Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only six minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. Perfectly synchronizing brew time, grind and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces one of the best cups of coffee in just 5 to 6 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An insulated steel carafe keeps coffee hot. Includes a travel lid. Adjustable brew basket features a manually operated drip-stop which allows you to adjust for brewing a half pot, a full pot, or a full drip-stop for a quick cup before the brew cycle completes. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. BPA free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.69 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
19 of 29(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Garngigi
,Atlanta
,GA
November 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as hot as expected
November 18, 2014
We bought this coffee pot after our current coffee pot died - another brand. We have a thermal based coffee pot at work and thought this would keep our coffee hot for hours. The first cup was delicious and hot. Second cup 30 minutes later, not so hot. Next morning I made a half pot and the coffee was hot, but not steaming. That night made a second full pot and again the second cup wasn't hot after 45 minutes. We have returned to the store but unfortunately, they don't have the glass type in stock so we are trying a different brand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sugars
,Pittsburgh
,PA
November 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Maker
November 8, 2014
Makes really good coffee. Nice and hot. Made in USA! Customer service is great, I called with a question and the service rep went above and beyond to answer, even followed up with an email. I have the glass carafe, I like to see what's going on. Love the automatic shut off too. I have had zero problems with my moccamaster. Fits under cabinet with about 4-5 inch clearance. If anything ever happened to this one, I would replace with the same brand.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
simplejoe
,MI
October 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does what it's suppose to do
October 21, 2014
I've had my Technivorm for about two years now. If I had to buy another coffee maker, I would buy the same model without any question. Good coffee, quick perk time, simple quality machine. My only complaint is the style of the carafe. it does not have a standard "spout" type contour on the lip that you would find on most pots. It's a little annoying if you tip the carafe up too far as you will likely spill some on the counter--especially if pouring into a thermos with a small opening. I've also found cleaning the carafe a bit challenging although denture cleaning tablets and a bottle brush do a pretty good job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Speed, Design
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paindoc
,Los Gatos
,CA
Los Gatos, CA
May 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best-tasting electric-brewed coffee ever
May 31, 2014
I thought long and hard before spending this much money on a coffeemaker. What convinced me was the fact that I have been roasting my own coffee beans and not getting the full flavor out of them. If I'm going to this much trouble for the beans, they at least should have the benefit of a proper brewing system! I was shocked at the difference in taste--almost like the nuances of a great wine. It's not the simplest brewing method, but is pretty foolproof if you follow the directions. There is nothing automatic about it, so you need to stick around until it is finished. The metal carafe keeps the coffee warm for a long time, especially if you preheat the pot. It has no bells or whistles, just makes a great pot of coffee. I have had no problems with it. It is quite tall and you can't store it on its base when the lid is in place, but that may be a safety feature to avoid having the switch stay on when the brewing is done.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gill
,Jacksonville
,FL
May 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Coffee
May 16, 2014
I researched coffee makers for months, looking for the best coffee maker at a decent price that brews at the perfect temperature and evenly saturates the grounds.
The Technivorm makes a very good cup of coffee, I am not disappointed.
I have had it for two weeks so far, I have no complaints. It doesn't have bells and whistles, but I wasn't looking for any, I just want a good cup of coffee.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Assembly
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mebs
,Scottsdale
,AZ
April 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Maker We've Had in 33 Years!
April 21, 2014
We have run through the gamut of coffee makers including just about every higher end brand available. We do not want bells and whistles like milk frothers and timers and washing the dishes. We want a great cup of "just plain coffee" each and every day and this machine delivers. My response to the reviewer who said it overflowed is that his machine is defective; our first one was as well. But of course WS gladly replaced it and it's been working beautifully ever since. Also, I do not understand his filter problem??? We use #4 Melittas as we always have and they work perfectly and can easily be found in any grocery store.....In short, this machine is worth the price and makes the best tasting coffee you will find. Love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jimmclaughlin
,Saint Paul
,MN
March 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a mess
March 27, 2014
The coffee maker is prone to block its filter and to overflow onto the counter top. I had that result on 4 of the last 5 efforts. It will not work with standard filters (such as Melita). I ordered the manufacturer's filters - but they are on back-order.
America's Test Kitchen recommended this product and in this case they were wrong.
Cons: Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ctripsas
California
Posted April 15, 2014
What grind
What grind do you use on your coffee? I used to work at WS and when we first got the Technivorm in, they recommended using a course grind on the coffee. If you use too fine a grind, it will clog and overflow.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DollarBill
,Los Angeles
,CA
February 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffeemaker
February 8, 2014
I've owned a Moccamaster since 2002 and it brews the best tasting coffee. I read about it in a wine magazine review and they voted it the best too (carafe style).
It is tall and difficult to store, the cord is industrial size thick, it's a little more difficult to clean and there's no auto shut off, but it simply brews THE best tasting cup of coffee at the proper temperature quickly. If great taste is the reason you drink coffee, then this is your machine.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Power, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, no auto shutoff, thick cord
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
baltovet
,Baltimore
,MD
Maryland
January 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far, quite impressed
January 30, 2014
After my 7 yr. old Capresso machine died,it was replaced with the Technovorm. I have made a couple pots of very good coffee with this machine. I don't know what all of the fuss is about too many parts. Once the machine is set up, you have to clean the same things you would with any other machine. Also, I tasted the coffee black just after brewing, and I disagree that you have to preheat the carafe. I would have burned my mouth had I not been warned by the W-S manager about how hot the coffee comes out. I don't like to let it sit anyway. I'd rather just brew another pot in an hour or two instead. The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is that some minor things could be improved upon...like brewing into an entirely closed carafe and having an automatic shutoff after brewing is finished- both of which my Capresso had. I will update if necessary after having used this for a longer period of time.
Pros: excellent results
Cons: no auto shutoff
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wendijosmiles
,Danbury
,NC
December 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best coffee you will ever drink - period.
December 8, 2013
Our Technivorm Moccamaster is about a year old and we are STILL in love with it. . Pros: Uses LESS coffee beans to make a pot of coffee, the flavor of the coffee is unbelievable - really. Simple to use. Looks cool too. Cons: Its a simple machine - no frills - no timer/no clock/no preset brew/no other bells and whistles - but I mean, really what do you want your coffee maker to do - I want mine to make coffee - period. The cord is HUGE, industrial strength and quite long - it kind of gets in the way. The plastic flap that the coffee carafe sits on is kind of flimsy - I'm not really sure of the purpose - but whatever, not that big of a deal. There are two lids - but the down side is where to put the lid you aren't using. We set ours on top. Even with those Cons - I wouldn't trade my Technivorm for ANY other kitchen tool and will probably never ever own any different type of coffee maker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, most delish coffee ever
Cons: Difficult to Store, giant industrial cord
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SAW21
,Chicago
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Three years and going strong!
December 2, 2013
I have had my Moccamaster for 3 years and we still love it. it is used EVERY day and we have had no problems with it whatsoever. Great coffee maker...would buy again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna32963
,New York City
,NY
September 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Maker
September 5, 2013
I read many of the reviews on this site about the Moccamaster and decided that the good points seemed to outweigh the bad. So I took the plunge and purchased the thermal carafe model. We are delighted with it. The coffee tastes full and rich and the brewing process is a snap. (Even mediocre coffee blends taste good.) It stores easily into an overhead cabinet. I’m mystified about the complaints that there is no timer or buzzer to turn off. With the thermal carafe, once the coffee has brewed, the switch should be turned off. It’s that simple - and the brewer can be put back into the cabinet within minutes. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Quiet
Cons: drip switch slips into closed position too easily
Review 13 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coffeefreakmom
,Lowell
,MA
August 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Technivorm coffee maker, thermal carafe
August 15, 2013
We purchased this about 7 months ago and it gets heavy use. We love it! Was somewhat disappointed that it did not have a charcoal filter, but it is really not needed with this-coffee is perfect every time and the pot is easy to clean. I was frustrated about the coffee oil build up until someone told me to use a dishwashing tablet and boiling water. Rinse out after 2 hours and it looks like new! Highly recommend this!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Review 14 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WhoMe
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good coffee, but...
June 22, 2013
First I have to say I love the coffee this machine makes.
By far the best of all the coffee makers I have owned.
Having said that..
In the two weeks I have owned it I have found some things that should be known before you buy one.
The main issue is what brand of filters to use.
Because it brews so fast, the filter has to be able to let the coffee through fast enough to keep up with the water put into it.
Melita filters can not quite keep up with the speed that the water is applied.
The basket will fill to the top of the filter and sometimes will over flow a little bit.
I tried a major supermarket brand filter and it was worse than the Melita one.
So you diffidently should use the Technivrom filters.
I had the basket not empty one time.
I think the filter paper wound up covering drain hole.
I now put the 'flap' where you fold the bottom of the filter, on the side the hole is on.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: Temperamental
Review 15 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Austin
,TX
June 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
12of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
poor quality and support
June 21, 2013
I wanted to like this coffee maker, but I had a very disappointing interaction within 7 months.
I loved how there is no heater: if you want to keep the coffee hot later in the day you screw on the tight fitting lid - perfect. The problem I had was a deterioration in the carafe, between the plastic handle and the metal. The seam had deteriorated completely - the carafe itself leaked. I guess I've been drinking that deteriorated plastic for the last 8 months.
But I assumed that Technivorm would make it right. After all, I had paid more than $300 less than a year before; I was poised to be a loyal customer for life.
I pointed out that my defective carafe was LESS THAN 5 YEARS OLD and therefore eligible for a five year warranty with or without a receipt (how could it be more than 5 years old if it wasn't made more than 5 years ago?!?).
I made my purchase thinking that potential flaws weren't a big deal. The accountability, given that it's a Norwegian company, is surprisingly bad.
Cons: Quality
Review 16 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mo55
,Santa Monica
,CA
June 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buyer Beware -Technivorm gives no customer support
June 13, 2013
The bummer is, this coffeemaker makes really great coffee, but if you have any problems with it or if you need a carafe replacement, etc. it's next to impossible to get parts. Additionally, Technivorm does not reply back to customers when you email them on their website, nor do they supply an phone number at which you can contact them. I have needed a glass carafe replacement (the glass on this carafe is particularly fragile) and I've been waiting almost a month now and still don't have one. And since this unit is over $300, you would expect better service from a company like this. It's really unfortunate, because the product makes great coffee, but when you have a manufacturer who doesn't care about customer service, it makes it tough to recommend it.
Cons: Fragile, no customer support
Review 17 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OneWhoLovesThierKitchen
,Phoenix
,AZ
April 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
To much work
April 17, 2013
Owned for 2 years. Use it rarely (pain). Get used to all the pieces and make sure they are in place (not good for one who is not-on-thier-game in the morning) or else you'll have a mess.
I am not a fan of thermal pots since you have to preheat them (waste of water and time).
The coffee it produces is good, but so is my $80.00 Cuisinart.
I own Breville Keurig, Cuisinart Extreme Brew, and Nespresso (CitiZ & Milk) and love all of them.
Pros: looks great
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Store, Assembly, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 18 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tomfxc
,hamden
,ct
March 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
terrible customer service at technivorm usa rep
March 20, 2013
had mine foe 3 years and very happy with it until it just stopped working. emailed boyd coffee company and a rep said certtainly must be scale build up, there is a service fee of 99 dollars (the cost of a cuisinart replacement) just to look at it. we will send you descaling material. pulled out my 10 year old cuisinart coffee maker and it cranked right up. to think that cooks illustrated (my bible) recommended it 3 years a go and recently at almost 300 dollars, I'm super disappointed on all fronts!
it sits in the bottom of my closet collecting dust. don't waste your money
Pros: Power, Design
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance, Fragile, customer service
Review 19 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
7777
March 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great coffee 9 out of 10 times
March 20, 2013
The other 10% of the time the coffee doesn't drain from the filter basket into the carafe - it overflows from the top of the filter, spilling hot coffee and grounds all over the counter top. I advise against buying this particular model which is a shame because when it works correctly it makes excellent, hot coffee.
Cons: Difficult to Use, High-Maintenance
Review 20 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
littlerabbit
,palo alto
,Ca
March 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gives out after a year.
March 15, 2013
I was so disappointed when my Moccamaster gave out on me just a year after purchasing it. A YEAR! For $300 I was not expecting it to have such a short life!
I've contacted the distributor and was told I would have to pay $100 + shipping to have it repaired since I did not keep a proof of purchase. Sure, should have kept that receipt, but I was so sure it would last longer than it did. Like, seriously, not even 2 years? By no means was it abused either. Once a day, made sure to turn it off as soon as it was done brewing, and even used coffee machine cleaner to make sure it was running like brand new. Hmm..
My advice: I dont know about you guys but I'm not made out of money so I can't be shelling out the $300 every year on a brewer. Opt for the good old fashioned french press and electric kettle instead to avoid heart break and disappointment. 3 stars for the outstanding coffee it once made.
Pros: Easy to Use, makes the best coffee
Cons: looks like lab equipment, breaks easily
page1 2 next