Silicone Pie Crust Shield

No more burned crusts! This silicone ring prevents the edge of your piecrust from burning while still allowing the pie to bake completely. Made of silicone, which will not stain or absorb odors. Fits 9"-10" diameter pie crusts. Oven safe to 450 degrees F. Dishwasher safe (top rack).
Average Customer Rating:
2.857 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
3 of 7(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Silicone Pie Crust Shield
Review 1 for Silicone Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ErinLeighD
,San Jose
,Ca
September 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Crust, Easy to Use
September 15, 2014
I used the Silicone Pie Crust Shield on an apricot pie this weekend, and my crust came out perfect! I used my 10 inch Emile Henry deep dish pie plate, and the shield is the perfect size for that plate. Sadly, the 10 inch Emile Henry plate is no longer available.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size
Review 2 for Silicone Pie Crust Shield
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BigAppleBakery
December 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ehh... Just eh....
December 11, 2013
Not impressed. Like other reviewers, I agree this is too big for a 9" pie dish. My crust didnt burn.... too badly.... (just one spot) But I left this cover on the entire baking time (55 min). Better than wrestling with alum foil, but I will keep looking for something better. Maybe if I wrap the foil around this???? Idk... Ill include pics for you to see for yourselves... the outside dimension of my dish when measured across the top is 10"
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Silicone Pie Crust Shield
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KCTyro
,Denton
,TX
December 7, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good despite an awkward fit
December 7, 2013
Though I neglected to take a picture of the pies after they were baked, I had a successful experience with these covers. I used them on 2 9" pumpkin & pecan/pumpkin pies, and the crusts came out perfectly: golden brown & flaky. They did not fit my pie plates perfectly, and left some parts of the crusts uncovered which made me nervous. Despite that, however, they turned out great! I will use them again and post an updated review if anything changes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Size
Review 4 for Silicone Pie Crust Shield
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mar321
,Rochester Hills
,MI
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Burned the edges
November 30, 2013
I bought both of the pie crust protectors (flat and ruffled)in hopes that it would save time in not having to gently cover all the edges with aluminum foil. How disappointed I was watching it burn underneath each curved edge. Furthermore, neither "universal" cover fit my standard 9" pie dishes correctly. These things are going back to the store.
Review 5 for Silicone Pie Crust Shield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stef123
,jackson
,nj
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful pie shield
November 28, 2013
Used this pie shield for the first time on my Thanksgiving pumpkin pie! Pie crust came out perfectly golden brown, even used the pumpkin cut outs along the crust! Just beautiful like one of the pictures in your catalog! I was even able to reach in and remove it without a pot holder. So pleased I am ordering another one right now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Silicone Pie Crust Shield
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SarahsKitchenAddiction
,CO
November 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT Universal
November 27, 2013
I had high hopes for this product and ordered before any reviews had been written. Before the item arrived, the first review had finally been written and I was crushed...the pie the reviewer had baked had a very burnt crust (there was even a picture for emphasis). Still wanting to try it out for myself in hopes that the reviewers results were a fluke somehow, I was ready to blind bake my pie crust and went to put the "universal" silicone pie crust protector on, but it was simply just too big. It didn't fit the pie dish...and it wasn't an odd size at all. I get it if a product can only fit a certain size or range of sizes but then it shouldn't be called "universal" should it? Well, I will never know if the crust will still burn or not...it's going back.
Cons: Size
Review 7 for Silicone Pie Crust Shield
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mimi1424
,Atlanta
,Ga
November 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not purchase
November 18, 2013
The pie crust is BURNED :( When I saw this product at my local Williams Sonoma store I was so excited could not wait to bake a pie and try it out, guess I got what I paid for.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: does not prevent burned edges
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MommyDearest
Memphis, TN
Posted November 19, 2013
stick to aluminum foil
I really appreciate that "Mimi" included a photo. For years, I have pieced together foil strips and put on in the beginning and take off part way through baking to let the crust brown. Sorry to see the silicone was not fabulous but my idea of burned is cremated and at least that did not happen! Doubt I will purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)