This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Tortilla Press

Tortillas are a staple of Mexico, Central America and the southwestern United States. This hinged cast-aluminum press allows you to prepare fresh ones at home. It flattens balls of masa (specially ground cornmeal dough) into griddle-ready disks.
Average Customer Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
18 of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tortilla Press
Review 1 for Tortilla Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kava
,Landenberg
,PA
July 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Don't waste your money
July 20, 2012
I don't know if I'm doing something wrong or not as there were no directions that came with this product. Reading other reviews from other sites, I used parchment paper on both plates and put the ball of dough almost to the top edge of the press. It really didn't press the dough that much, nowhere close to the edge of the press. I ended up taking out my trusty rolling pin and finishing my tortillas that way. I guess I should have done that in the first place. Oh well, live and learn.
Review 2 for Tortilla Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seamus83
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Almost Decent
March 16, 2011
The pics look like this is a decent inexpensive press if you're wanting it for every day. The problem is that it is actually not made of sturdy construction. I sent mine back.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Tortilla Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
peacemommie
NC
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Not good quality !!!!
September 13, 2010
Extremely light weight!! Not the best thing when making tortillas. Did NOT expect this from WS.
Review 4 for Tortilla Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
advancr
Medford, OR
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
So-So gadget
August 30, 2010
The tortilla maker does what it is supposed to. I found that it's hard to make perfectly round tortillas, though, because when you press the dough, it ends up hitting the pin and hinged areas and tends to break off the dough or cause an odd shape. The press would be so much better if it were at least 10 inch; 12 inch would be perfect.
Review 5 for Tortilla Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mandap
Milwaukee, WI
June 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
My new favorite kitchen tool!
June 29, 2010
Makes great tortillas! Very easy to use and clean!
Review 6 for Tortilla Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meowcat
Central Maryland
June 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Ok, but not great
June 23, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, small, does what it's supposed to
Cons: Too lightweight, not hinged, hinge pin is too easy to lose (there is a pin that can fall out), just OK quality
I expected better quality from WS and this product. The pin is very annoying and can fall out easily. I'm very afraid of losing it. I would prefer a fixed hinge on this item rather than a hinge pin.
Would have received 4 or 5 stars if it had a hinge.
Review 7 for Tortilla Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alevine
San Francisco, CA
May 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
So easy to use
May 11, 2010
I am so happy that I purchased this product. Making homemade tortillas is a cinch with this product. We made almost forty tortillas for a party with almost no effort, and they were a hit. People went back for fourths!
Review 8 for Tortilla Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AmateurAmalia
West Des Moines, IA
February 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Review from the Midwest
February 21, 2010
After several unsuccessful attempts using the tortilla press, I learned some very helpful tips to create PERFECT homemade tortillas. I used masa flour, and what I found is that the dough is best to sit at room temperature for at least 30 minutes, so it won't stick to the press. Also, when using the press, do NOT press too hard; this is very important. It is a super easy tool to use and very easy to clean. I would recommend this tortilla press to any home cook!
Review 9 for Tortilla Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzwood
Little Rock, AR
February 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Perfect Tortilla Press
February 8, 2010
I love this tortilla press! It makes the perfect size tortilla's for taqueria style tacos. Use a walnut size ball of mesa & don't press too hard. The tortilla press really does the work for you.
It may take a few more attempts to really perfect them, but well worth it. Once your tortilla's are cooked, keep them wrapped in a cloth napkin or towel & the steam will keep them pliable.
Enjoy!
Review 10 for Tortilla Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Yuma, AZ
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My favorite press for making Tortilla
January 9, 2010
Very easy to be used and cleaned
very simple and effictive tool
Review 11 for Tortilla Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mexicanfoodaficionado
Tulsa, OK
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Tortilla press
January 7, 2010
Love it, the quality is great and works great too!!! My only wish is if it came in a slightly bigger size.
Review 12 for Tortilla Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
espainter
Virginia
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Tortilla Press
January 2, 2010
This was a gift and the recipient is quite pleased with it. He says it makes fixing Mexican dishes a snap.
Review 13 for Tortilla Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
December 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Nice press -- wish it were bigger
December 1, 2009
I ordered this from the Williams-Sonoma web site because I could not find one I liked in a store. WS (at least, in my area) doesn't even carry this one in its store. It's well-made and makes easy work of pressing out masa. I just wish it were bigger. And, although this could also be an issue with the particular masa I use, when I press out tortillas they shrink up quite a bit and make for very small tortillas. Still, it's preferable to rolling out a bunch of tortillas by hand when you just need to get it done. It's a good tool.
Review 14 for Tortilla Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FBNana
Markham TX
September 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Tortilla Press
September 8, 2009
This is good for making small tortillas. I had to press each flattened ball about 10 times & flipped it over between presses. 8 tortillas gave my arms a good workout! Wish there was one about 2" bigger, too! Husband & I enjoyed the fresh, homemade taste & the ability to make the tortilla as thin as we like!
Review 15 for Tortilla Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sullygirl
Laguna Beach, CA
July 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best Tortilla Press Yet
July 16, 2009
This tortilla press is well worth it's rate, it is lightweight yet durable and easy to use.
Review 16 for Tortilla Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chief
Texas
February 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Size matters
February 26, 2009
The press was too small. Had it been 10", the press would have been perfect. Six inches is just not big enough. The product did make great little sized tortillas.
Review 17 for Tortilla Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crane
February 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Tortilla Press
February 25, 2009
I bought this based on the reviews. I'm so glad I did. Ofcourse I could get by without it and continue to use a rolling pin but this works perfectly. Finally I was able to get a tortilla that was uniform in size and thickness. It really is a life saver when making a large batch of tortillas.
Review 18 for Tortilla Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EmilyJB
Nashville, TN
January 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
handy gadget
January 19, 2009
I like to rate my kitchen gadgets on the amount of trouble they actually save me relative to the trouble they give me (e.g. a good garlic press would be a five.) So, this one gets a four 1/2--it's worth buying. It's very compact.
I cut rounds out of the worked masa for uniform tortillas, and I used wax paper in the press. The tortillas were thicker than I'd expected and I couldn't make them any larger than about 4 in. diameter w/o smashing one side too thin. I have rolled out tortillas between a silicone mat and wax paper, which allows a bit more control over the tortilla in size and thickness. However, once I accepted the terms of the press, I put out about 15 tortillas in 15 minutes (cooking on two pans) which was a little faster and definetly less hectic than the roll-out method. Some broke on their way to the pan (add more masa to the mix if that's happening constantly.) They were quite as pliable and well-textured as the rolled ones, and easy to fill and eat done one at a time.
Review 19 for Tortilla Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flowergirl
Lancaster, KY
October 29, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Tortilla press
October 29, 2008
This is one of the handiest gadget I have purchased in a long time. It works great and was fairly inexpensive. I'm so glad I found it on the internet at Williams-Sonomo website. Thanks!
Review 20 for Tortilla Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wil2paint
Union City, CA
October 16, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
My new favorite tool
October 16, 2008
The tortilla press is a multi tasker. Instead of pounding out chicken when you want thinner pieces try using the tortilla press. It is quicker, quieter and the results are perfect every time. I love my new favorite kitchen tool!
page1 2 next