Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base

When it comes to Thanksgiving dinner, it seems you can never have enough gravy - or enough time to cook. Our flavorful starter helps you prepare rich, savory gravy in minutes. We blend our concentrated base from the best ingredients, so you can be sure the gravy will taste just like it was made from scratch. The base is also great for enriching your own homemade gravy. 1 lb. 2 oz. (makes 4 cups of gravy). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.873 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
51 of 71(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
December 1, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy gravy
December 1, 2016
I ordered this to make Thanksgiving easier this year. And it was perfect! I warmed it up with milk as directed and added our turkey drippings. It was the perfect texture, not too salty and tasted like homemade. I ordered two jars but one make a lot of gravy. This is a great shortcut and very easy to make!
Pros: Flavor, Quality, Texture, Time-saver
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New Cumberland
,PA
November 30, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gravy!
November 30, 2016
This gravy base made fantastic gravy for our Thanksgiving. The gravy was rich, flavorful, and easy!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Quality, Time-saver
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cinnaminson
,nj
November 28, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent gravy, happy Thanksgiving
November 28, 2016
Making gravy makes me nervous and traditional store bought gravy isn't very good. I tried this Turkey Gravy Base and it helped me make fool proof *delicious* gravy.
I added my own drippings and a generous amount of fresh black pepper. The whole family loved it.
Pros: Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Time-saver
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Miami
,FL
November 28, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the same!!
November 28, 2016
I have been buying this gravy base for years, and my family absolutely LOVED it. But, for some unknown reason, WS must have changed the recipe. It used to call for milk but now chicken broth. It was too salty and just didn't have the same deliciousness.
WS: Please change it back to its original greatness!!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, too salty
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Grantham
,NH
NH
November 25, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Favorite
November 25, 2016
I usually make my own homemade gravy but decided to use this for a change for yesterday's Thanksgiving meal which I always cook. It is terrific in my opinion. The key is recognizing this is a base so you have to add another liquid to thin it out. I used a cup of milk then added heavy cream to taste once I felt the gravy was just right ( you could also use light cream). I also added some strained turkey drippings from the pan added in. The gravy was a huge success. It was creamy and the saltiness you taste in the beginning was much better after adding the other ingredients. The yield was great too so a lot of leftover mini meals have already been had. Definitely will use next year!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Quality, Texture
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
November 25, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
pass on this
November 25, 2016
I decided to use this as a short cut this year. It is so salty with no flavor. I prepared as instructed, tried to doctor with other ingredients, but it was still really bad.
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Huntington Beach
,ca
November 17, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a good product
November 17, 2016
I was so excited to see that Williams Sonoma offered a gravy base because we were deep frying our turkey this year for Thanksgiving and I wouldn't have the drippings from the BBQd bird we usually serve.
I wasn't too sure about the product after reading the reviews but after tasting in the store I was hooked....then I made it at home... This has to be the nastiest tasting gravy I have ever had, it almost tasted rotten and the smell was just terrible. They have to do something completely different in the store. I followed the directions and what I got tasted nothing like the sample and it looked nothing like the sample. Luckily we did a test Thanksgiving so now back to the drawing board for gravy.
WS has never disappointed us in the past but this was just horrible and I will be returning the second unopened jar we purchased.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, tastes nothing like the sample in the store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JaimeN
Huntington Beach
Posted November 26, 2016
Please read, this is a good product!
After completely failing with this twice and ending up with a horrible gravy I went back to the store to find out why. After talking to one of the cooks I found out a few things.
1. Their "one part" is actually one jar. So trying to use a 1 cup to 1 cup ratio does not work.
2. Don't follow the directions - weird right?
I followed these tips from the cook and got exactly what I sampled in store.
1 jar gravy base
1/2 jar milk
1/2 jar stock
Simmer then add 2tbs butter right before serving
Boom, gravy perfection. I wish I could change my rating but for some reason this dire does not allow it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,HOUSTON
,PA
November 14, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WORSE GRAVY BASE EVER!!!
November 14, 2016
I PURCHASED THIS GRAVY BASE BECAUSE IT WAS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BY THE SALES CLERK!!
THE WORSE GRAVY BASE EVERY IT TASTED LIKE EATING NOTHING BUT SALT. I THREW IT DOWN THE DRAIN & MADE MY OWN. MY FAR BETTER DELICIOUS. POOR GRAVY BASE WS!!! SORRY
Cons: Disappointing, Unhealthy
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bridgeport
,WV
November 13, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Base for any Thanksgiving
November 13, 2016
Ever since the first year I tried this base back ~2006, it became a staple of my Thanksgiving. Good gravy will make or break your Turkey day. Now, I can cook, but why sweat other gravy mixes when this is all you need. It is worth the price and I personally order 2-3 jars.
Family and guests will love it, so don't run out!
Thank you WS for making my Thanksgiving dinners a hit for the last decade!
Pros: Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Great Gift, Quality, Time-saver
Cons: none
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 1, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent product
November 1, 2016
I've used this gravy base for years. I highly recommend. Its wonderful.
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,aptos
,ca
October 31, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious gravy base
October 31, 2016
buy this gravy base every year and love it! the perfect beginning to amazing gravy and the family loves it. I add some drippings to it and a few seasonings making it my own. Thanks for offering this every year!
Pros: Flavor, Quality, Time-saver
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Annapolis
,MD
October 26, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a bad gravy base
October 26, 2016
This gravy base is bad. I sampled it at the store and the color, texture and taste were good. It was a little salty, but I thought I could make it work. I followed the directions exactly for a TG test run. It was horrible. It was not the gravy I tried in the store. They must be altering the directions in some way. It was extremely salty. It was not the same color or texture. I used milk and turkey drippings and still bad. Expensive mistake.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Texture, extremely salty
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JaimeN
Posted November 17, 2016
Had the same issue
I'm glad to see this, we had the same problem with this item. Now I know it wasn't user error.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 23, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spectacular
October 23, 2016
Every year I order two jars of this gravy base for Thanksgiving--I can't imagine Thanksgiving without it. Guarantees that I have more than enough delicious gravy from day one right through to the end of the end.
I make the gravy early in the day, one part cream to one part base, warming it up slowly, then add a generous dollop of good dry sherry, to taste.
When the turkey's done, add pan drippings. Never fails. No worries.
Pros: Authentic, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Quality, Texture, Time-saver
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KimB527
Ojai, CA
Posted October 28, 2016
Gravy
Thank you so much for this lesson on gravy making...it always stresses me out the most!
I just wanted to ask you when you say one part gravy to one part cream (1/2 and 1/2? or real 100% cream?) and would you just fill up the gravy jar as one part with the cream? Thank-you for your help and clarifying this for me!
Sincerely,
Kim
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Silverdale
,WA
August 4, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding
August 4, 2016
I bought this last year for Thanksgiving. I had turkey drippings to add and it was magical and easy! I just made a Turkey meatloaf and heated it straight from jar with some milk, again, excellent over mashed potatoes and meatloaf. We rarely eat gravy but this was full of flavor and so creamy and smooth. Family loved it. Buying again for this years Turkey dinner.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Quality, Texture, Time-saver
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Owings Mills
,Md
December 26, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Gravy
December 26, 2015
Surprise your friends and family with the most incredible gravy they'll ever taste! Unlike other jarred gravy, this base uses the drippings like your mother's homemade gravy! Rich, succulent, and complex!!! It's a winner!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fremont
,CA
December 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
dutch oven pot
December 22, 2015
It is soooo good. Can't have Holiday without it!! I have large family and all are gravy consumers!!
A friend introduced me to this product a few years ago!! I either get it at your store or I order it!!
I re-ordered last week...has not arrived yet!!!
Pros: Quality, Amount, Texture, Flavor
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hillsboro
,or
December 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy dinner
December 22, 2015
Easy and very good turkey gravy. Used for thanksgiving and it made it very easy.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fullerton
,Ca
Fullerton, California
December 21, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Knock out gravy.
December 21, 2015
This is an outstanding product. I used it as a side gravy with a Prime Rib dinner and it was fabulous. The jar calls for milk (I don't remember the exact amount) I added 3/4 of the amount called for with milk, 1/4 amount of heavy whipping cream, prime rib drippings and handful of chopped (fresh) Thyme and Rosemary herbs. Cooked as instructed and let me tell you, it was fabulous! A slight slight hint of poultry but overwhelming wonderful flavor of a beef herbal base slightly cream gravy for the mashed potatoes, absolutely outstanding. I served Au Ju with the prime rib so it made a great transition.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oceanside
,CA
San Diego, CA
December 18, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Started
December 18, 2015
This is a great base to get you started on a perfect gravy to go with your turkey. I just added some to the drippings from the pan and slightly thickened the base and it was wonderful. There was enough left for seconds plus leftovers. This is the 2nd year I have purchased this. It is a winner.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
December 18, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stick to your own gravy!
December 18, 2015
This was not good at all!
Had to doctor it up with chicken stock and turkey drippings. By the time I got it to finally taste good I could of made my own gravy.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Difficult to Prepare, Time to Prepare
page1 2 3 4 next