Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce

Signature versions of this creamy curry sauce have become favorites in Indian restaurants around the world. Maya Kaimal's recipe starts with a blend of ripe tomato puree and traditional regional seasonings, including garam masala spices and freshly toasted cumin seeds. The sauce's velvety richness comes from a combination of sweet butter, yogurt and half-and-half, enhanced by the subtle heat of fresh ginger and Serrano green chilies. 16 fl. oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
Review 1 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mjpino
,Miami
,Fl
April 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buy This Sauce!
April 29, 2013
This was incredible over organic skinless/boneless chicken thighs & breasts in the Dutch oven! I served it with basmati rice and naan bread. Will definitely buy this again.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 2 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mismax
,Houston
,MS
Houston, MS
July 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what I was hoping for
July 21, 2012
This sauce was not as good as I had hoped. We love tikka masala, but this sauce had a super punch of curry that made my kitchen reek for 2 days. Hoping the vindaloo sauce will be better.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, smell, Flavor
Review 3 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laurie711
,Honolulu
,HI
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Could Eat This Every Night!
April 29, 2012
My boyfriend and I love Indian food but living in Hawaii doesn't provide many opportunities to get Indian. There is one place we like and it's always packed so I wanted something I could make at home to have a relaxing quiet meal. Around Christmas time I found this and got it for my boyfriend to at least try and we both LOVED it! The flavor is absolutely perfect! I made it with chicken and some basmati rice. The cooking time is so short and easy, it makes a good meal any night of the week. I only wish there was a bit more in the jar, we like to mix a lot of the sauce with our rice so this only makes about enough for 3 dishes (so not quite enough for us to both have leftovers). I have had it a couple times now and just can't get enough!!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 4 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsRose
Huntington, NY
January 25, 2012
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 25, 2012
My husband and I LOVE this sauce. When I became vegetarian, I was sad to give up my favorite Indian dish -- chicken tikka masala -- but with this sauce, we make tofu tikka masala or Quorn tikka masala and it is AMAZING! We plan to try it with seitan next. This is the best tikka masala sauce ever!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 5 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CubanSpice
,miami beach
,fl
Miami Beach
September 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delish and restaurant quality
September 23, 2011
I will make this dish at least once a week, that is how much we all loved it last night. Not spicy at all which is nice. You can seriosly make two different meals out of one jar. Sooo glad I have left over still lol my husband is not crazy about Indian food and he had doubles lol thank you WS
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, amazing
Review 6 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wulph
July 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You wont be disappointed
July 14, 2011
Fast, easy, tastes great. I know because I make this from scratch regularly. Add some hot curry paste if you like it with some heat like I do.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 7 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoodCritic
Jupiter, FL
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Curry and So Easy!
July 12, 2011
Such an easy process to come up with a perfect Indian dinner. The sauce is just fabulous. I will definitely buy it again. Fun to experiment with different main ingredients such as chicken, shrimp, veggies, etc. Very versatile!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 8 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scottb
st louis
June 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tikka terrific
June 10, 2011
I love Indian food of all sorts and am less discriminating then most. However, I found this sauce perfect for my family in terms of texture, spice and temperature. Marinate a little chicken with a lemon, white wine, mustard, salt pepper and olive oil. grill over charcoal (pref) or gas, and use this sauce (heated) over the chicken to taste. Don't forget the Chutney as well.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, medium spice
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 9 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JennMa
San Jose
April 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
VERY SURPRISED!
April 27, 2011
We cook Indian food all the time, I got this to use as an emergency meal...it was really good!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Review 10 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bippy
N. Calif
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First time trying and it is excellent
March 20, 2011
This sauce is very tasty. I browned the boneless skinless chicken thighs and then just simmered it all together and it was delightful. I added nothing and just enjoyed it.
Review 11 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LacyL
St. Petersburg, FL
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rave reviews
February 19, 2011
My husband was convinced I slaved in the kitchen for hours over this delicious meal (I used jumbo, fresh Gulf shrimp and thinly sliced sweet onions.) I didn't lie, I just didn't clarify that it was minutes, not hours, and WS did most of the work! Will be ordering more!!
Review 12 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mstaud
South Jordan Ut.
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This sauce is excellent.
January 6, 2011
I like to caramelize onions and red peppers
then set those aside while I cook the chicken. Then I add the sauce and cook for 10 minutes. serve over rice with a salad and you have a great meal.
Review 13 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Ohio
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You have to try this!
January 5, 2011
We love Indian food and get take-out every other Friday from our favorite place. I came across this sauce while looking around the website. After reading the reviews I decided to order 2 jars. I just used the first jar tonight and it was perfect. So quick and easy. The hubby would have liked a little more heat to it, but two servings later I think he was satisfied.
I will be stocking up on this sauce! What a great time saver for a busy working mom - it tasted like I slaved in the kitchen for hours.
Review 14 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nyfood
New York
October 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tweek it a little...
October 4, 2010
I suggest adding a little heavy cream and sugar - to taste. Serve w/ basmati rice and some baby peas thrown on top. Very close to our favorite restaurant dish. It turns into a 5 star dish w/ those added ingredients.
Review 15 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PAAnn
Pennsylvania
September 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Quick Meal Solution for Indian Food
September 16, 2010
Good pantry sauce for a mid-week meal to convert the "usual" chicken into a nice change. Not too highly spiced for American palates and VERY simple to use. Add a large bowl of basmati and you've got dinner...
Review 16 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EHG69
Dearborn, MI
September 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb sauce!
September 3, 2010
This simmering sauce is so good I could've put a straw in the jar and drank it. Bought 1 jar in store, ordered 3 more online. Very easy to use, added cubed, browned chicken breasts and let it bubble away until hot. Served over Basmati rice and good to go. Gave 1 jar to friend who added veggies also. You can't mess this up. I have several coworkers from India and been sharing recipes, testing my skills at duplicating their dishes-fairly well. So I can say this sauce is authentic. Not 'hot/spicy' but wonderful flavor overall. I'm craving it right now just thinking of it!
Review 17 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SandieM
Texas
July 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
guess I'm not into Indian food
July 29, 2010
My husband and I chose to purchase this sauce as neither of us has really tried Indian food. The recipe was prepared exactly as directed. The taste is very sharp, we found it almost unpleasant. Still, it was better to find this out in our own home than to go to an Indian restaurant and discover that we don't care for it.
Review 18 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NaplesBarbie
naples, florida
June 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than restaurant/homemade
June 28, 2010
I purchased this sauce because my family wanted to go to our favorite Indian restaurant, which was too far from our home to go to during the week. I prepared the tiki masala as per the directions..My daughter thought i had gotten take out and also thought it was better than what we had at the restaurant itself. My husband loved it as well and said to put it on our regular menu for future at home meals. He even said we didnt have to go to the restaurant anymore..and that is one of his favorite places to go..so that says something about the sauce in itself. Dont hesitate to try any of the sauces.
they are very high quality and comprable to home made.
Review 19 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimplyElegant
San Jose, CA
June 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best tikka masala we've found
June 19, 2010
My husband and I have tried tika masala sauces from several sources and this is our favorite! I really like the fact that it's so flavorful without being too spicy. It's an easy and crowd-pleasing dish to serve when entertaining. We've also given this sauce as a gift, with rave reviews.
Review 20 for Tikka Masala Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steena
Ewing, New Jersey
May 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
May 4, 2010
I have tried many times to create a Tikka Masala as well balanced as those I have tried at our local Indian restaurant.
I regret to admit, my experiments have always left me feeling that I had missed some vital ingredient.
I also had long given up on a finding that unique combination in a prepared item.
However, this sauce covers all bases. It is very tasty, while not being too salty or spicy. I also find it is suitable for even the least adventurous of my dinner guests.
Thank you for offering such a wonderful product. I would like to see more sauces available by the same maker, if possible.
page1 2 next