Truffle & Salt

Capturing the seductive earthy character of Italian black truffles, this specialty salt from Italy will soon become one of your most frequently used ingredients. Its richly nuanced flavor enhances everything from grilled meats and roasted potatoes to scrambled eggs and buttered popcorn. Sea salt is blended with a generous amount of Italy's fresh black summer truffles from Abruzzi. Sprinkle on foods as a finishing touch before serving. 3.5-oz. jar. Made in Italy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.592 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
45 of 49(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Truffle & Salt
Review 1 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JaneTheEpicure
,San Mateo
,CA
October 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great finishing salt, great gift
October 7, 2012
If you love truffles, you can't beat this. If you don't, this is not for you.
This is a truffle infused finishing salt that's wonderful on a wide variety of things from steak to stew, popcorn to eggs, risotto to mac 'n cheese.
I keep this on hand to add that special something to dishes. It is strong, so a little dab'll do you. As a result, it lasts a really long time (over 2 years for me), so the price is well worth it.
I've given the truffle salt to a variety of people as holiday gifts and they've all loved it. I noticed a few people said they didn't like it, but they also said they weren't familiar with truffles...
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alysiab123
,Loveland
,Co
October 1, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing spice- no need for regular salt!
October 1, 2012
This is my go to salt right now. Even opening the jar and smelling the truffle aroma brings a smile to my face. This kicks up any vegetable and is great in pasta dishes. I just put it on flank steak and got rave reviews. The salt is very fine and does not overpower the truffle taste. I will be purchasing this again!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
July 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decadent Pantry Addition
July 12, 2012
Since I am not so conveniently located anywhere near Italy, this is as close to the real thing as I often get.
This salt is fantastic on any potato dish, popcorn, and plain steaks with a bit of pepper. It inspires you to play around with the truffle flavour.
Truffles are a very unique flavour and this salt gives you the chance to conveniently and inexpensively infuse your dishes with its heady aroma and flavour.
I realize a lot of purists take issue with truffle salts and butters, but I think they should lighten up, take a bite, enjoy this little bit of Italy and smile.
Recommended.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 4 for Truffle & Salt
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dancingpastrychef
,Jackson
,MI
July 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-18points
1of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Love it or Hate it Item
July 4, 2012
I was very disappointed in this purchase. The smell is overwhelming for me and I just didn't care for it. I was thinking it would smell and taste like mushrooms, which I love, but sadly it does not. I can't even describe it as there's nothing else to compare it to that I can think of. I wish I had been able to smell it in advance of the purchase. I would not buy it again and wish that I had saved the $28.
Pros: none
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor, price
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Paul214
Dallas, TX
Posted April 1, 2014
It's Truffle & Salt, not Mushroom & Salt
Truffles are very different from mushrooms and have a very distinctive smell. This Truffle & Salt blend is just what it is. It is a 5-star item if you like truffles.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JTak
,Honolulu
,HI
February 25, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Practically Delicious on Everything
February 25, 2012
Really great over fresh popcorn, mashed potatoes & macaroni and cheese. Incredibly fragrant & delicious.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
muskie
,Marshfield
,WI
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavorizer
January 1, 2012
We really enjoy the flavor that this truffle and salt gives to steaks. We did give the ones that we ordered to my son and son in law so they too can taste the goodness of this products. It only takes a few pinches scattered over the meat.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 7 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tahoma
,Rancho Palos Verdes
,Ca
December 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving
December 30, 2011
I used this salt in my mashed potato recipe and everyone loved them. The flavor mixed very well with my tawny port gravy. We only change our Thanksgiving menu if it's really good because everyone expects a very good meal full of their favorites. I will be using the truffle salt again for sure! I will also be testing it in other dishes. It smells so good too!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 8 for Truffle & Salt
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
madpots
,Las Vegas
,NV
December 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Truffle salt
December 29, 2011
I am not sure I like the truffle flavor. I have never used truffle before and the salt seems a little strong with an odd flavor. This is just my personal taste.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Disappointing
Review 9 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimplyGood
,Holland Twp.
,NJ
December 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
December 26, 2011
I use this salt on bare popcorn with olive oil spray. It's low cal, low fat and gourmet!
Pros: Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 10 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EmilyBee
,Alexandria
,VA
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Popcorn
November 27, 2011
Yes, it's great on meats, poultry, and to finish soups and salads, but you should really try this on popcorn. It's fantastic.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
traybone
,Dallas
,TX
November 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful flavor addition
November 10, 2011
Wonderful rich taste that works very will with eggs and meats as other reviews have suggested. Happy with my purchase and would purchase again.
Pros: Decadent, Flavor
Review 12 for Truffle & Salt
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nalogirl
,DC
October 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good but little pricy...
October 26, 2011
It is good salt and will add nice touch. Little pricy but I like to keep it in my pantry all the time.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: pricy
Review 13 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
psgal
palm springs, ca
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A good finishing touch
September 6, 2011
I hesitated ordering this because of the price, but it is worth every cent! i have used it as a finishing touch on quite a few things and am very pleased. I will definitely reorder this product.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 14 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlackS
Atlanta, GA
September 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth Every Penny
September 2, 2011
I'd heard good things about this product and was hesitant to spend the money, but figured it was worth a shot to see what all the fuss is about.
It's divine, and a little goes a long way. Just the tiniest pinch of salt on scrambled eggs is so delicious. We also like it on a caprese salad. I think it would also be very good on potatoes of any kind and will try it soon on popcorn.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 15 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Huey30
Emerald Hills, ca
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional
July 12, 2011
We first bought this item at the Ferry Building market at SF----- have searched for it everywhere. Meant to be used as a light sprinkle right before serving. Exceptional on Asparagus, sweet corn, cream soups, avacado half and someone even recommended it on popcorn! but I haven't tried it. Use sparingly, as it goes a long way. Seems extravagant, but actually lasts a long
time.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 16 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GettysburgGourmand
Gettysburg, PA
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new secret ingredient
January 2, 2011
First let me begin with saying, I use very little salt when cooking. I use this product lightly as a finishing salt. The taste of truffles is very subtle but it gives the food another dimension. I have recently become convinced this is a product restaurants use to give the finished piece a more complex taste--all the while leaving one to wonder, "mmmmmm, what is that?".
We recently sprinkled our baked sweet potato chips with a bit of this and they were delicious. I used it atop a creamy soup this past weekend. If you are trying to make a truffle tasting dish, this is not for you-- buy the real thing, dried or oil for that purpose. This is a very nice little last perk of flavor for your dishes.
Review 17 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breinamont
MIchigan
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's a Wow
December 31, 2010
This salt will take your food from good to amazing!
Review 18 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ecpower
Orange County, CA
December 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pricey, but tasty
December 22, 2010
I had a gift card to use, so was able to try this product without paying full price. It is very tasty, a lovely full truffle taste, but not overpowering. Really lovely on a good ripe avocado, for instance. I don't know if I would buy it if I had to pay full price, but I must say it is very very good.
Review 19 for Truffle & Salt
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
VA
December 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
too little truffle flavor
December 15, 2010
Perhaps we don't much salt or maybe our jar wasn't as strong as others', but by the time we tasted the truffles, we had far over-salted the food to the point we could not enjoy it.
We're fans of truffle oil, but this was a disappointment.
Review 20 for Truffle & Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dhlh
ky
November 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Right
November 2, 2010
We purchased this after tasting truffle fries at a Nashville resturant. We don't live there and wanted to recreate the flavor. This was perfect! Now we get to enjoy the flavor anytime and we use just a little so this will last a long time. it is also wonderful on eggs...Worth the price!
page1 2 3 next