Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only six minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. Perfectly synchronizing brew time, grind and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces one of the best cups of coffee in just 5 to 6 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An insulated steel carafe keeps coffee hot. Includes a travel lid. Adjustable brew basket features a manually operated drip-stop which allows you to adjust for brewing a half pot, a full pot, or a full drip-stop for a quick cup before the brew cycle completes. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. BPA free.
Average Customer Rating:
2.714 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
3 of 7(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WSAR
April 22, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality control
April 22, 2014
As soon as I put water in the reservoir, it leaked all over the counter. Upon closer inspection, there are two torx screws that secure the clear plastic reservoir to the stainless steel body. One of the screws was likely over-tightened & it cracked the plastic reservoir at the base. There was no sign of shipping damage. The damage to the reservoir from the over-tightened screw appears to be a manufacturing / production defect.
What prompted this review was the nice, color tag in the box that stated, "This is a handbuilt & individually tested Coffeemaker." Ha!...clearly not tested to make coffee. If anyone at TechniVorm put water in the reservoir, it would have leaked all over their production floor.
WS was great about the exchange. We are going to give this another shot mainly because we have a WS gift card & need a coffee maker. Those with more product options make want to look at other coffee makers if this review is part of a larger pattern of defects/leaks.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bocce
September 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Leaked 1st time using
September 15, 2013
Set-up 1st night I had it, woke up next morning ready to turn on, water had leaked all over counter from base of cylinder.
Called cust care, we'll see how the replacement does.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crysten
,Minneapolis
,MN
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A coffee maker for serious coffee drinkers
June 22, 2013
Two things I would like to review about:
1. this coffee maker
2. purchasing it in the store
After 14 years of use, I needed a new maker. 6 months of research later, I read this is the coffee maker for serious coffee drinkers. That's us!
However, after months of research, I still hadn't experienced the smell that I longed to smell, the heat I expect to wrap my hands around before that first sip and the taste of the right cup of brew. I heard one can go to the store and try coffee makers, it's true and it's AWESOME.
Going to the store solidified my decision and I learned how to improve my coffee making process for the best brew. I highly recommend this maker, it's brilliant, delicious and fast. Plus, it's simple, clean and easy to use - no bells and whistles, just really great coffee. Go to the store and experience the plethora of makers. No online experience or review can help you with that.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, tasty coffee
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PearlieK
,OR
April 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor design, poor company support
April 20, 2013
I bought this coffee maker a while back with high expectations. There appears to be a design flaw in the filter adjuster that eventually causes the coffee maker to malfunction leaving you with a mess to clean up and to add insult to pricey injury, coffee grounds in your coffee. The company, rather than keeping their customers happy and replacing the part, sent me a list of places that carry the coffee maker ( none of which have the part) and an announcement they would soon have a website opening where I could BUY the replacement part. Works for them, not for me. Find another coffee maker!
Pros: Speed
Cons: Temperamental
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JLMR
,Boston
,MA
April 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Water too cold; poor coffee
April 13, 2013
The selling point for the Technivorm line is that it supposedly generates water between 195 and 204 degrees to best capture the flavor of the coffee.
My wife and I felt the coffee we brewed in the Technivorm that we purchased 3 weeks ago was significantly colder than from our previous Cuisinart.
I measured the temperature of the water in the coffee basket by closing the drip stop and running brew cycle without any coffee in the basket. The water never got above 172 degrees. When we brewed a pot of coffee, the coffee in the thermal carafe was between 140 and 150 degrees.
I returned the defective unit. Williams-Sonoma was great and let me test the replacement unit with one of their thermometers. I measured same tepid 172 degrees.
I can't speak to whether there's just poor quality control at Technivorm or if the Moccamaster CDT has a design flaw, but I've traded up for the Breville YouBrew. Initial tests with that model show that it does get the water hot enough to brew coffee.
Cons: Quality
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mikeylikesit
,Millington
,NJ
December 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Long term 3 year review
December 3, 2012
I have owned this coffee maker since November 2009 and it has been flawless. It makes great tasting coffee and it is hot as advertised. It will keep the coffee hot for 20-30 minutes. If you take milk in your coffee, use a thermos. First, the coffee measurement system is European cups. The 10 cup markings really yields about 40 oz or 6 equivalent cups of coffee.
If I were to purchase it today, I would buy the new 64oz size. I use the metal mesh cones as they are easier to clean. Replacement parts are easy to obtain on the internet. The height of the coffee maker is a shade under 16 inches so if you want to place this under your cabinets, check your clearances first.
Cleaning and maintenance is easy. The parts disassemble and reassemble for easy cleaning. You should use a descaling agent from time to time.
This coffee maker is handmade and not in Asia which I kind of like. It has a simple but solid build quality.
Bottom line is this is a very good well made product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Design, makes hot coffee
Cons: Size, carafe design
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kryonik
,orlando
,fl
October 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
amazing!!!
October 7, 2012
Got the moccamaster a few days ago.. I am impressed! It's makes great coffee. Quick. Quiet.
The temperature is right and coffee stay warm in carafe. The best coffee maker I have owned!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Speed, Quiet