This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Traditional Fish Spatula

Featuring a design long favored by professional chefs, this stainless-steel spatula's flexible head slides neatly beneath fish without breaking the delicate flesh, while slots allow cooking oil or poaching liquid to drain back into the pan.Ultraflexible 18/10 stainless-steel head has rounded corners to slip under delicate fish fillets and turn them without damage.Long slots let liquids drain back into the pan.Wood handle is lacquered for moisture-resistance and double riveted for strength.
Average Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
33 of 35(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Traditional Fish Spatula
Review 1 for Traditional Fish Spatula
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Karensha
,Miami
,FL
April 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Well contructed spatula
April 22, 2013
I got this spatula after my trusted Wusthoff spatula's handle melted in the oven. I had not even realized that the handle was plastic!! I got this spatula after reading several reviews. It is really well constructed and it has a wooden handle... However, it lacks a beveled end. My old spatula had a beveled end that made it easy to release crepes, pancakes etc. very neatly and precisely, this has a blunt edge so the end result is not as precise. But other than that, it is a great tool to have around the kitchen - great balance and feel and teh size is perfect for everyday tasks - frying eggs, small fillets of fish or chicken, burger patties etc.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile
Review 2 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Traditional is Best!
June 26, 2012
I was looking for another spatula other than the nylon, silicone or wooden versions. Of course, if I am using non-stick pans, I use the nylon or silicone version. Although, I have used carefully with non-stick pans and it works just fine. Quite light and cleans well. Good price point compared to other more expensive brands. Don't let the wooden handle fool you.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 3 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lunasea
,Orlando
,FL
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Couldn't Be Happier!
January 5, 2012
Bought this as a gift for my boyfriend and he loved it. This was the exact design/size he had been looking for - and it was also flexible, making handling the fish easy without breaking it. Great value - and it sure made my favorite fisherman happy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
masont23
,sylva
,nc
October 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
We love it!
October 15, 2011
My husband loves it. We have been wanting one for awhile. works perfect.
Review 5 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TonyinMtDora
Central Florida
August 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A Basic Need!
August 1, 2011
Every chef/cook should posess this item. It is not only wonderful for fish but other delicate items as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
daddyo1269
Bowling Green, KY
June 25, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
best for professionals
June 25, 2011
perfect size and weight..thin enought for the most delicate of food,,i.e. fish,eggs and foie..but sturdy enought to always feel sure handed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grannycookinjersey
South Jersey
June 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This spatula is smokin
June 21, 2011
I love this spatula. My friend liked it so I ordered one for her for her birthday
Review 8 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
prologue
Surf City, N.C.
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Versatile tool.
April 4, 2011
This spatula looks good, feels good in your hand, and is fast becoming my favorite tool in the kitchen. I bought it to use with fish, but now find it great for eggs, and chicken strips as well. Anything dealing with a sauce or greese/oil that you don't want to wear, this is your tool.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 9 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DMAW
NY
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
What you've been missing in your kitchen
January 1, 2011
This Fish Spatula is hands down one of my favorite cooking utensils. It may feel light and flimsy but it's anything but. It's very much the work horse of my kitchen. Aside from just fish (which is why it's so thin and delicate feeling) i use this for HEAVY meats, veggies and a host of other thing. DO NOT BE SCARED BY IT'S APPEARANCE. Surprisingly, is not delicate at all.
Review 10 for Traditional Fish Spatula
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NedC
Detroit, MI
December 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Its one fault is its right handed bias
December 14, 2010
I use this spatula almost daily, it is thin enough to get under delicate foods without tearing yet sturdy enough to turn over steaks or burgers. The price point is unbeatable for the quality. However, I'm left handed and this item hasa built in bias against me so I recently ordered a proper left handed Lansom Sharp model at nearly twice this one's price.
Review 11 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oak5230
Casper, WY
October 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
NO KITCHEN SHOULD BE WITHOUT THIS!
October 30, 2010
This is the MOST used tool, ever. Mine is almost 20 years old, I got it at WS years ago. This is the first thing I look for a gift for newlyweds, open houses, you name it. It's my best friend.
Made VERY well too, won't fall apart because of that! :-)
You owe yourself one of these.
Review 12 for Traditional Fish Spatula
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
fishin
delran, nj
August 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
not my favorite fish spatula
August 25, 2010
It was a little to flimsy for me. I'm thinging of getting one from all-clad. It may cost alot more but I think it looks much more sturdier and larger.
Review 13 for Traditional Fish Spatula
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChefFrosty
Waterford, MIchigan
August 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Perfect for any delicate foods
August 10, 2010
This is just the tool I needed for turning delicate foods such as fish and eggs. The thin edge slides under food items rather than pushes them to the edge.
Review 14 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mismax
Houston, MS
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
A Must Have for Fish
June 25, 2010
This spatula cannot be beat for turning fish. I purchased the more expensive All Clad fish spatula a few months ago, and after only 1 trip through the dishwasher, it had rust spots and stains, plus it was not as sturdy as this one. Although you can't put this in the dishwasher, it works much better than the All Clad.
Review 15 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gastronome
Newcastle, WA
June 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
noticeably more useful than other spatulas
June 7, 2010
My husband saw an enthusiastic review of this spatula in The Wine Spectator magazine and bought one for my birthday . I thought it was a strange present, but when I used it I was surprised at what an effective tool it is. It is so thin and flexible on the one hand and easily slides under the food, yet on the other hand it is made of metal and therefore doesn't bend at the tip when you hit something that's stuck to the pan. I use it for most fried foods. It's great for turning eggs and fish cakes, but I usually (but not always) avoid using it in non-stick pans. Buy it; you'll like it!
Review 16 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unctarheel
ashevile nc
May 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
favorite spatula for everything
May 17, 2010
this is great product. thin to get under food yet strong enough to support it. there is nothing that isn't perfectly designed. you will love this
Review 17 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tlee77
Las Vegas, NV
May 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My Favorite Spatula
May 10, 2010
I love this spatula because it can be used, with ease, not only for fish but for foods that you are frying or poaching. It is just at the right angle for turning food. I recommend this spatula for everyone.
Review 18 for Traditional Fish Spatula
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gmck
PA
February 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Fish spatula
February 8, 2010
It's a nice fish spatula, nothing special, rather pricey.
Review 19 for Traditional Fish Spatula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaniGirl
Sacramento Ca
December 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
I cook for a living.
December 15, 2009
I work at Henry's steakhouse In the Red Hawk casino in California. I am there saute cook. Easily i cook fish 25 times a night and this turner is amazing... If your just cooking at home or doing it professionally, this is the tool for fish, crab cakes, or chicken. Better yet i don't risk dropping the fish like i have done with tongs.
Review 20 for Traditional Fish Spatula
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Angel7
Cape Cod, Ma
December 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
disappointed
December 2, 2009
I was disappointed because the wooden handle was too short. I had to be really careful not to burn my hand on the edge of my pan when turning the fish. I went back to using my regular spatula. A waste of money for me.
page1 2 next