Ultimate Taco Starter

A south-of-the-border classic, homemade tacos became a favorite on American supper tables in the mid-1960s. Our time-saving starter brings new life to the tradition, flavoring sauteed beef or poultry with fire-roasted tomatoes, smoky chipotle chilies and authentic seasonings.A blend of all-natural ingredients including fire-roasted tomatoes and chipotle chilies, Mexican oregano, cumin and garlic, along with a splash of lime juice.Handcrafted in small batches.Simply saute beef or poultry, add starter and serve with warm tortillas and your favorite condiments.Taco mixture also makes a great addition to nachos.16 oz.Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
15 of 24(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ultimate Taco Starter
Review 1 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UWSfoodie
,New York City
,NY
January 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great fast dinner
January 6, 2014
i saute ground turkey and add taco starter. It's done in a flash and everyone's happy! I always have jars on hand. Recently it looked like it was discontinued and i bought whatever i could find from several stores.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 2 for Ultimate Taco Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Renorose
,Harleysville
,Pa
Pa
June 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big Yawn at the Dinner Table
June 9, 2013
I was hoping the convenience would be worth the price, but not so. It didn't taste bad, it was just dull and uninteresting. It needs so much more to kick it it up that it that the convenience factor goes away. This is not the "Ultimate" taco starter.
Cons: Disappointing, boring, inauthentic, lacks flavor
Review 3 for Ultimate Taco Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LauraPL
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Middle of the Pack
February 11, 2013
This product yields a wet taco mix almost sloppy joe-ish in consistency. Flavors were certainly mexican but middle of the pack. We like bold(er) flavors and this just didn't deliver. At the end of the day, I'd have been happier with a pack of the dry stuff that you'd get at the grocery store.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Ultimate Taco Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Slyfur42
,Crownsville
,MD
November 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not worth the dough
November 1, 2012
It's a good sauce for the masses. We had to add more hot spices to make to our liking. I would rather buy an El Paso packet flavoring and save $4.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 5 for Ultimate Taco Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
July 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Liked, but Didn't Love
July 12, 2012
This smells great, has a good flavour and is easy. To me, the flavour was a bit too concentrated, or perhaps it was the fat/grease content. I liked the flavour during dinner, but it kind of upset my stomache later that evening. My husband had no trouble and liked the sauce, but wasn't wowed.
Taste is such a subjective and personal thing. Although we probably wouldn't buy it again, it would still work for a lot of people.
It is worth trying.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Review 6 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tag1
,Amherst
,NH
Amherst, NH
June 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite taco starter
June 21, 2012
This is a flavorful sauce that spices up meats or poultry for tacos. It does all the work and creates delicious tacos.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 7 for Ultimate Taco Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kdtooth
,Evansville
,IN
Evansville, IN
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not one of my favorites!
April 9, 2012
Thought I would try this, it was not good at all, the smell is not good, the flavor is terrible. We didn't even eat the rest of the meat with it, just not good at all.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 8 for Ultimate Taco Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
atswan
,Pittsburgh
,PA
Pittsburgh, PA
February 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Good!
February 26, 2012
My husband and I love this. We have had it a handful of times. Very tasty and definitely makes the tacos above average.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 9 for Ultimate Taco Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
theburks
,TN
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bad flavor
February 13, 2012
We just did not prefer this. It tastes really similar to the sloppy joe starter. The spices are a little over the top - not pleasant, but harsh.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 10 for Ultimate Taco Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BandMom
PA
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick and Easy
December 12, 2011
We've ordered this product 3 times. It is a quick and easy taco starter. You may want to add a little more flavor if your family prefers things more spicey or hot. This sauce is more of a BBQ flavor. The college kids eat it just fine as tacos. One jar will make easily 12 soft or crunchy tacos with some left over. My husband and I prefer to use up the left overs as taco pizza. It actually tastes better after sitting in fridge for a day and letting the flavors blend with the meat. Try it as your base for pizza with fresh tomato and sour cream - it's a great quick and easy "left over" meal that doesn't taste like leftovers! I keep a jar on hand for after school when the kids need something they can make on their own and not take a long time to prepare.
Review 11 for Ultimate Taco Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DannoK
,Alexandria
,VA
October 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not recommended
October 18, 2011
Think sloppy joes with a little extra heat. The product is too sweet and the taste isn't reminiscent of the south west or south of the border.
If I could get my money back, that would be great... You're welcome to the leftovers because no one else in the family wants them.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, Flavor
Review 12 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookiebaker925
Falls Church, VA
March 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING!!!
March 23, 2011
At the suggestion of the store associate, used it with chix breast in the All Clad slow cooker. Cooked on low for 6 hours. Shredded the chix then used with Jack cheese to make quesadillas. Served with sour cream and guacamole. So EASY and the results were EXCELLENT. Will add this to my dinner rotation!
Review 13 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Irishsapphire
Seattle, WA
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Taco Starter
November 27, 2010
I learned about this product in a free cooking class at Williams Sonoma. And it has been a good product to use with ground turkey or ground chicken. I then add tortillas, cheese, avocados, tomotoes, and sour cream--and yum, a fabulous meal.
Review 14 for Ultimate Taco Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WorkingGirl
San Diego, CA
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
pretty average
October 17, 2010
This taco starter is pretty mediocre. It's basically just like pouring a jar of salsa over your ground beef. I had to add additional spices and didn't really care for it overall.
Review 15 for Ultimate Taco Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JEAST
flint, mi
September 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WORST TACO SEASONING EVER
September 28, 2010
BOUGHT THIS OVER THE WEEK END BROUGHT IT HOME TO TRY IMMEDIATELY WITH PREMIUM GROUND BEEF RESULT WAS NO SPICINESS OR TASTE IN OUR TACOS. from other reviews sounds like we may have gotten a "bad" batch, but there was no taste just greasy flat tomatoe sauce would never buy again and will use the left over in chile so it can be hidden with other ingredients
Review 16 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quickfixnana
McPherson, KS
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Totally Terrific!!!!!!
August 18, 2010
I used it with ground turkey and it was totally terrific!!! Stuffed in tacos, on top of tostado shell with refried beans and all the fixins, black beans, corn, guac, sour cream, salsa and lettuce. Everyone came back for more. I now order at least 6 at a time. This is in my "dinner in a snap" file. Soooo easy.
Review 17 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tew45
ohio
May 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome and easy
May 11, 2010
This stuff is awesome tasting, easy, quick , I'm buying more.
Review 18 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ArBrt21
Atsugi, Japan
April 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy weeknight meal in crock pot
April 22, 2010
I used my crock pot, poured this over a chuck roast and let it cook for 10 hours. It was just like shredded beef tacos you find in Tex/Mex Restaurants. We all loved this sauce.
Review 19 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TDHicks
Colorado Springs, CO
April 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Great Flavor
April 13, 2010
My local WS was sampling this one day, and it was fantastic! I purchased and tried at home, using ground turkey instead of beef, not the same flavor, but really good. Will purchase again.
Review 20 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
finny5
elmsford, new york
March 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quick and delicious
March 25, 2010
I was in my local store and the smell wafted into the mall. It smelled good enough to lure me in. They made this taco starter with pieces of chicken. It had a great taste so I decided to purchase for when I needed something quick and easy.
I made this last night an even my picky eater LOVED it!!! I made it with 1lb. of ground chicken to one jar. Next time I would double the ground chicken and use more sauce. I used both soft and corn taco shells. I added my homemade guacamole , added cheese and sour cream yumm! I would purchase again
page1 2 next