Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only six minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. Perfectly synchronizing brew time, grind and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces one of the best cups of coffee in just 5 to 6 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An insulated steel carafe keeps coffee hot. Includes a travel lid. Adjustable brew basket features a manually operated drip-stop which allows you to adjust for brewing a half pot, a full pot, or a full drip-stop for a quick cup before the brew cycle completes. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. BPA free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.735 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
22 of 34(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bocce
September 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Leaked 1st time using
September 15, 2013
Set-up 1st night I had it, woke up next morning ready to turn on, water had leaked all over counter from base of cylinder.
Called cust care, we'll see how the replacement does.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Store
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crysten
,Minneapolis
,MN
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A coffee maker for serious coffee drinkers
June 22, 2013
Two things I would like to review about:
1. this coffee maker
2. purchasing it in the store
After 14 years of use, I needed a new maker. 6 months of research later, I read this is the coffee maker for serious coffee drinkers. That's us!
However, after months of research, I still hadn't experienced the smell that I longed to smell, the heat I expect to wrap my hands around before that first sip and the taste of the right cup of brew. I heard one can go to the store and try coffee makers, it's true and it's AWESOME.
Going to the store solidified my decision and I learned how to improve my coffee making process for the best brew. I highly recommend this maker, it's brilliant, delicious and fast. Plus, it's simple, clean and easy to use - no bells and whistles, just really great coffee. Go to the store and experience the plethora of makers. No online experience or review can help you with that.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, tasty coffee
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PearlieK
,OR
April 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor design, poor company support
April 20, 2013
I bought this coffee maker a while back with high expectations. There appears to be a design flaw in the filter adjuster that eventually causes the coffee maker to malfunction leaving you with a mess to clean up and to add insult to pricey injury, coffee grounds in your coffee. The company, rather than keeping their customers happy and replacing the part, sent me a list of places that carry the coffee maker ( none of which have the part) and an announcement they would soon have a website opening where I could BUY the replacement part. Works for them, not for me. Find another coffee maker!
Pros: Speed
Cons: Temperamental
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JLMR
,Boston
,MA
April 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Water too cold; poor coffee
April 13, 2013
The selling point for the Technivorm line is that it supposedly generates water between 195 and 204 degrees to best capture the flavor of the coffee.
My wife and I felt the coffee we brewed in the Technivorm that we purchased 3 weeks ago was significantly colder than from our previous Cuisinart.
I measured the temperature of the water in the coffee basket by closing the drip stop and running brew cycle without any coffee in the basket. The water never got above 172 degrees. When we brewed a pot of coffee, the coffee in the thermal carafe was between 140 and 150 degrees.
I returned the defective unit. Williams-Sonoma was great and let me test the replacement unit with one of their thermometers. I measured same tepid 172 degrees.
I can't speak to whether there's just poor quality control at Technivorm or if the Moccamaster CDT has a design flaw, but I've traded up for the Breville YouBrew. Initial tests with that model show that it does get the water hot enough to brew coffee.
Cons: Quality
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mikeylikesit
,Millington
,NJ
December 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Long term 3 year review
December 3, 2012
I have owned this coffee maker since November 2009 and it has been flawless. It makes great tasting coffee and it is hot as advertised. It will keep the coffee hot for 20-30 minutes. If you take milk in your coffee, use a thermos. First, the coffee measurement system is European cups. The 10 cup markings really yields about 40 oz or 6 equivalent cups of coffee.
If I were to purchase it today, I would buy the new 64oz size. I use the metal mesh cones as they are easier to clean. Replacement parts are easy to obtain on the internet. The height of the coffee maker is a shade under 16 inches so if you want to place this under your cabinets, check your clearances first.
Cleaning and maintenance is easy. The parts disassemble and reassemble for easy cleaning. You should use a descaling agent from time to time.
This coffee maker is handmade and not in Asia which I kind of like. It has a simple but solid build quality.
Bottom line is this is a very good well made product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Design, makes hot coffee
Cons: Size, carafe design
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kryonik
,orlando
,fl
October 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
amazing!!!
October 7, 2012
Got the moccamaster a few days ago.. I am impressed! It's makes great coffee. Quick. Quiet.
The temperature is right and coffee stay warm in carafe. The best coffee maker I have owned!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Speed, Quiet
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sdlr
,New York
,NY
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent works as advertised
December 28, 2011
We have purchased so many coffee machine but. This one is so easy use and clean.
Makes the perfect coffee in six minutes the inside components are copper conduits which boils the water at the right temperature.
Making the best coffee.
Excellent price at WIlliam-Sonoma.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mofish
,Media
,PA
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
5of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not meeting expectations
November 21, 2011
We bought the mochamaster a year ago after thorough research and recommendations from both a kitchen store and friends who own the product. It has been fine, but not great. The water proportion in the tank does not match what winds up in the thermos (which is much less). We like strong coffee and putting sufficient grounds in the filter results in overflow. Just when we worked out those kinks, the thermos stopped performing. It used to work very well, keeping coffee hot for hours. Now the coffee is barely room temp after an hour. I haven't reached out to the manufacturer, but plan to do so.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Temperamental, thermos failed
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoffeeCoffeeCoffee
,Hubert
,NC
September 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Drip maker out there
September 14, 2011
I’ve been drinking Coffee for almost 40 years and have gotten quite particular about my Coffee.
I custom roast the beans myself in small batches (3-5 days worth), and grind it fresh each morning, so the only thing left was the Coffee maker. While there may be better ways of brewing the perfect cup, most are not convenient with my morning schedule. After lots of research and a few hundred $$$ worth of substandard machines, I read about the Technivorm Moccamaster. Three days later I was in coffee heaven. That was over 4 years ago. It CONSISTENTLY brews great coffee and dose so about as quickly as a drip brewer can.
My only complaint is that the carafe lost its vacuum after about two and a half years (I’ve never had a brewer last that long). I normally transfer the coffee to a thermos for work anyway, so I never bothered to replace the carafe.
I highly recommend this product if you are serious about good Coffee.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: needs a better carafe
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mfgeng
San Fernando, CA
March 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expectation :)
March 23, 2011
I've been using this product for 8 weeks & can share my opinion now...
Originally I was somewhat skeptical that this machine would deliver as advertised.
I can honestly say that the product is close to perfect!
As for the end result... consistently good!!!
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mimi5
North Carolina
March 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
way too many parts
March 14, 2011
They served me a great cup of hot coffee in the store but once I came home and set it up it was a different story. It has way too many loose parts. You practically have to reassemble it every time you make a pot of coffee.I realized once I used the carafe that came with it it is not the same carafe they used in the store because there is no spout! It is not worth the hassle and definately not worth the money!
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
melbee
West Vancouver BC
March 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TOO COMPLICATED yet TOO BASIC
March 11, 2011
There are too many parts things to move, lift, cover. At 5am its the last thing you want to think about. Also no programming so you can't set it the night before. Lastly I think in my blurry state this morning I realized that there is no auto shut off. So I have to now also remember to shut it off. As for the coffee...eh..the same as any other coffee maker. Wondering if I can return it after using it.
Unfortunately I went for style over function.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jchb
Huntington Beach, Ca
Posted March 15, 2013
Shut Off
The coffee maker has an automatic shutoff when the water level is empty after brewing.
The switch remains illuminated but the heater is not on....it's just a pilot light so if you forget to turn it off there is no danger.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PjmMmm
Atlanta
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not happy with machine
February 24, 2011
Like others, I believed all the hype. My cuss coffee maker does not brew hot coffee. So I bought this one. What a hassle. So many parts, so much plastic. And what is up with the plastic disk that comes loose every time you move the machine? The first cup is good, no question. My machine shorted out on me day two so I am taking it back. I like a good hot strong cup of coffee. Any suggestions out there? The cuisinart was also a disappointment.
Review 14 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LALaw
Los Angeles
February 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Disappointment
February 11, 2011
After all the rave reviews, I had very high expectations for the Technivorm. It does brew a pot of coffee VERY quickly -- like 5 minutes or so -- and the coffee tastes great immediately after the brewing is finished. However, the thermal carafe does a terrible job of keeping the coffee hot. The second cup is never piping hot. And if you wait 30 minutes, you need to microwave the coffee to get it hot again. Also, although the main unit is sturdy and attractive, there are a bunch of cheesy plastic parts that seem rather loose and cheap. Finally, you must use a funnel-like device while the coffee is brewing, then remove it to pour, then put on a scew-on top to keep the coffee warm in the carafe -- the problem is, there is no place on the machine to store all these plastic parts -- so they wind up sitting out loose on the counter. I'm going back to a Cuisinart.
Review 15 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lbare2345
Louisiana
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the money
February 4, 2011
I bought this product as a replacement for a worn-out Cuisinart model. Lots of plastic for the price tag. And, the coffee tasted the same as that made by my Cuisinart. I used it for a month, with various coffee brands, thinking I must be missing something, but in the end, I reached the same verdict: the coffee from the $300 coffeemaker tasted the same as the coffee from the $100 coffeemaker. So I returned it and bought a new Cuisinart model.
Review 16 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
richg818
Los Angeles
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good coffee maker
December 29, 2010
Above average.Thermos keeps coffee hot so long as you pre heat thermos. The water gets hot giving a more flavorful cup of coffee. The minuses are: there are too many excentricities for $325 (300 plus tax). First you have to pre heat thermos Second to get a flavorful cup of coffee, I have to close the dripper (see the You Tube demonstration) to get the hot water to saturate the coffee, and then be nearby to open it before the coffee overflows. I'd get a coffee maker with a larger flat circular base for holding the coffee. That insures that the coffee will get saturated and you get more flavor. I recently rented a place that had a Cusinart with a filter that has a flat circular base, and that was an amazing cup of coffee, better than this item, and it cost half as much. In conclusion, I'm content with the unit, it makes good coffee that stays warm, but it's a little "high maintenence" and it's expensive, compared to some other models out there that make as good or better coffee.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BLTafel
Brooklyn, NY
Posted March 26, 2011
No offense intended, but if you're using a flat pan coffee maker (like the one you suggested) you aren't drinking properly extracted coffee. The surface distribution creates uneven areas in the grounds, and the hot water will take the path of least resistance - areas where the grounds are thin. This problem doesn't exist in pots using V shaped grounds holders.
The rest of your review is helpful. Thanks for all the info.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
forevercoffee
Saint Louis
November 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so many pieces
November 20, 2010
I purchased the Moccamaster because the company is family owned and the product handmade. The coffee was very nice - no bitter taste. My problem is that there are so many parts that need to be removed before the coffee is ready to pour - lid to water area, brewing spout often comes off, grind basket and lid(basket does not sit flat on counter),carafe requires preheating with water then brewing spout screwed in and unscrewed after brewing and replaced with screw lid. I'm tired!!!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
berenice
Posted December 15, 2010
time to revive the Chemex?
Part of me wants to buy this machine, but this gave me pause-I hate insipid coffee, but do not relish a multi-step process. I can grab my French press or Chemex and control the water temperature and flow rate for free. Still considering....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
randallt63
Aliso Viejo, CA
November 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible Carafe
November 1, 2010
This coffee maker makes the very best coffee of any machine I have ever had...the problem is that the carafe does not keep the coffee hot for any time at all!
When you spend as much money on a coffee maker as you do with this one, you should get a top-notch, THERMAL, carafe!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted December 19, 2010
It works as well as any thermos
In case you missed this in the instructions, do not brew coffee into a stone cold thermos carafe. That cools down the coffee right off the bat. For the best results temperature-wise, you will want to pre-warm the carafe with hot water before you brew your coffee. Eventually all coffee will cool down in any thermos. So if you don't want it to ever cool off, you should buy the other machine with the glass carafe and the heating plate. Also, as you drink the coffee and the amount of coffee in the carafe is used up, there is less hot liquid to maintain its heat, and this will hasten cooling. Just keep these things in mind and don't expect a simple thermos to magically overcome basic laws of thermal physics. If you don't want to fuss with pre-heating the thermos carafe, then buy the glass carafe model and save yourself the trouble.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
herbp
illinois
October 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
exceptional coffee maker with some caveats
October 28, 2010
we've been enjoying our moccamaster for some time now. the coffee is simply legions better than anything we've made at home before and we will continue to use this as our primary source for morning and fternoon joe for some time to come. however, the carafe is a serious sore spot for us. while others have complained about the carafe's awkward size (with the screw cap on, it won't fit beneath the moccamaster, that doesn't bother us as much as the fact that our coffee won't stay hot for more than 30 minutes max. perhaps we have a problem crafe. friends who turned us on to this great machine frequently have a piping hot carafe of coffee made hours before. we were unable to get a replacement which is a pity and even trie to find an o ring to better secure the cap to the thermal carafe. no luck. so, in the future, we'll be looking for a new carafe from another source. again, love the moccamaster but for 200+, one shouldn't have to deal with these problems.
Review 20 for Technivorm Moccamaster Cylindrical Body Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Brushed Silver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunny6
Lafayette, California
September 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Electronic Coffee Maker
September 21, 2010
As a purist, I have tried every electronic coffeemaker for the past 40 years. This is the best if you want to taste coffee the way it should be brewed! Very efficient and worth the price.
page1 2 next