This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine

Hand painted by a single artist, this earthenware dish can be used to cook and serve traditional North African tagines, as well as couscous and rice dishes. The cone-shaped cover funnels condensation directly back to the food for moist, tender results. The traditional Tunisian pattern is painted by hand using food-safe paints and glazes. Hand-thrown clay retains heat well for serving directly at the table. Oven and microwave safe. Handmade in Tunisia. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
14 of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
Review 1 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
February 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
It seems that everyone's experience is different
February 7, 2014
I have cooked with this tagine at least once a week for the last 5 weeks on my electric stovetop with a diffuser. I seasoned it first as per the use and care directions on the website (see above). It develops a glaze-like inteior after seasoning. Once I forgot to use the diffuser until after 15 minutes and it did develop a superficial crack on the interior of the base but it has not deepened or widened since. I like my tagine and cooking moroccan style food although obtaining all of the necessary spices, ingredients, and the tagine was timely and expensive.
PS. I'm addicted to the taste and smell of W-S Ras El Hanout sauted with onions and then simmered in the tagine with chicken and prunes
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sistertothechef
,Atlanta
,GA
January 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
not all it is cracked up to be
January 28, 2014
I have been cooking with a tagine for years and lost the small tagine I bought in Morocco in a divorce. The fourth time I used this, it cracked. I even used a diffuser (something I had not had to do previously with other tagines) because so many people in previous reviews stated issues. This lovely piece of cookware just doesn’t hold up the way that it should.
Pros: Color
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
sistertothechef
Atlanta, GA
Posted February 6, 2014
response to comment
I have a gas stove. I honestly can't remember the last time I used an electric stove, but that might help with the proposed need for a diffuser.
0points
Customer avatar
Cabbage
Hollywood, CA
Posted February 5, 2014
Thanks for the Alert
You are experienced with tagine cooking.
Thanks for the honesty!
I'd love to know…
Do you have a gas or electric stove?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CatBaloo
,Sugar Land
,TX
November 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Tangine on glasstop range
November 25, 2013
read a very timely review on this site. Problem was using diffuser on glasstop range. I have a Wolf glasstop so called them. After much research, Wolf advises not to use diffuser on electric or convection range. Thank you so much to writter of the review. You just saved me quite a bit of money! By the way, love the Tangine. It is beautiful and performs beautifully ....have only used a receipe for oven however
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 4 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ebaker
,Palm Coast
,FL
November 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+21points
21of 21found this review helpful.
Not for use on electric range
November 3, 2013
I have used this tagine on a gas stovetop, using it with the diffuser with no problems in the past. We recently moved & now have a GE electric cooktop. When I used it the other day I had the cooktop on the lowest setting & followed the directions printed on the diffuser, also sold on this site. After an hour of cooking chicken, the glass was melted on the cooktop from the diffuser & the tagine is completely cracked on the bottom. I have found that it's almost as expensive to replace the cooktop as it is for a new stove. So, I'm out not only a beautiful tagine but also in need of a new stovetop.
Review 5 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happyface
,CA
October 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Beautiful and unique!
October 13, 2013
This tunisian tagine is beautiful and cooks perfectly. I used it in the oven to roast vegetables and bake chicken. My dishes couldn't have looked and tasted any better- flavorful and moist!
It is super easy to clean and looks beautiful stored on my countertop or even just sitting on top of the stove.
I can't wait to try new recipes with it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweetheart555559
,Yorba Linda
,CA
July 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Excellent!
July 19, 2013
I learned you need the diffuser to go under this to make sure the heat is moving in the right places. I store this in my second oven, but it is so worth it to get the flavors that this makes. You can also use on the gas cooktop, but always buy the heat diffuser with it. This scores! I use Pam with it so it is easier to clean out. You will need to season it before using it the first time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SueSue2
New York
Posted January 28, 2014
Top 10 Contributor
to Mayra407
Seasoning is very easy to do; the hard part is finding something large enough to soak the tagine in. As shown above per the last bullet under use & care: "You will need to season your tagine before using. Soak in water for 24 hours. Coat the interior with olive oil and place in a cold oven. Set oven temperature to 225º F and leave for 1 1/2 hours. Remove from oven and allow to cool. Once cooled wash with warm soapy water and towel dry".
 
My Recommendations
 
0points
Customer avatar
Mayra407
Riverside
Posted October 23, 2013
season?
I'm interested in purchasing this item... but what do you mean by "You will need to season it before using it the first time." ? Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
32754
,Baltimoe
March 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Tagine for me
March 23, 2013
I have used this Tagine twice using a traditional recipe both were stove top cooking so a defuser was deeded and used.
The dishes were delicious only enhanced buy the beauty of this hand painted Tagine.
The cooking time was increased maybe because of the defuser or the ceramic dishI do not know. My only concern is that alter the ferst use I noticed cracks in the glaze on the bottom of the dish. after the second use the re were more cracks this time on the inside of the dish.
Pros: Color, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Store, Fragile, Size, has started to develop cracks
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
keok
Posted July 28, 2013
Do not be concerned with the cracks. The product description states that it is normal for this to occur and will not effect the tagines performance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stevieg
,co
colorado
March 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Lovely, lovely, lovely
March 14, 2013
True tagine, at your fingertips.
However, do not plan to cook for more than 4 people with no leftovers, as it is small- 1/2 chicken or equivalant. When I cook for friends, I set up two of these beauties, and split a large bird.
Of course, with any tagine, read the directions and spend 24 hours seasoning it, and use a diffuser (solid diffusers are preferable to the punched metal folding type,IMO). Happy tagining!
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, beautiful
Cons: Fragile, wee
Review 9 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angie60473
,South Holland
,IL
March 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Beautiful and elegant. Best purchase
March 1, 2013
I purchased the tagine because I love Moroccan food and I wanted to learn how to prepare meals with the Moroccan flair. Pleasantly surprised at the beauty of the hand painted tagine. Can be used as a center piece when not used for cooking. Prepared by first meal and hubbie was absolutely delighted on how favorable the meal turned out. The chicken was juicy, tender, delicious, and sauce GREAT.
Impressed, I bought one for each of my daughter-in-laws. We're planning to have a Moroccan dinner where we each prepare a different meat with sides. Can't wait!
Excellent pricing, delivery on time, and beautiful design.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, i would like a little larger for family
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suzyoma
,Bellingham
,WA
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
beautiful and functional cooking
February 21, 2013
These Tunisian pots are, of course, wonderful for cooking tangines, but they are also wonderful and colorful serving pieces, coming straight from the oven with dishes of rice, vegetables, meat, or fish. Very reasonably priced, as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
Cons: must use with a defuser.
Review 11 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aicha
,Boston
,MA
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Memories of Marrakech
February 21, 2013
This is a great Tagine. It's pretty, but I was more concerned with it's ability to cook a traditional Tagine ( the meal ). I have cooked several kinds ( Meat, Chicken, Veg) in this particular Tagine and have not been disappointed. I use traditional spices and the flavor mingles very well - the outer glaze does not interfere with the cooking. It's important to season the Tagine prior to using ( as directed ) and if you are not using a Brazier, a diffuser for your stove top is a must. Additionally, to have a real North African Tagine experience, you must have some Preserved Lemons for an authentic flavor and taste especially in the Chicken Tagine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Shape
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
fselr3
February 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Pretty, but arrived chipped
February 13, 2013
It was the size and shape I expected, but it arrived with a dime sized chip off of the inside surface of the lid. As that is a zero impact area for shipping and handling, I can only assume this is a quality issue, especially given the depth of the chip.
The tagine inside lid and bottom is also glazed (rather shoddily) with a clear lacquer, which it did not say in the discription. I was excited to order this, but in person it's less impressive. Sadly, it's going back.
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NanciKay
,GREENTOP
,MO
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Second one is a winner!
February 11, 2013
I received this tagine as a Christmas present. It does not come with instrucitons, but several on line sites suggest it should be soaked before using, so I did soak it. But, it cracked the first time it was used. Williams Sonoma replaced it, and the second one has been great. I suspect the first one had a small crack that I didn't notice! Don't forget to use a heat diffuser and keep the heat low. Cooks beautifully!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Color, Shape, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 14 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LisainCA
,CA
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
ceramic glaze is inconsistent
January 4, 2013
I just purchased the cobalt pattern at the store; I did not inspect it at the store because I live an hour's drive away and wanted it securely boxed for transport.
While the pattern is the same as pictured, the glaze is disappointing. The background is uneven in saturation, as if the upper portion of the tagine cone got two layers of white and the lower part got only one.
In addition, the thin scroll-like portions in the blue ribbon-pattern are scratched completely through the glaze to the terracotta, not just through the blue to the white glaze layer. This is consistent on the entire lid, so I think it must be intentional, but it was unexpected.
In some places on the lower lip of the tagine lid the background glaze is so thin as to be essentially unglazed terracotta. This is visible only when the tagine lid is removed.
I don't expect this to affect the tagine's function, since unglazed ones are also commonly used, but check yours before leaving the store.
Review 15 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2Happy
,cinci
,Oh
September 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
A "must have" in the kitchen
September 13, 2012
I researched the net and found the best deal here.I am very pleased with size ,condition(brand new) and the design is very attractive to me. I have worked cobalt into my kitchen design and I have it sitting out. This is my first Tagine and now I intend to collect a few more. I have served out of it, to keep food warm in the oven. Have been hesitant yet to cook on top of burner,love it to much !
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glorybe
,Wake Forest
,NC
August 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lovely and useful
August 29, 2012
I am new to Tagine Cuisine and was skeptical about being able to use this lovely piece to cook on my electric stove top. I followed the directions for seasoning before using, as well as using a diffuser on the burner surface, and turned out a lovely Spiced Kefta with Lemon from my brand new Morroccan Cookbook the very first time I used it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
Review 17 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Motowncook
,Morristown
,nj
August 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Great Product -- But Missing Instructions-Recipes
August 23, 2012
The Tagine is great. Only problem is that it came with no instructions. After reading other reviews and going on the Internet, I was able to figure out how to "cure" the Tagine prior to using it the first time. I made a fabulous lamb dish --and the Tagine worked beautifully. It would have also been nice if WS had included some recipes. I recommend Ghillie Basam's book: Tagine: Spicy Stews from Morocco.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 18 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Marysue123
,Scottsdale
,AZ
May 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
6of 11found this review helpful.
Beautiful but ...
May 22, 2012
Was very excited to get this as a present. Unfortunately my first experience was a disaster! Even bought a cookbook on tagines, but nothing told me I couldn't use it on a ceramic stove top. Yes, I have many cracks in it now. Although I have intended to try it in the oven, on a baking sheet, (just in case) I haven't done it yet. I don't believe there is any way to repair it either.
Pros: Color, Design, beautiful
Cons: Difficult to Use, Fragile
Review 19 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Fresco Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elkele
,Brooklyn
,NY
April 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Beeutiful!!
April 11, 2012
I have yet to cook with it, I'm waiting to get a flame tamer to put underneath when it cooks.
The piece itself is beautiful. with a raised hand painted design, very middle eastern and old world.
Pros: Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight