This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter

In Tuscan kitchens it was once customary to keep a pot of bean soup simmering on the stovetop, ready for anyone who might drop by. Our all-natural long-simmered starter makes it easy to capture the deep, complex flavors of that hearty classic in your own kitchen.An all-natural starter that combines cannellini beans with a medley of garden favorites - San Marzano tomatoes, carrots, celery, onions and red bell peppers - plus dry white wine, garlic and parsley.Enjoy as is, or add chicken, sausage or macaroni to create a delicious one-pot meal.2 lb. 1 oz. (7-8 servings).Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
11 of 15(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
Review 1 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KiKeye596
,Rochester Hills
,MI
December 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Worth the price
December 10, 2012
I really adore this soup starter. I honestly buy it by the case. It's great to have on hand when you need to pull together a solid dinner quickly. I add an extra can of cannellini white beans to make it a bit heartier. I think people give pause to the price of the soup starters but for the time savings (and consistent great taste) it's worth the investment.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 2 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KahluaKatie
Ann Arbor
March 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Dinner a SUCCESS
March 19, 2011
Made a hearty soup with this starter, added pasta and veggies as suggested and served it with homemade rolls. Enjoyed tea with fresh fruit & cheese platter afterward. All the guests loved it. Dinner was a resounding success. Thank You!
Review 3 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chemicalman
Annapolis, MD
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Big Hit at my Island Dinner Party
February 20, 2011
I was skeptical about soups in a jar but this one got the prize at my dinner party. I did make some adjustments ...1) I added 2 dried Chipolte peppers to drift in the serving temperature soup for 1 hr. 2) then at serving, I added 1/2 tsp lemon zest to each serving -- it floats. What a kicker taste -- Tuscan, Chipolte and lemon
Review 4 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jodyml813
Atlanta, Ga
February 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A Yummy Addition to the Wililams Sonoma Lineup
February 16, 2011
I'm a fan of this soup and turned this into a Ribollita by adding the chicken stock and some torn italian bread. It was wholesome and tasted better than my homemade version and was so much quicker and easier. I could see adding meats or pasta or orzo and it would be equally as tasty. I would buy this again!
Review 5 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JSchmidt
Saugatuck, MI
February 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Gift was loved!
February 10, 2011
Sent to my children - they loved it! Said they added orzo and chicken and made a wonderful meal out of it.
Review 6 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colamom
Columbia, SC
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My new favorite soup
February 3, 2011
We received this as a Christmas gift and had it for dinner last night. It was so good I kept eating it out of the pot. I added ground turkey and some penne pasta. Since I had not tried it before, I was afraid sausage would add too much flavor so I opted for the ground turkey - which I think was a good move because the soup starter alone is bursting with flavor. I am surprised at the reviews that call this sour..... It is robust and flavorful, but I would not call it sour. I could definitely taste the white wine. Next time I would probably add a can of beans as the beans had broken down and were no longer identifiable.
Review 7 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buttercupnyy
Hewitt, NJ
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Tangy or Sour whatever, unpleasant
January 5, 2011
I just wanted to use this for a quick lunch or dinner in a pinch. I was not expecting to reinvent the wheel or any sort of gourmet taste. This soup was disappointing for Williams Sonoma. I followed the exact directions and I am not sure if I would call it tangy or sour but it didn't taste good at all. It wasn't completely disgusting but I didn't want to eat it either. I doctored it up a bit by adding a little fat free half and half to remove the sourness. Even so, no good. Adding sausage won't remove the sourness or pasta either, one would just wasting good ingredients on this bad starter. I wouldn't recommend this starter or purchase again.
Review 8 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
texmex
Springfield, MA
November 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
suprisingly disappointing
November 6, 2010
We bought this after tasting the sample at the store. My 5 yr old daughter and husband fell in love. When we made it at home it tasted completely different. It was sour and not good at all. I called the store and asked them exactly how they cooked it and we had done the same thing. I am very disappointed in this soup especially because we have loved everything else that we have gotten from Williams Sonoma.
Review 9 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HealthyGreens
Tribeca
October 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Exceptional soup base
October 20, 2010
Very delighted with this purchase. This is a a great STARTER BASE. You add your own personal flavor and preferences to the base. If you are not sure what to add just Google 'Tuscan White Bean Soup' and volia! You will have literally hundreds of ideas and hints. It is a savory base with a slight earthy tone. Very hardy and filling. For me, there is no sour taste about this starter - maybe what you add could affect the taste .Vegetables are alkaline producing. Proteins (esp.sausage) can make a dish tangy. I think the other reviewers meant tangy not sour. I added roasted seasonal vegetables, chicken stock, diced tomato, Italian herbs - to add a lick of spice and depth - and 1/4cup of grated Romano. Served with White Riesling = Fantastic! With additions served 6 people. Plan to buy more.
Review 10 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ninnie
Boston, MA
June 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
not a big fan of this soup
June 26, 2010
Maybe this would have been better if I supplemented it w/ adding sausage or ground beef. Sauce seemed a little sour, funky. I cant put my finger on it for why I didnt like it, flavors didnt seem to blend or something.
Review 11 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
northernchef
MN
May 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Read reviews - thought it would be great...
May 5, 2010
After reading the reviews, I thought this would make a wonderful, fast bean soup but I was wrong. I added Italian sausage, more white beans, and noodles as other reviews suggested. The base has a sour note to it - possibly some type of pickled vegetable (carrots?). I would not buy it again - my own homeade soups are much better.
Review 12 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JordenK
Tempe, AZ
April 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Delicious even without modification
April 19, 2010
I'm shamed by the delicious additions from the other reviewers because I was feeling really lazy when I made this soup. I simply added the chicken stock as directed and ate it as is. It was *delicious* though and easily stands on it's own merits. I will definitely pick this up again, but this time get more creative with additions.
Review 13 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ellejay
Peabody, MA
February 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Best Soup Starter Ever
February 25, 2010
I followed directions, mixing 2 cups chicken broth with soup base, then added 1/2 cup white wine and simmered half the time before adding a frozen parmigiano reggiano rind, and continuing the simmer another 10 minutes before adding 1 cup of cooked ditalini and finishing up in 3 minutes.
Soup was five star first time out--today's leftovers were six star, should that rating be allowed. Love it, and plan to serve it as an appetizer before any special meal!
Review 14 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Hopatcong, NJ
February 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best soup starter EVER!!!
February 3, 2010
I had my first try with this Tuscany White Bean Soup Starter and WOW. I had frozen chicken broth left over from my home made chicken soup; added two cups of that with some small italian sausage pieces; I added some sauted escarole in a little olive oil and garlic. After it was all heated I used the Ditalini pasta and let me tell you. IT WAS BETTER THAN THE BEST RESTAURANT SOUP!!!! I am going to purchase a bunch of jars; again and again!!!! Top it off with some FRESH parm cheese and you have one hearty, delicious soup. Thank you again Williams-Sonoma!!!!
Review 15 for Tuscan White Bean Soup Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mplsmomof2
Minneapolis
January 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Fantastic
January 19, 2010
I purchased this in the store today. I brought it home and made it adding mild sweet italian sausage and mini penne noodles. Both my husband and 6 and 9 year old daughters asked several times..."where did you get this recipe from?" I finally came clean that I got the starter from your store and doctored it a bit. They begged me to go back to the store and get some more jars of the started. We for sure will be back for this again. I hope you keep it stocked for a long time.