). This is a fabulous height, a joy to plant up and ideal for taking advantage of a sunny patio area. Plants are thriving in it and I like it so much I am seriously thinking about purchasing another.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, material, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 12 for VegTrug Raised Beds
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wendyb964
,Sacramento
,CA
February 21, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+27points
27of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best raised bed I've had
February 21, 2014
I purchased the small size last year from another company. Incredibly cut/drilled: no need to monkey around while putting together. As recommended, we sealed it with Thompson's Water Seal. The liner is genius with no seepage of soil. Deep-rooted plants at center (carrots, parsley (yes--long tap root), leafy greens around the middle, herbs throughout. Though this description says "portable" note that it is incredibly heavy when full of moist soil. Fill with moisture-retaining container soil to minimize watering, don't forget to fertilize lightly but routinely. Need to add quite a bit more soil after hydration and soil settling. Will order another and am tempted to order 2. Hint: orient for optimum maximal sun exposure before filling with soil/plants or seeds. Planted seeds today interspersed with what survived our northern CA winter. Worth the investment. Only plants I wouldn't use are squash, melons, pole beans, and tomatoes due to space/vertical needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight, very durable
Review 13 for VegTrug Raised Beds
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jjangel
,topeka
,ks
April 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+22points
24of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good with some limitations
April 21, 2013
The wood is very soft, so be careful removing from box. You can easily rip off some of the wood pieces.Thankfully I was able to fix it.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
NJDUDE
NJ
Posted June 26, 2014
Poor Quality
Yes, wood is really soft. Very poor quality. Wood was splintered, chipped and cracked in several places.
0points
Customer avatar
ankhamun
Los Angeles, CA
Posted January 30, 2014
wow! thanks for the info
Great to know - I would have been really disappointed to pay the price, wait for the delivery, and then have pieces of the wood break off :)
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)