Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only six minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. Perfectly synchronizing brew time, grind and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces one of the best cups of coffee in just 5 to 6 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An insulated steel carafe keeps coffee hot. Adjustable brew basket features a manual drip-stop to brew a half pot, a full pot, or a full drip-stop for a quick cup before the brew cycle completes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.792 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
31 of 48(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Kansas City
,MO
January 17, 2016
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Coffee not hot
January 17, 2016
I previously had a Capresso MT600 with thermal carafe and the coffee was much hotter than even the first cup from this machine and kept it hot for a very long time. The first cup is always the hottest of any machine but the1st cup from this is so much less hot that it gets lukewarm before I'm even finished with it. The 2nd cup and beyond, I have to microwave.I wish I had returned it. It does brew good coffee. I wondered if it didn't keep coffee hot because of the larger hold for the coffee to drop into and also the greater distance between the dispenser and the hole it drops into. Heat escapes. The Cappresso is tight agains the drop with no space for heat to escape.
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,santa rosa
,ca
November 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great coffee maker
November 26, 2015
best coffee maker ever except for the fact that even though I bought the thermos carafe it only keeps the coffee warm for a short amount of time. This is the second Moccamaster I have purchased specifically for the thermal carafe, expected it to keep the coffee warm for a longer period of time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quiet, Speed, Size, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Assembly
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Ossian
,IN
November 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffee but ...
November 26, 2015
I think this coffeemaker deserves the praise it gets. Cook's Illustrated has chosen this coffeemaker to be the best for some years now. That first cup of coffee from this pot could not be better. One issue with it - the thermal carafe only keeps the coffee hot for a bit. I find that, by the time I'm going for my third (sometimes second) mug of coffee, it's cooling down already and I have to pop it in the microwave (which I'm sure disturbs the coffee flavor). Technivorm: offer a better thermal carafe and I'll buy it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality
Cons: thermal carafe needs improvement
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ashburn
,Va
November 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing coffeemaker
November 12, 2015
I purchased this coffeemaker about a year ago, and it is amazing.
I was used to having lots of bells and whistles on coffeemakers so having one that is more basic took some getting used to, but once I did, I love it.
It even makes the cheapest coffee taste amazing!!! It is used twice daily and I would definitely buy it again.
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Fairfax
,VA
October 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Definitely not worth price.
October 28, 2015
This was one of the most overrated purchases I ever made. I tried several coffees, grind types from fine to coarser and variances in ratios of coffee to water before I gave up. Sometimes it tasted okay, but not worth the incredible price tag or much different from my old Cuisinart that I had a long time before it died. Other times in my experimenting it tasted a bit off...like a slight chemical taste despite using filtered water. Why I finally returned it was the coffee was warm most times at best even when I drank it right after brewing. The carafe does a poor job of keeping contents hot. If you like hot coffee which is a personal preference, this machine is not for you. The coffee that it produces in my opinion also is nothing special in my opinion despite the fact it brews at "optimal temperatures". I just don't get the hype...
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Toronto
,On
October 23, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the money!
October 23, 2015
Living with substandard coffee makers and awful lukewarm coffee for years, I decided to make the jump and try this machine. All I can say is I have never enjoyed coffee more! This was one of the best investments I have ever made and unlike some other reviews my thermal carafe keeps the coffee at perfect temp for quite awhile.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quiet, Quality
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Blue Springs
,Mo
September 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not hot after15 minutes
September 19, 2015
1. Coffee does not stay hot in the thermal carafe for more than 15 minutes
2. No customer support by phone or email
3. Coffee sits in the basket and won't drip through ending up with half of a pot of coffee ( filled with 10 cups of water)
4. Coffee pot won't fit in machine with the pouring lid on it.
5. The manual says the power cord is short. Is a 4 ft long heavy cord considered short?
Pros: Quiet, Size
Cons: Temperamental, Quality, Power, carafe
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lemont
,IL
August 27, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best coffee maker, ever.
August 27, 2015
My husband and I have not stepped foot in a local DD or starbucks since buying this machine. Making our morning pot of coffee is now a routine and something I look forward to every day.
Our favorite is 5 scoops per 1 L of water. You have to tweak and play with it to your taste preference though.
The carafe keeps warm for a couple of hours - my husband makes 1 L at 0700am and I drink it at 10am and it's still warm. (not hot.. but keeps warm)
Just make sure, if you get the manual, turn it off and let it finish dripping into the carafe so you don't spill it on ur counter. You can also just turn the level to off to just block the dripping if you want a quick cup.
From start to finish - literally, 6 minutes flat.
I promise you, you will love it and don't pay attention to the negative reviews. If you are a coffee afficionado, you will enjoy using this machine and drinking the delicious and smooth cup it gives you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quiet, Speed, Assembly
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oxnard
,CA
July 20, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Yet
July 20, 2015
I recently purchased this coffee maker from Williams-Sonoma and I have found it to produce the best tasting cup of coffee that I have had. The key is to pay attention to adding the right amount of properely ground fresh coffee which appears to be 2.5 oz of ground coffee per 40 oz water. I have tried pre-heating the carafe and not and determined that both provide for hot coffee for several hours,(3-4). I have also tried setting the filter housing to the 1/2 setting which helps increase the saturation time and improves the coffee flavor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lake Mary
,Fl
June 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Technivorm coffeemaker
June 14, 2015
Bought this for my parents, they think it is the best coffeemaker they have ever had.They had a cuisinart grind & brew before and there is no comparison. Easy clean up and just good coffee. They also have the Technivorm grinder, which is also easy to use and works well with the coffeemaker,
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Power, Assembly, good looking, hot coffee
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Washington
,DC
May 30, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't pay attention to anything negative
May 30, 2015
Coffee overflowing, water spilling, etc etc. Its all operator error. This unit is made for true coffee enthusiasts. Brews coffee perfectly at the correct temperature and speed. If you don't grind your coffee to the proper size, yes it will over bloom and thus cause coffee to overflow. If there is a crack somewhere, yes its the manufacturers fault but they will honor that. Don't complain about water pouring over your counter if you didn't take the time to wait for the coffee to brew.
Lets review the machine and not all the faults of the operator.
In short the machine is great, brews fantastically and is perfect. You do have to make sure its kept clean as with any appliance which just involves rinsing out the basket and cover.
I apologize for the rant but I've become tired of seeing all these reviews that complain about things that are the fault of the user and not the machine.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Design, Speed, Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
northsub
Chicago
Posted July 16, 2015
BRAVO.... great review
The review by Cheftak is spot on, and should be printed 10x !!!! THis is an AMAZING machine. Grind the coffee properly, use a decent filter (I use the Melitta filers and sometimes the Moccamaster ones), and this coffeemaker makes exceptional coffee. The only rival may be a French Press.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Honolulu
,HI
April 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality thermal carafe
April 7, 2015
I have had this coffee maker for over a year. First of all, this makes very good coffee. But it doesn't do the very thing I bought it for--keep coffee hot. Or even warm. The carafe is the entire problem. When I rinse it with hot water prior to brewing in it, I can feel the heat right through the side of the vessel. So every morning my husband gets up and is treated to tepid coffee. Big disappointment.
Cons: Quality
Review 13 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Saint Petersburg
,fl
April 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Inconsistent-Filter overflows every third pot!!
April 4, 2015
We have a significant problem with this coffee pot in that the filter holder overflows and the coffee is diluted & filled with grounds. We use filter grind, good quality #4 filters and the recommended amount of coffee. We are never confident the coffee will brew properly. I have researched this in depth and have found that the basket has " small fins" that account for these problems. Hopefully, Tchnivorm will respond to these issues with an updated model.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mike122
Portland
Posted April 7, 2015
Open the filter. It won't overflow
This has a manual slider on the filter basket so you can stop the drip, pur yourself a cup, and continue the drip. If it is in the closed position, the filter will over flow. I've had this unit for 6 years. The only times I've had filter probs are when I forgot to open the filter.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chicago
,Il
April 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TEN STARS!!!!
April 1, 2015
My husband and I are very particular about the coffee we drink. It has to be FRESH, HOT and RICH. We like a dark roast that is not bitter, and if the coffee has been sitting on a hot plate for more than 15 mins, we'd prefer not to drink it. We buy our coffee beans from roasters throughout the country.... HOWEVER, you can buy the best beans, but if you don't have a great coffeemaker, you lose the benefit of great tasting coffee. THIS, is that great coffeemaker. If you LOVE great coffee... BUY this machine. Make sure your grind is correct or you may have issues. I've had this machine for 3 months, we make 3-4 pots a day, of the most incredible, rich, wonderful tasting HOT coffee. HIGHLY RECOMMEND, if you can spend the money. ENJOY.
Pros: Quality, Power, Speed, Quiet, Design, coffee temperature
Cons: big cord
Review 15 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Islamorada
,FL
April 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee!
April 1, 2015
This coffee maker really makes a difference. I use the same coffee beans and filters and amount of water, yet the Moccamaster creates a noticeably improved version of my morning coffee.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Speed, Quiet
Review 16 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Berlin
,MD
March 6, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffeemaker ever!
March 6, 2015
My husband and I have traveled the world drinking coffee. This coffeemaker is absolutely wonderful! It is quiet and quick and easy to use. Don't forget to use the cleaning crystals periodically! Bought one in the store a year ago and bought another one recently for my son
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly, excellent coffee
Review 17 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Westfield
,NY
February 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Coffeemaker
February 20, 2015
We were so excited about receiving our new coffee maker, we have had it 2 days and it is going back, we have made 4 cups of coffee and we have had the same issue all four times the coffee stays in the basket and does not drip down into the pot, you don't realize it until you go to remove the basket and what a mess!!!!, we normally purchase coffee maker in this price range so the expense was fine I just feel it is way to touchy for our life , you also need to get the burner fitting in the right position or it wont work.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 18 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St. Louis
,MO
January 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive coffee system
January 25, 2015
This is the most money we have ever spent on a coffee maker but I have to tell you it has been worth every penny!
The quality of the coffee is superb. We drink dark roast mainly and the end product has no bitterness and in fact for the first time in years I am back to drinking black coffee.
The carafe keeps the coffee hot for a very long time and even longer if you preheat it.
It is well built, simple, and will hopefully provide many years of morning bliss.
An add-on is that this is an exceptionally quite coffee maker and the coffee is VERY hot. It also looks elegant on your countertop.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 19 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St. Augustine
,FL
St. Augustine, Fl.
December 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this coffeemaker
December 21, 2014
We make several pots of coffee every day and have used the Technivorm for years. We had to order our first one and wait several weeks for delivery because no one was selling them in the US. I plan to buy another when my current one retires.
Review 20 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
November 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as hot as expected
November 18, 2014
We bought this coffee pot after our current coffee pot died - another brand. We have a thermal based coffee pot at work and thought this would keep our coffee hot for hours. The first cup was delicious and hot. Second cup 30 minutes later, not so hot. Next morning I made a half pot and the coffee was hot, but not steaming. That night made a second full pot and again the second cup wasn't hot after 45 minutes. We have returned to the store but unfortunately, they don't have the glass type in stock so we are trying a different brand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
page1 2 3 next