Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan

Kids' eyes will be as big as their cake plates when a giant cupcake shows up for dessert. Our pan creates a cupcake of Dr. Seuss proportions - an impressive 6" high and 7" across - that lends itself to fanciful decorations. Top and bottom pieces can be baked in two different flavors and frosted. Pan can also be used to create an ice cream cake: in one side of the pan, bake the cake's bottom, then freeze ice cream in the other side to create the top. Cast-aluminum pan ensures uniform baking and sharp detail. Premium nonstick interior provides smooth release. Made in the USA by Nordic Ware, a family-owned company famous for its fine bakeware since 1946. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.674 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
93 of 95(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
Review 1 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatrinaB
,AR
Arkansas
October 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan!
October 28, 2013
I love this pan. It's easy to use and makes a great cake. I have never tried the recipe that came with the pan. I use the Nestle Chocoholic Cake recipe for all our cakes in this pan. I spray it lightly with cooking spray even though it's non-stick and I've never had any problem with it. I also cook both halves together, not one more than the other like some reviewers.
My whole family loves the look of a huge cupcake.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 2 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MamaLori
,Irvine
,CA
September 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A real crowd pleaser!
September 12, 2013
I read the reviews so I wasn't sure how well both sides of this cake pan would bake, but after some experimentation, I think a lighter cake bakes evenly. Next time I use this pan, I'll make the bottom chocolate and the top white so that way, my guests can have their choice and there would be less waste. One slice of this cake IS A LOT TO EAT.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 3 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlexandraQ
November 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun to make, challenging to ice all over
November 17, 2011
I had no problem with making, baking, or releasing this cake from the pan. It was easy to wash too.
I found the design a little weird though in that the top part of the cake is supposed to be iced and the bottom is not? And I also found the bottom part HUGE compared to the top. The part that is not iced is huge and the part that is iced is small? That would not fly well with the kids in my family - the icing is their favourite part.
So I ended up making two icings - one chocolate and one pink. The bottom part of the cake I cut in half, and put chocolate icing in the center. Then I put a light layer of chocolate all over it to hide my cut. Then used the pink icing for the top part.
It made making the cake more tedious, but it tasted great and looked pretty good, and I was glad that the whole thing was iced rather than just one part.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvtobake23
,CHICAGO
,IL
October 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT
October 3, 2011
I HAVE HAD SO MUCH FUN WITH THIS PAN, IT'S CRAZY. I HAVE A GROUP OF 4-10 YEAR OLDS, AND THERE FACES LIGHT UP WHEN I MAKE ONE. EVEN THE BIG KIDS, (AKA ADULTS) LIKE THE PAN. THEY ARE AMAZED AS TO HOW IT COMES OUT THE WAY IT DOES. VERY VERY EASY TO CLEAN, EASY TO USE. I JUST LOVE IT. I made one cupcake, but with all of the sad faces i saw because not everyone got a piece, I made 3 the following week. every one was happy. ITS A GREAT INVESTMENT
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
minnmug
Minneapolis, MN
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for "Smash the Cake"
April 7, 2011
I purchased this product to make a giant cupcake for my grandaughter's first birthday "Smash the Cake" pictures. It was perfect! Following the suggestions of other reviewers, and also using a packaged cake mix, I baked the larger, bottom portion for about ten minutes longer than the top portion. The cake popped out of the cake pan easily, and the cake pan cleaned up easily. The quality of this cake pan is very high, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others. This would be a good cake pan to use for other celebrations in addition to birthdays. Next time I use it, I will be more adventurous and creative in my decoration of the frosting (using fondant or edible pearls, etc.).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 6 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kmalone
Barrington, IL
March 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very cute, a bit tricky to use though.
March 8, 2011
This makes very cute cakes- if you use it correctly. The bottom half cooks slower, so I suggest putting batter in the bottom half, putting it in for a few minutes; then taking it out and put batter in the top half. If the bottom half isn't complete after the top is, take out the top and keep the bottom half in for a few more minutes until it is finished.
Review 7 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TonSue21
San Antonio, TX
March 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Pan But....
March 8, 2011
This made the perfect giant cupcake with no major issues. However, I used the bottom portion as a mold for candy melts to make a giant cupcake liner and when I used a plastic spoon to scrape out the candy liner it also scraped the protective coating of the pan. I was extremenly disappointed that the coating would come of with a plastic spoon!! If you plan on using this for cake batter only, it is a great pan. If you plan on attempting the candy liner, be warned that the coating is delicate.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KZCakes
La Jolla, CA.
Posted June 24, 2011
Re: candy/chocolate melts and coating
I'm going to agree with TonSue21,
The coating on this pan is much thinner than the other brand [I have one of each]. This pan shows a bit more wear and is newer but still, it's a great pan.
I find much easier to brush chocolate/candy melts on the outside of the 'bottom' part than the inside.
a] no damage to the thin coating.
b] no trimming 'bottom' cake part to fit into the chocolate 'liner'. A thin BC coating 'seals' cake and liner beautifully.
c] chocolate pops right out when you slightly lift your pan and give it a mini push w/rubber spatula.
****stars
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cupcakenyc
New York
March 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Birthday hit!
March 6, 2011
The Great Cupcake Pan worked great! I read other reviews online and used a mix for the cake–2 boxes of Pillsbury Moist Supreme Yellow Cake Mix. There was enough for the top and bottom, but not enough left over for individual cupcakes. It took about 70-80 min in the oven at 325 degrees and came out perfectly! I used the buttercream frosting recipe that came with the pan to attach the top and bottom. I then doubled the frosting recipe to frost the top and had more than enough. I brought the leftover frosting to the party so that we could serve the bottom half with some frosting (so it wouldn't be just cake on a plate.) I colored the frosting pink and decorated with sprinkles and it looked quite a bit like the picture. It was a huge hit! Everyone was so impressed and it tasted great. I'll use this pan for many birthdays to come!
Review 9 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ryye
South Windsor, Connecticut
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
adorable cupcake
January 31, 2011
This is such a great cake pan to use for a party! It's always a crowd pleaser, and it's also fun for little kids to decorate. I bake a lot from scratch, and I find that cakes from scratch don't work as well in this pan. I find that box cakes work the best. Also, for shelf life, box cakes work the best too. Besides that, the cakes come out well each time, and it's easy to clean! Love it!
Review 10 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SharC
Cicero NY
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gave as A Gift
January 5, 2011
I gave this as a gift to someone who loves to bake. They thought this item was great. They were worried that the cake would be difficult to remove from the pan, but it wasn't. They followed the directions that came with the pan (lower oven temp and longer cooking time) and the cake came out great. So, this was a success.
Review 11 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NicLawDan
Tulsa
December 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome pan! Recipe not great though.
December 18, 2010
I had so much fun using this pan! I used the recipe included with the pan. Unfortunately, the cake turned out really really dense and dry. Almost nobody touched their cake. It was really too bad because I made it for my husbands bday.
Does anyone have a solution for a moist yummy cake? Do I need to turn to a cake mix? I feel like the recipe included is so dense because they want it to mold well and it definitely does, its just not yummy at all. Is it possible to be moist but not fall apart?
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Confectionscakes
South MS
Posted February 18, 2011
Doctored cake mix
Try googling WASC. It begins with a cake mix, but had added ingredients that make it super moist, yummy, and irresistible! I am starting a boutique style bakery, and after trying infinite amount of recipes, this one had won hands down every time! The only different I make to it is calls for almond extract, which I hate. I just replace is with extra vanilla extrac and it it sooo yummy!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bakers3
October 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great fun!
October 20, 2010
This giant cupcake pan is awesome! It looks so cute when it is decorated. It is sturdy and easy to use.
Review 13 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NavyWife
Newport, RI
October 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Pan, Hate the Recipe Attached.
October 1, 2010
The pan is great. The first time I used the recipe attached the cake turned out dry and awful ... which was so sad because it was at my daughter's first birthday party. Since then I've used other cake recipes in this pan and they have turned out fine.
Review 14 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandma5kids
Cincinnati OH
September 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fill with pudding
September 3, 2010
We all enjoyed this as part of my annual birthday cake creation for a grandchild. I'm sure I'll use it again for other children (of all ages!) As I read about it, I thought there was too much "cake" with no icing on the bottom. So I let the cake cool, cut out the center section, filled it with vanilla cream (like pudding), and assembled the cake. I thought it was a great addition to the flavor and presentation. Everyone loved it. Since I made a vanilla cake for the honoree, I made regular chocolate cupcakes for others. When one little guest requested chocolate and was given a regular size cupcake, he said, "Oh, but I want a BIG one!"
Review 15 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brig
Oxford, MS
September 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
PERFECT pan for kids
September 1, 2010
This pan is very high quality. My kids and I had so much fun through the entire process. It is very user-friendly, nonstick and easy to clean. Very good purchase.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
housemouse
Ohio
Posted December 18, 2010
Suggestion to W&S
Love the giant cupcake pan. Would be nice if W&S would create the 2 haves as seperate pieces so a person could bake both haves at the same time but have the option to take out one half before the other. Just an idea to take to the discussion table.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NCGrandma
Cary NC
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pan Makes a Fun Cake
August 30, 2010
We bought this pan at the urging of my 10 year old granddaughter who wanted to make the cake for her mom's birthday. It's a strong, well-make pan. The recipe perfectly filled it and the cake came out of the pan easily. I didn't really like the flavor of the cake, so next time I'll use a pound cake recipe from a "doctored" cake mix. I had one unusual problem that no one has metioned. When I put the pan in the oven, it wouldn't sit level because the point on the top part went through the oven rack spaces. I ended up putting a small cookie sheet under it to keep it level. Not a big problem and easily fixed, but a surprise to me.
Review 17 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Macrea
Bethesda, MD
August 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pan with a wow factor
August 11, 2010
I used The Great Cupcake Pan to make a casual celebratory wedding cake for friends. I used two Sprinkles Red Velvet cupcake mixes and baked it in a convection oven at 305 degrees for about 60 minutes. It turned out perfectly. Heads were turning as I walked it into the restaurant--such a fun, cute cake!
Review 18 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AngieF
Lake Mary,Fl
July 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is so cute!
July 12, 2010
I pruchased this cupcake cake pan for my granddaughters 1st birthday. It turned out fabulous! Everyone loved it that came to the party! So easy to decorate. Also what is great about the cake pan is that you can decorate it for other occasions. Im waiting for Halloween to decorate it again with orange frosting and black spiders on top!
Review 19 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilteach
Holbrook, NY
July 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this cake pan!
July 6, 2010
I really love his cake pan, its very easy to use and the cake came out great. Everyone loved the "Giant Cupcake" I made two a chocolate one, which was moist and yummy. And I used the enclosed recipe to make a vanilla one, however, I did not like the texture or flavor ofthis recipe too much like a pound cake and not a cake cake, so I am on the hunt for a moist yummy vanilla cake.
Review 20 for Nordic Ware The Great Cupcake Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Penn Valley, CA
April 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorites..
April 20, 2010
Very good product! Strong and excellent quality...
page1 2 3 4 5 next