Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base

When it comes to Thanksgiving dinner, it seems you can never have enough gravy - or enough time to cook. Our flavorful starter helps you prepare rich, savory gravy in minutes. We blend our concentrated base from the best ingredients, so you can be sure the gravy will taste just like it was made from scratch. The base is also great for enriching your own homemade gravy. 1 lb. 2 oz. (makes 4 cups of gravy). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.37 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
22 of 27(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JennWI
,WI
December 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So happy to have found this!
December 7, 2014
This product is absolutely amazing!!! We used it on thanksgiving for the first time knowing we could make homemade if this didn't work out - all I can say is WOW! I used 1% milk and a very small amount of drippings and it was flawless. What I love is that if we pick up a rotisserie chicken at the store or want gravy for boneless chicken breast any time of the year, I can make amazing gravy and not rely on grocery store packets or jars (gick!) or go without. No doctoring of this needed at all - it was perfect as is. Will be stocking up!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, so convenient!!!
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michy111
,Sparta
,Wi
December 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
December 3, 2014
Great flavor, easy to make! Delicious! I wasn't sure what to expect, but was very pleasantly surprised! Everyone loved the flavor.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookerCannerGardener
,Aurora
,OH
December 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gravy extender
December 1, 2014
I needed to make a large amount of gravy and ahead of time. So glad I purchased this. I added to base I made (which ended up really light in flavor and color). WS Turkey Gravy Base gave my gravy great flavor and color. I was able make large quantity I needed. I will buy again for gravy emergencies.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CGam
,KS
Abilene, KS
November 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than Homemade
November 30, 2014
This is the best gravy ever and it holds up the next day. It doesn't get thick and gooey. It stays the same consistency so all you have to do is microwave it and it's as good as the day it was first made. It is so flavorful, I couldn't believe it came from a jar.
It's easy to make and very silky smooth.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Queeniegirl
,Ventura
,CA
November 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
go for it!
November 30, 2014
We usually make our own gravy, but my Mom wanted to try this out and we really enjoyed it! Enhanced our beautiful turkey and adds another dimension to stuffing.
Pros: Flavor
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JudeYoung
,Allentown
,PA
November 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Holiday Favorite
November 16, 2014
Highly recommend this! It's become a holiday favorite and one of the best WS products! Homemade taste and easy to prepare! Saves a lot of time for your Thanksgiving meal.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lauren8
,Hackensack
,NJ
October 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best compliment to your thanksgiving dinner
October 20, 2014
I believe this is your best product - many of my friends & family now use it after having it at my house - no one can believe it is not home made & that it is so easy to prepare
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Desertdude
,SF
,CA
October 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorite Sonoma products
October 10, 2014
Easily one of the best things I've tried in this store. All you do is whisk in some milk and a little turkey drippings and boom- it's done. And not only is it done, it's perfect.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joanne7
,Tampa
,Fl
December 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Used this Gravy Base for many years ~ love it!
December 15, 2013
My family, and I, have used this gravy base in our homemade, giblet gravy and it really adds to our recipe!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KCTyro
,Denton
,TX
December 7, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made my first Thanksgiving a breeze!
December 7, 2013
I bought this gravy base to help with preparing my first Thanksgiving dinner. I'm not very experienced with gravy, but following the directions on the jar and adding drippings from the pan made this a flavorful addition to the meal. I received tons of compliments! I will definitely use any time I am preparing gravy.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Americangirl
,spokane
,WA
Spokane WA
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Alternative to Homemade
December 2, 2013
This is perfect " gravy made easy" and convenient . It is great if your not handy with gravy, having a crowd or just need more gravy for after the big meal. It is convenient and quite good but BEWARE: don't put in any extra salt or this or you may need to sweeten it up a little. We keep extra in our pantry just on case we need some and it has really come in to save the day more than once..
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jwheinlein
,Loudoun County
,VA
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Need to add turkey stock to give it flavor
November 30, 2013
I used the Turkey Gravy Base this Thanksgiving, and I think it was a good product. You'll probably want to add some turkey stock to give it a better flavor because it was a little bland. The Williams Sonoma Turkey Stock was a great addition, but pan drippings are essential.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare
Cons: Flavor
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenZambolla
,Miami
,FL
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great time saver
November 29, 2013
I followed the instructions on the jar and added milk and pan drippings, but I didn't have sherry so I added Marsala instead. It came out great. Everyone liked it and it saved me some time after the turkey came out of the oven and I was trying to get everything together. I will use it again!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gravy Base
November 29, 2013
This was OK. I was expecting a bit more quality from this product. I used half and half and a touch of sherry to make it. The gravy was so very salty.
Additionally, you really do need to add pan drippings, mushrooms or parsley to this gravy, as the color is an unsettling, unpleasant, uniform tan colour. It didn't look like a normal gravy, it looked very processed and artificial. The texture was off, as well.
I wouldn't use this again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoJoMoJo
,Brooklyn
,NY
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gravy
November 29, 2013
Everyone loved it! Followed directions and added some drippings from the turkey.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picky1
,CA
Los Angeles, CA
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the same as last year
November 29, 2013
I have used the previous version of this product the last two years in a row and loved it, but this year I was very disappointed. The flavor wasn't even close to what it was last year and the color was different and unappetizing. It seems as if it was made by a different supplier. I won't buy it again.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ariz2005
,Phoenix
,AZ
November 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gravy!
November 16, 2013
When it comes down to "showtime", gravy is one of those things that take a lot of time (when you don't have it).
This gravy is a BASE…you add things to it! I always add drippings from the turkey and it comes out great! You could add giblets as well. Anything that can save me time on Thanksgiving, I'm all for it! I get many compliments on my gravy using this base!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GigiTX
Amarillo, TX
Posted November 22, 2013
Gravy base
That's what I was thinking when I read the product information...that it was a BASE, not the GRAVY in a jar! So, thank you for making this clear...I'm wondering if the poor reviews were for this being used as the actual gravy...I'm thinking of getting it to add TO mine! But, if it's hideously bad for that purpose, I'd like to know! Thanks!! (looks good, though!)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhillieFilly
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, California
November 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT BASE!
November 14, 2013
This is a great base to make your turkey gravy. I added fresh and wild mushrooms, some pan drippings and sherry! Everyone raved about it!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bbeth
,Near Fargo
,ND
December 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Gravy
December 9, 2012
I hosted Thanksgiving this year, and found this gravy excellent to work with...I did add some of the drippings to it though, and that added extra flavor. Highly recommend adding the drippins.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Cons: Amount
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Turkey Gravy Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
waterlover
,Lodi
,WI
Wisconsin
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Turkey Gravy Base
November 28, 2012
I would agree that this base is not loaded with Turkey flavor, but I do not think it was intended to--you need to add your Turkey drippings.
I made a (brined) Turkey for my hubby and his hunting buddies this fall. My husband's friend/mentor of 30+ years said he had not tasted gravy like that since his mom died--there isn't much that makes my hubby happier than pleasing his mentor.
I thought the product was very easy to work with; I was kind of glad I gave most of the gravy away, as I would have eaten too much myself.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality
page1 2 next