This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Tunisian Hand-Painted Floral Tagine

Hand painted by a single artist, this earthenware dish can be used to cook and serve traditional North African tagines, as well as couscous and rice dishes. The cone-shaped cover funnels condensation directly back to the food for moist, tender results. The traditional Tunisian pattern is painted by hand using food-safe paints and glazes. Hand-thrown clay retains heat well for serving directly at the table. Oven and microwave safe. Handmade in Tunisia. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tunisian Hand-Painted Floral Tagine
Review 1 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Floral Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynlaine
,Dacula
,GA
September 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
First time user of a Tangine
September 1, 2014
So far, I've only cooked sweet potatoes and butternut squash in it and it was so tender and flavorful! I bought a cook book and look forward to trying other recipes. This particular tangine is glazed and it's my understanding it doesn't need to be seasoned. It worked perfectly and clean up was easy too. It's also beautiful and I leave it on my island.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Shape, Design
Review 2 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Floral Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clogcathy
,Albany
,NY
August 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Memories of Morocco
August 25, 2014
I ordered this tagine for my daughter who spent two years in Morocco in the Peace Corps. She was very pleased with it so I ordered another for her sister, both excellent cooks. The dish is authentic and decorations very pleasing. I was delighted to find this at WS, something that is not normally sole in stores.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Fragile
Review 3 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Floral Tagine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dinie
,Oklahoma City
,ok
August 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Hole in lid?
August 17, 2014
I bought my tagine in the store, and it didn't come with any instructions. The hole in the lid is filled with what looks like caulking, but it's hard and can't be removed by hand. I asked the store clerks whether I was supposed to drill the hole, but no one knew the answer. Will drilling a hole give a better tagine result? Can you give me some suggestions?
Pros: Color, Shape
Cons: can't figure out how best to use.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
MomOfChef
Texas
Posted September 1, 2014
Hole in lid
If you put a hole in the lid you totally defeat the purpose of the cooking style of a Tagine. The idea is to keep the steam inside the tagine for moist food. This is the very basics of a tagine. Google and read more on the internet.
0points
Customer avatar
SuSu2
NY
Posted August 23, 2014
I hope this helps
My W-S blue & white clay tagine has a hole in the top of the lid to let the steam out. So I think you should exchange your tagine for one without obstructions in the hole. Then it's very important to follow the seasoning directions under "use & care" on the W-S product webpage & use a heat diffuser with stove top cooking. I recommend buying a tagine recipe cookbook. I find Pat Crocker's "150 Best Tagine Recipes" cookbook inexpensive & very easy to follow and also highly recommend W-S Ras El Hanout spice blend.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Tunisian Hand-Painted Floral Tagine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AllieB
,Bogalusa
,LA
December 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Friendly and Fun!
December 30, 2013
I ordered 2 of these for myself and have used the 2 coordinating tagines. Did the chicken with olives with preserved lemons in one and an eggplant, butternut squash, sweet potato, onion, raisins, dates, and dried apricot dish in the other. Used the heat diffusers for stovetop. Used the oven. No problems. My friend and I had a wonderful afternoon and evening! Beautiful presentation! Great fun cooking with a friend. Also bought one for him at Christmas! Love them!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, just plain fun!