This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base

When it comes to Thanksgiving dinner, it seems you can never have enough gravy - or enough time to cook. Our flavorful starter helps you prepare rich, savory gravy in minutes. We blend our concentrated base from the best ingredients, so you can be sure the gravy will taste just like it was made from scratch. The base is also great for enriching your own homemade gravy. 1 lb. 2 oz. (makes 4 cups of gravy). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.031 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
15 of 32(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joanne7
,Tampa
,Fl
December 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Used this Gravy Base for many years ~ love it!
December 15, 2013
My family, and I, have used this gravy base in our homemade, giblet gravy and it really adds to our recipe!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KCTyro
,Denton
,TX
December 7, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Made my first Thanksgiving a breeze!
December 7, 2013
I bought this gravy base to help with preparing my first Thanksgiving dinner. I'm not very experienced with gravy, but following the directions on the jar and adding drippings from the pan made this a flavorful addition to the meal. I received tons of compliments! I will definitely use any time I am preparing gravy.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
aprocter
,Baltimore
,MD
Bennington, VT
December 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Needs additional thickener
December 3, 2013
This gravy base is nicely flavored but it needs additional thickener - a roux. Also benefits from the turkey drippings.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Amount, too liquid
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Belmar
,NJ
December 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Disappointed
December 3, 2013
Have used this Turkey Gravy Base in the past with my own drippings and it was delicious. Bought 2 jars this year & it was terrible. Was the formula changed? Bring back the old original!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Americangirl
,spokane
,WA
Spokane WA
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Alternative to Homemade
December 2, 2013
This is perfect " gravy made easy" and convenient . It is great if your not handy with gravy, having a crowd or just need more gravy for after the big meal. It is convenient and quite good but BEWARE: don't put in any extra salt or this or you may need to sweeten it up a little. We keep extra in our pantry just on case we need some and it has really come in to save the day more than once..
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrsMS
,Clifton
,VA
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
NOT last year's Turkey Gravy Base
November 30, 2013
I purchased 2 jars of the Turkey Gravy Base this year, expecting it to be the same as last year's, which was delicious. I made it the same way, but it was not at all good. I have made turkey gravy out of an envelope that tasted better! This is VERY disappointing! If I could give it a no-star rating, I most certainly would.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jwheinlein
,Loudoun County
,VA
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Need to add turkey stock to give it flavor
November 30, 2013
I used the Turkey Gravy Base this Thanksgiving, and I think it was a good product. You'll probably want to add some turkey stock to give it a better flavor because it was a little bland. The Williams Sonoma Turkey Stock was a great addition, but pan drippings are essential.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare
Cons: Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenZambolla
,Miami
,FL
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great time saver
November 29, 2013
I followed the instructions on the jar and added milk and pan drippings, but I didn't have sherry so I added Marsala instead. It came out great. Everyone liked it and it saved me some time after the turkey came out of the oven and I was trying to get everything together. I will use it again!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Gravy Base
November 29, 2013
This was OK. I was expecting a bit more quality from this product. I used half and half and a touch of sherry to make it. The gravy was so very salty.
Additionally, you really do need to add pan drippings, mushrooms or parsley to this gravy, as the color is an unsettling, unpleasant, uniform tan colour. It didn't look like a normal gravy, it looked very processed and artificial. The texture was off, as well.
I wouldn't use this again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
phillips
,Sharon
,CT
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
This is too salty
November 29, 2013
I was very disappointed in this. It tasted of nothing but salt. I could not taste any turkey. Just dark brown thick salt. And it had a slightly bitter taste as well. I mixed it with milk and some sherry and nothing helped. It had no turkey taste. Just salty liquid. I had to throw it away.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor, salty
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EileenRN
,Round Rock
,TX
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Turkey gravy base
November 29, 2013
I can't even begin to tell you how disappointed I was in this product. School cafeteria gravy is better than this! The smell and taste was foul and salty Luckily I had enough pan dripping left over to make a small amount of gravy for thanksgiving. I really expected more from Williams -Sonoma. I wish I still had the receipt so I could get my money back!
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoJoMoJo
,Brooklyn
,NY
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great gravy
November 29, 2013
Everyone loved it! Followed directions and added some drippings from the turkey.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picky1
,CA
Los Angeles, CA
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Not the same as last year
November 29, 2013
I have used the previous version of this product the last two years in a row and loved it, but this year I was very disappointed. The flavor wasn't even close to what it was last year and the color was different and unappetizing. It seems as if it was made by a different supplier. I won't buy it again.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kbertrams
,Dayton
,OH
November 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
WAY TOO SALTY
November 27, 2013
I expected more from a gravy base from such a reputable company...after preparing this exactly as the directions stated it was so salty I had to spit it out...even after adding the suggested sherry, double the milk, water and pan drippings it was still incredibly salty. I had to warn all of my dinner guests to use sparingly and to avoid any other salt...VERY DISAPPOINTED
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chef55
November 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Yummy and so easy
November 24, 2013
I think is is so hard to get all the Thanksgiving meal things ready at once. I decided to try this gravy base and added some of the turkey drippings for added flavor. We loved it - so easy, no lumps and very smooth, creamy and delicious. I also used some with leftover turkey and dressing to make a baked casserole - it was wonderful. I would definitely buy this again.
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ariz2005
,Phoenix
,AZ
November 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Great Gravy!
November 16, 2013
When it comes down to "showtime", gravy is one of those things that take a lot of time (when you don't have it).
This gravy is a BASE…you add things to it! I always add drippings from the turkey and it comes out great! You could add giblets as well. Anything that can save me time on Thanksgiving, I'm all for it! I get many compliments on my gravy using this base!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GigiTX
Amarillo, TX
Posted November 22, 2013
Gravy base
That's what I was thinking when I read the product information...that it was a BASE, not the GRAVY in a jar! So, thank you for making this clear...I'm wondering if the poor reviews were for this being used as the actual gravy...I'm thinking of getting it to add TO mine! But, if it's hideously bad for that purpose, I'd like to know! Thanks!! (looks good, though!)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhillieFilly
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, California
November 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
GREAT BASE!
November 14, 2013
This is a great base to make your turkey gravy. I added fresh and wild mushrooms, some pan drippings and sherry! Everyone raved about it!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Makala
,Sioux Falls
,sd
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
12of 16found this review helpful.
would not recommend
January 7, 2013
I purchased two jars for Thanksgiving dinner expecting a tasty gravy however the taste was not good at all. I still have the second jar in my pantry and have no idea what to do with it. Will certinaly not serve to guests.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PauletteMarie
,VA
Virginia
December 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+19points
21of 23found this review helpful.
I do not recommend this product...
December 24, 2012
As someone who has always made her own gravy from drippings, I decided to venture into new territory. This gravy base was pretty highly rated and I thought I would give it a try. The gravy really has no flavor other than a salty brownish (beef?), flavor. The only way to use this would be as an additive to your own homemade gravy to increase volume, if your turkey did not produce enough drippings for your crowd. The greatest offense is the awful preservative taste that lingers in your mouth for a long time. The taste ruins the meal. I would never add this to gravy again or ever purchase the item. Am thinking of writing a complaint letter to Williams-Sonoma. I have loved so many of their products, but this will ruin your lovely meal, don't use it.
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bbeth
,Near Fargo
,ND
December 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Excellent Gravy
December 9, 2012
I hosted Thanksgiving this year, and found this gravy excellent to work with...I did add some of the drippings to it though, and that added extra flavor. Highly recommend adding the drippins.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Cons: Amount
page1 2 next