Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce

Signature versions of this creamy curry sauce have become favorites in Indian restaurants around the world. Maya Kaimal's recipe starts with a blend of ripe tomato puree and traditional regional seasonings, including garam masala spices and freshly toasted cumin seeds. The sauce's velvety richness comes from a combination of sweet butter, yogurt and half-and-half, enhanced by the subtle heat of fresh ginger and Serrano green chilies. 16 fl. oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
Review 1 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CA
June 6, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
I am going to miss this sauce!
June 6, 2016
This was the best sauce for a quick dinner. I just cubed chicken breast, cooked it in a pan and dumped this sauce in. We ate it over rice. So good and quick. I'm going to miss it!!! Bring it back or tell me what stores still have it!
Pros: Amount, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Review 2 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,North Las Vegas
,NV
November 12, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Superb Sauce
November 12, 2015
I have been purchasing this sauce for several years -- incredible depth of flavor, intense, rich and spicy. Preference is to use cubed chicken breast and serve chicken and sauce over bed of rice. I use less than the recommended amount of meat so I have more sauce with the rice.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 3 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,North Haven
,CT
September 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Dinner prep made easy
September 8, 2015
The Tikka Masala sauce has become a pantry standby for a tasty weeknight dinner with chicken or shrimp. We found the sauce to be a bit mild for our taste, but it is easily tweaked with the addition of a bit more spice. Served with rice and naan for mopping up the sauce, it makes for a very nice meal.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Review 4 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Kea'au
,HI
March 18, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
One of Our Favorite Sauces
March 18, 2015
We love these sauces. Follow any suggestions printed on the label - you won't go wrong! Tweek it a little with other spices, explore with flavorings, and surprise yourself!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 5 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Royal Oaks
,CA
Royal Oaks, CA
September 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Never Without!!
September 2, 2014
This is always in my cupboard. It is the best and easy for dinner after a busy day at work.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 6 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Miami
,Fl
April 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Buy This Sauce!
April 29, 2013
This was incredible over organic skinless/boneless chicken thighs & breasts in the Dutch oven! I served it with basmati rice and naan bread. Will definitely buy this again.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Houston
,MS
Houston, MS
July 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Not what I was hoping for
July 21, 2012
This sauce was not as good as I had hoped. We love tikka masala, but this sauce had a super punch of curry that made my kitchen reek for 2 days. Hoping the vindaloo sauce will be better.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, smell, Flavor
Review 8 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Honolulu
,HI
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
I Could Eat This Every Night!
April 29, 2012
My boyfriend and I love Indian food but living in Hawaii doesn't provide many opportunities to get Indian. There is one place we like and it's always packed so I wanted something I could make at home to have a relaxing quiet meal. Around Christmas time I found this and got it for my boyfriend to at least try and we both LOVED it! The flavor is absolutely perfect! I made it with chicken and some basmati rice. The cooking time is so short and easy, it makes a good meal any night of the week. I only wish there was a bit more in the jar, we like to mix a lot of the sauce with our rice so this only makes about enough for 3 dishes (so not quite enough for us to both have leftovers). I have had it a couple times now and just can't get enough!!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 9 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Huntington, NY
January 25, 2012
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Delicious!
January 25, 2012
My husband and I LOVE this sauce. When I became vegetarian, I was sad to give up my favorite Indian dish -- chicken tikka masala -- but with this sauce, we make tofu tikka masala or Quorn tikka masala and it is AMAZING! We plan to try it with seitan next. This is the best tikka masala sauce ever!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor