Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only six minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. Perfectly synchronizing brew time, grind and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces one of the best cups of coffee in just 5 to 6 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An insulated steel carafe keeps coffee hot. Includes a travel lid. Adjustable brew basket features a manually operated drip-stop which allows you to adjust for brewing a half pot, a full pot, or a full drip-stop for a quick cup before the brew cycle completes. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. BPA free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
26 of 39(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
feinschmecker
,Lake Mary
,Fl
June 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Technivorm coffeemaker
June 14, 2015
Bought this for my parents, they think it is the best coffeemaker they have ever had.They had a cuisinart grind & brew before and there is no comparison. Easy clean up and just good coffee. They also have the Technivorm grinder, which is also easy to use and works well with the coffeemaker,
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Power, Assembly, good looking, hot coffee
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheftak
,Washington
,DC
May 30, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't pay attention to anything negative
May 30, 2015
Coffee overflowing, water spilling, etc etc. Its all operator error. This unit is made for true coffee enthusiasts. Brews coffee perfectly at the correct temperature and speed. If you don't grind your coffee to the proper size, yes it will over bloom and thus cause coffee to overflow. If there is a crack somewhere, yes its the manufacturers fault but they will honor that. Don't complain about water pouring over your counter if you didn't take the time to wait for the coffee to brew.
Lets review the machine and not all the faults of the operator.
In short the machine is great, brews fantastically and is perfect. You do have to make sure its kept clean as with any appliance which just involves rinsing out the basket and cover.
I apologize for the rant but I've become tired of seeing all these reviews that complain about things that are the fault of the user and not the machine.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Design, Speed, Quality
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
loveshotcoffee
,Honolulu
,HI
April 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality thermal carafe
April 7, 2015
I have had this coffee maker for over a year. First of all, this makes very good coffee. But it doesn't do the very thing I bought it for--keep coffee hot. Or even warm. The carafe is the entire problem. When I rinse it with hot water prior to brewing in it, I can feel the heat right through the side of the vessel. So every morning my husband gets up and is treated to tepid coffee. Big disappointment.
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SPcoffeecouple
,Saint Petersburg
,fl
April 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Inconsistent-Filter overflows every third pot!!
April 4, 2015
We have a significant problem with this coffee pot in that the filter holder overflows and the coffee is diluted & filled with grounds. We use filter grind, good quality #4 filters and the recommended amount of coffee. We are never confident the coffee will brew properly. I have researched this in depth and have found that the basket has " small fins" that account for these problems. Hopefully, Tchnivorm will respond to these issues with an updated model.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mike122
Portland
Posted April 7, 2015
Open the filter. It won't overflow
This has a manual slider on the filter basket so you can stop the drip, pur yourself a cup, and continue the drip. If it is in the closed position, the filter will over flow. I've had this unit for 6 years. The only times I've had filter probs are when I forgot to open the filter.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
northsub
,Chicago
,Il
April 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TEN STARS!!!!
April 1, 2015
My husband and I are very particular about the coffee we drink. It has to be FRESH, HOT and RICH. We like a dark roast that is not bitter, and if the coffee has been sitting on a hot plate for more than 15 mins, we'd prefer not to drink it. We buy our coffee beans from roasters throughout the country.... HOWEVER, you can buy the best beans, but if you don't have a great coffeemaker, you lose the benefit of great tasting coffee. THIS, is that great coffeemaker. If you LOVE great coffee... BUY this machine. Make sure your grind is correct or you may have issues. I've had this machine for 3 months, we make 3-4 pots a day, of the most incredible, rich, wonderful tasting HOT coffee. HIGHLY RECOMMEND, if you can spend the money. ENJOY.
Pros: Quality, Power, Speed, Quiet, Design, coffee temperature
Cons: big cord
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GloriaBird
,Islamorada
,FL
April 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee!
April 1, 2015
This coffee maker really makes a difference. I use the same coffee beans and filters and amount of water, yet the Moccamaster creates a noticeably improved version of my morning coffee.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Speed, Quiet
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lauracoffeelover
,Berlin
,MD
March 6, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffeemaker ever!
March 6, 2015
My husband and I have traveled the world drinking coffee. This coffeemaker is absolutely wonderful! It is quiet and quick and easy to use. Don't forget to use the cleaning crystals periodically! Bought one in the store a year ago and bought another one recently for my son
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly, excellent coffee
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lindawolfe
,Westfield
,NY
February 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Coffeemaker
February 20, 2015
We were so excited about receiving our new coffee maker, we have had it 2 days and it is going back, we have made 4 cups of coffee and we have had the same issue all four times the coffee stays in the basket and does not drip down into the pot, you don't realize it until you go to remove the basket and what a mess!!!!, we normally purchase coffee maker in this price range so the expense was fine I just feel it is way to touchy for our life , you also need to get the burner fitting in the right position or it wont work.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ClintA
,St. Louis
,MO
January 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive coffee system
January 25, 2015
This is the most money we have ever spent on a coffee maker but I have to tell you it has been worth every penny!
The quality of the coffee is superb. We drink dark roast mainly and the end product has no bitterness and in fact for the first time in years I am back to drinking black coffee.
The carafe keeps the coffee hot for a very long time and even longer if you preheat it.
It is well built, simple, and will hopefully provide many years of morning bliss.
An add-on is that this is an exceptionally quite coffee maker and the coffee is VERY hot. It also looks elegant on your countertop.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bergy
,St. Augustine
,FL
St. Augustine, Fl.
December 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this coffeemaker
December 21, 2014
We make several pots of coffee every day and have used the Technivorm for years. We had to order our first one and wait several weeks for delivery because no one was selling them in the US. I plan to buy another when my current one retires.
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Garngigi
,Atlanta
,GA
November 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as hot as expected
November 18, 2014
We bought this coffee pot after our current coffee pot died - another brand. We have a thermal based coffee pot at work and thought this would keep our coffee hot for hours. The first cup was delicious and hot. Second cup 30 minutes later, not so hot. Next morning I made a half pot and the coffee was hot, but not steaming. That night made a second full pot and again the second cup wasn't hot after 45 minutes. We have returned to the store but unfortunately, they don't have the glass type in stock so we are trying a different brand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sugars
,Pittsburgh
,PA
November 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Maker
November 8, 2014
Makes really good coffee. Nice and hot. Made in USA! Customer service is great, I called with a question and the service rep went above and beyond to answer, even followed up with an email. I have the glass carafe, I like to see what's going on. Love the automatic shut off too. I have had zero problems with my moccamaster. Fits under cabinet with about 4-5 inch clearance. If anything ever happened to this one, I would replace with the same brand.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
simplejoe
,MI
October 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does what it's suppose to do
October 21, 2014
I've had my Technivorm for about two years now. If I had to buy another coffee maker, I would buy the same model without any question. Good coffee, quick perk time, simple quality machine. My only complaint is the style of the carafe. it does not have a standard "spout" type contour on the lip that you would find on most pots. It's a little annoying if you tip the carafe up too far as you will likely spill some on the counter--especially if pouring into a thermos with a small opening. I've also found cleaning the carafe a bit challenging although denture cleaning tablets and a bottle brush do a pretty good job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Speed, Design
Review 14 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paindoc
,Los Gatos
,CA
Los Gatos, CA
May 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best-tasting electric-brewed coffee ever
May 31, 2014
I thought long and hard before spending this much money on a coffeemaker. What convinced me was the fact that I have been roasting my own coffee beans and not getting the full flavor out of them. If I'm going to this much trouble for the beans, they at least should have the benefit of a proper brewing system! I was shocked at the difference in taste--almost like the nuances of a great wine. It's not the simplest brewing method, but is pretty foolproof if you follow the directions. There is nothing automatic about it, so you need to stick around until it is finished. The metal carafe keeps the coffee warm for a long time, especially if you preheat the pot. It has no bells or whistles, just makes a great pot of coffee. I have had no problems with it. It is quite tall and you can't store it on its base when the lid is in place, but that may be a safety feature to avoid having the switch stay on when the brewing is done.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 15 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gill
,Jacksonville
,FL
May 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Coffee
May 16, 2014
I researched coffee makers for months, looking for the best coffee maker at a decent price that brews at the perfect temperature and evenly saturates the grounds.
The Technivorm makes a very good cup of coffee, I am not disappointed.
I have had it for two weeks so far, I have no complaints. It doesn't have bells and whistles, but I wasn't looking for any, I just want a good cup of coffee.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Assembly
Review 16 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mebs
,Scottsdale
,AZ
April 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Maker We've Had in 33 Years!
April 21, 2014
We have run through the gamut of coffee makers including just about every higher end brand available. We do not want bells and whistles like milk frothers and timers and washing the dishes. We want a great cup of "just plain coffee" each and every day and this machine delivers. My response to the reviewer who said it overflowed is that his machine is defective; our first one was as well. But of course WS gladly replaced it and it's been working beautifully ever since. Also, I do not understand his filter problem??? We use #4 Melittas as we always have and they work perfectly and can easily be found in any grocery store.....In short, this machine is worth the price and makes the best tasting coffee you will find. Love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 17 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jimmclaughlin
,Saint Paul
,MN
March 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a mess
March 27, 2014
The coffee maker is prone to block its filter and to overflow onto the counter top. I had that result on 4 of the last 5 efforts. It will not work with standard filters (such as Melita). I ordered the manufacturer's filters - but they are on back-order.
America's Test Kitchen recommended this product and in this case they were wrong.
Cons: Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ctripsas
California
Posted April 15, 2014
What grind
What grind do you use on your coffee? I used to work at WS and when we first got the Technivorm in, they recommended using a course grind on the coffee. If you use too fine a grind, it will clog and overflow.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DollarBill
,Los Angeles
,CA
February 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffeemaker
February 8, 2014
I've owned a Moccamaster since 2002 and it brews the best tasting coffee. I read about it in a wine magazine review and they voted it the best too (carafe style).
It is tall and difficult to store, the cord is industrial size thick, it's a little more difficult to clean and there's no auto shut off, but it simply brews THE best tasting cup of coffee at the proper temperature quickly. If great taste is the reason you drink coffee, then this is your machine.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Power, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, no auto shutoff, thick cord
Review 19 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
baltovet
,Baltimore
,MD
Maryland
January 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far, quite impressed
January 30, 2014
After my 7 yr. old Capresso machine died,it was replaced with the Technovorm. I have made a couple pots of very good coffee with this machine. I don't know what all of the fuss is about too many parts. Once the machine is set up, you have to clean the same things you would with any other machine. Also, I tasted the coffee black just after brewing, and I disagree that you have to preheat the carafe. I would have burned my mouth had I not been warned by the W-S manager about how hot the coffee comes out. I don't like to let it sit anyway. I'd rather just brew another pot in an hour or two instead. The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is that some minor things could be improved upon...like brewing into an entirely closed carafe and having an automatic shutoff after brewing is finished- both of which my Capresso had. I will update if necessary after having used this for a longer period of time.
Pros: excellent results
Cons: no auto shutoff
Review 20 for Technivorm Moccamaster Manual Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wendijosmiles
,Danbury
,NC
December 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best coffee you will ever drink - period.
December 8, 2013
Our Technivorm Moccamaster is about a year old and we are STILL in love with it. . Pros: Uses LESS coffee beans to make a pot of coffee, the flavor of the coffee is unbelievable - really. Simple to use. Looks cool too. Cons: Its a simple machine - no frills - no timer/no clock/no preset brew/no other bells and whistles - but I mean, really what do you want your coffee maker to do - I want mine to make coffee - period. The cord is HUGE, industrial strength and quite long - it kind of gets in the way. The plastic flap that the coffee carafe sits on is kind of flimsy - I'm not really sure of the purpose - but whatever, not that big of a deal. There are two lids - but the down side is where to put the lid you aren't using. We set ours on top. Even with those Cons - I wouldn't trade my Technivorm for ANY other kitchen tool and will probably never ever own any different type of coffee maker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, most delish coffee ever
Cons: Difficult to Store, giant industrial cord
page1 2 next