Traditional Flour Sifter

Convenient to use, this stainless-steel sifter helps to aerate flour and give it more volume, ensuring a standard measure and uniform texture in baked goods. Stainless-steel sifter holds a generous five cups. An easy crank of the handle passes a rotary blade across a fine metal screen for even, thorough sifting. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
11 of 15(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Traditional Flour Sifter
Review 1 for Traditional Flour Sifter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hhb108
,Greenwich
,CT
February 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expedites the Baking Process
February 23, 2014
Love this sifter. So much better and faster than using a traditional sifter/strainer and tapping it with a spoon! I am able to quickly sift all of my dry ingredients, and this helps me create a fluffier and lighter product (read: more delicious)! It's easy to clean too, and fits right in my cupboards, while looking very nice and fancy! A must-buy for any baker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, sifts fast
Review 2 for Traditional Flour Sifter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrueBlueBlood
,Boston
,MA
December 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just as helpful as always...
December 21, 2013
This is one of my all time favorite baking tools. It's just exactly like my grandmother's sifter and just as helpful and QUICK as always. In my baking, I sift everything and this stores easily and is always ready to go!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Traditional Flour Sifter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lupo
,Wake Forest
,NC
October 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just pretty!
October 7, 2013
Best lookin' sifter ever. Unfortunately, the rotating bail only touches the screen at one very small spot on two of the four rings and not at all on the other two. Takes up to 5 minutes to sift 1 cup of flour and forget corn meal. Have gone back to my trusty, if rusty, older sifter.
Review 4 for Traditional Flour Sifter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dottie4
,Olathe
,KS
August 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great 5-cup sifter
August 10, 2013
I have been looking for a 5-cup sifter locally and recently found it on Williams Sonoma's website. It is a simple old-fashioned sifter which enables me to double recipes easily.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Traditional Flour Sifter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
amberleigh
,lake jackson
,tx
lake jackson, tx.
June 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not as expected
June 14, 2013
I am disappointed in the quality of this sifter because I was expecting something more substantial in weight & thickness. When I received it, I thought it was made of aluminum, not stainless steel. The sides flex quite a bit, like aluminum. I'm keeping it because I threw out my old sifter before this one arrived. I shall keep looking for a better one.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, Weight
Review 6 for Traditional Flour Sifter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jan13
,Aledo
,TX
May 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Traditional is best!
May 6, 2013
Easy to use. Traditional is best in this case. Small enough to store easily ,yet large enough to sift more than 1 cup.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Traditional Flour Sifter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Delray Beach
,FL
March 4, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Turning back the clock...
March 4, 2013
I got lots of smiles from my wife on this one. She had inherited a sifter from her grandmother that was on its last legs. Actually the screen bottom had rusted out. So this new one arrived and is almost identical, even down to the little wooden knob. She was delighted. I scored points. What I haven't scored is a pie, but I'm hopeful. Thanks WS.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, historical
Review 8 for Traditional Flour Sifter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sugarspice
,Belmont
,CA
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Speeds Up Sifting
January 16, 2013
After eyeing this sifter for some time, I bought it before starting my holiday baking. It really helped speed up the sifting process and was more efficient than sifting on a piece of paper. It also reduces spillage. You can sift a fair amount at one time, but there is a limit. If you are sifting multiple ingredients together and the amount is greater than what the sifter can handle, I suggest dividing them evenly first.
The sieve part of the sifter is malleable, so be careful in how you store it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 9 for Traditional Flour Sifter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Counselor40
,Newport
,NC
January 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sifts evenly and efficiently
January 14, 2013
The four scraping wires efficiently sift flour. Design and construction are traditional and sound. Now I have accurate measure of dry ingredients and a measureable improvement in consistent results for baked goods.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, stainless steel
Review 10 for Traditional Flour Sifter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
emorgan816
,Reno
,NV
December 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flimsy Sifter
December 21, 2012
I was so disappointed in this sifter. Why is this getting so many good reviews?! It is very flimsy and gets stuck if you put more than like a cup of flour in it. I ended up just hitting the side of the sifter with my hand to get the flour through as that was much quicker than trying to crank it. I think I can get a better sifter at a dollar store. Don't bother with this one.
Cons: Quality
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SuSu
Asheville, NC
Posted May 7, 2013
Top 25 Contributor
Fabulous Sifter
I am an avid baker and use this sifter 2-3 per week. I have had it for over 3-4 years and it performs admirably. It sifts beautifully up to five cups and cleans up quickly and easily since it is stainless. Sometimes, I place it in the dishwasher instead of hand washing and it has stood up to the test. I love the little hand crank as it is very easy on your hands vs. the squeeze handle sifters. Really love this sifter! Liked it so much, I purchased one for my 90 year old aunt who has severe arthritis in her hands. She is an accomplished baker and loves this sifter as much as I do and it doesn't hurt her hands to sift. Buy this sifter! You will not be disappointed.
0points
Customer avatar
feather89
Tunkhannock, Pa
Posted December 27, 2012
Traditional flour sifter
I am considering this sifter...All the other reviews are good! Are you holding it right side up? Did you try to return it as Williams Sonoma is a wonderful company.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Traditional Flour Sifter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zoltman1
,Ann Arbor
,MI
December 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great flour sifter
December 9, 2012
I purchased this sifter to create light waffles and pie crusts. This kitchen tool worked well for me. It makes sifting large quantities of flour a snap. It's very easy to use and clean. A tool worth having in your kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 12 for Traditional Flour Sifter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lida
,Milwaukeer
,WI
November 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easier to Use Sifter
November 16, 2012
I needed a sifter that was easier to use than my old one. Due to arthritis I can no longer squeeze the handle of my old sifter. This turn crank works easily allowing me to do more baking. The styling is beautiful too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Traditional Flour Sifter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SNOOKUMZ56
,Niceville
,FL
November 7, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Traditional Flour Sifter Was Great!
November 7, 2012
I purchased this traditional flour sifter for my wife and she loved it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 14 for Traditional Flour Sifter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3birds
,WA
June 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FLIMSY AND AWKWARD
June 4, 2012
I have to say that I am so disappointed in this flour sifter. I expected it to be much sturdier than a grocery store model. The handle is so flimsy and uncomfortable. If you try to hold the sifter by the can it is flimsy and awkward. There is no good way to hold it so you can turn the crank. Flour comes through ok, but the crank tends to catch frequently, if you have more than 1/2 a cup inside. Don't waste your money. I expected so much more from Williams Sonoma.
Pros: Size
Cons: Quality, not easy to use
Review 15 for Traditional Flour Sifter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,Melbourne
,Fl
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A good Sifter at last!
January 9, 2012
At last I have a sifter that works beautifully--it is easy to use, will not rust, the wire is fine enough to do a fine sift, and it is light weight. I recommend this--it meets Williams Sonoma standard--and mine!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight