Tre Spade Italian Tomato Press

This supremely efficient tomato press extracts every ounce of pulp and juice from whole tomatoes, to make pasata di pomodoro - the tomato puree that is the base of sauces for such favorites as pizza and lasagna. Ultra-efficient tomato press assembles quickly and extracts pulp and juice with minimal waste. Secures easily to the edge of a table or counter, where the juice and pulp drain into your saucepan or bowl resting below. Can also be used to make applesauce and other fruit and vegetable purees. Made of aluminum and BPA-free plastic. Compact, professional-quality press has a durable hand-crank mechanism and disassembles easily. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.25 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
1 of 4(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tre Spade Italian Tomato Press
Review 1 for Tre Spade Italian Tomato Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CharlesB
,Moorestown
,NJ
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It Leaks. What else do you need to know?
September 23, 2013
We bought the tomato press to replace one which has done yeoman service over at least 15 years, but which has recently begun to leak where the shaft emerges from the body. We read several positive reviewes of the Tre Spade press, and although one reviewer complained of leaking, several comments noted that it was possible to assemble the machine incorrectly, which might cause it to leak.
The one we purchased immediately began to leak around the shaft at the handle end. When the liquid level rose above the level of the metal housing, leakage also occurred between the plastic funnel and the housing. It is NOT assembled wrong. There is no way to make a mistake in assembly. It just is badly designed.
We will continue to use it, being sure to cover the surrounding counter and floor with paper towels, but I would strongly advise against the purchase of one of these.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, it leaks
Review 2 for Tre Spade Italian Tomato Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BCarlson
,Saint Paul
,MN
August 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I would rather squeeze tomatoes by hand
August 22, 2013
I was so excited for this tomato press and unfortunately it failed in every way possible. Leaked everywhere, from the handle and out then end, everywhere! The spill pan was far to low to put a bowl under - must be for someone making individual portions of sauce, definitely not for canning large amounts of tomatoes. And to top it off it was difficult to clean. The only saving grace was that I bought it at William Sonoma whose customer service is always fantastic and promptly refunded me.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 3 for Tre Spade Italian Tomato Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hoot1945
,Roswell
,GA
Roswell, GA
September 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tre Spade Italian Tomato Press Model BT
September 7, 2012
I bought today and used for a small batch of tomatoes. I filled up the hopper and used a wooden spoon to feed the quartered pieces in. I recycled the "residue" as it still had moisture in it. That helped because by that point I had filled up the pump and nothing more came out. So you need more than a hopper full if you want to get the most juice out. Bottom line is that it worked great.
I added a comment to LUCYL's review because I had no leakage experience.
Likes: does more than press tomatoes. Second, the business parts are all-metal and seem well built for a long service life.
Negatives: difficult to clean is going to apply to any food strainer. The whole unit has to be washed by hand which is not a big deal except the strainer. You need a toothbrush to clean after letting it soak. You also need to make sure you have a place to mount this thing with room for residue bowl and a "product" bowl. If you want to see how to mount on a chair, see the youtube video!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, needs substantial place to mount
Review 4 for Tre Spade Italian Tomato Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LacyL
,St Petersburg
,FL
St. Petersburg, FL
May 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Maybe it's me
May 23, 2012
Am I doing something wrong? We picked 50 lbs of fresh tomatoes in the fields yesterday, and I was looking forward to using this press for homemade sauce. It's messy...the handle leaks, the set of the bowl is too high under the drip piece, the tomato comes out the end as well as the spiral piece, there was a lot of waste, and I found it very cheaply made for $80. Am I supposed to blanche the tomatoes and skin them first? I ended up using the trusty VitaMix and this will end up in a garage sale.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Hoot1945
Roswell, GA
Posted September 7, 2012
How to fix the leaks!
I almost did not buy this Tomato Press because of the above review comments about leaking. But it was on sale! I used it today and it was flawless. I noticed that my instructions describe two models: Model BT and one with no Model number. The assembly is similar but differs with the placement of the seal (part M) and spring (part F) which are located inside the housing on my Model BT but are outside the housing on the No Model number unit. The latter also has an adjusting screw that would contribute to leakage if not adjusted per the instructions. My instruction sheet has an additional label on the front saying it is model BT. Hope this helps solve your problem. (Also it may be possible to install the part M backwards which would most surely leak a bunch.) OBTW if this does not help, take it back to the store for help.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)