This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Ultimate Burger Starter

The world's best burgers begin with our savory seasoning blend. Quick and easy to use, it's the simple secret to juicy, succulent meat with incomparable flavor. Classic American recipe pairs sweet caramelized onions with a signature medley of herbs and spices. Dijon mustard, roasted garlic and aromatic Worcestershire sauce add depth and complexity. Perfect for grilling or panfrying ground beef, turkey or pork. Also great for meatballs. Quick and easy - just combine 2 tsp. Burger Starter per 1/4 lb. of ground beef or turkey and cook as desired. 10 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.156 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
27 of 32(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ultimate Burger Starter
Review 1 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mamatotwopink
,Lake Havasu City
,AZ
April 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Best Hamburgers!
April 9, 2013
We love this stuff! Makes burger juicy and full of flavor!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tcalci31
,Boston
,MA
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Haven't used yet... but
March 4, 2013
I actually haven't used this product yet, but it smells devine!!
Excellent for aroma!
Will keep you posted!
Review 3 for Ultimate Burger Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sparty416
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Makes a spicy burger
December 30, 2012
This added a spicy flavor to the burger. I don't like spice so it wasn't my favorite. But it was still good. My husband likes spice and thought it was great. It did make the burgers very moist and juicy. We used some of the ground beef with the starter
mixed in for spaghetti sauce. That was also good.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: too spicy for me
Review 4 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bulletmaker
,Dorchester
,SC
July 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Best burger starter ever!!!!
July 24, 2012
No use in trying anymore burger spicer uppers. Tried many until I found this one. No need to look any further. THE END
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Ultimate Burger Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
itsmary
,Santa Rosa
,CA
Santa Rosa, CA
July 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Not the ultimate burger starter
July 12, 2012
This is the first product that I have been disappointed in from Williams Sonoma. I tried it twice, once with turkey and once with beef and was very surprised that we didn't like. I thought maybe the beef would do better with the flavors but we liked that even less. Sorry to be a bah humbug but we didn't care for it.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 6 for Ultimate Burger Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
June 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Too overpowering
June 2, 2012
We found the burger starter too overpowering when mixed throughout the hamburger meat and prefer just salt, pepper, and ketchup. In attempt to not throw out the remainder of the jar, I discovered that basting the outside of the burgers with this product a little while before grilling made the burgers pretty tasty.
Pros: Flavor
Cons: masks the taste of beef
Review 7 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
diznee25
,Annapolis
,MD
Annapolis, MD
May 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Amazing Seasoning
May 29, 2012
My husband used this for grilling hamburgers over Memorial Day. Product calls for 2 tsp per 1/4 pound of ground beef, and we stuck with that amount.
Wow, these were the best burgers we've grilled at home! The flavor really makes 'restaurant quality' burgers.
Whenever we craved a good burger, we'd just head to a restaurant. Now we'll just grill at home!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 8 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overseasmom
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Makes Delicious Burgers
April 22, 2012
I have not been able to make a good, homemade burger until I started using this seasoning. It's a "wet" seasoning and I add about 2 tablespoons to a pound. The burger is moist and flavorful. It lasts awhile so it's worth the cost for me -- especially since it makes making good burgers easy and that saves me from ordering out. I think you'll really like it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnfromAK
,Kenai
,AK
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
A burger wouldn't be a burger without it...
February 1, 2012
This is great stuff, Maynard! Even moose burgers taste phenomenal with this starter. I only wish it came in a much bigger jar...
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 10 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jimkatt
,Fulton
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Excellent Product
January 26, 2012
Wonderful Burgers. Next Summer I am using this product at cooking contests.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Cons: Cost
Review 11 for Ultimate Burger Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tyson23044
the colony
September 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
the product every burger needs
September 1, 2011
great starter for burger blend,the ingredients are great addition to the burger blend.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 12 for Ultimate Burger Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DeannaH
Gladstone, Or
August 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
It is OK and convenient
August 10, 2011
I bought this burger starter based on the reviews alone. It is ok however, my husbands seasoning is just as good. I would buy it again if he was not around to season the burgers.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing
Review 13 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gmtn
Trenton NJ
July 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
more than 5 stars!
July 24, 2011
I would absolutely give this more than 5 stars if I could. The burgers are juicy and do not need any other condiments. They are perfect everytime. Please continue this product year round...if not I will need to buy a supply!!!!!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 14 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Chicago
July 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
One of the best burgers I've ever had.
July 1, 2011
2 tsps of this delicious mix for every 1/4 lb meat. Followed this to the letter to make 2 dozen mini burgers and they were without a doubt one of the best burgers I've ever tasted. All of my guests raved about them as well! Cannot wait to make more, there's still 90% of the jar full.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift, delicious
Review 15 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pheobe
June 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Fantastic!
June 25, 2011
This burger starter really made a difference that my whole family loved! The burgers came out nice and juicy and the flavor was amazing! Even my picky husband really enjoyed them even though he didn't want to know why!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 16 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maney
Pennsylvania
June 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
The Ultimate Burger
June 23, 2011
I used to use a combination of dijon mustard and Worcestershire sauce to achieve added flavor in my burgers (along with any other add-ins). The flavor this imparts goes above and beyond anything else I've used. I keep two in the pantry at all times so I don't run out!
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 17 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HarleyGirl123
U.S.A.
April 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
"Award Winning"
April 17, 2011
My husband and I compete on the BBQ circuit and were looking for a fabulous beef burger entry for a grilling contest. We used this seasoning (we actually halved what they say to use) and our burgers came out flavorful and juicy. They came out so well we took 2nd place! Thanks W&S!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 18 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MedfordOregon
Oregon
March 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Unsurpassed
March 11, 2011
Our household eats a lot of beef as we get a quarter or half a steer a year. Our hamburgers used to be good and now they're spectacular. I don't even dare tell my husband what I am using. I use slightly less than called for (about 2T per lb. of meat) . Preferred cooking method is similar to good steak: high heat to brown, cook to rare or medium rare, let rest a couple of minutes.
I LOVE the flavor the Ultimate Burger Starter gives the burgers. Can I get a volume discount???
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
MedfordOregon
Oregon
Posted December 2, 2011
2t per 1/4 lb (recommended usage)
amounts to 2T plus 2t (2 and 2/3 Tablespoons) per lb.
0points
Customer avatar
Fer2u
Cambridge, MA
Posted June 20, 2011
Capitals matter
I believe that the suggested use of the spice is 2 t per lb, not 2 T per lb.
That is two teaspoons, not two Tablespoons.
Try that next.. ;=)
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Ultimate Burger Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deebers
Oklahoma
November 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wonderful for Burgers and more!!!
November 13, 2010
This is great flavoring for ground beef, not just for burgers, but meatballs, meatloaf, anything, when you want a unique savory flavor to your meat.
It's especially good with burgers on the grill, though. Highly recommend!!!!
Review 20 for Ultimate Burger Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roberto1710
Virginia
October 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Tasty but salty
October 4, 2010
Has good flavor, but like most williams sonoma food products, there is a lot of salt.
page1 2 next