Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer

Savor the incomparable flavor of Technivorm brewing, one perfect cup at a time. The Moccamaster Cup-One offers the highest level of quality. Perfectly synchronizing brew time and temperature, this fast, consistent brewer quietly produces an excellent-tasting cup of coffee in just 4 minutes. Handmade in the Netherlands, the high-tech brewer is simple to operate. Brews one cup at a time, up to 10-oz. cup size. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature between 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Removable cup holder accommodates cups with larger bases. Rotatable outlet-arm allows for easy access to brew basket.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
15 of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IslandChill
,US Virgin Islands
April 12, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good little brother to the full size Moccamaster
April 12, 2015
It's just me who drinks coffee in our house, so I didn't want to get the full size and have to deal with cleaning it each morning. The Cup One cleaning is a BREEZE. All you need to do is dump the grind basket in the trash, rinse, and you're done! I've had no issues with it clogging or overflowing (it's common sense if you get grind under the paper filter you rinse it all out so you don't get a clog!). I did measure the temperature and the water temp entering the brew basket is 200 degrees F. Once it hits your mug it has cooled to 150-165 degrees F which is just at the right temp to start drinking so do not let it sit for long or your coffee will cool (It's big brother, with the stainless carafe, will keep the coffee pipping hot for several hours). You will not fit any type of travel mug under it, just a mug, so keep that in mind when purchasing. All in all, for the price and my needs the Cup One was the perfect compromise. A full box of technivorm filters is included with the brewer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2coffeelovers
,Boulder City
,NV
April 9, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee and Well made, not too big
April 9, 2015
Just got this today. What a change from the aged Cuisiinart. We do not care for "pod coffee". Just not the same taste . It is just the two of us now and this is perfect! Coffee is hot and tasteful. Usually one of us getting up earlier and making a 10 oz cup. Later one or the other does the same. The unit has a small foot print which is great for us as we live in a large RV!
Thanks for such a well engineered product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CarolynLA
March 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor customer service from Technivorm-Moccamaster
March 15, 2015
The flavor of the coffee made from this machine is very good however it is not as warm as I’d like, especially after adding milk. Also the hole at the bottom of the drip basket gets clogged with each use.
Biggest problem is customer service from Technivorm-Moccamaster. The instructions say a small brush is included to clean the drip basket hole. There was no brush in my box so I contacted Technivorm customer service. At first no response. I tried again 2 days later, then exchanged a few emails with Cynthia from Technivorm. She repeatedly told me to re-check the packing materials. Each time I replied that I had checked over and over again and there was no brush. After 4 days she stopping replying and she didn’t send me a brush. A week after sending my last email I returned the coffee maker to Williams-Sonoma. The store took it back without any problems and apologized for my experience, this was not their fault at all.
Pros: Easy to Use, excellent coffee flavor
Cons: High-Maintenance, poor customer service from manufacturer
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BBeard
,RI
March 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great coffee every time!
March 12, 2015
I like consistency in my coffee and this coffee maker delivers! It is easy to use, easy to clean, it doesn't take up too much room, the coffee is hot when it is done and it's fun to watch brew. I can't imagine a better way to start your coffee day!
As for the filter basket clogging, the machine comes with a little rubber "brush" that is more like a toothpick for keeping the drain hole clear. I did manage to plug it up once when I was sloppy with coffee grinds getting into the basket before the filter. It was no big deal and fixing the problem was easy.
I love the fact that I am getting a single cup of fresh good coffee when I want it, not something brewed 45 minutes ago too. It is like having the convenience of a K cup without the plastic waste or the expense. I figure that the savings in coffee alone compared to the mediocre K cups I was using will pay for the Cup One in short order!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, great coffee!
Cons: i waited too long to purchase one
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimplyCharmedSB
,Napa
,CA
March 7, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing!!! LOVE IT!
March 7, 2015
TODAY I bought the Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer. And I love it! I read several reviews prior and knew that I just had to have one. Because it keeps the water temperature between 195°–205°F throughout brewing for optimum flavor ...it reduces the bitterness of coffee. Who knew?! What a difference this little factor makes. Now, I also own the new Nespresso VertuoLine - which is wonderful too, and great for entertaining your friends on Sunday morning.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Assembly
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EHinJax
,Jacksonville
,FL
February 10, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Keurig Replacement
February 10, 2015
I love this machine - easy to use with fill line and scooper (2 level scoops for one 10 oz cup of coffee). It does take appx 4 min to brew, but it's worth the wait. The coffee tastes great and is less acidic, so I don't need to add sugar to my coffee anymore! I'm glad I'm not using plastic pods and have given away my Keurig! Also, I have not had any issues with it clogging.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LConover
,Nashua
,NH
February 8, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I really wanted to love this coffee maker.
February 8, 2015
My experience with the Cup-One was a mixed one - it produced an outstanding cup of coffee, when it worked.
Timing-wise, you've got to be ready to grab that cup of joe the second it finishes brewing or it'll cool. Hot coffee can sometimes be achieved by pouring boiling water into the cup to prewarm it, but, this didn't produce a 'hot' cup of coffee, just a warm one.
Then there's the issue of clogging. The coffee basket holder has a tendency to clog up. This happened about 20% of the time for me, even though I inspected it for clogs prior to every brew cycle. When this happens, you end up with a brew basket filled with molten wet coffee grounds. More than once I spilled a substantial amount of this goop onto my counters on the way to the sink.
So, despite the fact that this system brews one of the best cups of coffee I've ever had out of a one cup system, I wasn't able to love this coffeemaker. I wanted to love it, but it just wasn't meant to be.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
southernskies
January 30, 2015
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Coffee Excellence by the Cup
January 30, 2015
In true Technivorm fashion, this brewer produces an outstanding, single cup of coffee, provided you CAREFULLY follow the instructions as to the amount of water used, the amount of coffee used (“dosage”), and the grind of the coffee. Related to coffee dosage and grind is the brew time. In my experience, this should be between 4 and 4.5 minutes (the instructions say "about 4 minutes"). This amount of "contact time" between water and ground coffee is critical to getting optimum results (and is the reason for the tiny drain hole). If, using the recommended amount of ground coffee (two level scoops), your brew time runs much longer than 4.5 minutes, your grind is probably too fine. If your brew time runs shorter than 4 minutes, your grind is probably too coarse. The result of either will be poor tasting coffee, bitter (brew time too long) or weak (brew time too short). Working with such small amounts of coffee, all of the variables of proper coffee preparation are super-critical.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Time-saver, Speed
Cons: requires precision
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
barlow
,jersey city
,nj
January 22, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Design needs rework
January 22, 2015
I purchased the product in November and now the coffee dispenser is permanently clogged.
Pros: Easy to Store, Size
Cons: High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NicknameNo
January 9, 2015
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Cup of Coffee, but...
January 9, 2015
First of all, it does what it's supposed to - make a great cup of coffee - and I'm glad I bought it. If you're thinking about purchasing a Cup-One, a few things you should know:
- The power cord is heavy, long, unwieldy, and ugly. I nearly returned the Cup-One immediately for that reason. I was able to position it so that the cord was somewhat hidden, but it's something to consider. Cord comes out the left side.
- The Cup-One is designed to brew 10 ounces. If you fill to the only line, and use cream and sugar, you'll need at least a 12 ounce capacity mug. I used a measuring cup to eyeball where 8 ounces falls below the line, so I can still use my favorite 10 ounce mugs.
- The instructions say that the lid, brew basket, and cup holder should be hand-washed. Not a big deal, but something to know.
- The cleaning instructions recommend products designed for larger coffeemakers. Again, not a big deal, but you have to figure out amounts for 10 ounces vs. 32.
Pros: Quality
Cons: ugly power cord
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rashoop
,Orange County
,CA
January 9, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Convenient one cupper
January 9, 2015
Brewing temperature seems spot on (haven't measured it, but by the taste of the resulting coffee, I can tell it's ~196-200 F); brewing time is right on for a pour-over method (~4:00 mins). 1 quibble is that water is dispensed into the bed of coffee in a single stream. After brewing, you see a distinct divot in the bed of coffee, indicating this. But the entire bed has been saturated, indicating that during the brewing cycle, the entire bed is wet - important for a full extraction.
The "proof is in the cup", & this makes a fine cup of coffee. Not as good as my manual 1-cup method, Chemex or vac-pot, but still very good, & it shows off nuances of freshly (home) roasted coffee. And it’s easy to use: grind a couple scoops of coffee (17 grams for 250 mL H2O), throw a #2 filter in (also works w/ #1), add water & push the switch.
The Cup One is a solid 4. Better water dispersion would make it a 5. The machine is solid, small & will last. It was a gift from my wife, & I'm thrilled to have it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Cons: needs better water dispersion
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GEIL
,Chicago Area
January 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE this one cup brewer
January 5, 2015
I hesitated before I bought this because there weren't many reviews and because of the price. Well, now that I own it and have used it I wish I would have bought it when I first saw it! Considering I will use this every morning of my life and it makes my life easier and much more pleasant it is well worth the money. It does exactly what it's supposed to do - it makes a single, fantastic cup of coffee. I only drink one cup of coffee a day, but never wanted one of the pod makers. I can't stand the taste of coffee made by those and I like to use my own, freshly ground coffee. The Technivorm Cup One is just perfect for me. It brews the coffee properly and plenty hot - I don't have to put my coffee in the microwave after I add milk anymore. If, like me, you were hesitating about buying this don't. It is well worth the money and makes the best coffee out there. Also, I have had no problems with it. I fold the filter like I normally do and it's just fine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 13 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
arabesque
,Lafayette
,La
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect one cup brewer
December 31, 2014
This is my third Technivorm. I was using my 10 cup several times a day to brew a single cup and was delighted to find this one! It works beautifully with freshly roasted coffee (I roast my own green beans with a Sonofresco propane roaster).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Review 14 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Darbonne
,College Station
,Tx
November 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Experience
November 17, 2014
I like hot coffee so that is somewhat disappointing as my instant read thermometer usually reads between 150 to 160 degrees after it has brewed.
The mechanism is simple and straightforward. The opening where the coffee is released into the cup is very small and needs to be checked each time before you use the filter. I would recommend fine grind which is the setting you often find at grocery store grinders with the symbol of a filter.
I have used a variety of single cup brewers including the most common varieties and what makes this one stand out is the brew time. Unlike pod brewers where the coffee pours out in seconds this one actually takes time to saturate the grounds and improve the taste. Plus you are able to choose your favorite brand of product for use with this machine.
Bottom line, I would recommend this product if you are willing to delay that instant gratification that pod brewers provide for a much better cup of morning joe!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Assembly
Review 15 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AZFoodDude
,Chandler
,AZ
September 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost returned after 1st cup, but then...
September 21, 2014
First cup was flavorless and I wondered if I had done something wrong. Second cup with more grinds seemed similar , with slightly more flavor. Then I realized what was missing....the acid. This machine produces a very low acid cup. My palate was used to my previous coffeemaker drippings (not great). I am now impressed with this machine and highly recommend.
Pros: easy to use, clean, no waste, auto shut-off, quiet, elegant metal design
Cons: filter basket holder clumsy, no warming plate, reservoir lid clumsy
Note - best to use #1 cone filter, but #2 will also work. No warming plate...so get ready to drink immediately after brewing or lose temp. I'm glad plastic cup tray/holder is removable, because many larger cups would not be able to fit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
Cons: no warm plate, filter basket clumsy
Review 16 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NS27
,Carmel
,Ca
September 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Returning this one
September 20, 2014
It takes 4 minutes to brew a cup of coffee
I clean the basket well between uses, the drip hole is very small and clogs easily even while brewing with drip grind coffee.
I have to brew with the lid off to make sure it doesn't overflow
I cannot walk away when it is brewing because the basket design is too small and it does overflow often. Huge mess, grounds and coffee spilled everywhere.
They need to redesign the basket, this would solve the problem.
Pros: Power, Easy to Store, Quiet
Cons: Speed, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, brew basket too small, basket overflows easily
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Elorac
Maricopa Az
Posted October 29, 2014
4 Minutes
To extract full flavor from coffee grounds, it takes four minutes. Patience...you will be rewarded with a rich cup of coffee. Or, use instant.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
funasianguy4u
,Bethesda
,MD
August 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not an ordinary cup of coffee, but an amazing cup!
August 30, 2014
Absolutely worth the wait! It looks so simplistic, almost retro, but produce a mind boggling cup of coffee, the way I remembered when visiting cafe's in Europe with my parents to eat cake and coffee.
-Brews quickly, it is not even worth mentioning why to have a timer or not.
-Drinkable coffee at the right temperature. I used to warm my cup in the old days, now I don't have to do it anymore, it is drinkable the moment it drips into my mug
-All my life i played with different waters, coffee beans and creamers - guess what, it was all along in the brewing technique if one used a electric coffee maker
-Overflowing the brew basket - My first cup went flawless, my second and third attempt was a bit problematic, but this is due to the way I folded my paper filter and pressed firmly inside the brew basked! Don't do that. Simply put the paper filter in the basket, and don't overfill with coffee...don't press the paper filter inside the brew basket.
Extraordinary -
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Assembly
Review 18 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cup-One Coffee Brewer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
debudzinski
,Warren
,MI
August 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good coffee maker
August 29, 2014
I purchased this coffee maker about two weeks ago. At first I did not like it but when I used the coffee filters that came with it, that made a big difference in the taste of the coffee.
The only reason I did not give it a five star is the plastic coffee cone and the cover. For the price of the machine I feel that the cone and cover could look better and not have a cheap look about it.
But yes I would recommend this coffee machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Versatile, Design