Ultimate Taco Starter

A south-of-the-border classic, homemade tacos became a favorite on American supper tables in the mid-1960s. Our time-saving starter brings new life to the tradition, flavoring sauteed beef or poultry with fire-roasted tomatoes, smoky chipotle chilies and authentic seasonings.A blend of all-natural ingredients including fire-roasted tomatoes and chipotle chilies, Mexican oregano, cumin and garlic, along with a splash of lime juice.Handcrafted in small batches.Simply saute beef or poultry, add starter and serve with warm tortillas and your favorite condiments.Taco mixture also makes a great addition to nachos.16 oz.Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.778 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
4 of 9(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ultimate Taco Starter
Review 1 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UWSfoodie
,New York City
,NY
January 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great fast dinner
January 6, 2014
i saute ground turkey and add taco starter. It's done in a flash and everyone's happy! I always have jars on hand. Recently it looked like it was discontinued and i bought whatever i could find from several stores.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 2 for Ultimate Taco Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Renorose
,Harleysville
,Pa
Pa
June 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big Yawn at the Dinner Table
June 9, 2013
I was hoping the convenience would be worth the price, but not so. It didn't taste bad, it was just dull and uninteresting. It needs so much more to kick it it up that it that the convenience factor goes away. This is not the "Ultimate" taco starter.
Cons: Disappointing, boring, inauthentic, lacks flavor
Review 3 for Ultimate Taco Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LauraPL
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Middle of the Pack
February 11, 2013
This product yields a wet taco mix almost sloppy joe-ish in consistency. Flavors were certainly mexican but middle of the pack. We like bold(er) flavors and this just didn't deliver. At the end of the day, I'd have been happier with a pack of the dry stuff that you'd get at the grocery store.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Ultimate Taco Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Slyfur42
,Crownsville
,MD
November 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not worth the dough
November 1, 2012
It's a good sauce for the masses. We had to add more hot spices to make to our liking. I would rather buy an El Paso packet flavoring and save $4.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 5 for Ultimate Taco Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
July 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Liked, but Didn't Love
July 12, 2012
This smells great, has a good flavour and is easy. To me, the flavour was a bit too concentrated, or perhaps it was the fat/grease content. I liked the flavour during dinner, but it kind of upset my stomache later that evening. My husband had no trouble and liked the sauce, but wasn't wowed.
Taste is such a subjective and personal thing. Although we probably wouldn't buy it again, it would still work for a lot of people.
It is worth trying.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Review 6 for Ultimate Taco Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tag1
,Amherst
,NH
Amherst, NH
June 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite taco starter
June 21, 2012
This is a flavorful sauce that spices up meats or poultry for tacos. It does all the work and creates delicious tacos.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 7 for Ultimate Taco Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kdtooth
,Evansville
,IN
Evansville, IN
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not one of my favorites!
April 9, 2012
Thought I would try this, it was not good at all, the smell is not good, the flavor is terrible. We didn't even eat the rest of the meat with it, just not good at all.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 8 for Ultimate Taco Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
atswan
,Pittsburgh
,PA
Pittsburgh, PA
February 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Good!
February 26, 2012
My husband and I love this. We have had it a handful of times. Very tasty and definitely makes the tacos above average.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 9 for Ultimate Taco Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
theburks
,TN
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bad flavor
February 13, 2012
We just did not prefer this. It tastes really similar to the sloppy joe starter. The spices are a little over the top - not pleasant, but harsh.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor