Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook

When it comes to home-cooked meals with the family, weeknights can be challenging. Relax: this innovative cookbook makes it easy to whip up delicious meals in a hurry. Presented in a user-friendly binder format, we combined all the best recipes from our Food Made Fast cookbooks, resulting in over 300 simple, wholesome recipes that will delight every member of the family. Most recipes are ready to serve after less than 30 minutes of hands-on cooking, requiring no more than three quick steps and a maximum of 12 readily available ingredients. The beautifully photographed binder is divided into sections with removable recipe pages, making it easy to choose and prepare family-pleasing recipes for everything from appetizers, soups and salads to main courses and desserts. This essential volume also offers a guide to basic kitchen techniques and a wealth of expert advice, including time-saving tips for smart cooking, easy entertaining, strategic meal planning, efficient shopping and much more. Hardcover, 432 pages. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mrsfawver
,tn
April 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
8of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I guess I'm no cook
April 12, 2012
I cook regularly, but this cookbook isn't young kid friendly. Ok there may be a few recipes that they would eat, but I can't just turn the page to something kid-friendly. My kids aren't picky but they are pretty young so maybe that's part of it, but the recipes are nontraditional (and that may be the reason most people like it).
Also, the recipes are somewhat time consuming and at times call for ingredients that I wouldn't have on hand and may be pricey at the grocery store. All in all, I enjoy Food Network cookbooks suit my needs more, especially Rachel Ray 30 minute meals. When the kids are older, I will revisit these unique recipes.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Store
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ssnnyc
,New York
,NY
September 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the weeknight cook
September 19, 2011
This is a great go-to cook book. I usually leaf through it in the morning and take out the recipe page I am going to cook that night. Stop at the grocery store on the way home and get to work on it when I get home. Good, simple yet flavorful meals everytime I use it. And there is plenty of variety so you don't get tired of making the same thing over and over.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KSaid
Virginia
August 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great go to cookbook
August 26, 2011
I got this cookbook for my wedding, and I use it 3-4 times per week. I think it is the best over all cookbook I have used, and I do a lot of cooking. It has a lot of great recipes that we will use over ad over. I like that it is a binder because I can just take the recipe page with me to the grocery store so I do not forget anything. Also, I like that some of the recipes use ingredients from other recipes. It helps me plan my meals for the week. For example, today I am making the pork roast (double recipe) and in 2 nights I will make the pork tacos. It is a much better use of leftovers than just reheat and serve. I love this book. It is also fairly easy to follow, so it is perfect for a new cook!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Versatile
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuckyO
Ohio
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FABULOUS cookbook
December 29, 2010
If you have a son, daughter, brother, sister, or really anyone who is just starting into cooking or just going out on their own, GET THIS COOKBOOK!! It's fabulous: describes braising, how to shop, provides meal plans, tells you how to use and store leftovers... SO GREAT. If, however, you already have a few of the food made fast books, you may not like this one as much. But as just a go-to cookbook, it's amazing.
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SassySC
Myrtle Beach, SC
July 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the receipes
July 27, 2010
I really enjoy this book. I think the receipes are easy to follow. I also like how it is organized and the neat suggestions. I received this at one of my bridal showers and I love it. I also LOVE to cook.
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gourmetmom
Thousand Oaks, CA
April 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Cookbook
April 27, 2010
This is pretty good for weeknights. There are a couple of recipes that I really liked, but I do think that they seem really similar to recipes in other Williams-Sonoma cookbooks. It's a good cookbook for a beginner.
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cooking43
Monterey, CA
April 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good overall cookbook
April 5, 2010
I have many of the Williams-Sonoma cookbooks and was excited to get this one for Christmas. However, many of the recipies are repeats from the other books so I was a bit disappointed. This is more of a grestest hits from the more specific books which is great if you don't have the others already.
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RachelT
Wayne, PA
March 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great book!
March 9, 2010
As a first year teacher and a recent grad, I'm so glad to have found this cook book. I have such little time at night to cook, and I'm still pretty new to it. Thankfully, this cook book is quick and easy for the most part. The recipes I've had so far are really great too. My boyfriend and I cook something from it almost every night, and we've been doing that for almost a month. Loved everything so far! Highly recommend it to someone with not a lot of evening prep time and even a new cook!
However, if you're cooking for more than two people, you'll probably need to double the recipe because everything pretty much only serves four. We always have left overs, but it's never much for most of the dishes.
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sheflys3
Rochester, MN
February 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We didn't ask for it, but I'm so glad we got it!
February 4, 2010
I received this as a wedding gift along with several other Williams-Sonoma cookbooks that we had registered for. I have to say, that this has become our go-to book! I use it for quick dinners, full meals when friends come over, and even for holiday meals. Everything that we have tried has been delicious. Some of our favorites are the Cream of Mushroom soup and the Penne with tomato vodka sauce.
It's indispensible and has replaced my old Better Homes and Gardens as the book I turn to in time of hunger.
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ScarletBegonia
Washington, D.C.
January 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decent
January 18, 2010
We got this for Christmas and have made a handful of recipes out of it. There are some recipes that look good, until you realize that one of the components is another recipe in the book, one that isn't something you can make as part of a weeknight dinner. For example, the brisket is really great--time-consuming, but well worth it. Then there are a few recipes that call for some of the leftover brisket. That's fine, but it does sort of defeat the purpose of the cookbook.
Also, at least one recipe is missing an oven temperature in the directions--a rather important omission.
I'm still going to keep trying recipes, but I'm less excited about the book than I was when I first got it.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
WorkingMom2OneSon
Posted November 28, 2010
Usually default is 350 F. I don't own the book yet but am thinking of getting it. But if I stumbled upon a recipe without an oven temp, I would just do 350 and check on it every 10 mins or so.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
megan1417
IL
December 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick and easy
December 25, 2009
LOTS of quick and easy recipes, but some of them seem like ones I would never consider making. I guess I will be discovering some new recipes! A great book for a large variety of recipes.
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
arb81
California
December 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Cookbook!
December 18, 2009
I discovered this cookbook while waiting in line during the holiday season, and I am so glad that I did! This cookbook is fantastic. The recipes are great and the book has beautiful pictures and helpful hints. I plan to buy more as gifts!
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ghubb
VA
November 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it
November 16, 2009
I own around 100 cookbooks and this one is a nice change. It has easy but healthy recipes. Most recipes don't consist of more than 8-9 ingredients, which over half of them are pantry items everyone should have on hand. Great Book!!
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma, The Weeknight Cook Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whisky
Barrie, ON
October 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional!
October 12, 2009
I fell in love with this cookbook the very minute I opened it! From the colourful photos, unique recipes, easy ingredients and simple instructions....I'd higly recommend this book for anyone...beginner to pro!!