Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub

According to culinary tradition, one hallmark of a great cook is the ability to delight diners with a perfectly roasted chicken. The simple secret to the ultimate roast chicken, our hand-blended seasoning rub is a pantry essential. We've combined kosher salt, black pepper and garlic with traditional herbs and spices, including fennel, thyme and cayenne. Hints of tangy lemon and aromatic mustard add a lively finishing touch. Preparation couldn't be simpler - just rub the seasonings onto the bird, then roast as usual. For an easy side dish, sprinkle the rub on cubed potatoes and roast along with the chicken. 3 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
Review 1 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chasebaby
,Long Island
,NY
June 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SO DELICIOUS!!!
June 3, 2012
Excellent seasoning for chicken, a little olive oil and a small amount as suggested, just fabulous.. will be ordering more..what a difference good spices make in a meal!!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 2 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
April 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy delicious chicken
April 15, 2012
I've actually yet to use this on a whole bird, although imagine I will do one day. I mainly use this as a marinade before I grill or oven bake chicken breast. I coat the breasts lightly in olive oil then sprinkle this on top, mix up to coat evenly and then straight to the grill or oven. Unlike liquid marinades, there's no need to wait around. The result is a slightly garlic herby flavour that smells as good as it tastes. My only caveat is use it sparingly as there is a fair bit of salt in it. My first time using it I went a bit overboard and it was too salty. But now i do a gentle sprinkle and it comes out perfectly each time.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JPO
,Newmarket
,NH
Portsmouth, NH
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!!!!
January 23, 2012
I tried this on a 4 lb oven fryer bird on a vertical roaster. I drizzled olive oil on the bird then rubbed in the seasoning, all around the bird then under the skin. Great flavor throughout!
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KathMag
,Fernandina Beach
,FL
November 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Rub!
November 26, 2011
I just finished using my first comtainer of Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub. I will be visiting the store this week to purchase more. We have enjoyed it on chicken and I used some on my Thanksgiving turkey. It adds just enough flavor that you don't need other seasonings at all. It is delicious on grilled chicken! Love it!
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VJ003
Branson, MO
August 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Roast Chicken Rub
August 17, 2011
Chicken Rub was perfect. It doesn't take very much to season chicken. Probably 2 to 3 Tablespoons for 4 lb. chicken. Nice and moist on Green Egg.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dette
Bristol, CT
August 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ultimate roast chicken rub!
August 12, 2011
The name alone describe this rub for the chicken. I do not use too many rubs because sometimes they have to many flavors in them, but this one was great.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnandDebbie
Charlotte, NC
August 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best chicken rub ever
August 8, 2011
We have used this rub for chicken that we grill. Absolutely great! Would highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 8 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rick11
Chicago / Northern Wisconsin
June 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We want more!
June 21, 2011
We used this rub on a 3# chicken using WS beer roasting pan and 60 minutes later we had a fabulous meal! So good we just ordered 2 more.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous13
Portland, OR
May 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Would have been great, but for personal preference
May 6, 2011
I had high hopes for this rub. If I had opened the tin in the store, I would not have purchased it. Basically, the fennel is so overpowering that after using it once, I had to give it away. I don't know why they would put in so much of an herb that is is so overpowering and throws the flavors completely out of balance. Fennel has that anise/black licorice flavor, and believe me, there are a lot of things I'd rather be forced to do than eat that (and cilantro). If the fennel was removed from this rub I think it would be excellent. $10 down the drain (oh, and it's way overpriced).
If you don't like anise/black licorice, don't buy this.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, smell, Flavor, Cost
Review 10 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chiknlvr
So Cal
March 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great chicken rub
March 11, 2011
Love this! I rubbed the chicken inside and out with butter, then the rub. Yummy, crisp skin and meat flavor!
Review 11 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MiketheNupe
Washington, DC
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked Well For Me!
December 27, 2010
I rubbed my chicken and let it sit in the refrigerator for about 24 hours before cooking. The chicken turned out great and everyone enjoyed it. Like a previous reviewer, I thought "chicken bouillon when I first saw it, but the taste went well beyond that common condiment.
Review 12 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
donna02
Holyoke, CO
October 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
luv the flavor
October 14, 2010
I just love roast chicken. Never could get the right ingredents for a great taste. A good taste but not great. I found the taste. The rub is fab! Easy to use and wonderful taste. The ingredient were stuck together but otherwise it was great. Would use to again.
Review 13 for Ultimate Roast Chicken Rub
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bena
Jacksonville NC
September 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not So Good Pass On This One
September 6, 2010
I normaly like the rubs that WS comes out with but this one is not so good. Tastes alot like chicken boullion crushed up with a few herbs. I am taking this back to the store.