The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook

A book you'll turn to again and again, this encyclopedic volume celebrates the pleasures of cooking in all its forms. Among its more than 370 recipes are time-tested classics, fresh new favorites gleaned from restaurant menus, popular ethnic dishes customized for the home cook and dozens of breakfast and dessert choices. You'll also find inspiration for every occasion, from a fast weeknight supper to an elegant dinner. A reference section answers essential cooking questions, includes dozens of basic recipes, and provides measurement equivalents, ingredient substitutes, cooking charts and a glossary. Hardcover, 464 pages. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
33 of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
Review 1 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KWeave
,Davidson
,NC
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Gold Standard
January 26, 2013
Not only would I recommend this book to a friend, I actually buy it as a gift for friends that enjoy cooking.
It is simply the gold standard of cookbooks. I use it on a weekly basis and it never disappoints.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 2 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeeDee
,Houston
,Tx
September 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for multiple recipes
September 21, 2012
This is simply one of the very best recipe books I own. I love the variety of dishes and that it includes such a large selection of diversity in selections.
Pros: Easy to Use, great cookbook
Review 3 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carolishan
,Marina del Rey
,CA
August 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great recipes!!
August 7, 2012
I'm not too much into writing reviews but this book deserves it! every recipe I've made is delicious!!! last ones were the almond chocolate cake and the chocolate chips cookies, soooooo delicious!!! the cake was just so moist yumm the only change I made to the cake recipe is that I used almond flour intend of putting almonds in the food processor.I also made the red wine sauce for the meat was great too!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 4 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jules12
Virginia
March 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
if you buy only one cookbook buy this one
March 25, 2012
I jut made the fresh coconut cake from this book and felt compelled to write this review. This is one of the best cakes I have ever eaten! I find that this cookbook is my go-to cookbook again and again. I haven't found a bad recipe yet. Thanks for this collection of really great recipes. Another plus is that the recipes are so well explained that even a novice cook can make them.
Review 5 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1966JaguarXKEFHC
,Mount Pleasant
,SC
Charleston, SC
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comgining All Previous WS Recipes
December 28, 2011
My wife has tons of recipes she's pulled out of WS catalogues over the years and now she has them in one place, indexed and categorized.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 6 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shrimpy
,Studio City
,CA
October 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply "Delicioso"
October 4, 2011
Bought this book in 2009 and I have love all the recipies in it. Some of my favs: Braised Oxtails w/Olives, Creek Shrimp w/Totatoes & Feta just to name a few. The pictures are displayed bautifully. This book has earned a place in my kitchen and I am looking forward to getting a few more books from the Williams-Somona collection. It is an excellent book and worth the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design
Review 7 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chatty
Tucson, AZ
August 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Cooking Bible
August 18, 2011
I love this cookbook and have made a wide variety of dishes out of it. The most difficult is the coconut cake, though the effort is well worth it!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: some recipes call for really obscure ingredients
Review 8 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foodie82
Portland, Maine
April 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must for anyone that likes to cook
April 20, 2011
I got this book 3 years ago for a wedding gift, and my husband and I both cook out of it and love it! I love that there are descriptions on the pages about some of the ingredients or processes to make certain things, it saves time of having to go look up what things mean! It also makes the recipes easy to follow, and if you know the basis behind some of the steps it helps to understand the dish, or substitutions that could be made.
Well, like I said we received this book as a wedding gift 3 years ago, and after seeing how much we love it, it's our go to wedding gift! Everyone we have gotten it for so far loves it as much as we do!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 9 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NBFoodie
Moncton, NB (CANADA)
March 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
March 22, 2011
This is the BEST cookbook I have ever owned. We've tried many of the recipes and have NEVER been disappointed. Several recipes (Gumbo, Linguine with Lobster-Taragon Sauce, Tortilla Soup, Sherried Shrimp Bisque, to name a few) are absolutely delicious. I tend to make double batches of our favorites and freeze for a mid-week, gourmet treat.
Review 10 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wsuarmywife
Spanaway, WA
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cookbook of All Time
January 25, 2011
No joke, this is the best cookbook that I have ever cooked out of. Every single dish I have made out of this book has been delicious. I love that it encourages the use of fresh ingredients. The only downside is that some of the recipes take a really long time to make, but you can also make a ton of these ahead of time. I also love that the directions are clear and detailed, so there's little room for error. I highly recommend this to every home cook!
Review 11 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cosinera
San Francisco Bay Area
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Beautifully Written and Designed Cookbook
December 28, 2010
I bought this for my 13 year old grandson for Christmas. He loves to cook and would someday like to become a professional chef. The book has so many wonderful and varied recipes that are written with such clarity and the pictures are great for knowing what the prodúcto finál should look like. I almost kept it for myself. I need to buy one for me.
Review 12 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mmmargarita
Baton Rouge, LA
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a classic, essential cookbook
December 11, 2010
My husband and I received this cookbook as a wedding gift. I use this book for the classic version of a recipe- almost as a reference- and then I usually tweak it myself for fun. The book includes a wide variety of cuisines to choose from. Side bars explain ingredients or how to perfectly steam that little-known vegetable, etc. I use this book often! My only caveat is that some recipes are more advanced and require ingredients that I cannot yet afford...hence the tweaking!
Review 13 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brandiR
Minneapolis, MN
April 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite cookbook!
April 8, 2010
I bought this cookbook a little over a year ago and I absolutely love it!! I have cooked several recipes from it and each one has been delicious and easy to make. You won't regret this purchase.
Review 14 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alethea0101
Oceanside, NY
April 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Purtchase Ever!
April 3, 2010
I bought this book for my sister and had to get one for myself. Such a go to book I've already used it a half dozen times in the 2 or 3 weeks I've had it.
Review 15 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kentuckycook
Kentucky
February 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Favorite
February 26, 2010
I bought this cookbook on a whim several months ago and it has become my new go-to cookbook. Great pictures of both new and classic recipes. If you don't own any WS cookbooks I suggest starting with this one. But do be warned, they are addicting. In just a short time I now have five and would recommend them all (Comfort Food, Essentials of Slow Cooking, Tools & Techniques, the Baking Book and this one). Happy cooking!
Review 16 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wannbechef
January 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good everything cookbook.
January 21, 2010
This book has great pictures and the recipies are written in way that you can follow easier than most. The best thing is that this book helps you prepare meals that are easy, but quite elegant.
Review 17 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KMBG
Dallas, TX
December 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Wonderful.
December 31, 2009
This cook book is awesome. I love cook books that have recipes that call for things I might actually have around my house, or that don't cost an arm and a leg for all the ingredients at the grocery store. This book is a great combination of those things - that are simple and don't take a lot of time - as well as things that will be different and fun to try for the first time when you have the time. It provides recipes for some classics as well as new things you may have never heard of, and has pictures of them all, which I LOVE. It also gives information about less-familiar ingredients that some of the recipes call for which is great. I love this book and will give it as a gift as often as possible, and would recommend it to anyone.
Review 18 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
megan1417
IL
December 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
December 25, 2009
These recipes are awesome! Tons and tons of basic/classic recipes, but also some new varieties to add to the menu. Definitely a necessity for the cookbook collection!!
Review 19 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lostinlagrande
La Grande, OR
October 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Out of Over 100 Cookbooks
October 6, 2009
I live in a very small community with no big name kitchen retailers. So recently when I went on vacation in MN I had the opportunity to purchase this cookbook. I honestly do have over 100 cookbooks, and several of them are from WS, but this is my favorite. I was so taken by the recipes as well as the beautiful photos that I immediately tried several of the recipes as soon as I returned home. They have all been a hit. I couldn't wait to read it so I carried this on board and read every page on my way home. Thanks for such a comprehensive and tantalizing book.
Review 20 for The Williams-Sonoma Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raych
London
October 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The food turns out just like the picture
October 4, 2009
Yeah, I know the pictures are a bit doctored up, but my husband was impressed with himself after making the Beef Bourguignon and we put our bowl next to the picture in the book and it was almost identical. Not only that, the taste was fabulous...meat was tender, the onions so soft.
We've made several recipes from this book, including the Potato Leek, to absolute great success. We're very happy with this book and continue to look for what else we can make for dinner from these recipes.
page1 2 next